DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 26 June 2026 in response to the non-final office action mailed on 09 October 2025 has been considered. Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-21 is/are pending. Claim(s) 16 has/have been canceled. Claim(s) 21 has/have been added. Claim(s) 17-20 has/have been withdrawn from consideration. Claim(s) 1-15 and 21 has/have been examined in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, the claims are directed to the device to plumb and level construction materials, and therefore the device cannot be further limited by a stud which is not positively recited. The device is capable of being used with a stud, but the stud is not required, and therefore the device is not limited by the stud. It is known to recite “configured to” language but it is not proper to attempt to further define the device based on the structure in which the device is “configured to” be attached to.
Regarding claim 21, the language between the preamble and portions of the body of the claim is inconsistent. For example, the preamble of claim 21 sets for the subcombination "a device to plumb and level a stud"; however, lines 1-3 of the claim recites “comprising the stud, wherein the device is attached to the stud” which sets forth a positive relationship between the device and the stud and thus appears to claim a combination. Clarification is required. Since the claims are directed to the subcombination and not the combination, claim 21 has been examined as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-9, 11, 13-15, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0354139 A1 to Wallis.
Regarding claim 1, Wallis discloses a device (16, Fig.1A/1B and 416, Fig.4a/4B) to plumb a stud in a stud-framed wall (Fig.1A and 4B; Abstract), comprising: a body (Fig.4A) comprising a U-shaped profile (416) comprising an elongated front face (442) having a first edge (left edge of 442) and a second edge (right edge of 44s), a first side face (441F), and a second side face (441S), the first side face being disposed along the first edge of the front face, and the second side face being disposed along the second edge of the front face (Fig.4A), wherein the device is configured to be positioned over an edge of a stud (14) at a variable depth of insertion such that the first and second side faces overlap a varying portion of a width of the stud while leaving a correspondingly varying remaining portion of the width of the stud uncovered (Abstract; Paragraph [0045] and [0078]; claim 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 2, the first side face being disposed orthogonally to the front face along the first edge of the front face (Fig.4A and 4B), and the second side face being disposed orthogonally to the front face along the second edge of the front face (Fig.4A and 4B).
Regarding claim 5, wherein a distance between the first side face and the second side face corresponds to a thickness of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (Fig. 4A and 4B).
Regarding claim 6, wherein a depth of each of the first side face and the second side face extending away from the front face corresponds to a width of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (the device is capable of use with a stud; the depth of the side faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud; the faces can be made of different sizes or used with studs having different sizes).
Regarding claim 7, wherein a depth of each of the first side face and the second side face extending away from the front face is less than one-half of a width of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (the device is capable of use with a stud; the depth of the side faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud; the faces can be made of different sizes or used with studs having different sizes).
Regarding claim 8, wherein each of the first side face and the second side face comprise a plurality of holes (444) therein that are each sized to accommodate a fastener (446) to attach the device to a stud.
Regarding claim 9, Wallis discloses a device (16, Fig.1A/1B and 416, Fig.4a/4B) to plumb a stud in a stud-framed wall (Fig.1A and 4B; Abstract), comprising: a body (Fig.4A) comprising an elongated front face (442) having a first edge (left edge of 442) and a second edge (right edge of 44s), a first side face (441F) disposed along the first edge of the front face, wherein the device is configured to be positioned over an edge of a stud (14) at a variable depth of insertion such that the first side face overlaps a varying portion of a width of the stud while leaving a correspondingly varying remaining portion of the width of the stud uncovered (Abstract; Paragraph [0045] and [0078]; claim 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 11, the first side face being disposed orthogonally to the front face along the first edge of the front face (Fig.4A and 4B).
Regarding claim 13, further comprising a second side face (441S) disposed orthogonally to the front face and along the second edge of the front face, wherein the device comprises a U-shaped profile (Fig.4A and 4B).
Regarding claim 14, wherein a width of the front face is less than a thickness of an edge of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (442, planar portion is less than the thickness of the stud due to the rounded corners).
Regarding claim 15, wherein a depth of the first side face extending away from the front face corresponds to a width of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (the device is capable of use with a stud; the lengths of the faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud; the faces can be made of different sizes or used with studs having different sizes).
