Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Yes.
Claim 10 recites a method for signal detection, comprising: receiving a first signal…receiving a second signal…using the first signal or third signal…using the second signal or the fourth signal as an input signal of a second controller in response to determining that a difference between the second signal and the fourth signal is less than a second threshold” which is a process.
Step 2A, Prong One: Judicial exception? Yes.
Claim 10 recites the steps of “receiving a first signal…receiving a second signal…using the first signal or third signal…using the second signal or the fourth signal as an input signal of a second controller in response to determining that a difference between the second signal and the fourth signal is less than a second threshold” which falls into mathematical concepts and/or mental processes, that may be carried out in human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper in simple situations. The claim does not recite a particular equation or algorithm for making the recited combining and performing steps, this just means that the abstract idea is being recited broadly enough to monopolize all possible equations or algorithms that might be used (Please also see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), (B), (C), and (D).
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the steps is that those steps fall within the mental process groupings of abstract ideas because they cover concepts performed in the human mind, including observation (data gathering in steps “receiving…receiving…), evaluation, judgment, and opinion (“using the first signal or third signal…first threshold” and “using the second signal or the fourth signal as an input signal of a second controller in response to determining that a difference between the second signal and the fourth signal is less than a second threshold”). See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Practical application? No.
The steps “using the first signal or third signal” and “using the second signal or the fourth signal…second threshold” encompass insignificant extra solution. The recited steps only the outcome without any deitals about how the outcome is accomplished. The “(used) first signal or third signal as an input signal of a first controller…” and “(used) second signal or fourth signal…” encompasses insignificant extra solution and merely data. The use of the “(used) first sginal or third signal…” and of the “(used second signal or fourth signal…” is unlimited. The steps are not performed by any particular device.
Claim 10 when viewed as a whole or in ordered combination does not provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular environment to transform the judicial exception into patent-eligible subject matter (see MPEP 2106.05(e)). Per MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a), the claim as a whole does not provide an improvement to other technology or technical field.
The recited “controller”, “sensor”, “Processing circuit” are not particular devices. They are recited as tools which are used to perform the abstract idea.
Step 2B: the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, for reasons that are analogous to the discussion of additional elements at Prong 2.
Dependent claims 11-14 add limitations which are data merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements. The step is similar to the steps “using…” as recited in claim 10 and the rejection of claim 1 is herein incorporated by reference.
Independent claim 15 recites an apparatus which does not offer a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the system to a particular technological environment, that is, implementation via a first and second processing circuits, first and second controllers, and sensors. In other words, the apparatus and the system claims are no different from the method claim 10 in substance; the method claim recites the abstract idea while the apparatus and system claims recite generic components configured to implement the same abstract idea. The claim does not amount to significantly more than the underlying abstract idea.
Dependent claims 16-20 add limitations which are data merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements. The recited modules are not particular device.
Independent claim 1:
Step 1: Yes. Claim 1 recites a circuit for signal detection, comprising: a first processing circuit…the first controller is communicatively connected to the second controller” which is a machine.
Step 2A: Judicial exception? Yes. This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04(II) and the October 2019 Update, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
Limitation “the first processing circuit, the second processing circuit…are configured to perform filtering and voltage regulation on respective input signals” encompasses mathematical concept. The first and second processing circuits as recited are not particular machines. They are tools to perform the abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Practical application? No.
Claim 1 when viewed as a whole or in ordered combination does not provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular environment to transform the judicial exception into patent-eligible subject matter (see MPEP 2106.05(e)). Per MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a), the claim as a whole does not provide an improvement to other technology or technical field.
The recited “controllers” and “Processing circuits” are not particular devices. They are recited as tools which are used to perform the abstract idea.
Step 2B: the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, for reasons that are analogous to the discussion of additional elements at Prong 2.
Dependent claims 2-9 add limitations which are data and insignificant extra solution merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements. The recited controllers, processing circuits, redundant sensors, capacitors, resistors, filter circuit, voltage regulation circuits are not particular devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by KR 20210011125 A (submitted by Applicants)(hereinafter ‘D1).
