DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 19 are considered vague and indefinite because it is unclear if the subject matter recited in parentheses is part of the subject matter applicant wishes to protect or is merely optional or exemplary. For examination purposes, the subject matter in parentheses is considered optional or exemplary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-11, 13, 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yan et al. (CN 105481092, the passages cited below refer to the machine-generated English translation provided with the instant office action).
Per claim 1, Yan et al. teach a wastewater treatment system (abstract, The invention claims a sewage processing device and control method for automatic control by monitoring N2O connected through the internal reflux circulating pump and a pipeline between the anoxic treatment tank and the aerobic treatment pool;) comprising:
a basin (defining elements 3, 4, 5; Fig. 1) configured to subject wastewater to an activated sludge-based biological treatment wherein nitrogen is removed from the wastewater (page 3, the dissolved oxygen in the aerobic treatment tank by aeration effect is kept at 2 mg/L, normal operation of the system, the aerobic treatment tank in the nitration reaction, the ammonia nitrogen is oxidized to nitrate nitrogen, internal reflux circulating pump pumps the water containing nitrate nitrogen generated by mixed liquid to the anoxic treatment cell. carry out denitrification reaction to realize biological denitrification in the anoxic treatment tank, an aerobic treatment N2O monitoring probe of the aerobic treatment pool of cell is the N2O concentration in the aerobic processing pool monitoring when monitoring the N2O concentration in the aerobic tank is higher than 0.1mg/L.);
an N2O sensor (15, 17) positioned in the basin (Fig. 1) and configured to produce an N2O detection in the biological treatment (page 5, an aerobic treatment tank 5 is set in the aerobic treatment tank N2O monitoring probe 15 for monitoring the aerobic treatment tank 5 produced in the reaction process is N2O, aerobic treatment pool controller N2O monitoring probe 15 through the PLC computer automatic control system 19 is connected to the computer.; anoxic treatment cell 4 is set in the anoxic treatment cell N2O monitoring probe 17 for monitoring the anoxic treatment cell N2O generated in the reaction process,); and
an organic carbon source (20; page 5, acetate solution storage tank stored in 20 molar sodium acetate solution with concentration of 0.5mol/L as the anoxic reaction tank 4 of the denitrification carbon source replenishing reaction abnormality, acetate solution storage tank 20 through the solution transmission pump 21 connected with the anoxic treatment tank 4, sodium acetate solution transmission pump 21 and PLC automatic control of the computer system 19 by connecting lines.) fluidly connected to the basin (Fig. 1), the wastewater treatment system being configured to dose organic carbon from the organic carbon source to the biological treatment based on the N2O detection so that the wastewater treatment system controls an N2O level of the biological treatment via the organic carbon (pages 5-6, PLC automatic control system 19 with a sodium acetate solution transmission pump 21 and air pump 7 connected to the anoxic treatment tank in the anoxic treatment tank N2O and the aerobic treatment tank 5, 4 monitoring probe 17 and aerobic treatment tank N2O back 15 N2O concentration monitoring probe control acetate solution transmission pump 21 and air pump 7 to operate. anoxic treatment cell 4 by monitoring N2O control method of sewage treatment process. anoxic treatment tank is a function unit for denitrification sewage treatment device, the generated N2O shows denitrification process is not complete, supplementary carbon source as an electron donor can effectively promote the denitrification reaction, improve denitrification efficiency. after the sewage treatment system for open anoxic treatment cell control system is operated, the anoxic treatment cell 4 in the anoxic treatment cell N2O monitoring probe 17 for monitoring the anoxic treatment cell 4 in the concentration of N2O, when monitoring the N2O concentration into the oxygen-deficient treatment cell 4 is higher than 0.1mg/L, starting the acetate solution transmission pump 21, at a transmission rate of 0.2L/min mol concentration of the acetate solution storage tank 20 is 0.5mol/L of sodium acetate solution to the anoxic processing cell 4. supplementary anoxic reaction cell 4 in the denitrification carbon source and promoting denitrification effect, so as to reduce N2O production while improving the denitrification efficiency. acetate solution transmission pump 21 to react to the anoxic reaction tank while transmitting the acetate solution, the anoxic treatment cell N2O monitoring probe 17 N2O concentration of the monitoring data feedback to the PLC computer automatic control system 19, lower than the 0.1mg/L to N2O concentration while monitoring, PLC computer automatic control system 19 closes acetate solution transmission pump 21.).