Regarding claim 21, further comprising the stud (14, Fig.4B), wherein the device is attached to the stud such that a distance between the front face and an edge of the stud varies along a length of the stud, resulting in a front face being vertically plumb (Abstract; Paragraph [0045] and [0078]; claim 1 and 7).
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-13, 15, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2005/0055952 A1 to McGonigal.
Regarding claim 1, McGonigal discloses a device (10) to plumb a stud (22) in a stud-framed wall, comprising: a body (10) comprising a U-shaped profile (Fig.1) comprising an elongated front face (12) having a first edge (left edge of 12, Fig.1) and a second edge (right edge of 12), a first side face (18), and a second side face (20), the first side face being disposed along the first edge of the front face, and the second side face being disposed along the second edge of the front face (Fig.1), wherein the device is configured to be positioned over an edge of a stud (22) at a variable depth of insertion such that the first and second side faces overlap a varying portion of a width of the stud while leaving a correspondingly varying remaining portion of the width of the stud uncovered (Fig. 5, 6, 7; Paragraph [0012] and [0041]).
Regarding claim 2, the first side face being disposed orthogonally to the front face along the first edge of the front face (18 is orthogonal to 12), and the second side face being disposed orthogonally to the front face along the second edge of the front face (20 is orthogonal to 12).
Regarding claim 3, the body further comprising: a first flange face (14) comprising a first edge (edge of 14 connected to 18) and a second edge (edge of 14 connected to 12); and a second flange face (16) comprising a first edge (edge of 16 connected to 20) and a second edge (edge of 20 connected to 12), wherein the first side face is disposed along the first edge of the front face by the first edge of the first flange face being disposed along and extending angled from an edge of the first side face and the second edge of the first flange face being disposed along and extending angled from the first edge of the front face (Fig.1), and wherein the second side face is disposed along the second edge of the front face by the first edge of the second flange face being disposed along and extending angled from an edge of the second side face and the second edge of the second flange face being disposed along and extending angled from the second edge of the front face (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 4, wherein a width of the front face (12) is wider than a distance between an outside of the first side face and an outside of the second side face (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 5, wherein a distance between the first side face and the second side face corresponds to a thickness of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (Fig. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 6, wherein a depth of each of the first side face and the second side face extending away from the front face corresponds to a width of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (the device is capable of use with a stud; the depth of the side faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud; the faces can be made of different sizes or used with studs having different sizes; Fig. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 7, wherein a depth of each of the first side face and the second side face extending away from the front face is less than one-half of a width of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (the device is capable of use with a stud; the depth of the side faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud; the faces can be made of different sizes or used with studs having different sizes).
Regarding claim 8, wherein each of the first side face and the second side face comprise a plurality of holes (36) therein that are each sized to accommodate a fastener (32) to attach the device to a stud (22).
Regarding claim 9, McGonigal discloses a device (10) to plumb a stud (22) in a stud-framed wall, comprising: a body (10) comprising an elongated front face (12) having a first edge (left edge of 12, Fig.1) and a second edge (right edge of 12), a first side face (18) disposed along the first edge of the front face, wherein the device is configured to be positioned over an edge of a stud (22) at a variable depth of insertion such that the first side face overlaps a varying portion of a width of the stud while leaving a correspondingly varying remaining portion of the width of the stud uncovered (Fig. 5, 6, 7; Paragraph [0012] and [0041]).
Regarding claim 11, the first side face being disposed orthogonally to the front face along the first edge of the front face (18 orthogonally to 12).
Regarding claim 12, the body further comprising: a first flange face (14) comprising a first edge (first edge of 14) and a second edge (second edge of 14); and wherein the first side face is disposed along the first edge of the front face by the first edge of the first flange face being disposed along and extending angled from an edge of the first side face and the second edge of the first flange face being disposed along and extending angled from the first edge of the front face (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 13, further comprising a second side face (20) disposed orthogonally to the front face (12) and along the second edge of the front face, wherein the device comprises a U-shaped profile (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 15, wherein a depth of the first side face extending away from the front face corresponds to a width of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (Fig.1 and 3).
Regarding claim 21, further comprising the stud (22), wherein the device (10) is attached to the stud such that a distance between the front face and an edge of the stud varies along a length of the stud, resulting in the front face being vertically plumb (Fig.5, 6, 7; Paragraph [0012] and [0041]).
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,250,042 B1 to Rudd.
