Response to Amendment
1. The amendment filed 12/08/2025 has been entered. Currently, claims 1, 4-6, 8, and 12-25 remain pending in the application. Independent claim 1 was amended by the Applicant without the addition of new matter to include further narrowing limitations. Additionally, dependent claims 2-3 7, and 9-11 were cancelled. Lastly, new claims 21-25 have been added without the addition of new matter.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s amendment to independent claims 1 is sufficient to overcome the previous 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103 rejections recited in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 09/08/2025.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 12/08/2025 on Page 8 to Page 12, filed 12/08/2025, with respect to the rejection under 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, the amended claims have changed the scope of the claims and upon further consideration, a new3 5 USC § 103 grounds of rejection is made in view of new interpretation of the current prior art of the record: Phillips et al. (WO 2016069713 A1), Vitiello et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20150190248), Wagman (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20040030410), and Poser et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20230293321).
3. Overall, Examiner notes that any further positive limitation amendment such as --the mounting bracket having anterior to posterior extending slots and/or is attached to a lateral side of the pin receiver—as supported by Applicant’s Figure 1, would overcome the prior art of record for the anatomical locational directions of adjustable mounting and associated advantages that distinguishes from the prior art of record. Other potential amendments include negative limitations such as the limb cuff not extending to a closed end of the liner or the straps wrapping directly on top of the liner, so as to differentiate from the prior art. Furthermore, a --consisting—transitional phrase in the body or preamble would prevent possible prior art combinations.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “drive assembly” in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Terms such as “assembly” followed by functional language is a generic placeholder for the phrase “means for”. For examination purposes, “drive assembly” in claim 1 is interpreted as “an actuator drive with a rotatable input shaft, a knob, optionally a clutch mechanism, and of other configurations without departing from the scope of the present invention” (Specification, Paragraph 29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, and 12-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. (WO 2016069713 A1) in view of Vitiello et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20150190248) and in further view of Wagman (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20040030410) and Poser et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20230293321).
Regarding claim 1, Phillips discloses an orthosis 10 (Paragraphs 46, 47, 56 and Figures 10-15, knee, elbow, ankle or wrist adaptable orthosis 10 with drive actuator 16 for adjusting joint angle α between a proximal cuff 24 and a distal cuff 26) for increasing range of motion of a body joint, the orthosis 10 comprising: a proximal cuff 24 configured to couple to a proximal body part proximal of the body joint; a distal cuff 26 configured to couple to distal of the body joint; and a drive mechanism 16 (Paragraph 47 and Figures 10-15, drive actuator 16; this is the exact same structure as described in the 35 USC 112f analysis above) operatively coupled to the proximal cuff 24 and the distal cuff 26 and configured to drive selective movement of the distal cuff 26 relative to the proximal cuff 24, wherein the distal cuff 26 includes a distal liner 32 (Paragraph 47 and Figures 1-2, liner 32 within each shell 30 of cuffs 24,26 to at least partially surround limb for increased comfort), the distal liner 32 including a liner body 32 configured to surround the distal limb.
However, Phillips fails to explicitly disclose (1) the orthosis for increasing range of motion of the body joint proximal to an amputated limb; the distal cuff is a residual-limb cuff configured to couple to residual limb distal of the body joint; (2) the liner body has an open end for receiving the residual limb and a closed end opposite the open end; the residual limb liner including a liner pin extending from the closed end of the liner body; a residual limb adapter operatively coupling the residual-limb liner to the drive assembly; (3) the residual-limb adapter includes a mounting bracket and a pin receiver secured to the mounting bracket, the mounting bracket operatively couples the pin receiver to the drive assembly: and wherein the liner pin is adjustably secured to the pin receiver such that the liner pin and the residual-limb liner are selectively movable relative to the pin receiver to adjust a distance between the residual-limb liner and the residual-limb liner adapter.
