DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/615,791, “SECONDARY BATTERY”, was filed with the USPTO on 3/25/2024. This office action is in response to communication filed on 3/25/2024.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in KR10-2023-0082635 filed on 6/27/2023 and KR10-2023-0172087 filed on 12/1/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2023-0082635 and KR10-2023-0172087 applications as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/25/2024, 9/18/2024, 12/31/2024, 4/14/2024, and 9/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
(based on the specification filed on 3/25/2024)
[0032] (line 13 on page 5) and [0085] (line 16 on page 22): “FIGS. 3A and 3b” appears to be “FIGS. 3A and 3B”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 11 and 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 12 and 15-20 of copending Application No. US18/636,843 (hereinafter 843’). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Regarding claim 1, 843’ teaches a secondary battery comprising: a case; an electrode assembly in the case, and comprising first tabs (plurality of first tabs, see claim 1 of 843’) protruding in a first direction, and second tabs (plurality of second tabs, see claim 1 of 843’) protruding in the first direction; a first current collector plate electrically connected (connected, see claim 1 of 843’; note: the connection of the first current collector plate to first tabs is an electrical connection) to the first tabs; a second current collector plate electrically connecting the second tabs to the case; and a rivet terminal electrically connected (connected, see claim 1 of 843’; note: the connection of rivet terminal to the first current collector plate is an electrical connection) to the first current collector plate and passing through the case (claim 1 of 843’).
Regarding claim 2, 843’ teaches wherein the first tabs (plurality of first tabs, see claim 2 of 843’) have a planar circular sector having a center, an outer arc, and an inner arc, or have a planar rectangular shape (claim 2 of 843’).
Regarding claim 3, 843’ teaches wherein a central angle (an interior angle, see claim 3 of 843’) of the first tabs (plurality of first tabs, see claim 3 of 843’) is less than about 180 degrees (claim 3 of 843’).
Regarding claim 4, 843’ teaches wherein the second tabs (plurality of second tabs, see claim 4 of 843’) are spaced apart from the first tabs (plurality of first tabs, see claim 4 of 843’), and have a planar circular sector having a center, an outer arc, and an inner arc, or have a planar rectangular shape (claim 4 of 843’).
Regarding claim 5, 843’ teaches wherein a central angle (an interior angle, see claim 5 of 843’) of the second tabs (plurality of second tabs, see claim 5 of 843’) is less than about 180 degrees (claim 5 of 843’).
Regarding claim 11, 843’ teaches further comprising a conductive ring plate coupled to a partial area of the case around the rivet terminal (claim 12 of 843’).
Regarding claim 15, 843’ teaches wherein the case comprises: a rivet plate coupled to the rivet terminal; a sidewall extending integrally from the rivet plate in a second direction that is opposite to the first direction; and a finish plate (finishing plate, claim 17 of 843’) blocking (configured to close, see claim 17 of 843’) an end of the sidewall (claim 17 of 843’).
Regarding claim 16, 843’ teaches wherein the finish plate (finishing plate, claim 18 of 843’) comprises a safety vent (claim 18 of 843’).
Regarding claim 17, 843’ teaches wherein the finish plate (finishing plate, claim 19 of 843’) is fixed to the sidewall by a beading part and a crimping part provided on the sidewall (claim 19 of 843’).
Regarding claim 18, 843’ teaches wherein the finish plate (finishing plate, claim 20 of 843’) is fixed to the sidewall by welding (a weld, see claim 20 of 843’) (claim 20 of 843’).
Regarding claim 19, 843’ teaches wherein the case comprises: a rivet plate coupled to the rivet terminal; a sidewall welded to the rivet plate and extending in a second direction that is opposite to the first direction; and a finish plate (finishing plate, claim 15 of 843’) extending integrally from the sidewall (claim 15 of 843’).
Regarding claim 20, 843’ teaches wherein the finish plate (finishing plate, claim 16 of 843’) comprises a safety vent (claim 16 of 843’).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 6-8 and 12-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-8 and 13-14 of copending Application No. US18/636,843 (hereinafter 843’) in view of Park et al. (US 20220131216 A1, provided on IDS filed on 9/29/2025).
