CTFR 18/615,694 CTFR 86022 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment The following Office Action is responsive to the amendments and remarks received on March 19, 2026. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. At step 1, claim 1 is directed to a method, claim 18 is directed to a machine, and claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium. Thus, claims 1, 18, and 20 are directed to statutory categories of patentable subject matter. At step 2A, prong I, claim 1 (representative) recites, "A method of operating an electronic gaming machine ("EGM"), the method including: rendering a grid of a plurality of symbols as part of a slot game; determining that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes a trigger symbol; determining that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes a symbol associated with the trigger symbol; responsive to determining that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes the symbol associated with the trigger symbol and that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes the trigger symbol, locking the symbol independent of the plurality of symbols and re-rendering the grid of the plurality of symbols with the locked symbol; and responsive to locking the symbol, displaying an indication that the symbol is locked for a subsequent play of the slot game." These limitations, except for the italicized portions, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, recite certain methods of organizing human activity. The claimed invention determines information and lock symbols, which based on the claim interpretation, are following rules. The Examiner notes that although the claim limitations are summarized, the analysis regarding subject matter eligibility considers the entirety of the claim and all of the claim elements individually, as a whole, and in ordered combination. At step 2A, prong II, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of "an electronic gaming machine", "processing circuitry", "memory", and "a non-transitory computer readable medium". These additional elements are generic computing elements performing generic computer functions such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer. The additional elements of ‘rendering’ and ‘displaying an indication…’ are insignificant extra solution activity. Accordingly, these additional elements when considered individually or as a whole do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The independent claims are directed to an abstract idea. At step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application the additional elements of "an electronic gaming machine", "processing circuitry", "memory", and "a non-transitory computer readable medium" are generic computing elements as supported by the specification. These additional elements are generic computing elements performing generic computer functions such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer. The additional elements of ‘rendering’ and ‘displaying an indication…’ are well-known in the art per Hohman (AU 2004273800), Marks (US7252589), Bouvier (US 2023/0154287), and Wortmann (GB 2549757). When the additional elements are considered in combination, they are not significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the independent claims are not patent eligible. Dependent claims 2-17 and 19, when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to the same abstract idea of independent claims 1 and 18 without significantly more. Claims 2-17 and 19 further limit the abstract idea of the independent claims or recite displaying limitations that do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more for the same reasons as the independent claims. As such claims 1-20 are ineligible. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajhar (US 2022/0309865) in view of Hohman (AU 2004273800), further in view of Brito (US 2010/0004048) . With reference to claims 1, 18, and 20, Ajhar teaches a method of operating an electronic gaming machine ("EGM"), the method including: rendering a grid of a plurality of symbols as part of a slot game (see paragraphs 35-36); determining that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes a symbol (see paragraph 48 and Figure 4A, wild symbol); responsive to determining that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes the symbol, locking the symbol independent of the plurality of symbols and re-rendering the grid of the plurality of symbols with the locked symbol (see paragraph 51, locking the wild symbol and respinning all other symbols in the grid). Ajhar fails to teach determining that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes a trigger symbol; a symbol associated with the trigger symbol; and responsive to determining that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes the symbol associated with the trigger symbol and that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes the trigger symbol. Hohman teaches determining that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes a trigger symbol (see page 16, lines 29-32, trigger symbol 102); a symbol associated with the trigger symbol (see page 16, lines 29-32 wild symbol 105, and page 17, lines 3-10, ‘at least one trigger symbol 102 and at least one wild will be indicated on a payline in the game’); and responsive to determining that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes the symbol associated with the trigger symbol and that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes the trigger symbol (see page 17, lines 3-10, ‘at least one trigger symbol 102 and at least one wild will be indicated on a payline in the game’) locking the symbol independent of the plurality of symbols (see page 32, lines 1-7, ‘a wild symbol 103 appears on reel 34d of the display and that reel is locked’). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the wild symbol and locking mechanism of Ajhar with the trigger symbol of Hohman to provide the benefit of initiating an award mode, thus increasing the probability of extending the bonus game (see Hohman, Abstract), increasing user engagement with the gaming device. Ajhar and Hohman fail to teach responsive to locking the symbol, displaying an indication that the symbol is locked for a subsequent play of the slot game. Brito teaches responsive to locking the symbol, displaying an indication that the symbol is locked for a subsequent play of the slot game (see Figure 3 and paragraph 25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the visual indication that a symbol is locked, as taught by Brito, with the gaming device of Ajhar and Hohman, to more readily demonstrate to the user that a particular symbol has been locked, providing benefit to the user so that they may recognize which symbols are locked vs. unlocked and decide accordingly whether to play, how much to bet, etc. With reference to claim 2, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teach the method of claim 1, and Ajhar further teaches wherein locking the symbol includes determining a number of plays of the slot game in which to include the symbol as part of a corresponding rendered grid of the plurality of symbols (see Figure 4H, box 412 showing the number of plays N). With reference to claim 3, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teach the method of claim 2, and Ajhar further teaches wherein rendering the grid of the plurality of symbols includes rendering a first grid of the plurality of symbols as part of a first play of the slot game, the method further including: subsequent to locking the symbol, determining a second grid of the plurality of symbols, as part of a second play of the slot game, to include the symbol based on the symbol being locked; and rendering the second grid of the plurality of symbols (see Figure 3, first rendering of symbols, Figure 4A, rendering of wild symbol, and Figure 4E, rendering including wild symbol plus other re-rendered symbols). With reference to claim 4, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teaches the method of claim 3, and Ajhar further teaches wherein determining the second rendered grid of the plurality of symbols to include the symbol based on the symbol being locked includes determining the second rendered grid of the plurality of symbols with the symbol at a same position within the second rendered grid of the plurality of symbols as the symbol was in the first rendered grid of the plurality of symbols (see Figures 4A, initial rendering, and 4E, subsequent rendering, with wild symbol at same position). With reference to claim 5, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teach the method of Claim 3, and Hohman further teaches wherein the trigger symbol includes a first trigger symbol (see Figure 5A, #102 as a first trigger symbol), wherein the symbol includes a first symbol, the method further including: determining that the second rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes a second trigger symbol (see Figure 5E, second trigger symbol #105A); determining that the second rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes a second symbol associated with the second trigger symbol; and responsive to determining that the second rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes the second symbol associated with the second trigger symbol and that the second rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes the second trigger symbol, locking the second symbol (see page 18, the diamond symbol, i.e. first trigger signal, is locked, and then the wild symbol, i.e. second trigger signal, is locked). Combined under the same rationale as above. With reference to claim 6, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teach the method of Claim 5, and Hohman further teaches wherein the second symbol is the first symbol, wherein locking the second symbol includes adjusting the number of plays of the slot game in which to include the first symbol as part of the corresponding rendered grid of the plurality of symbols (see page 18, lines 17-26, ‘Once the wild symbols 105 are indicated on reels 34a and 34c and on the same payline as the trigger symbol 102, the gaming device holds or keeps these reels stationary. The symbols on payline 56b are wild' symbol 105a on reel 34a, trigger symbol or diamond symbol 102 on reel 34b and wild symbol 105b on reel 34c. The gaming device now re-spins or re-activates reel 34b until an award symbol such as one of the letters is indicated on payline 56b. Any award symbol 100 indicated on that payline will provide a symbol combination having three identical symbols matching the award symbol 100 indicated on that payline. This occurs because two of the symbols on that payline are the wild symbols 105a and 105b as illustrated in Fig. 5C.’). Combined under the same rationale as above. With reference to claim 7, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teach the method of claim 3, and Ajhar further teaches the method further including: determining that the second play of the slot game includes a trigger event (see paragraph 71, the trigger event is a win and the wild symbol is unlocked); and responsive to determining that the second play of the slot game includes the trigger event, adjusting the number of plays of the slot game in which to include the symbol as part of the corresponding rendered grid of the plurality of symbols (see paragraph 71, reset the count to determine when to offer a locked wild symbol). With reference to claim 8, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teach the method of claim 2, and Hohman further teaches the method further including: determining that the slot game has been played the number of plays (see page 6, lines 1-3). Ajhar further teaches responsive to determining that the slot game has been played the number of plays, unlocking the symbol (see paragraph 50, discarding the stored pointer). Combined under the same rationale as above. With reference to claim 9, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teach the method of claim 2, and Hohman further teaches wherein locking the symbol includes determining the number of plays of the slot game in which to include the symbol based on a type of the trigger symbol (see page 6, line 28 to page 7, line 7, predetermined or accumulated number of free spins). Combined under the same rationale as above. With reference to claim 10, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teach the method of claim 2, and Ajhar further teaches wherein locking the symbol includes determining the number of plays of the slot game in which to include the symbol based on a type of the symbol (see Figure 4H, number of plays N based on wild symbol). With reference to claim 11, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teach the method of claim 2, and Hohman further teaches wherein locking the symbol includes determining the number of plays of the slot game in which to include the symbol based on a characteristic of the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols (see page 17, lines 27-32, the number of spins being randomly determined, predetermined, or determined in any suitable manner). Combined under the same rationale as above. With reference to claim 12, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teach the method of claim 2, and Brito further teaches wherein locking the symbol includes displaying an indication that the symbol is locked for the number of plays of the slot game (see Figure 3 and paragraph 25 – the symbol is shown as locked for the duration of the play, then shown