Vitiello teaches the analogous orthosis 20, 200, 50,555, 325 (Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, hip orthosis 20, 200, 50,555, 32 with hip proximal cuff 32 and residual amputated leg cuff 20. Cuff receiver tube frame 300 at an inferior end of residual leg cuff 20 to couple with a drive actuator 555 and bar 50 that couples with the hip cuff 32 for increasing range of motion and energy of motion through a user’s hip joint 55) for increasing range of motion of the body joint proximal to an amputated limb; the analogous distal cuff 20 is a residual-limb cuff 20 configured to couple to residual limb distal of the body joint;
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal cuff of Phillips, so that the distal cuff is a residual limb cuff configured to couple to residual limb distal of the body joint for the orthosis to increase range of motion of the body joint proximal to an amputated limb, as taught by Vitiello, in order to provide an improved orthosis with an enhanced distal cuff adapted for a residual limb for desirable functionality of the joint between the residual limb and the proximal cuff to maintain energy and selective actuation for desirable flexion and extension during gait (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, and 72-75).
However, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello fails to explicitly disclose (2) the liner body has an open end for receiving the residual limb and a closed end opposite the open end; the residual limb liner including a liner pin extending from the closed end of the liner body; a residual limb adapter operatively coupling the residual-limb liner to the drive assembly; the residual-limb adapter includes a mounting bracket and a pin receiver secured to the mounting bracket, the mounting bracket operatively couples the pin receiver to the drive assembly; (3) and wherein the liner pin is adjustably secured to the pin receiver such that the liner pin and the residual-limb liner are selectively movable relative to the pin receiver to adjust a distance between the residual-limb liner and the residual-limb liner adapter.
Wagman teaches an analogous residual-limb liner body 64 (Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, leg socket liner 64 with closed end and open end to receive amputated limb) has an open end for receiving the residual limb and a closed end opposite the open end ; residual-limb liner 64 (Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, leg socket liner 64 with pin 13 mounted at distal inferior end) includes pin 13 extending from the closed end of the analogous liner body 64; a residual limb adapter 70 (Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, residual limb adapter comprising pin receiver bushing 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11) operatively coupling the residual-limb liner 64 comprising a pin receiver 70.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a shape and attachment fasteners of the liner body of Phillips in view of Vitiello, so that the liner body has an open end for receiving the residual limb and a closed end opposite the open end with a pin extending from the closed end, and a residual limb adapter operatively coupling the residual-limb liner comprising a pin receiver, as taught by Wagman, in order to provide an improved orthosis with an enhanced liner body that fully wraps around the user’s amputated limb for desirable comfort and protection during wear and with a pin at the closed end for further attachment (Wagman, Paragraph 43)
Therefore, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman discloses the residual-limb adapter (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A below, residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200 and bracket that attach to drive rod 50 and actuator 555; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, residual limb adapter comprising pin receiver bushing 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11) operatively coupling the residual-limb liner (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 1-2, soft flexible liner sleeve 32 within shell 30 of distal cuff 26 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, residual limb cuff 20 with open and closed end; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, residual leg liner body 64) to the drive assembly (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 10-15, drive actuator 16 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, drive actuator 555 and rod 50); wherein the residual-limb adapter (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A below, residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200 and bracket that attach to drive rod 50 and actuator 555; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, residual limb adapter comprising pin receiver bushing 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11) includes a mounting bracket (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A above, bracket between drive rod 50 and residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200) and a pin receiver (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A, cuff receiver tube frame 200 ; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, pin receiver bushing 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11), wherein the mounting bracket (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A above, bracket between drive rod 50 and residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200) operatively couples the pin receive to the drive assembly (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 10-15, drive actuator 16 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, drive actuator 555 and rod 50), wherein the liner pin 13 (Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20) is secured to the pin receiver.
.
However, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman fails to explicitly disclose; (3) wherein the liner pin is adjustably secured to the pin receiver such that the liner pin and the residual-limb liner are selectively movable relative to the pin receiver to adjust a distance between the residual-limb liner and the residual-limb liner adapter.
