DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Examiner acknowledges that the current application is a continuation (CON) of the parent application 17842458, which has an effective filing date of 06/16/2022.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 18 of U.S. Patent No. US 11939054 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the similarities shown in the table below. All matching elements of the claim limitation appear in bold while non-matching elements are not bolded.
Present Application No. 18615770
Patent No. US 11939054 B2
1. A non-transitory, machine-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, effectuate operations comprising:
obtaining, by a computer system and using one or more surface tension sensors, one or more surface tension measurements of a surface;
determining, by the computer system, a reaction force for an aircraft using the one or more surface tension measurements and a weight of the aircraft; and
causing, by the computer system, one or more engines included in the aircraft to generate thrust based on the reaction force.
1. A non-transitory, machine-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, effectuate operations comprising:
obtaining, by a computer system and using one or more surface tension sensors, one or more surface tension measurements of a landing surface or a takeoff surface for a vertical takeoff and landing aircraft;
determining, by the computer system, a reaction force for the aircraft using the one or more surface tension measurements; and
causing, by the computer system, one or more engines included in the aircraft to generate thrust based on the determined reaction force and the weight of the aircraft.
2. The medium of claim 1, wherein the reaction force is based on whether the aircraft is in a landing mode, a hover mode, or a takeoff mode.
2. The medium of claim 1, wherein the determined reaction force is based on whether the aircraft is in a landing mode, a hover mode, or a takeoff mode.
3. The medium of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: activating, by the computer system, the one or more surface tension sensors when the aircraft is in a hover mode, a landing mode, or a takeoff mode.
3. The medium of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: activating, by the computer system, the one or more surface tension sensors when the aircraft is in a hover mode, a landing mode, or a takeoff mode.
4. The medium of claim 3, wherein the operations further comprise: activating, by the computer system, the hover mode, the landing mode, or the takeoff mode when a respective hover condition, a landing condition, or a takeoff condition is satisfied.
4. The medium of claim 3, wherein the operations further comprise: activating, by the computer system, the hover mode, the landing mode, or the takeoff mode when a respective hover condition, a landing condition, or a takeoff condition is satisfied.
5. The medium of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: deactivating, by the computer system, the one or more surface tension sensors when the aircraft is in a flight mode or not in a hover mode, a landing mode, or a takeoff mode.
5. The medium of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: deactivating, by the computer system, the one or more surface tension sensors when the aircraft is in a flight mode or not in a hover mode, a landing mode, or a takeoff mode.
6. The medium of claim 1, wherein the aircraft is a vertical takeoff and landing aircraft.
Anticipated by claim 1 above.
7. The medium of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining, by the computer system, a direction for the thrust; and
causing, by the computer system, the one or more engines to be positioned in the direction for the thrust.
6. The medium of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining, by the computer system, a direction for the thrust; and
causing, by the computer system, the one or more engines to be positioned in the direction for the thrust.
8. An aircraft, comprising:
an aircraft chassis;
a propulsion system included in the aircraft chassis, wherein the propulsion system includes one or more engines that generate thrust;
a sensor system that is housed by the aircraft chassis and that includes one or more surface tension sensors;
one or more processors that are coupled to the propulsion system and the sensor system; and
system memory that is coupled to the one or more processors and that includes one or more instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, effectuate operations comprising:
obtaining, using the one or more surface tension sensors, one or more surface tension measurements of a surface;
determining a reaction force for the aircraft using the one or more surface tension measurements and a weight of the aircraft; and
causing the one or more engines included in the aircraft to generate thrust based on the reaction force.
7. A vertical takeoff and landing aircraft, comprising:
an aircraft chassis;
a propulsion system included in the aircraft chassis, wherein the propulsion system includes one or more engines that generate thrust;
a sensor system that is housed by the aircraft chassis and that includes one or more surface tension sensors;
one or more processors that are coupled to the propulsion system and the sensor system; and
system memory that is coupled to the one or more processors and that includes one or more instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, effectuate operations comprising:
obtaining, using the one or more surface tension sensors, one or more surface tension measurements of a landing surface or a takeoff surface for the aircraft;
determining a reaction force for the aircraft using the one or more surface tension measurements; and
causing the one or more engines included in the aircraft to generate thrust based on the determined reaction force and a weight of the aircraft.
9. The aircraft of claim 8, wherein the reaction force is based on whether the aircraft is in a landing mode, a hover mode, or a takeoff mode.