Per claim 3, wherein the wastewater treatment system is further configured to utilize continuous flow, cyclic aeration (page 6, aeration of the aerobic processing cell constant is 200L/h; page 6, the PLC computer automatic control system 19 increases the aeration rate to 2 times of the original air pump 7, to increase the dissolved oxygen concentration in the aerobic treatment tank 5,); the basin forming an anaerobic region (3) and an anoxic region (4; Fig. 1; page 4, As shown in FIG. 1, by a sewage treatment automatic control device for monitoring N2O, provided with an anaerobic treatment tank 3, an anoxic treatment cell 4, aerobic treatment tank 5 and a sludge sedimentation tank 11.), the N2O sensor being positioned in at least one of the anaerobic region and the anoxic region (page 5, an aerobic treatment tank 5 is set in the aerobic treatment tank N2O monitoring probe 15 for monitoring the aerobic treatment tank 5 produced in the reaction process is N2O, aerobic treatment pool controller N2O monitoring probe 15 through the PLC computer automatic control system 19 is connected to the computer.; anoxic treatment cell 4 is set in the anoxic treatment cell N2O monitoring probe 17 for monitoring the anoxic treatment cell N2O generated in the reaction process,), the wastewater treatment system being configured to dose the organic carbon into the anoxic region (Fig. 1; page 4, anoxic treatment tank 4 and the aerobic treatment tank 5 is connected by internal reflux circulating pump 8, anaerobic treating tank 3 and sludge sedimentation tank 11 through the outer reflux circulating pump 9 connected with the sodium acetate solution storage tank 20 through the solution transfer pump 21 to the anoxic treatment cell 4.).
Per claim 5, wherein the basin forms an anaerobic biomass fermentation zone (page 3, sewage to be treated enters into the anaerobic treatment tank through the water inlet on the upper part the anaerobic treatment tank. the sludge is uniformly suspended state, the rotational speed of the slurry stirrer is kept at 300-500r/min in the anaerobic treatment tank under the stirring action of the slurry stirrer,).
Per claim 6, further comprising a plurality of N2O sensors including the N2O sensor (15, 17), the plurality of N2O sensors being spaced apart from each other along a flow direction in the basin (Fig. 1).
Per claim 8, wherein the organic carbon source is at least one of a primary sludge fermentation system, a biomass fermentation system, and an external organic carbon feed product and wherein the organic carbon source is at least one of glycerol, methanol, and acetate (20; page 5, acetate solution storage tank stored in 20 molar sodium acetate solution with concentration of 0.5mol/L as the anoxic reaction tank 4 of the denitrification carbon source replenishing reaction abnormality, acetate solution storage tank 20 through the solution transmission pump 21 connected with the anoxic treatment tank 4, sodium acetate solution transmission pump 21 and PLC automatic control of the computer system 19 by connecting lines.).
Per claim 9, wherein the wastewater treatment system is further configured to utilize at least one of nitrification (ammonium oxidation to nitrate), partial nitritation (ammonium oxidation to nitrite), denitrification with nitrite (nitrite reduction to nitrogen gas), partial denitritation (nitrate reduction to nitrite), and denitrification (nitrate reduction to nitrogen gas) (page 3, at a transmission rate of 0.2L/min in the sodium acetate solution storage tank whose mol concentration is 0.5mol/L sodium acetate solution to the anoxic processing cell, supplementing the anoxic treatment cell in the denitrification carbon source to promote denitrification effect, so as to reduce N2O production while improving the denitrification efficiency.; page 6, an aerobic treatment tank 5 by monitoring N2O control method of sewage treatment process. an aerobic treatment tank 5 is a function unit for nitrifying reaction sewage treatment device, N2O generate the pollutant load is large, in the nitration reaction to increase the dissolved oxygen in the reaction system is supplied.).
Per claim 10, wherein the wastewater treatment system is further configured to set a dosing rate relative to a flow of the organic carbon into the basin (page 3, when monitoring the anoxic treatment N2O concentration in the cell is higher than 0.1mg/L, PLC computer automatic control system controls the opening acetate solution transmission pump. at a transmission rate of 0.2L/min in the sodium acetate solution storage tank whose mol concentration is 0.5mol/L sodium acetate solution to the anoxic processing cell, supplementing the anoxic treatment cell in the denitrification carbon source to promote denitrification effect, so as to reduce N2O production while improving the denitrification efficiency.).
