DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Op De Beeck et al. (US 20250084272) in view of Moribe (US 20240119244)
Regarding claim 1, Op teaches an image processing apparatus comprising a processor being configured to extract a correlation from a correlation table that indicates the correlation between a type of printing medium used for printing that uses pretreatment liquid, base ink, and color ink, an amount of the pretreatment liquid, and an amount of the base ink (table 2: substrate, prier component and test ink and fig.8), and image quality and characteristic information of a printed material (fig. 8: intercolor bleeding and p0111), and to generate a first print image based on the type of printing medium and input values of the amount of the pretreatment liquid and the amount of the base ink that have been input (p0043: testing the ink receptibility by printing a test image).
Op does not explicitly disclose a second print image based on correction values that improve at least one of the image quality and the characteristic information more than the input values and that are the amount of the pretreatment liquid and the amount of the base ink obtained from the correlation (p0116:improved print results are achieved with a primer formula having both component A and B over the print results..)
Moribe teaches a second print image based on correction values that improve at least one of the image quality and the characteristic information more than the input values and that are the amount of the pretreatment liquid and the amount of the base ink obtained from the correlation (p0046:primer amount can be determined in advance from the relationship with the image quality, and it is preferable to use different amounts for each sheet type and p0055:correction image is printed).
Op and Moribe are combinable because they both deal with management servers with a printing apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Op with the teaching of Moribe for purpose of acquiring a characteristic of an image processing apparatus while suppressing sheet deformation (p0001).
Regarding claim 5, The structural elements of apparatus claim 1 perform all of the steps of method claim 5. Thus, claim 5 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 6 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 and in accordance with Moribe’s further teaching on: A computer-readable memory that contains instructions, which when executed by a processor perform steps in a method (p0026).
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Op and Moribe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kamisuwa et al (US 20100259774).
Regarding claim 2, Op in view of Moribe does not teach the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor receives selection of one of the first print image and the second print image, and controls printing of the selected one of the first print image and the second print image.
Kamisuwa teaches wherein the processor receives selection of one of the first print image and the second print image, and controls printing of the selected one of the first print image and the second print image (fig. 9: original image corrected).
Op in view of Moribe and Kamisuwa are combinable because they both deal with management servers with a printing apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Op in view of Moribe with the teaching of Kamisuwa for for setting an image forming condition (p0006).
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Op and Moribe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kamisuwa et al. Sasaki et al. (US 20140211064 ).
Regarding claim 3, Op and Moribe does not teach the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor highlights a portion at which the image quality deteriorates in the printed material of at least one of the first print image and the second print image.
Sasaki teaches wherein the processor highlights a portion at which the image quality deteriorates in the printed material of at least one of the first print image and the second print image (p0179 and fig. 16).
Op in view of Moribe and Sasaki are combinable because they both deal with management servers with a printing apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Op in view of Moribe with the teaching of Sasaki for provide a lens system and a camera system in which at the time of image taking, on the basis of the conditions of the optical system such as a movable lens group, the image quality of an image of a part of areas in an entire screen can be adjusted (p0010).
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Op and Moribe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kamisuwa et al. Hasegawa (US 20140185104).
Regarding claim 4, Op and Moribe does not teach the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor generates the second print image when the input values are out of a recommended setting range.
Hasegawa teaches wherein the processor generates the second print image when the input values are out of a recommended setting range (p0007:To generate the background image data…. setting a value of a second-type pixel having a tone value out of the specific range before the correction process is performed..).
Op in view of Moribe and Hasegawa are combinable because they both deal with management servers with a printing apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Op in view of Moribe with the teaching of Hasegawa for purpose of generating a background image in which text included in an original image disappears.
Conclusion
HELEN ZONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2683
/HELEN ZONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683