8. The aircraft of claim 7, wherein the determined reaction force is based on whether the aircraft is in a landing mode, a hover mode, or a takeoff mode.
10. The aircraft of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise: activating the one or more surface tension sensors when the aircraft is in a hover mode, a landing mode, or a takeoff mode.
9. The aircraft of claim 7, wherein the operations further comprise: activating the one or more surface tension sensors when the aircraft is in a hover mode, a landing mode, or a takeoff mode.
11. The aircraft of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise: activating the hover mode, the landing mode, or the takeoff mode when a respective hover condition, landing condition, or takeoff condition is satisfied.
10. The aircraft of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise: activating the hover mode, the landing mode, or the takeoff mode when a respective hover condition, landing condition, or takeoff condition is satisfied.
12. The aircraft of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise: deactivating the one or more surface tension sensors when the aircraft is in a flight mode or when the aircraft is not in a hover mode, a landing mode, or a takeoff mode.
11. The aircraft of claim 7, wherein the operations further comprise: deactivating the one or more surface tension sensors when the aircraft is in a flight mode or when the aircraft is not in a hover mode, a landing mode, or a takeoff mode.
13. The aircraft of claim 8, wherein the one or more engines are positioned on the aircraft chassis for vertical takeoff and landing the aircraft.
12. The aircraft of claim 7, wherein the one or more engines are positioned on the aircraft chassis for vertical takeoff and landing the aircraft.
14. The aircraft of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise: determining a direction for the thrust; and causing the one or more engines to be positioned in the direction for the thrust.
13. The aircraft of claim 7, wherein the operations further comprise: determining a direction for the thrust; and causing the one or more engines to be positioned in the direction for the thrust.
15. A method, comprising:
obtaining, by a computer system and using one or more surface tension sensors, one or more surface tension measurements of a surface;
determining, by the computer system, a reaction force for an aircraft using the one or more surface tension measurements and a weight of the aircraft; and
causing, by the computer system, one or more engines included in the aircraft to generate thrust based on the reaction force.
14. A method, comprising:
obtaining, by a computer system and using one or more surface tension sensors, one or more surface tension measurements of a landing surface or a takeoff surface for a vertical takeoff and landing aircraft;
determining, by the computer system, a reaction force for the aircraft using the one or more surface tension measurements; and
causing, by the computer system, one or more engines included in the aircraft to generate thrust based on the determined reaction force and a weight of the aircraft.
16. The method of claim 15, wherein the reaction force is based on whether the aircraft is in a landing mode, a hover mode, or a takeoff mode.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the determined reaction force is based on whether the aircraft is in a landing mode, a hover mode, or a takeoff mode.
17. The method of claim 15, further comprising: activating, by the computer system, the one or more surface tension sensors when the aircraft is in a hover mode, a landing mode, or a takeoff mode.
16. The method of claim 14, further comprising: activating, by the computer system, the one or more surface tension sensors when the aircraft is in a hover mode, a landing mode, or a takeoff mode.
18. The method of claim 15, further comprising: deactivating, by the computer system, the one or more surface tension sensors when the aircraft is in a flight mode or not in a hover mode, a landing mode, or a takeoff mode.
17. The method of claim 14, further comprising: deactivating, by the computer system, the one or more surface tension sensors when the aircraft is in a flight mode or not in a hover mode, a landing mode, or a takeoff mode.
19. The method of claim 15, further comprising steps for obtaining the one or more surface tension measurements of the surface.
Anticipated by claim 15 above
20. The method of claim 15, further comprising: determining, by the computer system, a direction for the thrust; and causing, by the computer system, the one or more engines to be positioned in the direction for the thrust.
18. The method of claim 14, further comprising: determining, by the computer system, a direction for the thrust; and causing, by the computer system, the one or more engines to be positioned in the direction for the thrust.
Claim 1 of the instant application (Application No. 18615770) is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11939054 B2. Specifically, claim 1 of the instant application recites “determining, by the computer system, a reaction force for an aircraft using the one or more surface tension measurements and a weight of the aircraft; and causing … one or more engines … to generate thrust based on the reaction force.” In contrast, claim 1 of the reference patent recites “determining … a reaction force … using the one or more surface tension measurements; and causing … one or more engines … to generate thrust based on the determined reaction force and the weight of the aircraft.” The difference between the claims merely reallocates the consideration of the aircraft weight between the step of determining the reaction force and the step of generating thrust. This distinction does not result in a patentably distinct subject matter because the aircraft weight is inherently accounted for in determining the reaction force acting on the aircraft, and thrust generation necessarily considers the total forces acting on the aircraft, including weight. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter of claim 1 of the instant application would have been an obvious variant of claim 1 of the reference patent. Therefore, claim 1 of the instant application is rejected under the nonstatutory double patenting over U.S. Patent No. US 11939054 B2.