Per claim 11, Yan et al. teach a method of treating wastewater (abstract, The invention claims a sewage processing device and control method for automatic control by monitoring N2O connected through the internal reflux circulating pump and a pipeline between the anoxic treatment tank and the aerobic treatment pool;), the method comprising steps of:
subjecting the wastewater to an activated sludge-based biological treatment in a
basin (defining elements 3,4, 5; Fig. 1) wherein nitrogen is removed from the wastewater (page 3, the dissolved oxygen in the aerobic treatment tank by aeration effect is kept at 2 mg/L, normal operation of the system, the aerobic treatment tank in the nitration reaction, the ammonia nitrogen is oxidized to nitrate nitrogen, internal reflux circulating pump pumps the water containing nitrate nitrogen generated by mixed liquid to the anoxic treatment cell. carry out denitrification reaction to realize biological denitrification in the anoxic treatment tank, an aerobic treatment N2O monitoring probe of the aerobic treatment pool of cell is the N2O concentration in the aerobic processing pool monitoring when monitoring the N2O concentration in the aerobic tank is higher than 0.1mg/L.);
producing an N2O detection in the biological treatment via an N2O sensor (15, 17; (page 5, an aerobic treatment tank 5 is set in the aerobic treatment tank N2O monitoring probe 15 for monitoring the aerobic treatment tank 5 produced in the reaction process is N2O, aerobic treatment pool controller N2O monitoring probe 15 through the PLC computer automatic control system 19 is connected to the computer.; anoxic treatment cell 4 is set in the anoxic treatment cell N2O monitoring probe 17 for monitoring the anoxic treatment cell N2O generated in the reaction process,); and
dosing organic carbon from an organic carbon source (20) to the biological treatment (page 5, acetate solution storage tank stored in 20 molar sodium acetate solution with concentration of 0.5mol/L as the anoxic reaction tank 4 of the denitrification carbon source replenishing reaction abnormality, acetate solution storage tank 20 through the solution transmission pump 21 connected with the anoxic treatment tank 4, sodium acetate solution transmission pump 21 and PLC automatic control of the computer system 19 by connecting lines.) fluidly connected to the basin (Fig. 1)
based on the N2O detection thereby controlling an N2O level of the biological treatment via the organic carbon (pages 5-6, PLC automatic control system 19 with a sodium acetate solution transmission pump 21 and air pump 7 connected to the anoxic treatment tank in the anoxic treatment tank N2O and the aerobic treatment tank 5, 4 monitoring probe 17 and aerobic treatment tank N2O back 15 N2O concentration monitoring probe control acetate solution transmission pump 21 and air pump 7 to operate. anoxic treatment cell 4 by monitoring N2O control method of sewage treatment process. anoxic treatment tank is a function unit for denitrification sewage treatment device, the generated N2O shows denitrification process is not complete, supplementary carbon source as an electron donor can effectively promote the denitrification reaction, improve denitrification efficiency. after the sewage treatment system for open anoxic treatment cell control system is operated, the anoxic treatment cell 4 in the anoxic treatment cell N2O monitoring probe 17 for monitoring the anoxic treatment cell 4 in the concentration of N2O, when monitoring the N2O concentration into the oxygen-deficient treatment cell 4 is higher than 0.1mg/L, starting the acetate solution transmission pump 21, at a transmission rate of 0.2L/min mol concentration of the acetate solution storage tank 20 is 0.5mol/L of sodium acetate solution to the anoxic processing cell 4. supplementary anoxic reaction cell 4 in the denitrification carbon source and promoting denitrification effect, so as to reduce N2O production while improving the denitrification efficiency. acetate solution transmission pump 21 to react to the anoxic reaction tank while transmitting the acetate solution, the anoxic treatment cell N2O monitoring probe 17 N2O concentration of the monitoring data feedback to the PLC computer automatic control system 19, lower than the 0.1mg/L to N2O concentration while monitoring, PLC computer automatic control system 19 closes acetate solution transmission pump 21.).