Poser teaches an analogous adapter 942 (Paragraphs 165-167 and Figure 22, prosthetic coupling adapter 942 with set screw 940 that clamps a pin 912 within channel of adapter 942 to tighten at various selective height adjustments) wherein a similar pin 912 (Paragraph 165-167, pin 912 received in adapter 942) is adjustably secured to the analogous pin receiver 942 such that the similar pin 912 is selectively movable relative to the analogous pin receiver 942 to adjust a distance within the analogous residual-limb adapter 942.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adapter for receiving the liner pin of the liner within cuff of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman, so that the pin is adjustably secured to the pin receiver such that the pin is selectively movable relative to the pin receiver, as taught by Poser, thereby adjusting a distance between the residual-limb liner and the residual limb adapter, in order to provide an improved orthosis, with an enhanced receiver pin adapter having a horizontal set screw that tighten and loosen for selectively vertical adjustment of liner pin resulting in desirable locking and adjustment thereat with increased securement of the liner pin during wear (Poser, Paragraphs 165-167).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the residual-limb cuff (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 1-2, liner 32 within shell 30 of distal cuff 26 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, residual limb cuff 20 with open and closed end; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, cuff with shell 65 and liner 64 ) includes a residual-limb shell 30 (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 1-2, liner 32 within arcuate shell 30 of distal cuff 26 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, residual limb cuff 20 with open and closed end; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, cuff with shell 65 and liner 64) secured to the residual-limb liner (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 1-2, liner 32 within shell 30 of distal cuff 26 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, residual limb cuff 20 with open and closed end; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, cuff with shell 65 and liner 64).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the residual-limb shell 30 (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 1-2, liner 32 within arcuate shell 30 of distal cuff 26 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, residual limb cuff 20 with open and closed end; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, cuff with shell 65 and liner 64)is arcuate and the liner body (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 1-2, liner 32 within shell 30 of distal cuff 26 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, residual limb cuff 20 with open and closed end; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, cuff with shell 65 and liner 64) is received in the residual-limb shell 30.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the residual-limb cuff (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 1-2, liner 32 within shell 30 of distal cuff 26 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, residual limb cuff 20 with open and closed end; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, cuff with shell 65 and liner 64) includes a strap 34 (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 1-2, strap 34 attached to cuffs 24,26) coupled to the residual-limb shell 30 (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 1-2, liner 32 within arcuate shell 30 of distal cuff 26 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, residual limb cuff 20 with open and closed end; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, cuff with shell 65 and liner 64), the strap 34 configured to wrap around the liner body (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 1-2, liner 32 within shell 30 of distal cuff 26 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, residual limb cuff 20 with open and closed end; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, cuff with shell 65 and liner 64) to secure the residual limb in the residual-limb liner (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 1-2, liner 32 within shell 30 of distal cuff 26 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, residual limb cuff 20 with open and closed end; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, cuff with shell 65 and liner 64).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the liner body (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 1-2, soft flexible liner sleeve 32 within shell 30 of distal cuff 26 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, residual limb liner 20 with open and closed end; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, residual leg liner body 64) includes a soft, flexible sleeve and a rigid pin mount (Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, head of pin 13 is rigidly secured into mount at distal closed end of liner body 64) at the closed end of the liner body, the pin (Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20) being secured to the pin mount.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the pin receiver (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A, cuff receiver tube frame 200 receives cuff tube pin; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, pin receiver bushing 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11; Poser, Paragraphs 165-167 and Figure 22, adapter 942 with opening to receive pin 912) defines an opening configured to receive the liner pin, the residual-limb adapter including a set screw 940 (Poser, Paragraphs 165-167 and Figure 22, threaded set screw 940 for selective vertical height adjustment) threaded through the pin receiver and into the opening, wherein the set screw is configured to enable the liner pin to be selectively i) fixedly secured in the opening of the pin receiver and ii) free to move axially in the opening of the pin receiver.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser (embodiment of Figure 22) discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the pin receiver is adjustably secured to the mounting bracket such that the pin receiver is selectively movable relative to the mounting bracket.
