DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-14, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arnold[1] (US 2007/0096943).
Claim 1: Arnold[1] discloses A traffic monitoring system for monitoring objects within an intersection, the traffic monitoring system comprising:
one or more radar subsystems positioned adjacent to the intersection (fig 1, 3, 11);
each of the one or more radar subsystems configured to receive returns from a respective angular field-of-view (FOV) within the intersection (fig 1, 3, 11 showing FOV’s of respective sensors, para 0042, 0043); and
wherein the one or more radar subsystems are configured to track objects as the objects traverse the respective angular FOVs within the intersection (para 0058-0072 disclosing the tracking process of track generation, maintenance, pruning, etc.)
Claim 2: Arnold[1] discloses the one or more radar subsystems comprise a first radar subsystem and a second radar subsystem, and the first radar subsystem and the second radar subsystem are positioned at diagonally opposite corners of the intersection (fig 11 elements 20, 120)
Claim 3: Arnold[1] discloses the first radar subsystem is configured to receive returns from a first angular FOV; the second radar subsystem is configured to receive returns from a second angular FOV; and the first angular FOV and the second angular FOV are adjacent to each other with respect to the intersection (fig 1, 3, 11 showing FOV’s of respective sensors, para 0042, 0043);
Claim 4: Arnold[1] discloses the first radar subsystem is configured to receive returns from a first angular FOV; the second radar subsystem is configured to receive returns from a second angular FOV; and the first angular FOV and the second angular FOV monitor all vehicles in the intersection (fig 1, 3, 11 showing FOV’s of respective sensors, para 0042, 0043);
Claim 9: Arnold[1] discloses a centralized controller unit is configured to track the object within the intersection by detecting the object moving through the one or more FOVs associated with the one or more radar subsystems (para 0058-0072 disclosing the tracking process of track generation, maintenance, pruning, etc.)
Claim 10: Arnold[1] discloses the traffic monitoring system is configured to distinguish between targets traveling along a first trajectory and a second trajectory through the intersection (para 0058-0072 disclosing the tracking process of track generation, maintenance, pruning, etc.)
Claim 11: Arnold[1] discloses A computer-implemented method for monitoring objects within an intersection, the computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving returns from one or more radar subsystems positioned adjacent to the intersection (fig 1, 3, 11);
wherein each of the one or more radar subsystems is configured to receive returns from a respective angular field-of-view (FOV) within the intersection (fig 1, 3, 11 showing FOV’s of respective sensors, para 0042, 0043); and
tracking objects as the objects traverse the respective angular FOVs within the intersection (para 0058-0072 disclosing the tracking process of track generation, maintenance, pruning, etc.)
Claim 12: Arnold[1] discloses the one or more radar subsystems comprise a first radar subsystem and a second radar subsystem, and the first radar subsystem and the second radar subsystem are positioned at diagonally opposite corners of the intersection (fig 11 elements 20, 120)
Claim 13: Arnold[1] discloses receiving from the first radar subsystem returns from a first angular FOV, receiving from the second radar subsystem returns from a second angular FOV; and wherein the first angular FOV and the second angular FOV are adjacent to each other with respect to the intersection (fig 1, 3, 11 showing FOV’s of respective sensors, para 0042, 0043);
Claim 14: Arnold[1] discloses receiving from the first radar subsystem returns from a first angular FOV, receiving from the second radar subsystem returns from a second angular FOV; and the first angular FOV and the second angular FOV monitor all vehicles in the intersection (fig 1, 3, 11 showing FOV’s of respective sensors, para 0042, 0043);
Claim 19: Arnold[1] discloses tracking the object within the intersection by detecting the object moving through the one or more FOVs associated with the one or more radar subsystems (para 0058-0072 disclosing the tracking process of track generation, maintenance, pruning, etc.)
Claim 20: Arnold[1] discloses distinguishing between targets traveling along a first trajectory and a second trajectory through the intersection (para 0058-0072 disclosing the tracking process of track generation, maintenance, pruning, etc.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold[1] (US 2007/0096943) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arnold[2] (US 7889098).
Claim 5: Arnold[1] does not specifically disclose the one or more radar subsystems are positioned adjacent to each other at a single location relative to the intersection.
Arnold[2] discloses an intersection traffic monitoring radar comprising multiple radar subsystems, wherein the multiple radar subsystems are positioned with the one or more antennas at the single position relative to an intersection (figs 1 and 2 elements 10, 12, 14, 20, col 3 lines 61-65, col 3 line 66 — col 4 line 11, col 4 lines 34-48)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Arnold[2] in order to cover the extent of an intersection from a single joint structure.
Claim 6: Arnold[1] discloses the angular FOVs form a contiguous view across the intersection (fig 1, 3, 11 showing FOV’s of respective sensors, para 0042, 0043);
Claim 7: Arnold[2] discloses a shared support structure that physically supports the one or more radar subsystems (figs 1 and 2 element 20, col 3 lines 61-65, col 3 line 66 - col 4 line 11, col 4 lines 34-48)
Claim 8: Arnold[2] discloses the shared support structure comprises mounting points that physically direct one or more antennas of the one or more radar subsystems into predetermined directions that align with different areas of the intersection (figs 1 and 2 element 20, fig 3 element 10A, fig 4 element 10B, col 3 lines 61-65, col 3 line 66 - col 4 line 11, col 4 lines 34- 48)
Claim 15: Arnold[1] does not specifically disclose the one or more radar subsystems are positioned adjacent to each other at a single location relative to the intersection.
Arnold[2] discloses an intersection traffic monitoring radar comprising multiple radar subsystems, wherein the multiple radar subsystems are positioned with the one or more antennas at the single position relative to an intersection (figs 1 and 2 elements 10, 12, 14, 20, col 3 lines 61-65, col 3 line 66 — col 4 line 11, col 4 lines 34-48)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Arnold[2] in order to cover the extent of an intersection from a single joint structure.
Claim 16: Arnold[1] discloses the angular FOVs form a contiguous view across the intersection (fig 1, 3, 11 showing FOV’s of respective sensors, para 0042, 0043);
Claim 17: Arnold[1] discloses a shared support structure that physically supports the one or more radar subsystems (figs 1 and 2 element 20, col 3 lines 61-65, col 3 line 66 - col 4 line 11, col 4 lines 34-48)
Claim 18: Arnold[1] discloses the shared support structure comprises mounting points that physically direct one or more antennas of the one or more radar subsystems into predetermined directions that align with different areas of the intersection (figs 1 and 2 element 20, fig 3 element 10A, fig 4 element 10B, col 3 lines 61-65, col 3 line 66 - col 4 line 11, col 4 lines 34- 48)
Conclusion
/PETER M BYTHROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648