Per claim 13, the subjecting step comprising:
forming an anaerobic region (3) and an anoxic region (4) in the biological treatment (Fig. 1; page 4, As shown in FIG. 1, by a sewage treatment automatic control device for monitoring N2O, provided with an anaerobic treatment tank 3, an anoxic treatment cell 4, aerobic treatment tank 5 and a sludge sedimentation tank 11.); and
utilizing continuous flow, cyclic aeration (page 6, aeration of the aerobic processing cell constant is 200L/h; page 6, the PLC computer automatic control system 19 increases the aeration rate to 2 times of the original air pump 7, to increase the dissolved oxygen concentration in the aerobic treatment tank 5,);
the producing step including detecting an amount of N2O in at least one of the
anaerobic region and the anoxic region (pages 5-6, PLC automatic control system 19 with a sodium acetate solution transmission pump 21 and air pump 7 connected to the anoxic treatment tank in the anoxic treatment tank N2O and the aerobic treatment tank 5, 4 monitoring probe 17 and aerobic treatment tank N2O back 15 N2O concentration monitoring probe control acetate solution transmission pump 21 and air pump 7 to operate. anoxic treatment cell 4 by monitoring N2O control method of sewage treatment process. anoxic treatment tank is a function unit for denitrification sewage treatment device, the generated N2O shows denitrification process is not complete, supplementary carbon source as an electron donor can effectively promote the denitrification reaction, improve denitrification efficiency. after the sewage treatment system for open anoxic treatment cell control system is operated, the anoxic treatment cell 4 in the anoxic treatment cell N2O monitoring probe 17 for monitoring the anoxic treatment cell 4 in the concentration of N2O, when monitoring the N2O concentration into the oxygen-deficient treatment cell 4 is higher than 0.1mg/L, starting the acetate solution transmission pump 21, at a transmission rate of 0.2L/min mol concentration of the acetate solution storage tank 20 is 0.5mol/L of sodium acetate solution to the anoxic processing cell 4. supplementary anoxic reaction cell 4 in the denitrification carbon source and promoting denitrification effect, so as to reduce N2O production while improving the denitrification efficiency. acetate solution transmission pump 21 to react to the anoxic reaction tank while transmitting the acetate solution, the anoxic treatment cell N2O monitoring probe 17 N2O concentration of the monitoring data feedback to the PLC computer automatic control system 19, lower than the 0.1mg/L to N2O concentration while monitoring, PLC computer automatic control system 19 closes acetate solution transmission pump 21.), the dosing step including dosing the organic carbon into the anoxic region (20; page 5, acetate solution storage tank stored in 20 molar sodium acetate solution with concentration of 0.5mol/L as the anoxic reaction tank 4 of the denitrification carbon source replenishing reaction abnormality, acetate solution storage tank 20 through the solution transmission pump 21 connected with the anoxic treatment tank 4, sodium acetate solution transmission pump 21 and PLC automatic control of the computer system 19 by connecting lines.).
Per claim 15, the subjecting step including forming an anaerobic biomass fermentation zone (page 3, sewage to be treated enters into the anaerobic treatment tank through the water inlet on the upper part the anaerobic treatment tank. the sludge is uniformly suspended state, the rotational speed of the slurry stirrer is kept at 300-500r/min in the anaerobic treatment tank under the stirring action of the slurry stirrer,).
Per claim 16, the producing step including taking N2O readings (via sensors 15 and 17) at spaced apart locations along a flow direction in the basin (Fig. 1).
Per claim 18, wherein the organic carbon source is at least one of a primary sludge fermentation system, a biomass fermentation system, and an external organic carbon feed product and wherein the organic carbon source is at least one of glycerol, methanol, and acetate (20; page 5, acetate solution storage tank stored in 20 molar sodium acetate solution with concentration of 0.5mol/L as the anoxic reaction tank 4 of the denitrification carbon source replenishing reaction abnormality, acetate solution storage tank 20 through the solution transmission pump 21 connected with the anoxic treatment tank 4, sodium acetate solution transmission pump 21 and PLC automatic control of the computer system 19 by connecting lines.).
Per claim 19, wherein the subjecting step utilizes at least one of nitrification (ammonium oxidation to nitrate), partial nitritation (ammonium oxidation to nitrite), denitrification with nitrite (nitrite reduction to nitrogen gas), partial denitritation (nitrate reduction to nitrite), and denitrification (nitrate reduction to nitrogen gas) (page 3, at a transmission rate of 0.2L/min in the sodium acetate solution storage tank whose mol concentration is 0.5mol/L sodium acetate solution to the anoxic processing cell, supplementing the anoxic treatment cell in the denitrification carbon source to promote denitrification effect, so as to reduce N2O production while improving the denitrification efficiency.; page 6, an aerobic treatment tank 5 by monitoring N2O control method of sewage treatment process. an aerobic treatment tank 5 is a function unit for nitrifying reaction sewage treatment device, N2O generate the pollutant load is large, in the nitration reaction to increase the dissolved oxygen in the reaction system is supplied.).