Claims 2 – 20 of the present application also be rejected under the nonstatutory double patenting based on the similarity in the table above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 19 recites “further comprising steps for obtaining the one or more surface tension measurements of the surface.” However, claim 19 depends from claim 15 and does not further limit the scope of claim 15 because claim 15 already recites “obtaining, by a computer system and using one or more surface tension sensors, one or more surface tension measurements of a surface” (claim 15, lines 2–3).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parks, Robert (Publication No. US 20070057113 A1; hereinafter Parks) in view of SZALCZYNSKI et al. (Publication No. WO2022034681A1; hereinafter Sza) in further view of Marusic et al. (Publication No. US 20230012961 A1; hereinafter Marusic).
Regarding to claim 1, Parks teaches A non-transitory, machine-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, ([Par. 0078], “The processor and memory can be used, for example, to perform some or all of the functions of the aircraft control systems 250,350, and any and all components thereof,”) effectuate operations comprising:
obtaining, by a computer system and using sensors, one or more measurements of flight environments; ([Par. 0068], “the current action the STOL/VTOL A/C 200 is taking (weapons delivery, electronic countermeasures, among others), the desired action the STOL/VTOL A/C 200 is to take, current environmental conditions (air temperature, density, altitude, among others), fuel flow and fuel capacity, weight, external payloads, status of electrical and hydraulic systems, and various other factors.”; [Par. 102], “Following start up and attainment of maximum thrust of fan engines 9a,b,c, STOL/VTOL A/C 200 lifts off from the ground or launching vehicle. As can be seen in FIG. 11C, engine 8 and fan engines 9a,b,cof STOL/VTOL A/C 200c are generating a maximum amount of thrust (shown by thrust vectors A, B,C, and D).”)
determining, by the computer system, a reaction force for an aircraft using the one or more flight environment data and a weight of the aircraft; ([Par. 0080], “In FIG. 3, position A represents STOL/VTOL A/C 200 on the ground, with no vertical or horizontal components of thrust. In order to take-off, both engine 8 and fan engines 9a,b,c are required to produce substantially maximum thrust. The total amount of thrust required to take-off for STOL/VTOL A/C 200 is about 1.15 times the gross take-off weight of STOL/VTOL A/C 200. This is represented by the 1.15 on the y axis, showing the percentage of thrust produced versus weight of the STOL/VTOL A/C 200. For example, if STOL/VTOL A/C 200 weighs 1000 lbs., the total amount of thrust required for takeoff is about 1,150 lbs of thrust. If, however, take-off took place at high altitude and/or a hot day, then an extra margin of take-off thrust is required, which is about 1.3 times the gross take-off weight. In this case, then, for a gross take-off weight of 1000 lbs., the amount of thrust provided at sea level would be 1,300 lbs.” wherein the weight of the aircraft and the take-off environment data (e.g. heat, altitude) contributes to the total reaction force for the aircraft.) and
causing, by the computer system, one or more engines included in the aircraft to generate thrust based on the reaction force. ([Par. 0080], “In FIG. 3, position A represents STOL/VTOL A/C 200 on the ground, with no vertical or horizontal components of thrust. In order to take-off, both engine 8 and fan engines 9a,b,c are required to produce substantially maximum thrust. The total amount of thrust required to take-off for STOL/VTOL A/C 200 is about 1.15 times the gross take-off weight of STOL/VTOL A/C 200. This is represented by the 1.15 on the y axis, showing the percentage of thrust produced versus weight of the STOL/VTOL A/C 200. For example, if STOL/VTOL A/C 200 weighs 1000 lbs., the total amount of thrust required for takeoff is about 1,150 lbs of thrust. If, however, take-off took place at high altitude and/or a hot day, then an extra margin of take-off thrust is required, which is about 1.3 times the gross take-off weight. In this case, then, for a gross take-off weight of 1000 lbs., the amount of thrust provided at sea level would be 1,300 lbs… As engine 8 tilts from its substantially vertical position to a horizontal position, theA/C accelerates, more lift is made by the wings, and fan engines 9a,b,c provide less and less thrust toSTOL/VTOL A/C 200. The thrust required from fan engines 9a,b,c falls off rapidly, as line 16ademonstrates. At point C, the thrust required from fan engines 9a,b,c falls off to zero percent, becausenow STOL/VTOL A/C 200 has reached a point in horizontal flight where substantially all the liftrequired to remain aloft is provided by wings 10a, b and other lifting surfaces. Fan engines 9a,b,c areshut off, and either retract within wings 10a,b (STOL/VTOL A/C 400), or are covered by fan doors6a,b,c (STOL/VTOL A/C 200, 300). Thereafter, line 18b illustrates the increase in airspeed ofSTOL/VTOL A/C 200 as the thrust from engine 8 approaches about 20%. Area 20b indicates that allthe thrust is provided by engine 8.”)