Regarding claim 6, 843’ teaches wherein the first current collector plate comprises: a first current collector plate first connection area (first current collector plate first connection region, see claim 6 of 843’) electrically connected to the first tabs (plurality of first tabs, see claim 6 of 843’); a first current collector plate connection area (first current collector plate connecting region, see claim 6 of 843’) extending from the first current collector plate first connection area (first current collector plate first connection region, see claim 6 of 843’); and a first current collector plate second connection area (first current collector plate second connection region, see claim 6 of 843’) extending from the first current collector plate connection area (first current collector plate connection region, see claim 6 of 843’), and electrically connected to the rivet terminal (claim 6 of 843’).
843’ does not teach a first current collector plate connection area bent from the first current collector plate first connection area; a first current collector plate second connection area bent the first current collector plate connection area.
Park et al. teaches a first current collector plate connection area (first current collector plate connection area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) bent from the first current collector plate first connection area (121, Fig. 1); a first current collector plate second connection area (first current collector plate second connection area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) bent the first current collector plate connection area (first current collector plate connection area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the first current collector plate connection region and the first current collector plate second connection region taught by 843’ to be bent from the first current collector plate first connection area and the first current collector plate connection area, respectively as taught by Park et al. because the concave-convex part improves the weldability between the current collection plate and the electrode assembly, and to prevent a short circuit of the electrode assembly (see Park et al. [0016]).
Regarding claim 7, 843’ in view of Park et al. teaches wherein the first current collector plate first connection area (first current collector plate first connection region, see claim 7 of 843’) has a planar circular sector having a center, an outer arc, and an inner arc, and wherein the first current collector plate second connection area (first current collector plate second connection region, see claim 7 of 843’) has a disk shape with a center (claim 7 of 843’).
Regarding claim 8, 843’ teaches wherein the second current collector plate comprises: a second current collector plate first connection area (second current collector plate first connection region, see claim 8 of 843’) electrically connected to the second tabs (plurality of second tabs, see claim 8 of 843’); a second current collector plate connection area (second current collector plate connection region, see claim 8 of 843’) extending from the second current collector plate first connection area (second current collector plate first connection region, see claim 8 of 843’); and a second current collector plate second connection area (second current collector plate second connection region, see claim 8 of 843’) extending from the second current collector plate connection area (second current collector plate connection region, see claim 8 of 843’), and electrically connected to the case (claim 8 of 843’).
843’ does not teach a second current collector plate connection area bent from the second current collector plate first connection area; a second current collector plate second connection area bent the second current collector plate connection area.
Park et al. teaches a second current collector plate connection area (second current collector plate connection area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) bent from the second current collector plate first connection area (131, Fig. 1); a second current collector plate second connection area (second current collector plate second connection area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) bent the second current collector plate connection area (second current collector plate connection area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the second current collector plate connection region and the second current collector plate second connection region taught by 843’ to be bent from the second current collector plate first connection area and the second current collector plate connection area, respectively as taught by Park et al. because the concave-convex part improves the weldability between the current collection plate and the electrode assembly, and to prevent a short circuit of the electrode assembly (see Park et al. [0016]).
Regarding claim 12, 843’ teaches wherein the first current collector plate comprises:
a first current collector plate first connection area (first current collector plate first connection region, see claim 13 of 843’) electrically connected to the first tabs (plurality of first tabs, see claim 13 of 843’);
a first current collector plate connection area (first current collector plate connecting region, see claim 13 of 843’) extending from the first current collector plate first connection area (first current collector plate first connection region, see claim 13 of 843’) in the first direction; and
a first current collector plate second connection area (first current collector plate second connection region, see claim 13 of 843’) extending from the first current collector plate connection area (first current collector plate connection region, see claim 13 of 843’), and electrically connected to the rivet terminal (claim 13 of 843’), and
wherein the second current collector plate comprises:
a second current collector plate first connection area (second current collector plate first connection region, see claim 13 of 843’) electrically connected to the second tabs (plurality of second tabs, see claim 13 of 843’);
a second current collector plate connection area (second current collector plate connection region, see claim 13 of 843’) extending from the second current collector plate first connection area (second current collector plate first connection region, see claim 13 of 843’) in the first direction; and
a second current collector plate second connection area (second current collector plate second connection region, see claim 13 of 843’) extending from the second current collector plate connection area (second current collector plate connection region, see claim 13 of 843’), and electrically connected to the case (claim 13 of 843’).