Per claim 20, Yan et al. disclose a method of treating wastewater (abstract, The invention claims a sewage processing device and control method for automatic control by monitoring N2O connected through the internal reflux circulating pump and a pipeline between the anoxic treatment tank and the aerobic treatment pool;), the method comprising steps of:
subjecting the wastewater to an activated sludge-based biological treatment in a
basin (defining elements 3, 4, 5) wherein nitrogen is removed from the wastewater (page 3, the dissolved oxygen in the aerobic treatment tank by aeration effect is kept at 2 mg/L, normal operation of the system, the aerobic treatment tank in the nitration reaction, the ammonia nitrogen is oxidized to nitrate nitrogen, internal reflux circulating pump pumps the water containing nitrate nitrogen generated by mixed liquid to the anoxic treatment cell. carry out denitrification reaction to realize biological denitrification in the anoxic treatment tank, an aerobic treatment N2O monitoring probe of the aerobic treatment pool of cell is the N2O concentration in the aerobic processing pool monitoring when monitoring the N2O concentration in the aerobic tank is higher than 0.1mg/L.), including:
forming an anaerobic region (3) and an anoxic region (4) in the biological
treatment (Fig. 1; page 4, As shown in FIG. 1, by a sewage treatment automatic control device for monitoring N2O, provided with an anaerobic treatment tank 3, an anoxic treatment cell 4, aerobic treatment tank 5 and a sludge sedimentation tank 11.); and
utilizing continuous flow, cyclic aeration (page 6, aeration of the aerobic processing cell constant is 200L/h; page 6, the PLC computer automatic control system 19 increases the aeration rate to 2 times of the original air pump 7, to increase the dissolved oxygen concentration in the aerobic treatment tank 5,);
producing an N2O detection in at least one of the anaerobic region and the anoxic region (pages 5-6, PLC automatic control system 19 with a sodium acetate solution transmission pump 21 and air pump 7 connected to the anoxic treatment tank in the anoxic treatment tank N2O and the aerobic treatment tank 5, 4 monitoring probe 17 and aerobic treatment tank N2O back 15 N2O concentration monitoring probe control acetate solution transmission pump 21 and air pump 7 to operate. anoxic treatment cell 4 by monitoring N2O control method of sewage treatment process. anoxic treatment tank is a function unit for denitrification sewage treatment device, the generated N2O shows denitrification process is not complete, supplementary carbon source as an electron donor can effectively promote the denitrification reaction, improve denitrification efficiency. after the sewage treatment system for open anoxic treatment cell control system is operated, the anoxic treatment cell 4 in the anoxic treatment cell N2O monitoring probe 17 for monitoring the anoxic treatment cell 4 in the concentration of N2O, when monitoring the N2O concentration into the oxygen-deficient treatment cell 4 is higher than 0.1mg/L, starting the acetate solution transmission pump 21, at a transmission rate of 0.2L/min mol concentration of the acetate solution storage tank 20 is 0.5mol/L of sodium acetate solution to the anoxic processing cell 4. supplementary anoxic reaction cell 4 in the denitrification carbon source and promoting denitrification effect, so as to reduce N2O production while improving the denitrification efficiency. acetate solution transmission pump 21 to react to the anoxic reaction tank while transmitting the acetate solution, the anoxic treatment cell N2O monitoring probe 17 N2O concentration of the monitoring data feedback to the PLC computer automatic control system 19, lower than the 0.1mg/L to N2O concentration while monitoring, PLC computer automatic control system 19 closes acetate solution transmission pump 21.); and
dosing organic carbon from an organic carbon source (20) into the anoxic region of the biological treatment based on the N2O detection thereby controlling an N2O
level of the biological treatment via the organic carbon (pages 5-6, PLC automatic control system 19 with a sodium acetate solution transmission pump 21 and air pump 7 connected to the anoxic treatment tank in the anoxic treatment tank N2O and the aerobic treatment tank 5, 4 monitoring probe 17 and aerobic treatment tank N2O back 15 N2O concentration monitoring probe control acetate solution transmission pump 21 and air pump 7 to operate. anoxic treatment cell 4 by monitoring N2O control method of sewage treatment process. anoxic treatment tank is a function unit for denitrification sewage treatment device, the generated N2O shows denitrification process is not complete, supplementary carbon source as an electron donor can effectively promote the denitrification reaction, improve denitrification efficiency. after the sewage treatment system for open anoxic treatment cell control system is operated, the anoxic treatment cell 4 in the anoxic treatment cell N2O monitoring probe 17 for monitoring the anoxic treatment cell 4 in the concentration of N2O, when monitoring the N2O concentration into the oxygen-deficient treatment cell 4 is higher than 0.1mg/L, starting the acetate solution transmission pump 21, at a transmission rate of 0.2L/min mol concentration of the acetate solution storage tank 20 is 0.5mol/L of sodium acetate solution to the anoxic processing cell 4. supplementary anoxic reaction cell 4 in the denitrification carbon source and promoting denitrification effect, so as to reduce N2O production while improving the denitrification efficiency. acetate solution transmission pump 21 to react to the anoxic reaction tank while transmitting the acetate solution, the anoxic treatment cell N2O monitoring probe 17 N2O concentration of the monitoring data feedback to the PLC computer automatic control system 19, lower than the 0.1mg/L to N2O concentration while monitoring, PLC computer automatic control system 19 closes acetate solution transmission pump 21.),
