Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 15-19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, in the limitation “the band saw stand is operable in a horizontal orientation when only the base is resting on a horizontal surface, and … the band saw stand is operable in a vertical orientation when only the mounting plate is fastened to the horizontal surface,” “only the base is resting on a horizontal surface” is not supported by the originally filed disclosure. Similarly, the limitation requiring that “only the mounting plate is fastened to the horizontal surface” is not supported by the originally filed disclosure. Paragraph [0005] of the specification states: “wherein the band saw stand is configurable in a horizontal orientation when the base is resting on a horizontal surface, and wherein the band saw stand is configurable in a vertical orientation when mounting plate is fastened to a horizontal surface.” The disclosure of paragraph [0005] merely describes the base as being “resting on a horizontal surface” in the horizontal orientation and the mounting plate as being “fastened to a horizontal surface” in the vertical orientation. It does not disclose, expressly or inherently, that the base is the only portion of the band saw stand resting on the horizontal surface in the horizontal orientation. Nor does it disclose that the mounting plate is the only portion of the band saw stand fastened to, or otherwise contacting, the horizontal surface in the vertical orientation. In particular, the originally filed disclosure does not identify any exclusion of additional points of contact, support, fastening, or attachment between the band saw stand and the horizontal surface. The mere disclosure that the base rests on the horizontal surface does not reasonably convey that no other portion of the stand rests on or contacts the surface. Likewise, the disclosure that the mounting plate is fastened to the horizontal surface does not reasonably convey that no other portion of the stand is fastened to, rests on, contacts, or is otherwise supported by the horizontal surface. The addition of the term “only” therefore introduces a limitation concerning the exclusivity of the stand’s contact/attachment with the horizontal surface that is absent from the original disclosure. The specification describes particular components that may engage the horizontal surface, but does not describe the claimed requirement that those components be the sole portions of the stand engaging the surface. Accordingly, the originally filed specification does not reasonably convey to a person of ordinary skill in the art that Applicant had possession of a band saw stand configured such that, in the horizontal orientation, only the base rests on the horizontal surface, and such that, in the vertical orientation, only the mounting plate is fastened to the horizontal surface.
4. Claims 15-19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is directed to an apparatus, namely, “A band saw stand comprising: a base; and an arm rotatably coupled to the base, wherein the arm includes a mounting plate, wherein the arm includes an enclosed aperture to receive a portable band saw.” The claim thus purports to define a band saw stand as an apparatus. However, the final limitations of claim 15 recite: “wherein the band saw stand is operable in a horizontal orientation when only the base is resting on a horizontal surface, and wherein the band saw stand is operable in a vertical orientation when only the mounting plate is fastened to the horizontal surface.”
These limitations do not clearly define additional structural limitations of the claimed band saw stand. Instead, they recite conditions under which the claimed stand is used or operated, i.e., a horizontal orientation in which the base is resting on a horizontal surface and a vertical orientation in which the mounting plate is fastened to the horizontal surface. As a result, it is unclear what physical structure, if any, is required to distinguish the claimed band saw stand from an otherwise structurally identical band saw stand. The recitations that the stand is “operable” in particular orientations do not identify a particular structural arrangement of the base, arm, mounting plate, or other component that necessarily provides the recited operability.
The issue is further compounded by the use of the terms “horizontal orientation” and “vertical orientation” in conjunction with the manner in which the stand is supported or fastened to a horizontal surface. The claim does not clearly specify whether these limitations require particular structural relationships between the base, arm, mounting plate, and horizontal surface, or merely describe intended uses or operating configurations of the apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horine et al. (4,085,552), hereinafter Horine. Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Horine teaches a band saw stand 10 comprising: a base 12; and an arm 20 rotatably coupled to the base, wherein the arm includes a mounting plate 58, wherein the arm includes an enclosed aperture 38 to receive a portable band saw, wherein the band saw stand is operable in a horizontal orientation when only the base 12 is resting on a horizontal surface (defined by a surface “H” which only supports the plate or base 12 in a horizontal orientation shown in annotated Fig. 5 below), and wherein the band saw stand 10 is operable in a vertical orientation when only the mounting plate 58 is fastened to the horizontal surface (the same surface “H” or portion that previously supported base 12; annotated Fig. 6 below). It should be noted that the horizontal configuration of the band saw stand is defined by the configuration where the base 12 is placed on a horizontal surface and where the base 12 is parallel to the bottom surface of the tool as shown in Fig. 5. The vertical configuration of the band saw stand is defined by the configuration where the bracket 58 of the mounting plate is fastened to the same horizontal surface as shown in Fig. 6. See annotated Figs. 5-6 below.