843’ does not teach a first current collector plate connection area bent from the first current collector plate first connection area; a first current collector plate second connection area bent the first current collector plate connection area;
a second current collector plate connection area bent from the second current collector plate first connection area; a second current collector plate second connection area bent the second current collector plate connection area.
Park et al. teaches a first current collector plate connection area (first current collector plate connection area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) bent from the first current collector plate first connection area (121, Fig. 1); a first current collector plate second connection area (first current collector plate second connection area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) bent the first current collector plate connection area (first current collector plate connection area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1);
Park et al. teaches a second current collector plate connection area (second current collector plate connection area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) bent from the second current collector plate first connection area (131, Fig. 1); a second current collector plate second connection area (second current collector plate second connection area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) bent the second current collector plate connection area (second current collector plate connection area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the first current collector plate connection region and the first current collector plate second connection region taught by 843’ to be bent from the first current collector plate first connection area and the first current collector plate connection area, respectively as taught by Park et al.; and to modify the second current collector plate connection region and the second current collector plate second connection region taught by 843’ to be bent from the second current collector plate first connection area and the second current collector plate connection area, respectively as taught by Park et al. because the concave-convex part improves the weldability between the current collection plate and the electrode assembly, and to prevent a short circuit of the electrode assembly (see Park et al. [0016]).
Regarding claim 13, 843’ in view of Park et al. teaches wherein the first current collector plate first connection area (first current collector plate first connection region, see claim 14 of 843’) and the second current collector plate first connection area (second current collector plate first connection region, see claim 14 of 843’) are on a same plane, and wherein the first current collector plate second connection area (first current collector plate second connection region, see claim 14 of 843’) is closer to the electrode assembly than the second current collector plate second connection area (second current collector plate second connection region, see claim 14 of 843’) (claim 14 of 843’).
Claims 1, 6, 8, 11-13 and 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 9 and 14-22 of copending Application No. 18/615,763 (hereinafter 763’) in view of Sun et al. (CN 218887468 U, provided on IDS filed on 12/31/2024, citations see machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, 763’ teaches a secondary battery comprising: a case; an electrode assembly in the case, and comprising first tabs (a first tab, see claim 1 of 763’) protruding in a first direction, and second tabs (a second tab, see claim 1 of 763’) protruding in the first direction; a first current collector plate electrically connected to the first tabs (a first tab, see claim 1 of 763’); a second current collector plate electrically connecting the second tabs (a second tab, see claim 1 of 763’) to the case; and a rivet terminal electrically connected to the first current collector plate and passing through the case (claim 1 of 763’).
763’ does not teach first tabs and second tabs protruding in the first direction; a first current collector plate electrically connected to the first tabs; a second current collector plate electrically connecting the second tabs.
Sun et al. teaches first tabs (32, Fig. 15) and second tabs (33, Fig. 15) protruding in the first direction (direction of 32 and 33 protruding up, see Fig. 18); a first current collector plate (42, Fig. 18) electrically connected to the first tabs (32, Fig. 18); a second current collector plate (43, Fig. 18) electrically connecting the second tabs (33, Fig. 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the first tabs and the second tabs taught by Sun et al. to have the first tab and the second tab led out from the same end of the electrode assembly to effectively improve the overall energy density of the battery cell because only one end of the electrode assembly reserved for electrical connection and no need to set electrode leads at both ends of the battery cell (see Sun [n0152]).
