Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1
The claim limitation “a direction in which a sensitivity of the first antenna is lowest and a direction in which a sensitivity of the second antenna is lowers are different from each other” is unintelligible. It is unclear what structure the limitation is intended to add to the apparatus claim.
The claim limitation should be rewritten to positively recite the structure intended to be added by said limitation.
The claim will be examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoshino US 2025/0253706.
Yoshino teaches:
1. A wirelessly rechargeable power supply device, comprising:
a circuit board (70, FIG19);
a power storage device (ie. 66, FIG17);
two or more antennas configured to receive power (71, 72, FIG19);
a housing (61, FIG16) that accommodates the circuit board [63(70), FIG16], the power storage device (66 of 63, FIG17), and the two or more antennas (71, 72(32) on board 70, FIG19); and
a charging circuit (64b, FIG19) that is mounted on the circuit board (70) and is configured to charge the power storage device with the power received by the two or more antennas (see exemplary circuit of FIG17), wherein
the two or more antennas include a first antenna (71, FIG19 and [0265]) and a second antenna (72, FIG19).
2. The wirelessly rechargeable power supply device according to claim 1, wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are both dipole antennas (see Specification @ [0022]),
the first antenna and the second antenna are arranged side by side in one direction along the circuit board (See FIG19), and
a direction in which an element of the first antenna extends and a direction in which an element of the second antenna extends are different from each other (See FIG19 noting different shapes therefore different extensions of said antenna appendages and/or main bodies).
3. The wirelessly rechargeable power supply device according to claim 2, wherein the direction in which the element of the first antenna extends and the direction in which the element of the second antenna extends are orthogonal to each other (See FIG19 noting right angle extension of appendages).
4. The wirelessly rechargeable power supply device according to claim 2, wherein the direction in which the element of the first antenna extends and the direction in which the element of the second antenna extends are both orthogonal to the one direction along the circuit board (ie left and right sides of circuit board of FIG19).
5. The wirelessly rechargeable power supply device according to claim 2, wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are arranged side by side in a longitudinal direction of the circuit board (See FIG19).
6. The wirelessly rechargeable power supply device according to claim 5, wherein the direction in which the element of the first antenna extends and the direction in which the element of the second antenna extends are both orthogonal to the longitudinal direction of the circuit board (see FIG19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshino US 2025/0253706.
Yoshino teaches use of a coaxial cable to attach the second antenna (72(32), FIG19) to the charging circuit (64b) however fails to teach connecting both of said first and second antenna via said coaxial cable and is silent as to how the first antenna is connected to the rectifier.
It would have been obvious to provide said coaxial cable to connect said first as well as second antenna to said rectifier as taught. The motivation would have been to simplify parts and construction by using the same coaxial type means for both said connections.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshino US 2025/0253706 in view of Veysi et al. US 2021/0265870.
Yoshino fails to teach:
8. The wirelessly rechargeable power supply device according to claim 1, wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are both flexible printed circuit board antennas, and the first antenna and the second antenna are arranged along an inner circumference of the housing.
10. The wirelessly rechargeable power supply device according to claim 1, wherein the wirelessly rechargeable power supply device is a columnar member including a top surface and a bottom surface, and the wirelessly rechargeable power supply device comprises a positive electrode at the top surface and a negative electrode at the bottom surface.
Veysi teaches wherein a first antenna and a second antenna are both flexible printed circuit board antennas, and the first antenna and the second antenna are arranged along an inner circumference of the housing (See [0074] and FIGs 6A-6B and 8) wherein the wirelessly rechargeable power supply device is a columnar member including a top surface and a bottom surface, and the wirelessly rechargeable power supply device comprises a positive electrode at the top surface and a negative electrode at the bottom surface (see FIG8).
It would have been obvious to provide said structure as taught by Veysi into the system of Yoshino in order to create a known battery shape that could be used with traditional style batteries (ie AA, C, D, etc.) for user desirability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836