Regarding claim 19, Horine teaches everything noted above including a table plate 66 configured to couple to the arm 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
8. Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Menge (3,680,609) in view of Wirfelt (4,538,494). Regarding claim 1, Menge teaches a band saw stand (10, 16; Fig. 2) comprising: a base 16; and an arm 10 rotatably (via pins 56; Fig. 4) coupled to the base 16 wherein the arm defines an enclosed aperture (defined by the saw support 86 and handle 101; Fig. 2) configured to receive a selected one of at least a mounting portion (defined by the housing of the saw 90 positioned within the aperture; Fig. 1) of a first band saw and a mounting portion of a second band saw, wherein the mounting portion of the first band saw and the mounting portion of the second band saw are different, wherein the band saw stand is configured to couple to the selected one of the mounting portion of the first band saw or the mounting portion of the second band saw. It should be noted that the frame member 86 could be used for a saw housing or base which are little different in size or shape from another saw; therefore, the apparatus is capable for receiving different saws having different mounting portion dimensions or shapes. The recitation of “band saw” is interpreted as intended use and does not further structurally limit the claimed stand apparatus. Accordingly, the disclosed saw support structure of Menge is reasonably capable of supporting saws having differing mounting portions and therefore reasonably reads on the claimed apparatus under the broadest reasonable interpretation. See Figs. 1-5 in Menge.
Menge does not explicitly teach a trigger bar coupled to the arm, wherein the trigger bar is adjustable into at least a first orientation and a second orientation.
However,Wirfelt teaches a saw-support apparatus including a cradle 11 for receiving and retaining a chain saw 10, wherein the chain saw includes a trigger 28. Wirfelt further teaches a lever 20 having a trigger-engaging pin 21, wherein the pin 21 is carried by a sliding bracket 22 that is adjustable to different positions along the lever 20 and lockable by screw 29. Wirfelt explains that the pin 21 is positioned to contact and actuate the trigger 28 of the saw. See Fig. 1 and col. 1, lines 40-60 in Wirfelt. Thus, Wirfelt teaches an adjustable trigger-actuating member associated with a saw-support structure, the position of which can be adjusted to accommodate the trigger position of a saw. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Menge’s saw-support apparatus to include an adjustable trigger-actuating member as taught by Wirfelt, so that the power saw supported by Menge could be actuated without requiring the operator to continuously manually depress the saw trigger.
Regarding claim 2, Menge teaches everything noted above including that the base 16 is capable of being positioned in different orientations relative to a support surface 14 (Fig. 1), including horizontal and vertical orientations, depending upon the mounting arrangement and orientation of the apparatus during use. It should be noted that the claim does not positively recite a specific mechanism for transitioning between orientations, and therefore the capability of positioning the base in multiple orientations reasonably reads on the claimed limitation under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
9. Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Killian (2,589,554) in view of Wirfelt (4,538,494). Regarding claim 1, Killian teaches a saw guide comprising: a base 10; and a head 22 pivotally mounted to the base 10 by pivot pin 19, wherein the head 22 supports parallel guide rods 35 which extend horizontally from the head 22 and are joined at their ends by handle member 36. Killian further teaches U-shaped saw frames 39 and 40 slidably mounted on the guide rods 35, with the saw frames including overlapping members 41 and 45 that permit adjustment for various saw base sizes. A power saw 51 is mounted on the saw frames 39 and 40, with the base 50 of the power saw held between flange 46 and plunger 49. See Figs. 1 and 5. To the extent the recited “arm” is construed as requiring an elongated structural member rotatably coupled to the base, Killian teaches the claimed arm arrangement through the head 22, guide rods 35, and handle member 36, which together provide a movable saw-support structure pivotally coupled to the base 10. The head 22 is rotatable about pivot pin 19 relative to the base 10, and the guide rods 35 and handle member 36 extend