Regarding claim 6, 763’ in view of Sun et al. teaches wherein the first current collector plate comprises: a first current collector plate first connection area electrically connected to the first tabs (first tab of 763’ and first tabs of Sun et al.); a first current collector plate connection area bent and extending from the first current collector plate first connection area; and a first current collector plate second connection area bent and extending from the first current collector plate connection area, and electrically connected to the rivet terminal (claim 6 of 763’).
Regarding claim 8, 763’ in view of Sun et al. teaches wherein the second current collector plate comprises: a second current collector plate first connection area electrically connected to the second tabs (second tab of 763’ and second tabs of Sun et al.); a second current collector plate connection area bent and extending from the second current collector plate first connection area; and a second current collector plate second connection area bent and extending from the second current collector plate connection area, and electrically connected to the case (claim 9 of 763’).
Regarding claim 11, 763’ in view of Sun et al. teaches further comprising a conductive ring plate coupled to a partial area of the case around the rivet terminal (claim 14 of 763’).
Regarding claim 12, 763’ in view of Sun et al. teaches wherein the first current collector plate comprises: a first current collector plate first connection area (first current collector plate first connection region, see claim 15 of 763’) electrically connected to the first tabs (first tab of 763’ and first tabs of Sun et al.); a first current collector plate connection area (first current collector plate connection region, see claim 15 of 763’) bent and extending from the first current collector plate first connection area (first current collector plate first connection region, see claim 15 of 763’) in the first direction; and a first current collector plate second connection area (first current collector plate second connection region, see claim 15 of 763’) bent and extending from the first current collector plate connection area (first current collector plate connection region, see claim 15 of 763’), and electrically connected to the rivet terminal, and wherein the second current collector plate comprises: a second current collector plate first connection area (second current collector plate first connection region, see claim 15 of 763’) electrically connected to the second tabs (second tab of 763’ and second tabs of Sun et al.); a second current collector plate connection area (second current collector plate connection region, see claim 15 of 763’) bent and extending from the second current collector plate first connection area (second current collector plate first connection region, see claim 15 of 763’) in the first direction; and a second current collector plate second connection area (second current collector plate second connection region, see claim 15 of 763’) bent and extending from the second current collector plate connection area (second current collector plate connection region, see claim 15 of 763’), and electrically connected to the case (claim 15 of 763’).
Regarding claim 13, 763’ in view of Sun et al. teaches wherein the first current collector plate first connection area (first current collector plate first connection region, see claim 16 of 763’) and the second current collector plate first connection area (second current collector plate first connection region, see claim 16 of 763’) are on a same plane, and wherein the first current collector plate second connection area (first current collector plate second connection region, see claim 16 of 763’) is closer to the electrode assembly than the second current collector plate second connection area (second current collector plate second connection region, see claim 16 of 763’) (claim 16 of 763’).
Regarding claim 15, 763’ in view of Sun et al. teaches wherein the case comprises: a rivet plate coupled to the rivet terminal; a sidewall extending integrally from the rivet plate in a second direction that is opposite to the first direction; and a finish plate (finishing plate, see claim 17 of 763’) blocking an end of the sidewall (claim 17 of 763’).
Regarding claim 16, 763’ in view of Sun et al. teaches wherein the finish plate (finishing plate, see claim 18 of 763’) comprises a safety vent (claim 18 of 763’).
Regarding claim 17, 763’ in view of Sun et al. teaches wherein the finish plate (finishing plate, see claim 19 of 763’) is fixed to the sidewall by a beading part and a crimping part provided on the sidewall (claim 19 of 763’).
Regarding claim 18, 763’ in view of Sun et al. teaches wherein the finish plate (finishing plate, see claim 20 of 763’) is fixed to the sidewall by welding (welded, see claim 20 of 763’) (claim 20 of 763’).