Parks teaches to generate thrust based on the weight of the aircraft and the surrounding environment as described above, but does not explicitly disclose determining, by the computer system, a reaction force for an aircraft using the one or more surface tension measurements;
However, Sza teaches determining, by the computer system, a reaction force for an aircraft using the one or more surface tension measurements. ([Par. 0031], “When the unmanned aerial vehicle 1 takes off from the water 100, it receives a downward force due to the surface tension of the water 100. As the unmanned aerial vehicle 1 moves upward and moves from the position shown in FIG. 10 to the position shown in FIG. 11 and from the position shown in FIG. 11 to the position shown in FIG. It fluctuates like interface A2 and interfaceA3… The effect of surface tension is greatest when the lowest position of the float 10 of the unmanned vehicle 1 is in contact with the surface of the water100 (see FIG. 12). is an elliptical shape, the difference in size between the interface A3 and the interface A1 is smaller than when the shape in side view is rectangular. That is, compared to the unmanned aerial vehicle 200 of a comparative example the influence of the surface tension of the water 100 when the unmanned aerial vehicle 1 takes off from the water is leveled, so the unmanned aerial vehicle 1 can take off smoothly.” Wherein the “downward force” due to surface tension of water reads on the “reaction force”. Examiner note: Sza explicitly discloses that when an aircraft takes off from a water surface, a downward force is applied to the aircraft due to surface tension of the water (Sza, par. [0031]). This implies that the thrust or lifting force generated by the aircraft must exceed the sum of the downward forces (reaction force and weight of the aircraft) to lift the aircraft from the water. Sza further discloses modifying the aircraft's shape to reduce contact surface with the water, thereby reducing the reaction force caused by surface tension and facilitating easier lifting (reducing the thrust load). It would be inherent, based on Sza's concept, to calculate the actual reaction force (downward force) resulting from water surface tension. This calculation would provide a more accurate estimation of the required thrust load to lift the aircraft from the water surface. By doing so, it becomes possible to generate the necessary load for aircraft lifting while preserving fuel or battery consumption from generating excessive thrust load.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify Parks to incorporate the teaching of Sza. The modification would have been obvious because accounting for surface tension measurements enables the aircraft to determine an appropriate thrust level when taking off from or landing on a water surface.
The combination of Parks and Sza teaches to generate thrust of the aircraft based on the surface tension and weight of the aircraft as described above, but does not explicitly disclose obtaining, by a computer system and using one or more surface tension sensors, one or more surface tension measurements of a surface;
However, Marusic teaches obtaining, by a computer system and using one or more surface tension sensors, one or more surface tension measurements of a surface; ([Par. 0089], “Fluid control system 100 can include a sensor 118. Sensor 118 can be configured to measure a parameter of fluid 116 (e.g., friction velocity, surface shear stress, viscosity, pressure, temperature, or other parameters indicative of turbulence or drag, the viscous length scale η as shown above) or maybe configured to measure one or more values of different parameters (e.g., kinematic viscosity, wall shear stress, density, temperature, etc.) that can be used (e.g., by controller 104) to calculate the parameter of fluid 116.” Wherein the term “surface shear stress” of the fluid corresponds to “surface tension measurement.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the combination of Parks and Sza to incorporate the teaching of Marusic. The modification would have been obvious because capturing fluid parameters using sensors allows the aircraft's control system to generate control signals for operating the aircraft according to the characteristics of the fluid surface.
Regarding to claim 2, the combination of Parks, Sza, and Marusic teaches the medium of claim 1.
