DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement (PTO-1449) filed 10/30/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species II, claims 11-17, in the reply filed on 02/02/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed error in the restriction. The structural requirements of each species differs and requires a separate field of search. Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected specie, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gill et al. (EP 4080272 A1), hereinafter “Gill”.
Regarding claim 11, Gill discloses a modulator (300) (see Fig. 3) comprising: a plurality of modulators (310, 320) connected in series (see Fig. 3, Paragraph 33, Lines 2-3); and a voltage driver (350) to drive the plurality of modulators (Paragraph 33, Lines 12-22).
Regarding claim 12, Gill discloses wherein the plurality of modulators comprise: PN junctions (see Figs. 15, 16).
Regarding claim 14, Gill discloses wherein the plurality of modulators are formed from at least one of silicon, lithium niobate, or barium titanate (Paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 15, Gill discloses wherein at least some of the plurality of modulators comprise: a travelling-wave modulator (Paragraph 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gill (EP 4080272 A1) in view of Gunn, III et al. (USP No. 7,039,258), hereinafter “Gunn”.
Regarding claim 13, Gill discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the plurality of modulators comprise: capacitors. In the same field of endeavor, Gunn discloses wherein the plurality of modulators comprise: capacitors (Col. 5, Lines 1-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modulator of Gill with wherein the plurality of modulators comprise: capacitors of Gunn for the purpose of providing high speed modulation (Col. 1, Lines 54-55).
Regarding claim 16, Gill discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein at least some of the plurality of modulators comprise: a ring modulator. In the same field of endeavor, Gunn discloses wherein at least some of the plurality of modulators comprise: a ring modulator (see Figs. 6, 7, Col. 5, Lines 54-60). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modulator of Gill with wherein at least some of the plurality of modulators comprise: a ring modulator of Gunn for the purpose of for the purpose of providing high speed modulation (Col. 1, Lines 54-55).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gill (EP 4080272 A1) in view of Elliott (USP No. 9,900,021)
Regarding claim 17, Gill discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify further comprising: two or more cascaded modulator devices, wherein each of the two or more cascaded modulator devices is formed form two or more of the plurality of modulators. In the same field of endeavor, Elliott discloses further comprising: two or more cascaded modulator devices, wherein each of the two or more cascaded modulator devices is formed form two or more of the plurality of modulators (see Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modulator of Gill with further comprising: two or more cascaded modulator devices, wherein each of the two or more cascaded modulator devices is formed form two or more of the plurality of modulators of Elliott for the purpose of providing high resolution modification (Col. 1, Lines 21-26).
Prior Art Citations
Kucharski et al. (USP No. 7,515,775) is being cited herein to show a modulator relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 3/4/2026