DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 id objected to because of the following informalities: Amend the claim to eliminate the extra period punction marks after each steps (a-c). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ollila et al (US 20180078785 A1) in view of Kappor et al (US 8,175,892 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Ollila et al discloses a method performed by a management apparatus for a radiotherapy system, the radiotherapy system comprising a source of therapeutic radiation mounted on a rotatable gantry (530) (gantry rotates about couch (540) and houses therapeutic beam source (510). Programmable circuitry (560) receives plan data and include an optimization engine) (See Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0048]-[0050]), the method comprising: receiving, from a treatment planning apparatus, a treatment plan for delivery by the radiotherapy system, the treatment plan specifying a plurality of beams to be generated by the source of therapeutic radiation (plan contains multiple treatment fields (See Fig. 9, step (902) (paragraph [0074]); wherein the beam is initiated at one of the first and second angles, and terminated at the other of the first and second angles (VMAT field has defined starting and ending gantry angles. IMRT field is delivered at a fixed gantry angle) (See Fig. 7 and Fig. 11, step 102 and paragraph [0089]); applying an optimization algorithm to the plurality of beams, the optimization algorithm arranging the plurality of beams into an order such that an aggregate amount of rotation by the rotatable gantry between beams when delivering the treatment plan is minimized (compares candidate orders and identifies travel between successive fields as a source of beam-off delay) (See Fig. 9, steps 904-908 and paragraphs [0067], [0075]-[0077]); and outputting the ordered plurality of beams to the radiotherapy system for implementation (optimizer updates the plane with selected field order and transmits it to treatment system control circuitry for delivery in that order) (See fig. 9, steps 910-912 and paragraphs [0078]-[0079]). Ollila et al does not express teach selecting the beam order that minimizes the total gantry rotation from the ending angle of each bema to the starting angle of the next beam. Kapoor et al discloses treatment planning system (705) use volume-of-interest specification and required radiation dosage to create treatment plan (5030 (See Fig. 7 and col. 19, lines 29-33); plan (503), produced by treatment planning stage (403), is input to scheduling and optimization stage (501) (col. 7, lines 20-22); identifies the received plan as containing multiple beam configurations; beam-sequencing step (608), sorting rule (3), sorts beams by delivery angle within groups having common higher-priority settings. Kapoor et al further teaches giving highest-cost configuration change priority) (col. 10, lines 8-58 and col. 11, lines 11-17). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ollila et al of identify inter-field travel as a source of beam-off delay with Kapoor et al of sequencing beams by gantry angle and prioritizing time-consuming configuration change. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to shorten interval between deliveries while preserving the prescribed beams.
Regarding claim 2, Ollila et al discloses wherein the optimization algorithm further specifies a direction of rotation between the first and second angles for each beam (a treatment plan comprising multiple VMAT arcs and an optimization algorithm capable of retaining or reversing a treatment field’s delivery direction (paragraph [0081], [0089]).
Regarding claim 15, Ollila et al discloses a management apparatus for a radiotherapy system, comprising processing circuitry and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions (central processor (1673) executes instructions from memory (1672) or storage device (1679) (See Fig. 16 and paragraphs [0140], [0143], [0145]) which, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the management apparatus to: receive, from a treatment planning apparatus, receives a plan containing multiple treatment fields (See Fig. 9, step 902 and paragraph [0074]); radiotherapy system having a therapeutic radiation source (510) mounted on a rotatable gantry (530) (See 5 and paragraphs [0048]-[0049]); each beam begins at one associated gantry angle and terminates at the other (See Fig. 7 and paragraphs [0053], [0066], [0089]); apply an optimization algorithm order beams to minimize aggregate gantry rotation between beams (See Fig. 9, steps 904-908 and paragraphs [0075]-[0077]); output the ordered plurality of beams to the radiotherapy system for implementation (See Fig. 9, steps 910-912 and paragraphs [0078]-[0079]). Ollila et al does not expressly disclose selecting the beam order that minimizes the total gantry rotation from each beam’s ending angle to the next beam’s tarting angle. Kapoor et al discloses a planning system (705) create plan (503) (col. 19, lines 29-33); plan as input to scheduling and optimization stage (501) and contains multiple beam configurations (col 7, lines 7-12, 20-22); sorts beams by gantry angle within groups and prioritizes higher-cost configuration changes (col. 10, lines 19-22 and 51-58 and col. 12, lines 9-10). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ollila et al of software with Kapoor et al ordering beams by gantry angle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to select beam order requiring the least total gantry rotation between beams to reduce repositioning time when gantry movement governs the delay.