Poser (embodiment of Figure 40) teaches an analogous residual limb cuff (Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, prosthetic socket cuff for amputated residual lower leg attached to connector 30 of cuff receiver block 1614 wherein the cuff receiver block 614 is further horizontally slidable relative to a mounting bracket frame 1642 by slot 1654a and screw 1640a into slot 1654a and internal opening of cuff receiver block 1614) with the analogous residual-limb adapter 1614, 1642 wherein the analogous residual-limb cuff receiver 1614 is adjustably secured to the analogous mounting bracket 1642 such that the analogous residual-limb cuff receiver 1614 is selectively movable relative to the analogous mounting bracket 1642.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pin receiver and mounting bracket of the residual-limb adapter of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser (embodiment of Figure 22), so that the pin receiver is adjustably secured to the mounting bracket such that the pin receiver is selectively movable relative to the mounting bracket, as taught by of Poser (embodiment of Figure 40), in order to provide an improved orthosis with an enhanced residual-limb adapter that allows for vertical adjustment via the pin and pin receiver and horizontal translation via the pin receiver and mounting bracket for increased support to the user (Poser, Paragraph 200).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser (embodiment of Figure 22) in view of Poser (embodiment of Figure 40) discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the pin receiver (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A, cuff receiver tube frame 200 ; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, pin receiver bushing opening 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11; Poser, Paragraphs 165-167 and Figure 22, pin receiver 942; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, cuff receiver block 1614) is selectively movable relative (Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, cuff receiver block 1614 is horizontally translated relative to mounting bracket frame 1642 which is transverse to vertical axis of the connector 30 with the socket cuff) to the mounting bracket (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A above, bracket between drive rod 50 and residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, mounting bracket frame 1642) in a direction transverse to an axis of the liner pin (Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, liner pin 13; Poser, Paragraphs 165-167 and Figure 22, liner pin 912).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser (embodiment of Figure 22) in view of Poser (embodiment of Figure 40) discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein mounting bracket (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A above, bracket between drive rod 50 and residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, mounting bracket frame 1642) defines a slot 1654a (Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, mounting bracket frame 1642 with slot 1654a for horizontal adjustment), the residual-limb adapter (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A above, residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200 and bracket that attach to drive rod 50 and actuator 555; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, pin receiver bushing opening 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11; Poser, Paragraphs 165-167 and Figure 22, pin receiver 942; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, residual-limb adapter comprised of cuff receiver 1614 and mounting bracket 1642) including a set screw 1640a (Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, threaded screw 1640a through slot 1654a of mounting bracket frame 1642 and opening of adapter 1614 for horizontal adjustment locking) received in the slot 1654a and threaded (Poser, Paragraphs 131, 140, 200 and Figure 40, screws 1640a are threaded) into the pin receiver 11 (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A, cuff receiver tube frame 200 ; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, pin receiver bushing opening 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11 to vertically adjust liner pin 13; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, cuff receiver block 1614) and into an opening, wherein the set screw 1640a is configured to enable the pin receiver (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A, cuff receiver tube frame 200 ; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, pin receiver bushing opening 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11; Poser, Paragraphs 165-167 and Figure 22, pin receiver 942; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, cuff receiver block 1614) to be selectively (i) fixedly secured to the mounting bracket (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A above, bracket between drive rod 50 and residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, mounting bracket frame 1642) and (ii) free to move along the mounting bracket (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A above, bracket between drive rod 50 and residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, mounting bracket frame 1642) to adjust a position of the pin receiver (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A, cuff receiver tube frame 200 ; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, pin receiver bushing opening 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11; Poser, Paragraphs 165-167 and Figure 22, pin receiver 942; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, cuff receiver block 1614) on the mounting bracket (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A above, bracket between drive rod 50 and residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, mounting bracket frame 1642).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of the embodiment of Figure 22 of Poser in view of the embodiment of Figure 40 of Poser discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the slot comprises a pair of parallel slots, and the set screw comprises a pair of set screws.