from the rotatable head 22. Further, the space bounded by the head 22, guide rods 35, and handle member 36 provides an opening through the movable saw-support structure, as shown in Figs. 1 and 5. Killian further teaches first and second adjustable frame members 39 and 40 configured to support the base 50 of a power saw 51. The overlapping portions 41 and 45 of the frame members permit adjustment to accommodate various saw base sizes. Thus, Killian’s saw-support structure is capable of receiving and retaining saws having different mounting portion dimensions. It should be noted that claim 1 does not expressly require a particular structural configuration of the portable band saw received by the claimed stand, other than the recited mounting portion. Accordingly, to the extent “portable band saw” is interpreted as defining intended use rather than imposing additional structural limitations on the claimed stand, Killian’s adjustable saw-support structure is reasonably capable of receiving a portable power saw having a mounting portion and therefore reasonably reads on the claimed apparatus under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Killian, however, does not explicitly teach a trigger bar coupled to the arm, wherein the trigger bar is adjustable into at least a first orientation and a second orientation. Wirfelt teaches a saw-support apparatus including a cradle 11 for receiving and retaining a chain saw 10, wherein the chain saw includes a trigger 28. Wirfelt further teaches a lever 20 having a trigger-engaging pin 21, wherein the pin 21 is carried by a sliding bracket 22 that is adjustable to different positions along the lever 20 and lockable by screw 29. Wirfelt explains that the pin 21 is positioned to contact and actuate the trigger 28 of the saw. See Fig. 1 and col. 1, lines 40-60 in Wirfelt. Thus, Wirfelt teaches an adjustable trigger-actuating member associated with a saw-support structure, the position of which can be adjusted to accommodate the trigger position of a saw. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Killian’s saw-support apparatus to include an adjustable trigger-actuating member as taught by Wirfelt, so that the power saw supported by Killian could be actuated without requiring the operator to continuously manually depress the saw trigger.
Regarding claim 2, Killian teaches everything noted above including that the base 10 is configured to be mounted to a bench or other support and includes a pivotally mounted head 22. Killian further teaches that the head 22 can be rotated relative to the base 10 about pivot pin 19 and selectively positioned at different angular positions by the index pin 29 and index holes 18. Thus, Killian teaches that the saw-support structure is movable into different angular orientations relative to the base and its supporting surface. However, to the extent claim 2 requires the base itself to be positioned in both horizontal and vertical orientations relative to a support surface, Killian does not expressly disclose such orientations. The limitation is nevertheless not entitled to patentable weight to the extent it merely recites the manner in which the apparatus is positioned during use and does not require any additional structural relationship or mechanism in the claimed stand.
Regarding claim 3, Killian teaches everything noted above including a first bracket or saw frame 39 configured to couple to the arm/saw-support structure and configured to move with respect to the arm, wherein the first bracket 39 is configured to couple to the mounting portion 50 of the power saw 51. Specifically, the frame member 39 is slidably mounted on guide rod 35 and includes overlapping member 41 and flange 46 for retaining the base 50 of the power saw. See Fig. 5 in Killian.
Regarding claim 4, Killian teaches everything noted above including a second bracket or saw frame 40 configured to couple to the arm/saw-support structure and configured to move with respect to the arm, wherein the second bracket 40 is configured to couple to the mounting portion 50 of the power saw 51. The frame members 39 and 40 are mounted on the guide rods 35 and cooperate to retain the saw base 50. See Fig. 5 in Killian.
Regarding claim 6, Killian teaches everything noted above including an adjustable guide 30 configured to adjust the cutting angle and movably coupled to the base 10. Killian describes the guide as being positionable at different angular positions by the index holes 18 and index pin 29, thereby permitting the guide to be positioned at a desired cutting angle. See Figs. 1-4 in Killian.