Parks further teaches wherein the reaction force is based on whether the aircraft is in a landing mode, a hover mode, or a takeoff mode. ([Par. 0073], “Thrust control circuit 210 can also alter the pitch, yaw, and roll moments of the STOL/VTOL A/C200 during hovering, take-off, and landing. It does this by controlling the speed and direction of rotation of the fan engines 9a,b,c in conjunction with the control provided by attitude control circuit 208. Attitude control circuit 208 controls the attitude of the STOL/VTOL A/C 200 during hover, take-off and landing by controlling a plurality of vanes 12 associated with each fan engine 9a,b,c. Control of thrust, pitch and roll moments is discussed in greater detail below.”; [Par. 0080], “In FIG. 3, position A represents STOL/VTOL A/C 200 on the ground, with no vertical or horizontal components of thrust. In order to take-off, both engine 8 and fan engines 9a,b,c are required to produce substantially maximum thrust. The total amount of thrust required to take-off for STOL/VTOL A/C 200 is about 1.15 times the gross take-off weight of STOL/VTOL A/C 200. This is represented by the 1.15 on the y axis, showing the percentage of thrust produced versus weight of the STOL/VTOL A/C 200. For example, if STOL/VTOL A/C 200 weighs 1000 lbs., the total amount of thrust required for takeoff is about 1,150 lbs of thrust. If, however, take-off took place at high altitude and/or a hot day, then an extra margin of take-off thrust is required, which is about 1.3 times the gross take-off weight. In this case, then, for a gross take-off weight of 1000 lbs., the amount of thrust provided at sea level would be 1,300 lbs.”
Regarding to claim 3, the combination of Parks, Sza, and Marusic teaches the medium of claim 1.
Sza further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: activating, by the computer system, the one or more surface tension sensors when the aircraft is in a hover mode, a landing mode, or a takeoff mode. ([Par. 0031], “When the unmanned aerial vehicle 1 takes off from the water 100, it receives a downward force due to the surface tension of the water 100. As the unmanned aerial vehicle 1 moves upward and moves from the position shown in FIG. 10 to the position shown in FIG. 11 and from the position shown in FIG. 11 to the position shown in FIG. It fluctuates like interface A2 and interfaceA3” Examiner note: As described in the rejection of claim 1 above, the combination of Parks, Sza and Marusic teaches the operation of the aircraft on water surfaces based on fluid parameters captured by sensors. Paragraph [0031] of Sza discloses that when the aircraft takes off from a water surface, it experiences a downward force due to the surface tension of the water. It is inherent for the aircraft to activate sensors to capture the necessary data in order to generate adequate thrust for lifting the aircraft from the water surface.)
Regarding to claim 4, the combination of Parks, Sza, and Marusic teaches the medium of claim 1.
Parks further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: activating, by the computer system, the hover mode, the landing mode, or the takeoff mode when a respective hover condition, a landing condition, or a takeoff condition is satisfied. ([Par. 0080], “The total amount of thrust required to take-off for STOL/VTOL A/C 200 is about 1.15 times the gross take-off weight of STOL/VTOL A/C 200. This is represented by the 1.15 on the y axis, showing the percentage of thrust produced versus weight of the STOL/VTOL A/C 200. For example, if STOL/VTOL A/C 200 weighs 1000 lbs., the total amount of thrust required for takeoff is about 1,150 lbs of thrust. If, however, take-off took place at high altitude and/or a hot day, then an extra margin of take-off thrust is required, which is about 1.3 times the gross take-off weight. In this case, then, for a gross take-off weight of 1000 lbs., the amount of thrust provided at sea level would be 1,300 lbs. Engine 8 (the gas turbine engine), provides all the thrust under line 18a, area 20a, which is about 50% of the total take-off thrust. Area 14, which is bounded byline 18a, the y axis and line 16a, is the thrust provided by fan engines 9a,b,c. This is a substantial amount of thrust. As engine 8 tilts from its substantially vertical position to a horizontal position, the A/C accelerates, more lift is made by the wings, and fan engines 9a,b,c provide less and less thrust to STOL/VTOL A/C 200. The thrust required from fan engines 9a,b,c falls off rapidly, as line 16ademonstrates. At point C, the thrust required from fan engines 9a,b,c falls off to zero percent, because now STOL/VTOL A/C 200 has reached a point in horizontal flight where substantially all the lift required to remain aloft is provided by wings 10a, b and other lifting surfaces. Fan engines 9a,b,c are shut off, and either retract within wings 10a,b (STOL/VTOL A/C 400), or are covered by fan doors6a,b,c (STOL/VTOL A/C 200, 300). Thereafter, line 18b illustrates the increase in airspeed of STOL/VTOL A/C 200 as the thrust from engine 8 approaches about 20%. Area 20b indicates that all the thrust is provided by engine 8.”)