wherein the organic carbon is from at least one of a primary sludge fermentation
system, a biomass fermentation system, and an external organic carbon
feed product including at least one of glycerol, methanol, and acetate (20; page 5, acetate solution storage tank stored in 20 molar sodium acetate solution with concentration of 0.5mol/L as the anoxic reaction tank 4 of the denitrification carbon source replenishing reaction abnormality, acetate solution storage tank 20 through the solution transmission pump 21 connected with the anoxic treatment tank 4, sodium acetate solution transmission pump 21 and PLC automatic control of the computer system 19 by connecting lines.), and
wherein the subjecting step utilizes at least one of nitrification (ammonium
oxidation to nitrate), partial nitritation (ammonium oxidation to nitrite),
denitrification with nitrite (nitrite reduction to nitrogen gas), partial denitritation (nitrate reduction to nitrite), denitrification (nitrate reduction to nitrogen gas), and anaerobic ammonium oxidation (Anammox) (page 3, at a transmission rate of 0.2L/min in the sodium acetate solution storage tank whose mol concentration is 0.5mol/L sodium acetate solution to the anoxic processing cell, supplementing the anoxic treatment cell in the denitrification carbon source to promote denitrification effect, so as to reduce N2O production while improving the denitrification efficiency.; page 6, an aerobic treatment tank 5 by monitoring N2O control method of sewage treatment process. an aerobic treatment tank 5 is a function unit for nitrifying reaction sewage treatment device, N2O generate the pollutant load is large, in the nitration reaction to increase the dissolved oxygen in the reaction system is supplied.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (‘092) in view of Sperandio et al. (WO 2016/087495).
Per claim 2, Yan et al. do not disclose wherein the basin is a sequencing batch reactor configured to cycle the biological treatment through aerobic and anoxic periods.
Sperandio et al., also directed to a wastewater treatment system (Abstract, The present invention relates to a method of treating in a reactor an effluent comprising ammonium ions, said method comprising: - at least one cycle comprising the following steps: -a step of supplying said reactor with effluent, -an aeration step to cause aerobic nitrification of ammonium ions and -a non-aeration step to cause anoxic denitrification; page 4, lines 27-28, The effluent may be for example domestic or industrial wastewater or any other kind of effluent comprising ammonium.), disclose wherein a basin is a sequencing batch reactor configured to cycle a biological treatment through aerobic and anoxic periods (page 16, lines 5-10, The reactor was operated over a 120 days period in sequencing batch mode with a cycle composed of alternating aerobic period (nitrification) and anoxic period (denitrification), followed by settling (20 minutes) and withdraw (8 minutes). Aerobic period was initiated by the feeding of ammonium- rich effluent (20 mL.min.sup."1, 10 min) and anoxic period started with addition of complementary solution respectively (6.25 mL.min.sup."1, 2.5 to 7.5 minutes).) in order to, for example, remove nitrogen from the wastewater via nitrification and denitrification (Abstract, The present invention relates to a method of treating in a reactor an effluent comprising ammonium ions, said method comprising: - at least one cycle comprising the following steps: -a step of supplying said reactor with effluent, -an aeration step to cause aerobic nitrification of ammonium ions and -a non-aeration step to cause anoxic denitrification).
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the system of Yan et al. such that it comprises wherein the basin is a sequencing batch reactor configured to cycle the biological treatment through aerobic and anoxic periods in order to, for example, remove nitrogen from the wastewater via nitrification and denitrification.
Per claim 12, Yan et al. do not disclose wherein the basin is a sequencing batch reactor configured to cycle the biological treatment through aerobic and anoxic periods.
Sperandio et al., also directed to a method of treating wastewater (Abstract, The present invention relates to a method of treating in a reactor an effluent comprising ammonium ions, said method comprising: - at least one cycle comprising the following steps: -a step of supplying said reactor with effluent, -an aeration step to cause aerobic nitrification of ammonium ions and -a non-aeration step to cause anoxic denitrification; page 4, lines 27-28, The effluent may be for example domestic or industrial wastewater or any other kind of effluent comprising ammonium.), disclose wherein a basin is a sequencing batch reactor configured to cycle a biological treatment through aerobic and anoxic periods (page 16, lines 5-10, The reactor was operated over a 120 days period in sequencing batch mode with a cycle composed of alternating aerobic period (nitrification) and anoxic period (denitrification), followed by settling (20 minutes) and withdraw (8 minutes). Aerobic period was initiated by the feeding of ammonium- rich effluent (20 mL.min.sup."1, 10 min) and anoxic period started with addition of complementary solution respectively (6.25 mL.min.sup."1, 2.5 to 7.5 minutes).) in order to, for example, remove nitrogen from the wastewater via nitrification and denitrification (Abstract, The present invention relates to a method of treating in a reactor an effluent comprising ammonium ions, said method comprising: - at least one cycle comprising the following steps: -a step of supplying said reactor with effluent, -an aeration step to cause aerobic nitrification of ammonium ions and -a non-aeration step to cause anoxic denitrification).
