DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-4 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite a judicial exception which is not integrated into a practical application and the claims lack an inventive concept.
Step 1 is the first inquiry into eligibility analysis and asks whether the claims are directed to a statutory category. In this instance, the answer must be in the affirmative because they recite a method and system.
Step 2A prong 1 is the next step in the eligibility analyses and asks whether the claimed invention recites a judicial exception. In this instance, the claims recite the following limitations which comprise the abstract idea:
collecting history information, wherein the history information comprises one or more episodes from one or more customers, wherein each episode comprises one or more items and timing information, wherein a subset of the one or more episodes comprises a label identifying a mission;
determining, the label identifying the mission for each of the one or more episodes for a customer of the one or more customers;
determining a pattern for the label of each of the one or more episodes for the customer based on the timing information;
predicting a future episode for the customer based on the pattern;
This is an abstract idea because it is a certain method of organizing human activity because it involves commercial interactions such as sales and/or marketing behaviors and/or activities.
Step 2A prong 2 is the next step in the eligibility analyses and looks at whether the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application. This requires an additional element or combination of additional elements in the claims to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
In this instance, the claims recite the additional elements such as:
training a natural language processor on subset of the one or more episodes to generate the label for each episode based on the one or more items;
using a natural language processor
However, these elements do not amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
In addition, the recitations of the additional limitations are recited at a high level of generality and also do not amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The dependent claims also fail to recite elements which amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. For example, claim 2 is directed at the abstract idea. In addition, even if the dependent claims were not, they do not amount to an integration according to any one of the considerations above.
Step 2B is the next step in the eligibility analyses and evaluates whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (i.e., “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception. According to Office procedure, revised Step 2A overlaps with Step 2B, and thus, many of the considerations need not be re-evaluated in Step 2B because the answer will be the same.
In Step 2A, several additional elements were identified as additional limitations:
training a natural language processor on subset of the one or more episodes to generate the label for each episode based on the one or more items;
using a natural language processor
These additional limitations, including the limitations in the dependent claims, do not amount to an inventive concept because they are recited at a high level of generality and also do not amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
In addition, they were already analyzed under Step 2A and did not amount to a practical application of the abstract idea.
Therefore, the claims lack one or more limitations which amount to an inventive concept in the claims.
For these reasons, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tavernier (US 10,706,450).
Referring to Claim 1, Tavernier teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
collecting history information, wherein the history information comprises one or more episodes from one or more customers, wherein each episode comprises one or more items and timing information (see Tavernier Col. 16 line 48 to Col. 17 line 15), wherein a subset of the one or more episodes comprises a label identifying a mission (see Tavernier Col. 1 lines 61-67, auto labeling a search query of a user to define a shopping “mission”);
training a natural language processor on subset of the one or more episodes to generate the label for each episode based on the one or more items (see Tavernier Col. 2 lines 42-48);
determining, using the natural language processor, the label identifying the mission for each of the one or more episodes for a customer of the one or more customers (see Tavernier Col. 1 lines 60-67);
determining a pattern for the label of each of the one or more episodes for the customer based on the timing information (see Tavernier Col. 6 lines 2-11 and Col. 8 lines 32-41);
predicting a future episode for the customer based on the pattern (see Tavernier Col. 5 lines 34-45).
Referring to Claim 2, Tavernier teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising generating a personalized marketing message for the customer based on the predicted future episode (see Tavernier Col. 5 lines 34-45).
Referring to Claim 3, Tavernier teaches a system comprising:
a non-transitory memory storing instructions and a processor for executing the instructions, the processor configured for:
collecting history information, wherein the history information comprises one or more episodes from one or more customers, wherein each episode comprises one or more items and timing information (see Tavernier Col. 16 line 48 to Col. 17 line 15), wherein a subset of the one or more episodes comprises a label identifying a mission (see Tavernier Col. 1 lines 61-67, auto labeling a search query of a user to define a shopping “mission”);
training a natural language processor on subset of the one or more episodes to generate the label for each episode based on the one or more items (see Tavernier Col. 2 lines 42-48);
determining, using the natural language processor, the label identifying the mission for each of the one or more episodes for a customer of the one or more customers (see Tavernier Col. 1 lines 60-67);
determining a pattern for the label of each of the one or more episodes for the customer based on the timing information (see Tavernier Col. 6 lines 2-11 and Col. 8 lines 32-41);
predicting a future episode for the customer based on the pattern (see Tavernier Col. 5 lines 34-45).
Referring to Claim 4, Tavernier teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the processor is further configured for generating a personalized marketing message for the customer based on the predicted future episode (see Tavernier Col. 5 lines 34-45).
Remarks
Additional prior art relevant to the application claims but not relied upon includes:
KARMAKAR (US 2020/0043022) teaches AI for generating hierarchical data structures.
YOON (US 2019/0179915) teaches recommending items using metadata.
Reference U (see PTO-892) teaches shopping missions.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW E ZIMMERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3688