Regarding to claim 5, the combination of Parks, Sza, and Marusic teaches the medium of claim 1.
Sza further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: deactivating, by the computer system, the one or more surface tension sensors when the aircraft is in a flight mode or not in a hover mode, a landing mode, or a takeoff mode. (As described in the rejection of claim 1 above, the combination of Sza and Marusic teaches the operation of the aircraft on water surfaces based on fluid parameters captured by sensors. Paragraph [0031] of Sza discloses that when the aircraft takes off from a water surface, it experiences a downward force due to the surface tension of the water. It is inherent for the aircraft to activate sensors to capture the necessary data in order to generate adequate thrust for lifting the aircraft from the water surface. This can also be understood as implying that once the aircraft is in flight mode and is no longer affected by surface tension, the sensor capturing the surface tension measurement is no longer required and should be deactivated.)
Regarding to claim 6, the combination of Parks, Sza, and Marusic teaches the medium of claim 1.
Parks further teaches wherein the aircraft is a vertical takeoff and landing aircraft. ([Par. 0003], “The invention relates to short take-off and landing aircraft and vertical takeoff and landing aircraft (STOL/VTOL A/C). More particularly, the invention relates to a system and method for combining and transferring power between an electric fan engine and an internal combustion engine to maximize take-off, horizontal and hovering flight performance.”)
Regarding to claim 7, the combination of Parks, Sza, and Marusic teaches the medium of claim 1.
Parks further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: determining, by the computer system, a direction for the thrust; ([Par. 0021], “the primary engine can be configured to be tilted to a position substantially perpendicular to the fuselage of the VTOL aircraft to produce thrust for hovering, and a nozzle of the primary engine is configured to be re-directed to produce thrust for hovering. According to the first aspect of the present invention, the primary engine comprises a fuel-powered engine, and the fuel-powered engine comprises a turbo jet engine or a turbo fan engine.” This is understood as the VTOL is equipped with tilt engine capabilities so that the engine can be tilted to an appropriate position based on operating mode ) and
causing, by the computer system, the one or more engines to be positioned in the direction for the thrust. ([Par. 0021], “the primary engine can be configured to be tilted to a position substantially perpendicular to the fuselage of the VTOL aircraft to produce thrust for hovering, and a nozzle of the primary engine is configured to be re-directed to produce thrust for hovering. According to the first aspect of the present invention, the primary engine comprises a fuel-powered engine, and the fuel-powered engine comprises a turbo jet engine or a turbo fan engine.”; [Par. 0080], “As engine 8 tilts from its substantially vertical position to a horizontal position, the A/C accelerates, more lift is made by the wings, and fan engines 9a,b,c provide less and less thrust to STOL/VTOL A/C 200. The thrust required from fan engines 9a,b,c falls off rapidly, as line 16ademonstrates. At point C, the thrust required from fan engines 9a,b,c falls off to zero percent, because now STOL/VTOL A/C 200 has reached a point in horizontal flight where substantially all the lift required to remain aloft is provided by wings 10a, b and other lifting surfaces.”)
Regarding to claim 8, Parks teaches
An aircraft, comprising:
an aircraft chassis; (see fig. 2A above)
a propulsion system included in the aircraft chassis, wherein the propulsion system includes one or more engines that generate thrust; ([Par. 0063], “an internal combustion engine (engine 8) and a plurality of electric fan engines (fan engines) 9a,b,c. Engine 8 can tilt from a substantially vertical configuration, for vertical flight or hovering, to a substantially horizontal configuration, for forward flight.”)
a sensor system that is housed by the aircraft chassis; ([Par. 0068], “the current action the STOL/VTOL A/C 200 is taking (weapons delivery, electronic countermeasures, among others), the desired action the STOL/VTOL A/C 200 is to take, current environmental conditions (air temperature, density, altitude, among others), fuel flow and fuel capacity, weight, external payloads, status of electrical and hydraulic systems, and various other factors.”; it should be inherent that the aircraft comprises sensors to collect data.)