An embodiment of Figure 9 of Poser teaches an analogous residual limb cuff (Paragraphs 131, 142-144 and Figure 9, prosthetic socket cuff for amputated residual lower leg attached to connector 30 of cuff receiver block 214,242 wherein the cuff receiver block 214,242 is further slidably attached to a spring mounting bracket frame 226) wherein the analogous slot 324 (Paragraphs 142-144 and Figure 9 parallel slidable adjustment slots 324. Although the slot 1654 in Fig. 40 of Poser provides horizontal adjustment, while the slot 324 in Fig 9 of Poser provides vertical adjustment, this slot 324 is still analogous and provides a conceptual teaching of two parallel slots for fastening and adjustment) comprises a pair of parallel slots 324, and the analogous set screw 340 (Paragraphs 142-144 and Figure 9, pair of slidable set screws 340). comprises a pair of set screws 340.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slot and set screw for horizontal axis adjustment of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of the embodiment of Figure 22 of Poser in view of the embodiment of Figure 40 of Poser, so that the slot comprises a pair of parallel slots, and the set screw comprises a pair of set screws, as taught by the embodiment of Figure 9 of Poser, in order to provide an improved orthosis with an enhanced slot and set screw coupling that couples the receiver pin block and mounting bracket for desirable easy fastening and quick adjustment thereat (Poser, Paragraphs 142-144).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the orthosis 10 (Phillips, Paragraphs 46, 47, 56 and Figures 10-15, knee orthosis 10 with drive actuator 16 for adjusting joint angle α between a proximal cuff 24 and a distal cuff 26) is configured to increase range of motion of a knee joint, wherein the proximal cuff 24 (Phillips, Paragraphs 46, 47, 56 and Figures 10-15, proximal cuff 24 on upper leg; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, proximal cuff 32) is configured to couple to an upper leg and the residual-limb cuff (Phillips, Paragraphs 46, 47, 56 and Figures 10-15, distal cuff 26 on lower leg; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, distal cuff 20 is shaped for a residual distal limb body part) is configured to couple to a residual limb portion of a corresponding lower leg.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the orthosis 10 (Phillips, Paragraphs 46, 47, 56 and Figures 10-15, elbow orthosis 10 with drive actuator 16 for adjusting joint angle α between a proximal cuff 24 and a distal cuff 26) is configured to increase range of motion of an elbow joint, wherein the proximal cuff 24 (Phillips, Paragraphs 46, 47, 56 and Figures 10-15, proximal cuff 24 on upper arm; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, proximal cuff 32)is configured to couple to an upper arm and the residual-limb cuff (Phillips, Paragraphs 46, 47, 56 and Figures 10-15, distal cuff 26 on lower arm ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, distal cuff 20 is shaped for a residual distal limb body part) is configured to couple to a residual limb portion of a corresponding lower arm.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the orthosis 10 (Phillips, Paragraphs 46, 47, 56 and Figures 10-15, wrist orthosis 10 with drive actuator 16 for adjusting joint angle α between a proximal cuff 24 and a distal cuff 26) is configured to increase range of motion of a wrist joint, wherein the proximal cuff 24 (Phillips, Paragraphs 46, 47, 56 and Figures 10-15, proximal cuff 24 on lower arm; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, proximal cuff 32) is configured to couple to a lower arm and the residual-limb cuff (Phillips, Paragraphs 46, 47, 56 and Figures 10-15, distal cuff 26 on hand; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, distal cuff 20 is shaped for a residual distal limb body part) is configured to couple to a residual limb portion of a corresponding hand.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the orthosis 10 (Phillips, Paragraphs 46, 47, 56 and Figures 10-15, ankle orthosis 10 with drive actuator 16 for adjusting joint angle α between a proximal cuff 24 and a distal cuff 26) is configured to increase range of motion of an ankle joint, wherein the proximal cuff 24 (Phillips, Paragraphs 46, 47, 56 and Figures 10-15, proximal cuff 24 on lower leg; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, proximal cuff 32) is configured to couple to a lower leg and the residual-limb cuff (Phillips, Paragraphs 46, 47, 56 and Figures 10-15, distal cuff 26 on foot; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, distal cuff 20 is shaped for a residual distal limb body part)is configured to couple to a residual limb portion of a corresponding foot.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the liner pin (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A, cuff receiver tube frame 200 receives cuff tube pin; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, pin receiver bushing 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11; Poser, Paragraphs 165-167 and Figure 22, adapter 942 with opening to receive pin 912 with threaded set screw 940 for selective vertical height adjustment along longitudinal axis of pin 912) and residual limb liner (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 1-2, soft flexible liner sleeve 32 within shell 30 of distal cuff 26 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, residual limb cuff 20 with open and closed end; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, residual leg liner body 64) are selectively movable relative to the pin receiver along a longitudinal axis of the liner pin.
Regarding claim 22, Phillips discloses an orthosis 10 (Paragraphs 46, 47, 56 and Figures 10-15, knee, elbow, ankle or wrist adaptable orthosis 10 with drive actuator 16 for adjusting joint angle α between a proximal cuff 24 and a distal cuff 26) for increasing range of motion of a body joint, the orthosis 10 comprising: a proximal cuff 24 configured to couple to a proximal body part proximal of the body joint; a distal cuff 26 configured to couple to distal of the body joint; and a drive mechanism 16 (Paragraph 47 and Figures 10-15, drive actuator 16; this is the exact same structure as described in the 35 USC 112f analysis above) operatively coupled to the proximal cuff 24 and the distal cuff 26 and configured to drive selective movement of the distal cuff 26 relative to the proximal cuff 24, wherein the distal cuff 26 includes a distal liner 32 (Paragraph 47 and Figures 1-2, liner 32 within each shell 30 of cuffs 24,26 to at least partially surround limb for increased comfort), the distal liner 32 including a liner body 32 configured to surround the distal limb.