Regarding claim 16, Ollila et al discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by processing circuitry (1673) (See Fig. 16 and paragraphs [0140], [0413], [0145]), cause the processing circuitry to: receive, from a treatment planning apparatus, a treatment plan for delivery by a radiotherapy system comprising a source of therapeutic radiation mounted (plan specifying multiple treatment fields) (See Fig. 9, step 902 and paragraph [0074]) places therapeutic source (510) in rotating gantry (530) (See Fig. 5, paragraph [0048]-[0049]); each beam begins at one associated gantry angle and ends at the other (Arc field (710) runs from start point (740) to end point (750), corresponding to its start and end gantry angles) (See Fig. 7 and paragraphs [0053], [0066], [0089]); apply an algorithm that orders the beams to minimize aggregate gantry rotation between beams (compares beam orders to minimize treatment time) (See Fig. 9 and paragraphs [0067], [0075]-[0077]); output the ordered beams to the radiotherapy system for implementation (updates plan with selected beam order and transmit to radiotherapy system control circuity for delivery) (See Fig. 9, steps 910-912 and paragraphs [0078]-[0079]). Ollila et al does not expressly teach stored instructions that select beam order minimizing the total gantry rotation from each beam’s ending angle to the next beam’s staring angle. Kapoor et al discloses identifies planning system (705) as the source of plan (503) and optimization stage (501) as its recipient) (col. 19, lines 29-33 and col. 7, lines 7-12); sorts beams by gantry angle within groups (col. 10, lines 19-22 and 51-58); and priority to higher-cost changes (col. 12 lines 9-10). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ollila et al of stored instructions with Kapoor et al of ordering beams by gantry angle to select the order requiring the least total gantry rotation between beams. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to reduce repositioning time when gantry movement governs the delay.
Claim(s) 4-6, 8-10, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ollila et al (US 20180078785 A1) in view of Kappor et al (US 8,175,892 B2), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nikiel et al (US 6,182,008 B1).
Regarding claim 4, Ollia et al and Kapoor et al disclose all of the limitations of parent claim 1, as describes supra of ordering treatment beams however do not expressly teach starting with one beam and repeatedly inserting a remaining beam at the position that minimizes total gantry rotation between beams in the partial sequence, until all beams are ordered. Nikiel et al discloses (a) placing an initial beam from the plurality of beams into an intermediate order (first destination initializes a one-item ordered list). Ollia et al in view of Nikiel et al the first beam initializes the intermediate beam order) (See Fig. 7, block 711); b placing a subsequent beam from a remainder of the plurality of beams into the intermediate order, wherein the subsequent beam is placed at a position in the intermediate order such that the aggregate amount of rotation by the rotatable gantry between beams in the intermediate order is minimized (for each internal position calculate travel added by inserting the new destination between two existing destinations) (See Fig. 7, blocks 725-733 and 743); and c repeating step b until the plurality of beams are arranged into the order (build route one destination at a time and applies the same insertion procedure as each additional destination is supplied) (See Fig. 7, block 711 and Summary). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ollia et al in view of Kapoor or beam sequencing algorithm with Nikiel et al of insertion method. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to reduce repositioning without requiring the system to evaluate every possible beam order
Regarding claim 5, Ollila et al and Kapoor et al in view of Nikiel et al discloses wherein step b comprises calculating aggregate amounts of rotation by the rotatable gantry with the subsequent beam at each possible position in the intermediate order (tests the beginning, every position between successive designations and the end. Blocks 725-729 calculate the change in travel for an internal insertion) (See Fig. 7, blocks 713-741), and placing the subsequent beam at a position in the intermediate order having the smallest aggregate amount of rotation of the rotatable gantry between beams according to the intermediate order (algorithm retains the position producing the smallest increase and inserts the new destination there at block 743). Because every candidate starts with the same intermediate order, the position with the smallest increase also has the smallest resulting total. Thus, the comparison to inter-beam angular travel supplies the placement) (See Fig. 7, blocks 731-733, 739-743). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to calculate the total gantry rotation for each insertion position by adding Nikiel et al position specific change to the rotation already required by the intermediate bema order. This would give Ollila et al optimizer a direct comparison of the total angular travel for every candidate position while reusing the calculation for the unchanged portion of the sequence.