one or more processors that are coupled to the propulsion system and the sensor system; ([Par. 0078], “The processor and memory can be used, for example, to perform some or all of the functions of the aircraft control systems 250,350, and any and all components thereof,”) and
system memory that is coupled to the one or more processors and that includes one or more instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, ([Par. 0078], “The processor and memory can be used, for example, to perform some or all of the functions of the aircraft control systems 250,350, and any and all components thereof,”) effectuate operations comprising:
obtaining, using the one or more surface tension sensors, one or more measurements of flight environments; ([Par. 0068], “the current action the STOL/VTOL A/C 200 is taking (weapons delivery, electronic countermeasures, among others), the desired action the STOL/VTOL A/C 200 is to take, current environmental conditions (air temperature, density, altitude, among others), fuel flow and fuel capacity, weight, external payloads, status of electrical and hydraulic systems, and various other factors.”; [Par. 102], “Following start up and attainment of maximum thrust of fan engines 9a,b,c, STOL/VTOL A/C 200 lifts off from the ground or launching vehicle. As can be seen in FIG. 11C, engine 8 and fan engines 9a,b,cof STOL/VTOL A/C 200c are generating a maximum amount of thrust (shown by thrust vectors A, B,C, and D).”)
determining a reaction force for the aircraft using the one or more flight environment measurements and a weight of the aircraft; ([Par. 0080], “In FIG. 3, position A represents STOL/VTOL A/C 200 on the ground, with no vertical or horizontal components of thrust. In order to take-off, both engine 8 and fan engines 9a,b,c are required to produce substantially maximum thrust. The total amount of thrust required to take-off for STOL/VTOL A/C 200 is about 1.15 times the gross take-off weight of STOL/VTOL A/C 200. This is represented by the 1.15 on the y axis, showing the percentage of thrust produced versus weight of the STOL/VTOL A/C 200. For example, if STOL/VTOL A/C 200 weighs 1000 lbs., the total amount of thrust required for takeoff is about 1,150 lbs of thrust. If, however, take-off took place at high altitude and/or a hot day, then an extra margin of take-off thrust is required, which is about 1.3 times the gross take-off weight. In this case, then, for a gross take-off weight of 1000 lbs., the amount of thrust provided at sea level would be 1,300 lbs.” wherein the weight of the aircraft and the take-off environment data (e.g. heat, altitude) contributes to the total reaction force for the aircraft.) and
causing the one or more engines included in the aircraft to generate thrust based on the reaction force. ([Par. 0080], “In FIG. 3, position A represents STOL/VTOL A/C 200 on the ground, with no vertical or horizontal components of thrust. In order to take-off, both engine 8 and fan engines 9a,b,c are required to produce substantially maximum thrust. The total amount of thrust required to take-off for STOL/VTOL A/C 200 is about 1.15 times the gross take-off weight of STOL/VTOL A/C 200. This is represented by the 1.15 on the y axis, showing the percentage of thrust produced versus weight of the STOL/VTOL A/C 200. For example, if STOL/VTOL A/C 200 weighs 1000 lbs., the total amount of thrust required for takeoff is about 1,150 lbs of thrust. If, however, take-off took place at high altitude and/or a hot day, then an extra margin of take-off thrust is required, which is about 1.3 times the gross take-off weight. In this case, then, for a gross take-off weight of 1000 lbs., the amount of thrust provided at sea level would be 1,300 lbs… As engine 8 tilts from its substantially vertical position to a horizontal position, theA/C accelerates, more lift is made by the wings, and fan engines 9a,b,c provide less and less thrust toSTOL/VTOL A/C 200. The thrust required from fan engines 9a,b,c falls off rapidly, as line 16ademonstrates. At point C, the thrust required from fan engines 9a,b,c falls off to zero percent, becausenow STOL/VTOL A/C 200 has reached a point in horizontal flight where substantially all the liftrequired to remain aloft is provided by wings 10a, b and other lifting surfaces. Fan engines 9a,b,c areshut off, and either retract within wings 10a,b (STOL/VTOL A/C 400), or are covered by fan doors6a,b,c (STOL/VTOL A/C 200, 300). Thereafter, line 18b illustrates the increase in airspeed ofSTOL/VTOL A/C 200 as the thrust from engine 8 approaches about 20%. Area 20b indicates that allthe thrust is provided by engine 8.”)