However, Phillips fails to explicitly disclose (1) the orthosis for increasing range of motion of the body joint proximal to an amputated limb; the distal cuff is a residual-limb cuff configured to couple to residual limb distal of the body joint; (2) the liner body has an open end for receiving the residual limb and a closed end opposite the open end; the residual limb liner including a liner pin extending from the closed end of the liner body; a residual limb adapter operatively coupling the residual-limb liner to the drive assembly; (3) the residual-limb adapter includes a mounting bracket and a pin receiver secured to the mounting bracket, the mounting bracket operatively couples the pin receiver to the drive assembly: and wherein the liner pin is adjustably secured to the pin receiver such that the liner pin and the residual-limb liner are selectively movable relative to the pin receiver to adjust a distance between the residual-limb liner and the residual-limb liner adapter; (4) wherein the pin receiver is adjustably secured to the mounting bracket such that the pin receiver is selectively movable relative to the mounting bracket.
Vitiello teaches the analogous orthosis 20, 200, 50,555, 325 (Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, hip orthosis 20, 200, 50,555, 32 with hip proximal cuff 32 and residual amputated leg cuff 20. Cuff receiver tube frame 300 at an inferior end of residual leg cuff 20 to couple with a drive actuator 555 and bar 50 that couples with the hip cuff 32 for increasing range of motion and energy of motion through a user’s hip joint 55) for increasing range of motion of the body joint proximal to an amputated limb; the analogous distal cuff 20 is a residual-limb cuff 20 configured to couple to residual limb distal of the body joint;
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal cuff of Phillips, so that the distal cuff is a residual limb cuff configured to couple to residual limb distal of the body joint for the orthosis to increase range of motion of the body joint proximal to an amputated limb, as taught by Vitiello, in order to provide an improved orthosis with an enhanced distal cuff adapted for a residual limb for desirable functionality of the joint between the residual limb and the proximal cuff to maintain energy and selective actuation for desirable flexion and extension during gait (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, and 72-75).
However, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello fails to explicitly disclose (2) the liner body has an open end for receiving the residual limb and a closed end opposite the open end; the residual limb liner including a liner pin extending from the closed end of the liner body; a residual limb adapter operatively coupling the residual-limb liner to the drive assembly; the residual-limb adapter includes a mounting bracket and a pin receiver secured to the mounting bracket, the mounting bracket operatively couples the pin receiver to the drive assembly; (3) and wherein the liner pin is adjustably secured to the pin receiver such that the liner pin and the residual-limb liner are selectively movable relative to the pin receiver to adjust a distance between the residual-limb liner and the residual-limb liner adapter; (4) wherein the pin receiver is adjustably secured to the mounting bracket such that the pin receiver is selectively movable relative to the mounting bracket.