Regarding claim 6, Ollila et al and Kapoor et al in view of Nikiel et al discloses wherein step b comprises calculating aggregate amounts of rotation by the rotatable gantry with the subsequent beam placed at each possible position in the intermediate order (evaluate beginning, each internal position and the end when either endpoint is fixed. Calculates the change in route length for each insertion) (See Fig. 7, blocks 731-743). The proposed combination of Ollila et al and Kapoor et al in view of Nikiel et al of adding the change in inter-beam angular travel to the existing sequence’s total give the aggregate gantry rotation for that candidate. Ollila et al discloses perform the calculation in each direction between the first and second angle (optimizer may retain or reverse a treatment field’s delivery direction and identifies the start and end gantry angle of a VMAT arc. Reversing the arc swaps its entry and exit angles) (paragraphs [0081], [0089]). Nikiel et al discloses place the beam at the position and in the direction having the smallest aggregate gantry rotation between beams (See Fig. 7, blocks 731-743). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to evaluate both of Ollia et al arc directions at each insertion position as taught supra by Nikiel et al because reversing the arc changes how far the gantry must travel from the preceding beam and to the following beam. Comparing those totals would allow the optimizer to select the position and direction requiring the least repositioning, consistent with Ollila et al objective of reducing inter-field travel.
Regarding claim 8, Nikiel et al discloses place a remaining beam into the intermediate order to minimize aggregate gantry rotation between beams (See Fig. 7, blocks 717-743) evaluates insertion positions and selects the one adding the least travel). Ollila et al in view of Kapoor et al uses gantry rotation between beam endpoints as the travel measure. Ollila et al further teaches taking into account an imaging position of the rotatable gantry when placing the beam (gantry mounted imaging hardware (paragraph [0049]); jointly optimizes imaging direction and treatment trajectory (paragraph [0129]). Imaging position by machine-axis values and use travel to and from that position to evaluate alternatives (paragraphs [0131]-[0134]); select where to interleave imaging within a treatment field (See Fig. 15). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to account for Ollila et al of imaging gantry angle when applying Nikiel et al of insertion procedure because the angle at which imaging occurs affects the rotation needed to reach the next treatment beam. Ollila et al using imaging angle as the starting position would allow the optimizer to compare candidate beam insertions based on the gantry travel actually required to deliver the sequence.
Regarding claim 9, Nikiel et al discloses evaluates insertion positions and select the one adding the least travel (See Fig. 7, blocks 717-743). Ollila et al in view of Kapoor et al discloses gantry rotation between beam endpoints as the travel measure. Ollila et al discloses taking into account an imaging position o the rotatable gantry when placing the beam (gantry mount imaging hardware) (paragraph [0049]); jointly optimizes imaging direction and treatment trajectory) (paragraph [0129]); imaging position by machine-axis values and use travel to and from that position to evaluate alternatives (paragraphs [0131]-[0134]). Ollila et al teaches where the interleave imaging within a treatment field. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ollila et al of imaging gantry angle with Nikiel et al of insertion procedure because the angle at which imaging occurs affects the rotation needed to reach the next treatment beam. When imaging angle as the starting position would allow the optimizer to compare candidate beam insertions based on the gantry travel actually required to deliver the sequence.