Regarding claim 19, 763’ in view of Sun et al. teaches wherein the case comprises: a rivet plate coupled to the rivet terminal; a sidewall welded to the rivet plate and extending in a second direction that is opposite to the first direction; and a finish plate (finishing plate, see claim 21 of 763’) extending integrally from the sidewall (claim 21 of 763’).
Regarding claim 20, 763’ in view of Sun et al. teaches wherein the finish plate (finishing plate, see claim 22 of 763’) comprises a safety vent (claim 22 of 763’).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 5 recite the relative term “about”. Applicant’s specification (i.e. specification filed on 3/25/2024 paragraph [0049]) gives several different possible meanings for “about” and leaves the meaning subject to the opinion of an artisan. As different artisans may have different opinions, the meaning of “about” in the claims is ambiguous. For examination purposes, claims 3 and 5 have been interpreted as “about” been removed.
Claim 7 is indefinite because of “a center” in “has a disk shape with a center”. It is unclear if a center of a disk shape is the same center as a planar circular sector. For examination purposes, the aforementioned recitation has been interpreted as “has a disk shape with the center”.
Claim 9 is indefinite because of “a center” in “has a circular ring plate shape with a center”. It is unclear if a center of a circular ring plate shape is the same center as a planar circular sector. For examination purposes, the aforementioned recitation has been interpreted as “has a circular ring plate shape with the center”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (CN 218887468 U, provided on IDS filed on 12/31/2024, citations see machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Sun et al. teaches a secondary battery (Fig. 18) comprising:
a case (1/21, Figs. 18 and 19);
an electrode assembly (31, Figs. 15 and 18) in the case (1/21, Figs. 18 and 19), and comprising first tabs (32, Figs. 15 and 18) protruding in a first direction (bottom to top along 31, see Fig. 15), and second tabs (33, Figs. 15 and 18) protruding in the first direction (bottom to top along 31, see Fig. 15);
a first current collector plate (42, Figs. 15 and 18) electrically connected (see Fig. 18; also see “welding 42 and 32”, [n0301]) to the first tabs (32, Figs. 15 and 18);
a second current collector plate (43, Figs. 15 and 18) electrically connecting (431 of 43 electrically connected to 33; 43 is directly electrically connected to 21, see [n0299]) the second tabs (33, Figs. 15 and 18) to the case (1/21, Figs. 18 and 19); and
a rivet terminal (22, Fig. 18; note: 22 is an electrode terminal, see [n0149]) electrically connected (422 of 42 is electrically connected to 22, see [n0293]) to the first current collector plate (42, Figs. 15 and 18) and passing through (221/223 of 22 passing through 21, see Fig. 18; 21 see Fig. 19) the case (1/21, Figs. 18 and 19).
Regarding claim 2, Sun et al. teaches wherein the first tabs (32, Figs. 15) have a planar circular sector (formed by top planar surface of 32, see Fig. 15; the shape and geometry see 421 in Fig. 16) having a center (311, Fig. 15), an outer arc (outer arc wall of 421, see Fig. 16), and an inner arc (inner arc wall of 421 (where 426 sits), see Fig. 16), (note: the first embodiment and the second embodiment shares the same structure of 42 (421/426/422), see [n0298]-[n0299]) or have a planar rectangular shape.
Regarding claim 3, Sun et al. teaches wherein a central angle of the first tabs (central angle of first tabs, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 15) is less than about 180 degrees (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 4, Sun et al. teaches wherein the second tabs (33, Figs. 15 and 18) are spaced apart from the first tabs (32, Figs. 15 and 18), and have a planar circular sector (formed by top planar surface of 33, see Fig. 15; the shape and geometry see 431 in Fig. 16) having a center (311, Fig. 15), an outer arc (outer arc wall of 431 (where 432 sits), see Fig. 16), and an inner arc (inner arc wall of 431 (close to 422’), see Fig. 16), or have a planar rectangular shape.