as unlocked after the play is over, unless the player elects to pay again). Combined under the same rationale as above. With reference to claim 13, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teach the method of claim 1, and Ajhar further teaches wherein determining that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes the trigger symbol includes determining that the trigger symbol is in a specific position within the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols (see paragraph 64, the pointer tracks the cell position of the wild symbol). With reference to claim 14, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teach the method of claim 1, and Hohman further teaches wherein the trigger symbol includes one of a plurality of trigger symbols, and wherein determining that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes the trigger symbol includes determining that the plurality of trigger symbols are positioned in a specific plurality of positions within the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols (see page 6, lines 28-32 ‘the gaming device holds stationary or fixes the position of the reel(s) which include wild symbols). Combined under the same rationale as above. With reference to claim 15, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teach the method of claim 1, and Ajhar further teaches wherein the trigger symbol is a first trigger symbol of a plurality of trigger symbols, wherein determining that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes the symbol associated with the trigger symbol includes: determining a specific type of symbol associated with the first trigger symbol; determining that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes the symbol; and determining that the symbol is of the specific type (see paragraph 70 and Figure 4D, the symbol is the wild symbol). With reference to claim 16, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teach the method of claim 1, and Ajhar further teaches wherein determining that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes the symbol associated with the trigger symbol includes determining that the rendered grid of the plurality of symbols includes a plurality of symbols associated with the trigger symbol, and wherein locking the symbol includes locking each symbol of the plurality of symbols (see Figure 4G, multiple locked wild symbols). With reference to claim 17, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teach the method of claim 16, and Hohman further teaches wherein locking each symbol of the plurality of symbols includes locking a first symbol of the plurality of symbols for a first number of plays of the slot game and locking a second symbol of the plurality of symbols for a second number of plays of the slot game that is different than the first number (see page 23, lines 13-31 and Figure 5A showing 5 spins for a locked symbol vs. Figure 5B showing 4 spins). Combined under the same rationale as above. With reference to claim 19, Ajhar, Hohman, and Brito teach the EGM of claim 18, and Ajhar further teaches the operations further including: responsive to a condition being met, unlocking the symbol (see paragraph 50). Brito further teaches subsequent to unlocking the symbol, displaying an indication that the symbol is unlocked for a subsequent play of the slot game (see Figure 4 and paragraph 28, after the user locks the symbol and spins, the result of the spin are shown with the locked symbol no longer being indicated as locked, because the lock is only applicable to a single spin). Combined under the same rationale as above . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed March 19, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the claims do not recite an abstract idea. However, as discussed above, the claims are directed to the steps of making determinations about the context of a game, and controlling the game accordingly. This does fall within the ‘following rules’ description of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. While this occurs within the context of an electronic gaming machine, there is no discussion of technology within the claims that restricts the above steps to only being performed by technology in a way that might obviate the ultimate function of the claims being abstract . Applicant further argues that the additional elements as amended integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. However, changing the word ‘displaying’ to ‘rendering’ does not change the ultimate function of what is occurring, nor is the term ‘rendering’ disclosed in such a way as to indicate a particularly technical process distinct from ‘displaying,’ which is pre-solution activity in any case. Locking as claimed is merely management of data, and the displaying of the final results is post-solution activity. Applicant argues that the claims provide an improvement to a technology or technological field, i.e. electronic gaming. However, electronic gaming in and of itself is not a technological field, as it merely uses a display to automate what was previously a manual process. The instant claims are not similar to example 37 because they do not collect relevant data to determine how to organize the icons on the screen. They merely use random number generators to place items on the screen, and then lock certain of those items in their existing location. This does not solve a technical problem in the way that example 37 does. Based on the new grounds of art rejection, the claims do not demonstrate an improvement over prior systems which might contribute to an eligibility decision. Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive and the 101 rejection is maintained. The 102 and 103 arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ILANA L SPAR whose telephone number is (571)270-7537. The examiner can normally be reached 8-4 M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tariq Hafiz can be reached at 571-272-5350 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ILANA L SPAR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3622 Application/Control Number: 18/615,694 Page 2 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 18/615,694 Page 3 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 18/615,694 Page 4 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 18/615,694 Page 5 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 18/615,694 Page 6 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 18/615,694 Page 7 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 18/615,694 Page 8 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 18/615,694 Page 9 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 18/615,694 Page 10 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 18/615,694 Page 11 Art Unit: 3622