Parks teaches to generate thrust based on the weight of the aircraft and the surrounding environment as described above, but does not explicitly disclose determining a reaction force for an aircraft using the one or more surface tension measurements;
However, Sza teaches determining, by the computer system, a reaction force for an aircraft using the one or more surface tension measurements. ([Par. 0031], “When the unmanned aerial vehicle 1 takes off from the water 100, it receives a downward force due to the surface tension of the water 100. As the unmanned aerial vehicle 1 moves upward and moves from the position shown in FIG. 10 to the position shown in FIG. 11 and from the position shown in FIG. 11 to the position shown in FIG. It fluctuates like interface A2 and interfaceA3… The effect of surface tension is greatest when the lowest position of the float 10 of the unmanned vehicle 1 is in contact with the surface of the water100 (see FIG. 12). is an elliptical shape, the difference in size between the interface A3 and the interface A1 is smaller than when the shape in side view is rectangular. That is, compared to the unmanned aerial vehicle 200 of a comparative example the influence of the surface tension of the water 100 when the unmanned aerial vehicle 1 takes off from the water is leveled, so the unmanned aerial vehicle 1 can take off smoothly.” Wherein the “downward force” due to surface tension of water reads on the “reaction force”. Examiner note: Sza explicitly discloses that when an aircraft takes off from a water surface, a downward force is applied to the aircraft due to surface tension of the water (Sza, par. [0031]). This implies that the thrust or lifting force generated by the aircraft must exceed the sum of the downward forces (reaction force and weight of the aircraft) to lift the aircraft from the water. Sza further discloses modifying the aircraft's shape to reduce contact surface with the water, thereby reducing the reaction force caused by surface tension and facilitating easier lifting (reducing the thrust load). It would be inherent, based on Sza's concept, to calculate the actual reaction force (downward force) resulting from water surface tension. This calculation would provide a more accurate estimation of the required thrust load to lift the aircraft from the water surface. By doing so, it becomes possible to generate the necessary load for aircraft lifting while preserving fuel or battery consumption from generating excessive thrust load.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify Parks to incorporate the teaching of Sza. The modification would have been obvious because accounting for surface tension measurements enables the aircraft to determine an appropriate thrust level when taking off from or landing on a water surface.
The combination of Parks and Sza teaches to generate thrust of the aircraft based on the surface tension and weight of the aircraft as described above, but does not explicitly disclose one or more surface tension sensor; obtaining, using one or more surface tension sensors, one or more surface tension measurements of a surface;
However, Marusic teaches one or more surface tension sensor; obtaining, using one or more surface tension sensors, one or more surface tension measurements of a surface; ([Par. 0089], “Fluid control system 100 can include a sensor 118. Sensor 118 can be configured to measure a parameter of fluid 116 (e.g., friction velocity, surface shear stress, viscosity, pressure, temperature, or other parameters indicative of turbulence or drag, the viscous length scale η as shown above) or maybe configured to measure one or more values of different parameters (e.g., kinematic viscosity, wall shear stress, density, temperature, etc.) that can be used (e.g., by controller 104) to calculate the parameter of fluid 116.” Wherein the term “surface shear stress” of the fluid corresponds to “surface tension measurement.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the combination of Parks and Sza to incorporate the teaching of Marusic. The modification would have been obvious because capturing fluid parameters using sensors allows the aircraft's control system to generate control signals for operating the aircraft according to the characteristics of the fluid surface.
Claims 9 – 12, 14 recite the aircraft with substantially similar scope as claims 2 – 5, 7 respectively above, thus being rejected for same basis as claim 2 – 5, 7 respectively above.
Regarding to claim 13, the combination of Parks, Sza, and Marusic teaches the aircraft of claim 8.
Parks further teaches wherein the one or more engines are positioned on the aircraft chassis for vertical takeoff and landing the aircraft. (see fig. 2A; ([Par. 0063], “an internal combustion engine (engine 8) and a plurality of electric fan engines (fan engines) 9a,b,c. Engine 8 can tilt from a substantially vertical configuration, for vertical flight or hovering, to a substantially horizontal configuration, for forward flight.”)
Claims 15 – 18, 20 recite a method with substantially similar scopes as claims 1 – 3, 5, 7 respectively, thus being rejected for the same basis as claims 1 – 3, 5, 7 respectively above.
Regarding to claim 19, the combination of Parks, Sza, and Marusic teaches the method of claim 15.
Marusic further teaches further comprising steps for obtaining the one or more surface tension measurements of the surface. ([Par. 0089], “Fluid control system 100 can include a sensor 118. Sensor 118 can be configured to measure a parameter of fluid 116 (e.g., friction velocity, surface shear stress, viscosity, pressure, temperature, or other parameters indicative of turbulence or drag, the viscous length scale η as shown above) or maybe configured to measure one or more values of different parameters (e.g., kinematic viscosity, wall shear stress, density, temperature, etc.) that can be used (e.g., by controller 104) to calculate the parameter of fluid 116.” Wherein the term “surface shear stress” of the fluid corresponds to “surface tension measurement.”)
Conclusion
/STEVEN VU NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3668