Regarding claim 1, D1 discloses a circuit for signal detection, comprising:
a first processing circuit (dual die IC 111), a second processing circuit (second dual die die 121), a third processing circuit (dual die IC 111), a fourth processing circuit (dual die IC 121), a first controller (130), and a second controller (140), wherein: the first processing circuit, the second processing circuit, the third processing circuit, and the fourth processing circuit are configured to perform filtering and voltage regulation on respective input signals (signals from first and second sensors 110 and 120 which includes a dual die integrated circuit IC 111 and 121. Each of the dual die IC 111 and 112 output a plurality of detection signals to the first and second controllers 130 and 140 and control the steering motor 150 based on the received detection signal. At this time, when both the first controller 130 and the second controller 140 operate, each of the first controller 130 and the second controller 140 calculates a control value obtained by dividing the target value, and controls the control value. Control signals corresponding to the values may be respectively output to the steering motor 150. A plurality of control signals output by each of the two controllers may be integrated and finally applied to the steering motor 150. In this way, the first controller 130 and the second controller 140 calculate a control value equal to the target value, so that the steering power assist system 100 may more stably provide the steering assist force. See Pages 5-7);
both an output end of the first processing circuit and an output end of the third processing circuit are connected to an input end of the first controller; both an output end of the second processing circuit and an output end of the fourth processing circuit are connected to an input end of the second controller (signals from first and second sensors 110 and 120 which includes a dual die integrated circuit IC 111 and 121. Each of the dual die IC 111 and 112 output a plurality of detection signals to the first and second controllers 130 and 140 and control the steering motor 150 based on the received detection signal. At this time, when both the first controller 130 and the second controller 140 operate, each of the first controller 130 and the second controller 140 calculates a control value obtained by dividing the target value, and controls the control value. Control signals corresponding to the values may be respectively output to the steering motor 150. A plurality of control signals output by each of the two controllers may be integrated and finally applied to the steering motor 150. See Pages 6 and 7. Figs. 1-6);
and the first controller is communicatively connected to the second controller (Page 8: controllers 130 and 140 perform internal communication to indicate a detection signal input from each sensor and a calculated target value. Internal communication between the first and second controllers 130 and 140 may transmit and receive information, signals, and the like through, for example, CAN communication).
Regarding claim 2, D1 discloses the first sensor and the second sensor are configured to detect a torque signal and an angle signal; an output end of the first sensor is connected to an input end of the first processing circuit, and the output end of the first sensor is further connected to an input end of the second processing circuit; and an output end of the second sensor is connected to an input end of the third processing circuit, and the output end of the second sensor is further connected to an input end of the fourth processing circuit (Page 6).
Regarding claim 6, D1 discloses wherein the first controller and the second controller are further configured to control a three-phase winding of a motor (Page 8).
Regarding claim 7, D1 discloses wherein the first processing circuit, the second processing circuit, the third processing circuit, and the fourth processing circuit are redundant processing circuits for each other (Pages 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 8, D1 discloses wherein the first controller and the second controller are redundant controllers for each other (Pages 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 9, D1 discloses wherein the first sensor and the second sensor are redundant sensors for each other (Pages 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 15 and similar claim 10, D1 discloses a signal detection apparatus for signal detection, comprising:
a first control module (controller 130), configured to receive a first signal of a first sensor (sensor 110) through a first processing circuit (dual die IC 111), and receive a third signal of a second sensor (sensor 120) through a third processing circuit (121) (see Figs. 1-6, Pages 5-8);
a second control module (controller 140), configured to receive a second signal of the first sensor (110) through a second processing circuit (dual die IC 111), and receive a fourth signal of the second sensor (120) through a fourth processing circuit (dual die IC 121) (Figs. 1-6, Pages 5-8);
a first determining module, configured to use the first signal or the third signal as an input signal of a first controller in response to determining that a difference between the first signal and the third signal is less than a first threshold; and a second determining module, configured to use the second signal or the fourth signal as an input signal of a second controller in response to determining that a difference between the second signal and the fourth signal is less than a second threshold (Pages 9 and 10: For example, when the first detection signal and the second detection signal are different from each other, the first controller 130 compares the first detection signal with at least one of the third detection signal and the fourth detection signal, and the second detection signal is compared with at least one of the third detection signal and the fourth detection signal. At this time, when the first detection signal is the same as the third detection signal (a fourth detection signal is also possible), but the second detection signal is different from the third detection signal (a fourth detection signal is also possible), the first controller 130 Selects the first detection signal. For another example, when the third detection signal and the fourth detection signal are different from each other, the second controller 140 compares the third detection signal with the first detection signal and compares the fourth detection signal with the first detection signal. do. At this time, when the third detection signal is the same as the first detection signal (a second detection signal is also possible), but the fourth detection signal is different from the first detection signal (a second detection signal is also possible), the second controller 140 Selects the third detection signal).