Regarding claim 5, Sun et al. teaches wherein a central angle of the second tabs (central angle of second tabs, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 15) is less than about 180 degrees (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 6, Sun et al. teaches wherein the first current collector plate (42, Fig. 17) comprises:
a first current collector plate first connection area (421, Fig. 17) electrically connected (421 is electrically connected to 32, see [n0199]; note: the first embodiment and the second embodiment shares the same structure of 42 (421/426/422), see [n0298]-[n0299]) to the first tabs (32, Figs. 15 and 18);
a first current collector plate connection area (426, Fig. 17) bent and extending from the first current collector plate first connection area (421, Fig. 17); and
a first current collector plate second connection area (422, Fig. 17) bent and extending from the first current collector plate connection area (426, Fig. 17), and electrically connected (422 is electrically connected to 22, see [n0199]) to the rivet terminal (22, Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 7, Sun et al. teaches wherein the first current collector plate first connection area (421, Fig. 16) has a planar circular sector (perimeter of 421, Fig. 16) having a center (422’, Fig. 16), an outer arc (outer arc wall of 421, see Fig. 16), and an inner arc (inner arc wall of 421 (where 426 sits), see Fig. 16), and
wherein the first current collector plate second connection area (422, Fig. 16) has a disk shape (shape of 422, see Fig. 16) with a center (422’, Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 8, Sun et al. teaches wherein the second current collector plate (43, Figs. 15 and 18) comprises:
a second current collector plate first connection area (431, Figs. 15-18) electrically connected (431 electrically connected to 33, see [n0299]) to the second tabs (33, Figs. 15 and 18);
a second current collector plate connection area (body of 432, Figs. 15-18) bent and extending (see Figs. 15-18) from the second current collector plate first connection area (431, Figs. 15-18); and
a second current collector plate second connection area (surface of 432 where contacts 212 and L2 of 21, Figs. 19) bent and extending (bent see from L2 of 21 bent to 212, Fig. 19) from the second current collector plate connection area (body of 432, Figs. 15-18), and electrically connected to the case (1/21, Figs. 18 and 19; note: 432 is electrically connected to 212 on 21, see [n0242]).
Regarding claim 9, Sun et al. teaches wherein the second current collector plate first connection area (431, Figs. 15-18) has a planar circular sector (top surface of 431, Figs. 15-18) having a center (422’, Fig. 16), an outer arc (outer arc wall of 431 (where 431 and 432 connected), see Fig. 16), and an inner arc (inner arc wall of 431 (close to 422’), see Fig. 16), and
wherein the second current collector plate second connection area (surface of 432 where contacts 212 and L2 of 21, Figs. 19) has a circular ring plate shape (circular ring plate when look down along F-F, see Fig. 16) with a center (422’, Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 10, Sun et al. teaches further comprising an insulating plate (41, Fig. 15) between the first current collector plate (42, Fig. 15) and the second current collector plate (43, Fig. 15), and having a partial area (412, Fig. 17) in a gap (311, Fig. 18) between the second current collector plate (43, Fig. 18) and the electrode assembly (31, Figs. 15 and 18).
Regarding claim 12, Sun et al. teaches wherein the first current collector plate (42, Fig. 17) comprises:
a first current collector plate first connection area (421, Fig. 17) electrically connected (421 is electrically connected to 32, see [n0199]; note: the first embodiment and the second embodiment shares the same structure of 42 (421/426/422), see [n0298]-[n0299]) to the first tabs (32, Figs. 15 and 18);
a first current collector plate connection area (426, Fig. 17) bent and extending from the first current collector plate first connection area (421, Fig. 17) in the first direction (bottom to top along 31, see Fig. 15); and
a first current collector plate second connection area (422, Fig. 17) bent and extending from the first current collector plate connection area (426, Fig. 17), and electrically connected (422 is electrically connected to 22, see [n0199]) to the rivet terminal (22, Fig. 18), and
wherein the second current collector plate (43, Figs. 15 and 18) comprises:
a second current collector plate first connection area (431, Figs. 15-18) electrically connected (431 electrically connected to 33, see [n0299]) to the second tabs (33, Figs. 15 and 18);
a second current collector plate connection area (body of 432, Figs. 15-18) bent and extending (see Figs. 15-18) from the second current collector plate first connection area (431, Figs. 15-18) in the first direction (bottom to top along 31, see Fig. 15); and
a second current collector plate second connection area (surface of 432 where contacts 212 and L2 of 21, Figs. 19) bent and extending (bent see from L2 of 21 bent to 212, Fig. 19) from the second current collector plate connection area (body of 432, Figs. 15-18), and electrically connected to the case (1/21, Figs. 18 and 19; note: 432 is electrically connected to 212 on 21, see [n0242]).