Regarding claim 8, Killian teaches a saw stand comprising: a base 10 configured to mount to a surface; an arm/saw-support structure including the rotatable head 22, guide rods 35, and handle member 36, wherein the head 22 is pivotally coupled to the base 10 through pivot pin 19; wherein the arm includes an upper portion comprising the guide rods 35 and handle member 36; wherein the upper portion includes engagement features in the form of the guide rods 35 and the adjustable frame structure mounted thereon; wherein the arm defines an opening through the movable saw-support structure; and wherein a bracket defined by frame member 39 is configured to couple with the arm and move with respect to the arm. Killian further teaches that the overlapping members 41 and 45 permit adjustment of the saw frames 39 and 40 for various saw base sizes. The frame members therefore provide an adjustable bracket arrangement capable of accommodating saws having different mounting portion dimensions. See Fig. 5 in Killian. Further, to the extent the claimed “enclosed aperture” is interpreted as requiring merely an opening through the arm/saw-support structure through which a portion of the saw may be received, the opening formed by the head 22, guide rods 35, and handle member 36 reasonably reads on the claimed enclosed aperture under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Killian does not, however, expressly disclose a trigger bar coupled to the upper portion of the arm and adjustable to engage different saw triggers. Wirfelt, as discussed above, teaches the adjustable trigger-actuating lever 20 and pin 21 associated with a pivotally supported saw, wherein the pin is adjustable along the lever to accommodate different trigger locations. It would have been obvious to modify Killian’s apparatus accordingly for the reasons set forth above.
Regarding claim 9, Killian teaches everything noted above including a base 10 configured to support the saw guide on a bench or other support and a head 22 pivotally mounted to the base 10. Killian’s head 22 is movable to different angular positions relative to the base through pivot pin 19, index holes 18, and index pin 29. To the extent the claimed different orientations refer to the orientation of the saw-support apparatus during use, the limitation does not require any additional structural feature and therefore does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from Killian under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding claim 10, Killian teaches everything noted above including engagement features comprising apertures or slots 42 extending along the frame member 41, wherein the saw frame 39 is securable to the upper portion of the arm/saw-support structure at a plurality of locations. Specifically, the beveled slots 42 cooperate with shoe 43 and screw 44 to permit the frame member 39 to be adjusted and secured at different positions. See Fig. 5 in Killian.
Regarding claim 11, Killian teaches everything noted above including a plurality of brackets, namely frame members 39 and 40, configured to cooperate with one another to retain the mounting portion 50 of the power saw 51. The overlapping members 41 and 45 permit the frame members to be adjusted for various saw base sizes. Thus, Killian teaches a plurality of adjustable bracket/frame members capable of accommodating different mounting portion dimensions.
Regarding claim 13, Killian teaches everything noted above including an adjustable guide 30 configured to adjust a cut angle and movably coupled to the base 10. The guide is adjustable relative to the base through the indexing arrangement comprising index holes 18 and index pin 29, thereby permitting the guide to be positioned at a selected angular position.
Regarding claims 21-22, Killian teaches everything noted above including that the movable saw-support structure includes a handle member 36. The handle member 36 joins the ends of the parallel guide rods 35 and forms part of the movable saw-support structure. See Figs. 1-3. To the extent claim 21 or 22 requires the claimed “enclosed aperture” to comprise a handle, Killian’s handle member 36 forms part of the boundary of the opening through the movable saw-support structure and therefore reasonably reads on the claimed limitation under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
10. Claims 15-17 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Killian in view of Lovell (2023/02324148 A1). Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Killian teaches a saw guide comprising a base 10 and an arm (defined by guide rods 35, head 22, and handle member 36, which together form a generally rectangular saw-support structure) rotatably coupled to the base 10 via pivot pin 19, wherein the arm includes a mounting plate (defined by frame members 39 and 40 and their associated mounting structure; Fig. 5), and wherein the arm defines an opening (defined by the opening within the saw-support structure formed by rods 35, head 22, and handle member 36) configured to receive a power saw 51 via base 50 positioned between flanges 46 and 47. Killian further discloses that the saw-support structure is adjustable and positionable relative to a supporting surface. See Figs. 1-8. To the extent the recited “enclosed aperture” is construed as an opening through the arm/saw-support structure configured to receive the saw, the opening formed by the head 22, guide rods 35, and handle member 36 reasonably reads on the claimed enclosed aperture under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Further, Killian’s frame members 39 and 40 include overlapping members 41 and 45 that permit adjustment for various saw base sizes, and the base 50 of the power saw 51 is received and retained between flange 46 and plunger 49. Thus, Killian’s saw-support structure is capable of receiving and retaining a saw having a mounting portion. It should be noted that claim 15 does not positively recite any particular structural configuration of the portable band saw received by the claimed stand other than the recited mounting portion. Accordingly, to the extent “portable band saw” is interpreted as intended use rather than imposing additional structural limitations on the claimed stand, Killian’s disclosed saw-support structure reasonably reads on the claimed stand under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Killian further teaches that the base 10 is mounted on a bench or other support surface, with the web 15 contacting the support surface and hold-down bolts 17 securing the base to the support. See Fig. 1. Thus, Killian discloses the stand in a horizontal operating arrangement wherein the base 10 is supported on a horizontal surface.