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the method of Yan et al. such that it comprises wherein the basin is a sequencing batch reactor configured to cycle the biological treatment through aerobic and anoxic periods in order to, for example, remove nitrogen from the wastewater via nitrification and denitrification.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (‘092).
Per claim 4, Yan et al. disclose further comprising an additional N2O sensor (15, 17) positioned in the basin (Fig. 1), wherein the wastewater treatment system is further configured to utilize continuous flow, cyclic aeration (page 6, aeration of the aerobic processing cell constant is 200L/h; page 6, the PLC computer automatic control system 19 increases the aeration rate to 2 times of the original air pump 7, to increase the dissolved oxygen concentration in the aerobic treatment tank 5,); the basin forming an anaerobic region (3) and an anoxic region (4; Fig. 1; page 4, As shown in FIG. 1, by a sewage treatment automatic control device for monitoring N2O, provided with an anaerobic treatment tank 3, an anoxic treatment cell 4, aerobic treatment tank 5 and a sludge sedimentation tank 11.), the N2O sensor being positioned in at least one region (Fig. 1; page 5, an aerobic treatment tank 5 is set in the aerobic treatment tank N2O monitoring probe 15 for monitoring the aerobic treatment tank 5 produced in the reaction process is N2O, aerobic treatment pool controller N2O monitoring probe 15 through the PLC computer automatic control system 19 is connected to the computer.; anoxic treatment cell 4 is set in the anoxic treatment cell N2O monitoring probe 17 for monitoring the anoxic treatment cell N2O generated in the reaction process,) the wastewater treatment system being configured to dose the organic carbon into the anoxic region (20; page 5, acetate solution storage tank stored in 20 molar sodium acetate solution with concentration of 0.5mol/L as the anoxic reaction tank 4 of the denitrification carbon source replenishing reaction abnormality, acetate solution storage tank 20 through the solution transmission pump 21 connected with the anoxic treatment tank 4, sodium acetate solution transmission pump 21 and PLC automatic control of the computer system 19 by connecting lines.), the additional sensor being positioned in the anoxic region (Fig. 1), the wastewater treatment system being further configured to dose the organic carbon into the anoxic region (Fig. 1). Yan et al. do not disclose the sensor being positioned in the anaerobic region and the system being configured to dose the organic carbon into the anaerobic region.
It is submitted that it would have been a routine matter of design choice to modify the system of Yan et al. such that it comprises the sensor being positioned in the anaerobic region and the system being configured to dose the organic carbon into the anaerobic region in order to, for example, be able to control denitrification conditions in the anaerobic region, depending on anticipated contaminant loading and the results desired. It has been held that routine matters of design choice do not involve an inventive step. See MPEP 2144.
Per claim 14, Yan et al. disclose the subjecting step comprising:
forming an anaerobic region (3) and an anoxic region (4); and utilizing continuous flow, cyclic aeration (page 6, aeration of the aerobic processing cell constant is 200L/h; page 6, the PLC computer automatic control system 19 increases the aeration rate to 2 times of the original air pump 7, to increase the dissolved oxygen concentration in the aerobic treatment tank 5,);
the producing step including detecting an amount of N2O and the anoxic region (Fig. 1; page 5, an aerobic treatment tank 5 is set in the aerobic treatment tank N2O monitoring probe 15 for monitoring the aerobic treatment tank 5 produced in the reaction process is N2O, aerobic treatment pool controller N2O monitoring probe 15 through the PLC computer automatic control system 19 is connected to the computer.; anoxic treatment cell 4 is set in the anoxic treatment cell N2O monitoring probe 17 for monitoring the anoxic treatment cell N2O generated in the reaction process,), the dosing step including dosing the organic carbon into the anoxic region (20; page 5, acetate solution storage tank stored in 20 molar sodium acetate solution with concentration of 0.5mol/L as the anoxic reaction tank 4 of the denitrification carbon source replenishing reaction abnormality, acetate solution storage tank 20 through the solution transmission pump 21 connected with the anoxic treatment tank 4, sodium acetate solution transmission pump 21 and PLC automatic control of the computer system 19 by connecting lines.). Yan et al. do not disclose detecting N2O in the anaerobic region and dosing the organic carbon into the anaerobic region.