Regarding claim 13, Sun et al. teaches wherein the first current collector plate first connection area (421, Fig. 17) and the second current collector plate first connection area (431, Figs. 15-18) are on a same plane (see Fig. 17), and
wherein the first current collector plate second connection area (422, Fig. 18) is closer (422 is below the “line”; surface of 432 that contacts 212 and 21 is above the “line”, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 18) to the electrode assembly (31, Figs. 15 and 18) than the second current collector plate second connection area (surface of 432 that contacts 212 and L2 of 21, Figs. 19).
Claims 1, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 20230411808 A1, provided on IDS filed on 12/31/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Li et al. teaches a secondary battery (62, Fig. 4) comprising:
a case (11/12/3 forms housing 1, Fig. 4; 1 see Fig. 2);
an electrode assembly (21, Fig. 4) in the case (1, Fig. 2), and comprising first tabs (22, Fig. 4) protruding in a first direction (bottom to up along 12, see Fig. 4), and second tabs (23, Fig. 4) protruding in the first direction (bottom to up along 12, see Fig. 4);
a first current collector plate (51, Fig. 4) electrically connected (51 is electrically connected to the first tab unit 22, see [0068]) to the first tabs (22, Fig. 4);
a second current collector plate (52, Fig. 4) electrically connecting (52 is electrically connected to the second tab unit 23, see [0069]) the second tabs (23, Fig. 4) to the case (1, Fig. 2; note: 52 connects to 11, see Fig. 4); and
a rivet terminal (4, Fig. 1) electrically connected (the first current collecting member 51 and the electrode terminal 4 are electrically connected, see [0068]) to the first current collector plate (51, Fig. 4) and passing through (see Fig. 4) the case (1, Fig. 2; note: terminal passing through 11, see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Li et al. teaches wherein the case (11/12/3 forms housing 1, Fig. 4; 1 see Fig. 2) comprises:
a rivet plate (11, Fig. 4) coupled to the rivet terminal (terminal 4 is at where 41 sits, Fig. 4);
a sidewall (12, Fig. 4) extending integrally (11 and 12 are welded by laser welding, see [0065]) from the rivet plate (11, Fig. 4) in a second direction (up to bottom along 12, see Fig. 4) that is opposite to the first direction (bottom to up along 12, see Fig. 4); and
a finish plate (3, Fig. 4) blocking an end of the sidewall (12, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Li et al. teaches wherein the finish plate (3, Fig. 4) comprises a safety vent (74, Fig. 4; note: the explosion-proof weakness part 74 is opened in time for pressure relief when thermal runaway occurs to the cylindrical battery, see [0064]).
Regarding claim 19, Li et al. teaches wherein the case (11/12/3 forms housing 1, Fig. 4; 1 see Fig. 2) comprises:
a rivet plate (11, Fig. 4) coupled to the rivet terminal (terminal 4 is at where 41 sits, Fig. 4);
a sidewall (12, Fig. 4) welded (11 and 12 are welded by laser welding, see [0065]) to the rivet plate (11, Fig. 4) and extending in a second direction (up to bottom along 12, see Fig. 4) that is opposite to the first direction (bottom to up along 12, see Fig. 4); and
a finish plate (3, Fig. 4) extending integrally (the sidewall12 and 3 are integrally molded, see [0065]) from the sidewall (12, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 20, Li et al. teaches wherein the finish plate (3, Fig. 4) comprises a safety vent (74, Fig. 4; note: the explosion-proof weakness part 74 is opened in time for pressure relief when thermal runaway occurs to the cylindrical battery, see [0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20230411808 A1, provided on IDS filed on 12/31/2024) in view of Kohira et al. (US 20220077527 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Li et al. does not teach further comprising a conductive ring plate coupled to a partial area of the case around the rivet terminal.