Regarding claims 11 and 16, D1 discloses a third determining module, configured to use the first signal as the input signal of the first controller in response to determining that the difference between the first signal and the third signal is not less than the first threshold, and a difference between the first signal and the second signal is less than a third threshold (Pages 12 and 13).
Regarding claims 12 and 17, D1 discloses using the third signal as the input signal of the first controller in response to determining that the difference between the first signal and the third signal is not less than the first threshold, and a difference between the third signal and the fourth signal is less than a fourth threshold (Pages 12 and 13).
Regarding claims 13 and 18, D1 discloses using the second signal as the input signal of the second controller in response to determining that the difference between the second signal and the fourth signal is not less than the second threshold, and a difference between the first signal and the second signal is less than a third threshold (Pages 12 and 13).
Regarding claims 14 and 19, D1 discloses using the fourth signal as the input signal of the second controller when in response to determining that the difference between the second signal and the fourth signal is not less than the second threshold, and a difference between the third signal and the fourth signal is less than a fourth threshold (Pages 12-14).
Regarding claim 20, D1 discloses wherein the first processing circuit, the second processing circuit, the third processing circuit, and the fourth processing circuit are redundant processing circuits for each other (Pages 4 and 6).
Conclusion
Claims 3-5 are patentably distinguishable over the prior art of record.
CN 113316712 (submitted by Applicants) discloses A control device for a vehicle-mounted device according to the present invention includes a first sensor for outputting sensor data, a second sensor, a first microprocessor, and a second microprocessor, wherein a second sensor data request signal generation unit of the second microprocessor generates a second sensor data request signal, the first microprocessor includes a first sensor data request signal generating section, a first data comparing section, a first abnormality determining section, and a first command signal generating section, the first sensor data request signal generating unit generates a first sensor data request signal, and the first data comparing unit compares first comparison data selected from the plurality of first sensor data with second comparison data selected from the plurality of second sensor data, the first abnormality determination
unit determines the presence or absence of an abnormality of the sensor unit based on a comparison result of the first data comparison unit (Abstract; Pages 5-7).
Regarding claim 3, the closest prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to anticipate or render obvious the combination wherein “wherein the first processing circuit comprises: a voltage regulation circuit and a filter circuit; and wherein: an input end of the voltage regulation circuit is the input end of the first processing circuit, and an output end of the voltage regulation circuit is connected to an input end of the filter circuit; and an output end of the filter circuit is the output end of the first processing circuit” in combination with other limitations in the claims as defined by Applicants.
Claims 4 and 5 depend from claim 3 and therefore are also patentably distinguishable over the prior art of record.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USPAP. 20260091781 discloses systems and methods capable of performing communication/sensor protocols between mobile devices and vehicles, or between vehicles, and capable of determining when the presence of assets and vehicle(s) together warrants slowing or stopping and subsequently controlling one or more of the vehicle(s) accordingly. The radio communication and vehicle control system includes i) mobile communication device(s), ii) multiple radio communication devices, iii) a command unit, control unit, and optionally a display unit. The systems and methods are capable of communicating ToF information and from that calculating a statistically computed multivariate probability distribution associated with the mobile device to be used to predict, prevent and provide warnings for the person or secondary vehicle/location/equipment from coming into contact with the primary vehicle (Abstract; Pars. 119-133).
/PHUONG HUYNH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857 July 24, 2026