Killian does not explicitly disclose that the stand is operable in a vertical orientation when only the mounting plate is fastened to the horizontal surface. However, as discussed above, the recitation that the band saw stand is “operable” in a particular orientation describes the manner in which the apparatus is used or positioned and does not, by itself, positively recite an additional structural limitation of the band saw stand. In particular, the claim does not recite a particular structural feature of the base, arm, or mounting plate that is required to provide the recited vertical orientation but instead defines the apparatus by the condition under which it is used. Nevertheless, to the extent the limitation is given patentable weight, Lovell teaches a portable band saw stand including a channel 12 and mounting mechanism configured to mount the stand in a substantially vertical orientation. Lovell further teaches that the stand can be mounted to different surfaces and that an F-clamp 14 can be affixed to a horizontal surface, such as a work bench 28, with an integral vertical surface 26 providing a location for mounting the band saw stand. See paragraphs [0029], [0037]- [0041], and Fig. 13. In particular, Lovell teaches that the F-clamp can be mounted to a horizontal surface and that the band saw stand can thereafter be mounted to the vertical surface provided by the F-clamp. Lovell therefore teaches the known desirability of mounting a portable band saw stand in a substantially vertical orientation using a mounting structure associated with a horizontal work surface. A person of ordinary skill in art would have recognized that the mounting arrangement of Lovell could be applied to the saw-support apparatus of Killian to provide an alternative mounting arrangement in which the saw-support structure is positioned in a substantially vertical orientation relative to a horizontal work surface. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Killian’s saw guide to include a mounting arrangement as taught by Lovell, including fastening the mounting structure to a horizontal work surface, in order to provide an alternative orientation and mounting arrangement for the saw-support apparatus.
Regarding claim 16, Killian teaches everything noted above including a
first bracket 39 configured to couple to the arm (22, 35, 36) and configured to move with respect to the arm, wherein the first bracket is configured to couple to a mounting portion 50 of a first band saw 61.
Regarding claim 17, Killian teaches everything noted above including a second bracket 40 configured to couple to the arm and configured to move with respect to the arm, wherein the second bracket is configured to couple to a different mounting portion 50 of a second band saw.
Regarding claim 23, Killian teaches everything noted above including that the enclosed aperture comprises a handle 36.
11. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Killian in view of Lovell and further review of Wirfelt. Regarding claim 18, Killian teaches everything noted above except a trigger bar coupled to the upper portion of the arm, wherein the trigger bar is configured to be adjustable in a plurality of positions to engage with triggers of the band saws. However, Wirfelt teaches a saw-support apparatus including a cradle 11 for receiving and retaining a chain saw 10, wherein the chain saw includes a trigger 28. Wirfelt further teaches a lever 20 having a trigger-engaging pin 21, wherein the pin 21 is carried by a sliding bracket 22 that is adjustable to different positions along the lever 20 and lockable by screw 29. Wirfelt explains that the pin 21 is positioned to contact and actuate the trigger 28 of the saw. See Fig. 1 and col. 1, lines 40-60 in Wirfelt. Thus, Wirfelt teaches an adjustable trigger-actuating member associated with a saw-support structure, the position of which can be adjusted to accommodate the trigger position of a saw. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Killian’s saw-support apparatus, as modified by Lovell, to include an adjustable trigger-actuating member as taught by Wirfelt, so that the power saw supported by Killian could be actuated without requiring the operator to continuously manually depress the saw trigger.
Response to Arguments
12. Applicant arguments that amendment to claims 1, 8 and 15 overcomes the rejection of the claims based on Killian and Horine are considered but are not unpersuasive. As discussed above, Horine teaches all the limitations set forth in claim 15 under a different interpretation of Horine’s disclosure. Furthermore, as discussed above, Killian, in view of Wirfelt teaches all the limitations set forth in claims 1 and 8.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant’s disclosure.
Mitchell (4,779,503) teaches a band saw stand.
/GHASSEM ALIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724 September 1, 2026