Kohira et al. teaches further comprising a conductive ring plate (360, Fig. 1; note: 360 is conductive, and has the same polarity as that of battery can 100, see [0057]) coupled to a partial area (110, Fig. 1) of the case (100, Fig. 1) around the rivet terminal (310, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Li et al. by adding the fixing member taught by Kohira et al. to have the other terminal function having a polarity different from that of the other terminal portion, therefore, both electrodes of battery collect current from the same upper surface (see Kohira et al. [0057]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 218887468 U, provided on IDS filed on 12/31/2024, citations see machine translation) in view of Lai et al. (US 20240097285 A1, provided on IDS filed on 12/31/2024).
Regarding claim 14, Sun et al. does not teach wherein a partial area of the second current collector plate second connection area overlaps the first current collector plate first connection area.
Lai et al. teaches wherein a partial area of the second current collector plate second connection area (422, Fig. 4; note: 422 welded to the fifth recess part 311 on the cover 31, see [0091]) overlaps (422 overlaps 421 see Fig. 4) the second current collector plate first connection area (421, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to change the connection between the second current collector and the end cap taught by Sun et al. to be the welding connection taught by Lai et al.: to modify the circular fourth part of the second current collector taught by Sun et al. by adding the welding part taught by Lai et al.; and to modify the bent part on the end cap body taught by Sun et al. to be the fifth recess part taught by taught by Lai et al. to have the shape of the fifth recess part matched with that of the welding part, thereby preventing the welding part from moving during welding, and avoiding falling-off of a welding mark caused by the welding part due to the shaking of the cylindrical battery. At the same time, because the welding part is embedded into the fifth recess part, the occupation of the internal space of the cylindrical battery by the second current collector is reduced, thereby improving the space utilization rate of the cylindrical battery and the energy density of the battery (see Lai et al. [0092]). When the welding part is added to the circular fourth part of the second current collector and the fifth recess is added to the end cap, the welding part along the fourth part becomes the second current collector plate second connection area (as it welded to the fifth recess part on the end cap) and it overlaps the first part which is the first current collector plate first connection area.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20230411808 A1, provided on IDS filed on 12/31/2024) in view of Lee et al. (US 20240088425 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Li et al. does not teach wherein the finish plate is fixed to the sidewall by a beading part and a crimping part provided on the sidewall.
Lee et al. teaches wherein the finish plate (178a, Fig. 18) is fixed (see Fig. 18; note: a crimping portion 181 fixes the edge of the cap plate 178a and the first gasket 178 b together, see [0450]) to the sidewall (171, Fig. 18) by a beading part (180, Fig. 18) and a crimping part (181, Fig. 18) provided on the sidewall (171, Fig. 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the side wall taught by Li et al. by adding the beading portion, the crimping portion, and the first gasket taught by Lee et al. to have the crimping portion fixes the edge of the plate and the first gasket together (see Lee et al. [0450]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20230411808 A1, provided on IDS filed on 12/31/2024).
Regarding claim 18, Li et al. teaches wherein the finish plate (3, Fig. 4) is fixed (12 and 3 are integrally molded, see [0065]) to the sidewall (12, Fig. 4).
However, Li et al. does not teach wherein the finish plate is fixed to the sidewall by welding.
Li et al. teaches wherein the rivet plate (11, Fig. 4) is fixed to the sidewall (12, Fig. 4) by welding (11 and 12 are welded by laser welding, see [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the side wall and the top cover taught by Li et al. to be welded by laser welding as taught by Li et al. because it is known in the art to have the bottom wall and the side wall welded by laser welding (see Li [0065]).
Conclusion
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723