Regarding claim 1, Rudd discloses a device (Fig.1A/1B or 3A/3B), comprising: a body (100/300) comprising a U-shaped profile (100/300) comprising an elongated front face (126/326) having a first edge (left edge) and a second edge (right edge), a first side face (122/322), and a second side face (128/328), the first side face being disposed along the first edge of the front face, and the second side face being disposed along the second edge of the front face (Fig.1B/3B).
The recitation “to plumb and level a stud in a stud-framed wall” is a recitation of intended use or functionality of the device. The device of Rudd is capable of being secured to a stud. Further the recitation “wherein the device is configured to be positioned over an edge of a stud at a variable depth of insertion such that the first and second side faces overlap a varying portion of a width of the stud while leaving a correspondingly varying remaining portion of the width of the stud uncovered” is a further recitation of intended use and capability of the device. The recitations of intended use and capability do not further limit the structure of the device itself.
Regarding claim 2, the first side face being disposed orthogonally to the front face along the first edge of the front face (Fig.1B), and the second side face being disposed orthogonally to the front face along the second edge of the front face (Fig.1B).
Regarding claim 3, the body further comprising: a first flange face (324) comprising a first edge and a second edge; and a second flange face (327) comprising a first edge and a second edge, wherein the first side face is disposed along the first edge of the front face by the first edge of the first flange face being disposed along and extending angled from an edge of the first side face and the second edge of the first flange face being disposed along and extending angled from the first edge of the front face (Fig.3B), and wherein the second side face is disposed along the second edge of the front face by the first edge of the second flange face being disposed along and extending angled from an edge of the second side face and the second edge of the second flange face being disposed along and extending angled from the second edge of the front face (Fig.3B).
Regarding claim 4, wherein a width of the front face (C2) is wider than a distance between an outside of the first side face and an outside of the second side face (Fig.3B).
Regarding claim 5, wherein a distance between the first side face and the second side face corresponds to a thickness of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (Fig.1B and 3B show what can be deemed as a stud; the device of the claim is capable of being used with a stud, the dimensions of the stud will be suitable for whatever construction material used within).
Regarding claim 6, wherein a depth of each of the first side face and the second side face extending away from the front face corresponds to a width of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (the device is capable of use with a stud; the depth of the side faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud; the faces can be made of different sizes or used with studs having different sizes).
Regarding claim 7, wherein a depth of each of the first side face and the second side face extending away from the front face is less than one-half of a width of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (the device is capable of use with a stud; the depth of the side faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud; the faces can be made of different sizes or used with studs having different sizes).
Regarding claim 8, wherein each of the first side face and the second side face comprise a plurality of holes (openings formed by cutout portions 329) therein that are each sized to accommodate a fastener to attach the device to a stud (capable of receiving a fastener).
Regarding claim 9, Rudd discloses a device (100/300/500), comprising: a body (100/300/500) comprising: an elongated front face (126/326/522) having a first edge and a second edge (left and right edges); and a first side face (122/322/524) disposed along the first edge of the front face.
The recitation “to plumb and level a stud in a stud-framed wall” is a recitation of intended use or functionality of the device. The device of Rudd is capable of being secured to a stud. Further the recitation “wherein the device is configured to be positioned over an edge of a stud at a variable depth of insertion such that the first side face overlap a varying portion of a width of the stud while leaving a correspondingly varying remaining portion of the width of the stud uncovered” is a further recitation of intended use and capability of the device. The recitations of intended use and capability do not further limit the structure of the device itself.
Regarding claim 10, wherein the device comprises an L-shaped profile (Fig.5A).
Regarding claim 11, the first side face being disposed orthogonally to the front face along the first edge of the front face (Fig.1A/3A/5A).
Regarding claim 12, the body further comprising: a first flange face (324) comprising a first edge and a second edge; and wherein the first side face is disposed along the first edge of the front face by the first edge of the first flange face being disposed along and extending angled from an edge of the first side face and the second edge of the first flange face being disposed along and extending angled from the first edge of the front face (Fig.3B).
Regarding claim 13, further comprising a second side face (128/328) disposed orthogonally to the front face and along the second edge of the front face, wherein the device comprises a U-shaped profile (Fig.1A/3A).