Wagman teaches an analogous residual-limb liner body 64 (Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, leg socket liner 64 with closed end and open end to receive amputated limb) has an open end for receiving the residual limb and a closed end opposite the open end ; residual-limb liner 64 (Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, leg socket liner 64 with pin 13 mounted at distal inferior end) includes pin 13 extending from the closed end of the analogous liner body 64; a residual limb adapter 70 (Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, residual limb adapter comprising pin receiver bushing 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11) operatively coupling the residual-limb liner 64 comprising a pin receiver 70.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a shape and attachment fasteners of the liner body of Phillips in view of Vitiello, so that the liner body has an open end for receiving the residual limb and a closed end opposite the open end with a pin extending from the closed end, and a residual limb adapter operatively coupling the residual-limb liner comprising a pin receiver, as taught by Wagman, in order to provide an improved orthosis with an enhanced liner body that fully wraps around the user’s amputated limb for desirable comfort and protection during wear and with a pin at the closed end for further attachment (Wagman, Paragraph 43)
Therefore, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman discloses the residual-limb adapter (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A below, residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200 and bracket that attach to drive rod 50 and actuator 555; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, residual limb adapter comprising pin receiver bushing 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11) operatively coupling the residual-limb liner (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 1-2, soft flexible liner sleeve 32 within shell 30 of distal cuff 26 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, residual limb cuff 20 with open and closed end; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, residual leg liner body 64) to the drive assembly (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 10-15, drive actuator 16 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, drive actuator 555 and rod 50); wherein the residual-limb adapter (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A below, residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200 and bracket that attach to drive rod 50 and actuator 555; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, residual limb adapter comprising pin receiver bushing 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11) includes a mounting bracket (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A above, bracket between drive rod 50 and residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200) and a pin receiver (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A, cuff receiver tube frame 200 ; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, pin receiver bushing 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11), wherein the mounting bracket (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A above, bracket between drive rod 50 and residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200) operatively couples the pin receive to the drive assembly (Phillips, Paragraph 47 and Figures 10-15, drive actuator 16 ; Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A-3B, drive actuator 555 and rod 50), wherein the liner pin 13 (Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20) is secured to the pin receiver.
.
However, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman fails to explicitly disclose; (3) wherein the liner pin is adjustably secured to the pin receiver such that the liner pin and the residual-limb liner are selectively movable relative to the pin receiver to adjust a distance between the residual-limb liner and the residual-limb liner adapter; (4) wherein the pin receiver is adjustably secured to the mounting bracket such that the pin receiver is selectively movable relative to the mounting bracket.
Poser teaches an analogous adapter 942 (Paragraphs 165-167 and Figure 22, prosthetic coupling adapter 942 with set screw 940 that clamps a pin 912 within channel of adapter 942 to tighten at various selective height adjustments) wherein a similar pin 912 (Paragraph 165-167, pin 912 received in adapter 942) is adjustably secured to the analogous pin receiver 942 such that the similar pin 912 is selectively movable relative to the analogous pin receiver 942 to adjust a distance within the analogous residual-limb adapter 942.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adapter for receiving the liner pin of the liner within cuff of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman, so that the pin is adjustably secured to the pin receiver such that the pin is selectively movable relative to the pin receiver, as taught by Poser, thereby adjusting a distance between the residual-limb liner and the residual limb adapter, in order to provide an improved orthosis, with an enhanced receiver pin adapter having a horizontal set screw that tighten and loosen for selectively vertical adjustment of liner pin resulting in desirable locking and adjustment thereat with increased securement of the liner pin during wear (Poser, Paragraphs 165-167).
However, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser (embodiment of Figure 22) fails to explicitly disclose (4) wherein the pin receiver is adjustably secured to the mounting bracket such that the pin receiver is selectively movable relative to the mounting bracket.
Poser (embodiment of Figure 40) teaches an analogous residual limb cuff (Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, prosthetic socket cuff for amputated residual lower leg attached to connector 30 of cuff receiver block 1614 wherein the cuff receiver block 614 is further horizontally slidable relative to a mounting bracket frame 1642 by slot 1654a and screw 1640a into slot 1654a and internal opening of cuff receiver block 1614) with the analogous residual-limb adapter 1614, 1642 wherein the analogous residual-limb cuff receiver 1614 is adjustably secured to the analogous mounting bracket 1642 such that the analogous residual-limb cuff receiver 1614 is selectively movable relative to the analogous mounting bracket 1642.