Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11,13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 11,213,957) in view of Ito (JP2018-6309A).
Re claim 1, Lin teaches a gripper apparatus 10,16 for vehicle assembly (column 9, 3rd paragraph), comprising: a main body 16; a gripper 56,66 mounted on the main body, and configured to grip a component (workpieces of varied types such as automotive or other panels) to be loaded. Lin states that the tools & grippers may be various types and movable in varied directions but does not specifically mention cable organizers nor actuator details. Ito teaches (see figures) tool grippers / cable organizer connected to a main body, and configured to organize a cable 11,10,14 extending from the component (vehicle component) and motive sources rotary and/or linear 35a to move as appropriate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Lin in view of Ito to have one (or more) tool(s) the tool grippers / cable organizer type in order to along greater versatility of use, automation and ability in fields such as vehicle assembly.
Re claim 2, Lin as already modified teaches the cable organizer with a cable clamp (34,34,6,134,234,etc.) for clamping or unclamping the cable; and a first linear actuator mounted on the main body, the first linear actuator configured to move the cable clamp upward and downward (Lin in view of Ito as already has the linear & rotary actuators to move the various adjustabilities shown).
Re claim 3, Lin as already modified teaches the cable organizer further includes a first moving member (68, etc.) which is movable upward and downward by the first linear actuator, and wherein the cable clamp is mounted on the first moving member.
Re claim 4, Lin as already modified teaches the cable clamp includes a first clamp member (36,360,36eA, see Ito figures), a second clamp member (36,360,36eA, see Ito figures), facing the first clamp member, and a second linear actuator (not numbered) configured to move the first clamp member and the second clamp member in opposite directions.
Re claim 5, Lin as already modified teaches each of the first clamp member and the second clamp member has a clamp surface for pressing the cable, and the clamp surface has a concave shape (Ito figures such as 14,20+,etc.) applicant’s instant written specification states in [0058] “concave shape such as a V-like or U-like shape” which is what is shown in Ito and thus Lin in view of Ito).
Re claim 6, Lin as already modified teaches a height of the first clamp member is different from a height of the second clamp member (see Ito figures such as 10,14,20+).
Re claim 7, Lin as already modified teaches the second linear actuator is fixed to the first moving member.
Re claim 8, Lin as already modified teaches the cable clamp further includes a second moving member (370, 35e, etc., see Ito figures) and a third moving member (370, 35e, etc., see Ito figures) which are configured to move in opposite directions by the second linear actuator, and wherein the first clamp member is connected to the second moving member, and the second clamp member is connected to the third moving member.
Re claim 9, Lin as already modified teaches the cable clamp further includes a first rotary actuator (35e, etc. see figures) for rotating the first clamp member, and a second rotary actuator (35e, etc. see figures) for rotating the second clamp member.
Re claim 10, Lin as already modified teaches the first rotary actuator is mounted on the second moving member, and the second rotary actuator is mounted on the third moving member.
Re claim 11, Lin as already modified teaches various parts that could consider the items as claimed, but it is not clear that there are enough in the figures of Ito to further meet the legs, etc. However, duplication, rearrangement & making parts separable are obvious modifications (MPEPE 2144; In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have further modified Lin as claimed in order to have greater versatility in construction & greater freedom of movements by additional parts.
Re claim 13, Lin & Lin as already modified teaches the gripper 56,66 is mounted on an end of a rod 68,54 extending from the main body.
Re claims 14,15, Lin as already modified teaches the gripper is rotated by a gripper rotary actuator (not numbered, 78 etc.) and the gripper rotary actuator at least likely mounted on the main body and various connection brackets (for ease of connection, not numbered, see figure 1,2,etc.). However, if applicant argues the location as it is from the combination rejection, note that duplication, rearrangement & making parts separable are obvious modifications (MPEPE 2144; In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) ). For sake of a possible broader interpretation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Lin as claimed in order to arrange the parts such as the actuator, brackets, etc. in location best for a given situational or manufacturing need & to ease mounting and/or simplify power line runs.
Re claim 16, Lin and Ito mention the parts are subparts for automotive vehicles and so the vehicle of which the subparts are part of would meet the claim.
Re claims 17-20, Lin teaches a gripper apparatus 10,16 for vehicle assembly (column 9, 3rd paragraph), comprising: a main body 16; a gripper 56,66 mounted on the main body, and configured to grip a component (workpieces of varied types such as automotive or other panels) to be loaded. Lin states that the tools & grippers may be various types and movable in varied directions but does not specifically mention cable organizers nor actuator details. Ito teaches (see figures) tool grippers / cable organizer connected to a main body, and configured to organize a cable 11,10,14 extending from the component (vehicle component) and motive sources rotary and/or linear 35a to move as appropriate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Lin in view of Ito to have one (or more) tool(s) the tool grippers / cable organizer type in order to along greater versatility of use, automation and ability in fields such as vehicle assembly.
Lin as already modified teaches the cable organizer with a cable clamp (34,34,6,134,234,etc.) for clamping or unclamping the cable; and a first linear actuator mounted on the main body, the first linear actuator configured to move the cable clamp upward and downward (Lin in view of Ito as already has the linear & rotary actuators to move the various adjustabilities shown).
Lin as already modified teaches the cable organizer further includes a first moving member (68, etc.) which is movable upward and downward by the first linear actuator, and wherein the cable clamp is mounted on the first moving member.
Lin as already modified teaches the cable clamp includes a first clamp member (36,360,36eA, see Ito figures), a second clamp member (36,360,36eA, see Ito figures), facing the first clamp member, and a second linear actuator (not numbered) configured to move the first clamp member and the second clamp member in opposite directions.
Lin as already modified teaches each of the first clamp member and the second clamp member has a clamp surface for pressing the cable, and the clamp surface has a concave shape (Ito figures such as 14,20+,etc.) applicant’s instant written specification states in [0058] “concave shape such as a V-like or U-like shape” which is what is shown in Ito and thus Lin in view of Ito).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Akama teaches an actuated vacuum gripper with L-shaped brackets.
MICHAEL S. LOWE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3652
/MICHAEL S LOWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652