Regarding claim 14, wherein a width of the front face is less than a thickness of an edge of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (the device is capable of use with a stud; the lengths of the faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud; the faces can be made of different sizes or used with studs having different sizes)
Regarding claim 15, wherein a depth of the first side face extending away from the front face corresponds to a width of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (the device is capable of use with a stud; the lengths of the faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud; the faces can be made of different sizes or used with studs having different sizes).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-9, 11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,452,556 to Taylor.
Regarding claim 1, Taylor discloses a device (10), comprising: a body (10) comprising a U-shaped profile (Fig.4) comprising an elongated front face (14) having a first edge (left edge of 14) and a second edge (right edge of 14), a first side face (15 on left), and a second side face (15 on right), the first side face being disposed along the first edge of the front face, and the second side face being disposed along the second edge of the front face (Fig.4).
The recitation “to plumb and level a stud in a stud-framed wall” is a recitation of intended use or functionality of the device. The device of Taylor is capable of being secured to a stud. Further the recitation “wherein the device is configured to be positioned over an edge of a stud at a variable depth of insertion such that the first and second side faces overlap a varying portion of a width of the stud while leaving a correspondingly varying remaining portion of the width of the stud uncovered” is a further recitation of intended use and capability of the device. The recitations of intended use and capability do not further limit the structure of the device itself.
Regarding claim 2, the first side face being disposed orthogonally to the front face along the first edge of the front face, and the second side face being disposed orthogonally to the front face along the second edge of the front face (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 5, wherein a distance between the first side face and the second side face corresponds to a thickness of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (Fig.4; the device is capable of use with a stud; the lengths of the faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud).
Regarding claim 6, wherein a depth of each of the first side face and the second side face extending away from the front face corresponds to a width of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (Fig.4; the device is capable of use with a stud; the lengths of the faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud or used with different size studs).
Regarding claim 7, wherein a depth of each of the first side face and the second side face extending away from the front face is less than one-half of a width of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (Fig.4; the device is capable of use with a stud; the lengths of the faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud or used with different seized studs).
Regarding claim 8, wherein each of the first side face and the second side face comprise a plurality of holes therein that are each sized to accommodate a fastener to attach the device to a stud (holes formed by punch tabs 18; holes accommodate tabs 18, and are also capable of receiving additional fasteners if needed).
Regarding claim 9, Taylor discloses a device (10), comprising: a body (10) comprising: an elongated front face (14) having a first edge (left edge of 14) and a second edge (right edge of 14); and a first side face (left 25, Fig.4) disposed along the first edge of the front face.
The recitation “to plumb and level a stud in a stud-framed wall” is a recitation of intended use or functionality of the device. The device of Taylor is capable of being secured to a stud. Further the recitation “wherein the device is configured to be positioned over an edge of a stud at a variable depth of insertion such that the first side face overlap a varying portion of a width of the stud while leaving a correspondingly varying remaining portion of the width of the stud uncovered” is a further recitation of intended use and capability of the device. The recitations of intended use and capability do not further limit the structure of the device itself.
Regarding claim 11, the first side face being disposed orthogonally to the front face along the first edge of the front face (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 13, further comprising a second side face (14, right edge, Fig.4) disposed orthogonally to the front face and along the second edge of the front face (Fig.4), wherein the device comprises a U-shaped profile (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 14, wherein a width of the front face is less than a thickness of an edge of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (the device is capable of use with a stud; the lengths of the faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud or used with different sized studs).
Regarding claim 15, wherein a depth of the first side face extending away from the front face corresponds to a width of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (the device is capable of use with a stud; the lengths of the faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud or used with different sized studs).
Claim(s) 9-11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,866,798 to Harris.
Regarding claim 9, Harris discloses a device (28), comprising: a body (28) comprising: an elongated front face (30) having a first edge (bottom edge, Fig.4) and a second edge (top edge, Fig.4); and a first side face (32) disposed along the first edge of the front face.
The recitation “to plumb and level a stud in a stud-framed wall” is a recitation of intended use or functionality of the device. The device of Harris is capable of being secured to a stud. Further the recitation “wherein the device is configured to be positioned over an edge of a stud at a variable depth of insertion such that the first side face overlap a varying portion of a width of the stud while leaving a correspondingly varying remaining portion of the width of the stud uncovered” is a further recitation of intended use and capability of the device. The recitations of intended use and capability do not further limit the structure of the device itself.