Regarding claim 10, Ollila et al discloses wherein the first angle for a first beam of the plurality of beams is different to the second angle for the first beam (See Fig. 7, paragraphs [0066], [0089]).
Regarding claim 12, Ollila et al discloses wherein the first angle for a second beam of the plurality of beams is the same as the second angle for the second beam (See Fig. 7 and paragraphs [0053], [0066]).
Regarding claim 13, Ollila et al discloses wherein the method is performed at run-time of the treatment plan by the radiotherapy system (control circuitry (560) as part of radiotherapy system (500) (permits online optimization based on decision made in treatment room) (paragraph [0126]); optimizing imaging geometry together with the treatment-field trajectory (See Fig. 5 an paragraphs [0050], [0126], [0129]).
Regarding claim 14, Kapoor et al disclose treatment planning apparatus (treatment planning system (705) create plan (503) (See Fig. 7, col. 19, lines 29-33). Ollila et al disclose co-located within the management apparatus (multiple subsystems may be components of a single computer (See Fig. 16 and paragraph [0139]. Ollila et al further teaches radiography controller may determine treatment plan (See Fig. 5, paragraph [0050]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Kapoor et al of treatment planning and beam-sequencing functions on one computer, as taught supra by Ollila et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use co-location to allow the sequencing subsystem to receive the plan locally without requiring transmission between separate computers.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ollila et al (US 20180078785 A1) in view of Kappor et al (US 8,175,892 B2) and Nikiel et al (US 6,182,008 B1), as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Cheng et al (US 8,858,414 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Ollila et al, Kapoor et al and Nikiel et al disclose all of the limitations of claim 10, as describes supra however, Ollila et al, Kapoor et al and Nikiel et al are silent with regards to every beam has different start and stop gantry angles. Chen et al discloses wherein the respective first angle for each beam of the plurality of beams (col. 9, Table 1) is different to the respective second angle (first arc gantry start at 270 degrees and stops at 180 degrees, second arc – gantry starts at 180 degrees and stops at 270 degrees) (col. 9, Table 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Ollila et al in view of Kapoor et al of beam sequencing method as modified with Cheng et al of two-arc plan. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to eliminate the need to rotate the gantry between beams.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art fails to disclose or reasonably suggest wherein the plurality of beams is arranged into an order in which an aggregate amount of rotation by the rotatable gantry between beams when delivering the treatment plan is reduced, taking into account a final angle of rotation of the rotatable gantry from an immediately preceding treatment plan delivered by the radiotherapy apparatus, as claimed.
Prior art reference, Vojan et al (US 11,638,840 B2) discloses machine records the final couch position after treatment. The server uses that position to set up the same patient’s next treatment. However, Vojan et al does not use the last-delivered plan’s gantry angel to select beam order.
Prior art reference Liu et al (“Methods to model and predict the ViewRay treatment deliveries to aid patient scheduling and treatment planning”) discloses reorder beam groups by ascending or descending gantry angle and sums he predicted rotation times between consecutive groups. Earlier delivery logs supply the data for the prediction model. However, Liu et al does not identify the immediately preceding plan’s ending angle as the input that determines which order to use for the current plan.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to disclose or reasonably suggest wherein the optimization algorithm further specifies a direction of rotation between the first and second angles for each beam, and wherein step b comprises placing a subsequent beam from a remainder of the plurality of beams into the intermediate order such that the aggregate amount of rotation by the rotatable gantry between beams in the intermediate order is minimized, taking into account a final angle of rotation of the rotatable gantry from an immediately preceding treatment session delivered by the radiotherapy apparatus.
Conclusion
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884