It is submitted that it would have been a routine matter of design choice to modify the method of Yan et al. such that it comprises detecting N2O in the anaerobic region and dosing the organic carbon into the anaerobic region in order to, for example, be able to control denitrification conditions in the anaerobic region, depending on anticipated contaminant loading and the results desired. It has been held that routine matters of design choice do not involve an inventive step. See MPEP 2144.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (‘092) in view of Van Nieuwenhuijzen (WO 2019/132655).
Per claim 7, Van Nieuwenhuijzen does not disclose further comprising at least one of a nitrite sensor and a nitrate sensor positioned in the basin, the wastewater treatment system being further configured to dose organic carbon from the organic carbon source to the biological treatment based on a reading of the at least one of the nitrite sensor and the nitrate sensor.
Van Nieuwenhuijzen, also directed to a wastewater treatment system (Abstract, Method and system or purifying wastewater), disclose at least one of a nitrite sensor and a nitrate sensor (33, 35; page 7, lines 20-24, In order to be able to determine a measure of the denitrification of the wastewater or surface water in the biological filter, the system optionally is provided with a sensor 33 for online measurement of a concentration of NO3-N is provided in the duct 4c upstream of the filter 9, and with a similar sensor 35 for online measurement concentration of NO3-N in the third buffer vessel 14 downstream of the filter. Both sensors 33 and 35 are connected to the controller 60.), the wastewater treatment system being further configured to dose organic carbon from the organic carbon source to the biological treatment based on a reading of the at least one of the nitrite sensor and the nitrate sensor (page 7, lines 33-35, The amount of carbon source fed into the waste water via line 6 is determined based on the concentration of NO3-N measured by sensor 33, the COD measured by sensor 34 and the concentration of O2 measured by sensor 32.) in order to, for example, carry out denitrification under substantially anoxic conditions and break down nitrates (page 2, lines 13-17, The carbon source that is added to the water prior to feeding it to the biological filter provides the bacteria with nourishment to grow and break down nitrates. The invention aids in minimizing the amount of ozone that reaches the biological filter, so that the amount of oxygen in the water resulting from ozone reactions is also minimized and anoxic conditions of the biological filter can substantially be maintained.).
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the system of Yan et al. such that it further comprises at least one of a nitrite sensor and a nitrate sensor positioned in the basin, the wastewater treatment system being further configured to dose organic carbon from the organic carbon source to the biological treatment based on a reading of the at least one of the nitrite sensor and the nitrate sensor in order to, for example, carry out denitrification under substantially anoxic conditions and break down nitrates.
Per claim 17, Yan et al. do not disclose further comprising a step of detecting at least one of an amount of nitrite and an amount of nitrate in the biological treatment, the dosing step including dosing organic carbon from the organic carbon source to the biological treatment based on at least one of a nitrite reading and a nitrate reading of the detecting step.
Van Nieuwenhuijzen, also directed to a wastewater treatment method (Abstract, Method and system or purifying wastewater), disclose a step of detecting at least one of an amount of nitrite sensor and an amount of nitrate in a biological treatment (33, 35) (page 7, lines 20-24, In order to be able to determine a measure of the denitrification of the wastewater or surface water in the biological filter, the system optionally is provided with a sensor 33 for online measurement of a concentration of NO3-N is provided in the duct 4c upstream of the filter 9, and with a similar sensor 35 for online measurement concentration of NO3-N in the third buffer vessel 14 downstream of the filter. Both sensors 33 and 35 are connected to the controller 60.), a dosing step including dosing organic carbon from the organic carbon source to the biological treatment based on at least one of a nitrite reading and a nitrate reading of the detecting step (page 7, lines 33-35, The amount of carbon source fed into the waste water via line 6 is determined based on the concentration of NO3-N measured by sensor 33, the COD measured by sensor 34 and the concentration of O2 measured by sensor 32.) in order to, for example, carry out denitrification under substantially anoxic conditions and break down nitrates (page 2, lines 13-17, The carbon source that is added to the water prior to feeding it to the biological filter provides the bacteria with nourishment to grow and break down nitrates. The invention aids in minimizing the amount of ozone that reaches the biological filter, so that the amount of oxygen in the water resulting from ozone reactions is also minimized and anoxic conditions of the biological filter can substantially be maintained.).
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the method of Yan et al. such that it further comprises a step of detecting at least one of an amount of nitrite and an amount of nitrate in the biological treatment, the dosing step including dosing organic carbon from the organic carbon source to the biological treatment based on at least one of a nitrite reading and a nitrate reading of the detecting step in order to, for example, carry out denitrification under substantially anoxic conditions and break down nitrates.
Conclusion
/FRED PRINCE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779