Regarding claim 10, wherein the device comprises an L-shaped profile (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 11, the first side face being disposed orthogonally to the front face along the first edge of the front face (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 14, wherein a width of the front face is less than a thickness of an edge of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (Fig.4; the lengths of the faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud or used with different sized studs).
Regarding claim 15, wherein a depth of the first side face extending away from the front face corresponds to a width of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (Fig.4; the lengths of the faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud or used with different sized studs).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,466,225 to Hovind.
Regarding claim 1, Hovind discloses a device (60), comprising: a body (60) comprising a U-shaped profile comprising an elongated front face (64) having a first edge (left side of 64) and a second edge (right side of 64), a first side face (62), and a second side face (62), the first side face being disposed along the first edge of the front face, and the second side face being disposed along the second edge of the front face (Fig.3).
The recitation “to plumb and level a stud in a stud-framed wall” is a recitation of intended use or functionality of the device. The device of Hovind is capable of being secured to a stud. Further the recitation “wherein the device is configured to be positioned over an edge of a stud at a variable depth of insertion such that the first and second side faces overlap a varying portion of a width of the stud while leaving a correspondingly varying remaining portion of the width of the stud uncovered” is a further recitation of intended use and capability of the device. The recitations of intended use and capability do not further limit the structure of the device itself.
Regarding claim 2, the first side face being disposed orthogonally to the front face along the first edge of the front face, and the second side face being disposed orthogonally to the front face along the second edge of the front face (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 5, wherein a distance between the first side face and the second side face corresponds to a thickness of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (Fig.3; the lengths of the faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud).
Regarding claim 6, wherein a depth of each of the first side face and the second side face extending away from the front face corresponds to a width of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (the lengths of the faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud or used with different sized studs).
Regarding claim 8, wherein each of the first side face and the second side face comprise a plurality of holes (holes which accept 66) therein that are each sized to accommodate a fastener (66) to attach the device to a stud.
Regarding claim 9, Hovind discloses a device (20, 60), comprising: a body (20, 60) comprising: an elongated front face (26, 64) having a first edge (right edge of 26; right edge of 64) and a second edge (left edge of 26; left edge of 64); and a first side face (22; 62) disposed along the first edge of the front face.
The recitation “to plumb and level a stud in a stud-framed wall” is a recitation of intended use or functionality of the device. The device of Hovind is capable of being secured to a stud. Further the recitation “wherein the device is configured to be positioned over an edge of a stud at a variable depth of insertion such that the first side face overlap a varying portion of a width of the stud while leaving a correspondingly varying remaining portion of the width of the stud uncovered” is a further recitation of intended use and capability of the device. The recitations of intended use and capability do not further limit the structure of the device itself.
Regarding claim 10, wherein the device comprises an L-shaped profile (20).
Regarding claim 11, the first side face being disposed orthogonally to the front face along the first edge of the front face (Fig.1 and 3).
Regarding claim 13, further comprising a second side face (other 62, Fig.3) disposed orthogonally to the front face and along the second edge of the front face, wherein the device comprises a U-shaped profile (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 14, wherein a width of the front face is less than a thickness of an edge of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (the lengths of the faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud or used with different sized studs).
Regarding claim 15, wherein a depth of the first side face extending away from the front face corresponds to a width of a stud to which the device is configured to attach (the lengths of the faces capable of being sized dependent on the stud or used with different sized studs).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Applicant argues that claims 14 and 15 “recite features using “configured to attach” language, which is standard functional language that describes a capability of the device itself” which is in fact agreed upon. It is standard to use “configured to” language to recite functional language. Claims 14 and 15 specifically recite that the device is “configured to attach” to a stud, but the language of the claim is providing positive recitations of the structure of the device reliant upon the dimensions of the stud (i.e. the width of the front face is being defined by the thickness of an edge of a stud, but the stud is not required). Since the “stud” and the dimensions of the stud are not being claimed, then the dimensions of the device cannot be defined based on the unclaimed stud.
Regarding the amendments to claims 1 and 9, the arguments are not deemed persuasive. The amendments made to the claims are functional limitations of the device, but the limitations do not change the fact that the device being claimed is simply a “C” or “U” shaped body which is attachable to a stud. Further, studs which are bent, not plumb, etc. would naturally have variability along a length if the device was in fact secured to a stud. The claims should be amended to further define the device itself.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635