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pin receiver and mounting bracket of the residual-limb adapter of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser (embodiment of Figure 22), so that the pin receiver is adjustably secured to the mounting bracket such that the pin receiver is selectively movable relative to the mounting bracket, as taught by of Poser (embodiment of Figure 40), in order to provide an improved orthosis with an enhanced residual-limb adapter that allows for vertical adjustment via the pin and pin receiver and horizontal translation via the pin receiver and mounting bracket for increased support to the user (Poser, Paragraph 200).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser (embodiment of Figure 22) in view of Poser (embodiment of Figure 40) discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the pin receiver (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A, cuff receiver tube frame 200 ; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, pin receiver bushing opening 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11; Poser, Paragraphs 165-167 and Figure 22, pin receiver 942; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, cuff receiver block 1614) is selectively movable relative (Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, cuff receiver block 1614 is horizontally translated relative to mounting bracket frame 1642 which is transverse to vertical axis of the connector 30 with the socket cuff) to the mounting bracket (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A above, bracket between drive rod 50 and residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, mounting bracket frame 1642) in a direction transverse to an axis of the liner pin (Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, liner pin 13; Poser, Paragraphs 165-167 and Figure 22, liner pin 912).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of Poser (embodiment of Figure 22) in view of Poser (embodiment of Figure 40) discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein mounting bracket (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A above, bracket between drive rod 50 and residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, mounting bracket frame 1642) defines a slot 1654a (Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, mounting bracket frame 1642 with slot 1654a for horizontal adjustment), the residual-limb adapter (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A above, residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200 and bracket that attach to drive rod 50 and actuator 555; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, pin receiver bushing opening 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11; Poser, Paragraphs 165-167 and Figure 22, pin receiver 942; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, residual-limb adapter comprised of cuff receiver 1614 and mounting bracket 1642) including a set screw 1640a (Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, threaded screw 1640a through slot 1654a of mounting bracket frame 1642 and opening of adapter 1614 for horizontal adjustment locking) received in the slot 1654a and threaded (Poser, Paragraphs 131, 140, 200 and Figure 40, screws 1640a are threaded) into the pin receiver 11 (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A, cuff receiver tube frame 200 ; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, pin receiver bushing opening 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11 to vertically adjust liner pin 13; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, cuff receiver block 1614) and into an opening, wherein the set screw 1640a is configured to enable the pin receiver (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A, cuff receiver tube frame 200 ; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, pin receiver bushing opening 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11; Poser, Paragraphs 165-167 and Figure 22, pin receiver 942; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, cuff receiver block 1614) to be selectively (i) fixedly secured to the mounting bracket (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A above, bracket between drive rod 50 and residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, mounting bracket frame 1642) and (ii) free to move along the mounting bracket (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A above, bracket between drive rod 50 and residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, mounting bracket frame 1642) to adjust a position of the pin receiver (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and Fig. 3A, cuff receiver tube frame 200 ; Wagman, Paragraph 43 and Figure 20, pin receiver bushing opening 70 within flange 30 of pin receiver 11; Poser, Paragraphs 165-167 and Figure 22, pin receiver 942; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, cuff receiver block 1614) on the mounting bracket (Vitiello, Paragraphs 44, 71, 72-75, and see annotated Fig. 3A above, bracket between drive rod 50 and residual limb adapter comprising cuff receiver tube frame 200; Poser, Paragraphs 131, 200 and Figure 40, mounting bracket frame 1642).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of the embodiment of Figure 22 of Poser in view of the embodiment of Figure 40 of Poser discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the slot comprises a pair of parallel slots, and the set screw comprises a pair of set screws.
An embodiment of Figure 9 of Poser teaches an analogous residual limb cuff (Paragraphs 131, 142-144 and Figure 9, prosthetic socket cuff for amputated residual lower leg attached to connector 30 of cuff receiver block 214,242 wherein the cuff receiver block 214,242 is further slidably attached to a spring mounting bracket frame 226) wherein the analogous slot 324 (Paragraphs 142-144 and Figure 9 parallel slidable adjustment slots 324. Although the slot 1654 in Fig. 40 of Poser provides horizontal adjustment, while the slot 324 in Fig 9 of Poser provides vertical adjustment, this slot 324 is still analogous and provides a conceptual teaching of two parallel slots for fastening and adjustment) comprises a pair of parallel slots 324, and the analogous set screw 340 (Paragraphs 142-144 and Figure 9, pair of slidable set screws 340). comprises a pair of set screws 340.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slot and set screw for horizontal axis adjustment of Phillips in view of Vitiello in view of Wagman in view of the embodiment of Figure 22 of Poser in view of the embodiment of Figure 40 of Poser, so that the slot comprises a pair of parallel slots, and the set screw comprises a pair of set screws, as taught by the embodiment of Figure 9 of Poser, in order to provide an improved orthosis with an enhanced slot and set screw coupling that couples the receiver pin block and mounting bracket for desirable easy fastening and quick adjustment thereat (Poser, Paragraphs 142-144).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL MILO/
Art Unit 3786
/ALIREZA NIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786