DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 3/25/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-15, in the reply filed on 4/28/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the barcode scanner" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Friedlander et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2010/0172109), hereinafter FRIEDLANDER.
Regarding claim 1, FRIEDLANDER teaches: A tube joining device (FRIEDLANDER teaches a joining device (connector) [Abstract; Fig. 1].) comprising: a housing defining an interior region (FRIEDLANDER teaches a housing/module (24) defining an interior region that holds a battery and has an elongated channel (92) [Figs. 1, 6; 0020-0021].), the housing including a first contact (FRIEDLANDER teaches the housing (24) includes a first contact (98) [Figs. 1, 5; 0020; 0026].), the first contact being electrically conductive (FRIEDLANDER teaches the first contact (98) to being electrically conductive [0026].); a first subassembly including a tube joining subassembly at least partially in the interior region (FRIEDLANER teaches a power/battery subassembly (24) in the interior region [Figs. 1, 5; 0020-0021; 0026].); and a second subassembly configured to be coupled to the housing (FRIEDLANDER teaches a module (22) connected to module (24) [Figs. 1-2; 0020-0021; 0026].), the second subassembly including a second contact (FRIEDLANDER teaches the assembly includes a second contact (98) [Figs. 1, 5; 0020-0021; 0026].), the second contact being electrically conductive (FRIEDLANDER teaches the second contact is electrically conductive [0026].), wherein the second subassembly is configured to be coupled to the housing by an elongated dovetail joint (FRIEDLANDER teaches a subassembly (modules) coupled to the housing (24) by dovetail joints (58, 60) [Figs. 1, 5; 0026].), and the first contact is configured to be in electrical communication with the second contact to form a connection including a ground connection, a data connection, a power connection, or any combination thereof (FRIEDLANDER teaches the first contact (98) is in contact with the second contact (98) to form a power connection [0026].).
Regarding claim 2, FRIEDLANDER teaches: wherein the housing includes a plurality of first contacts including the first contact, and the second subassembly includes a plurality of second contacts including the second contact, the plurality of second contacts is configured to be in electrical communication with the plurality of first contacts, respectively (FRIEDLANDER teaches the housing includes a plurality of first contacts (96) and the second subassembly has a plurality of second contacts (98) configured to be in electrical connection with the plurality of first contacts [Fig. 5; 0026].).
Regarding claim 3, FRIEDLANDER teaches: wherein the plurality of first contacts includes three first contacts, and the plurality of second contacts includes three second contacts (FRIEDLANDER teaches the first contacts (96) include three first contacts and the second contacts would inherently have three contacts to correspond with the three first contacts [Fig. 5].).
Regarding claim 4, FRIEDLANDER teaches: wherein one of the housing and the second subassembly defines an elongated channel (FRIEDLANDER shows the modules define an elongated channel (60) [Figs. 1-5; 0020].), the other of the housing and the second subassembly includes an elongated protrusion (FRIEDLANDER shows the modules also define an elongated protrusion (56) [Figs. 1-5; 0020].), the elongated channel and the elongated protrusion cooperate to form the elongated dovetail joint (FRIEDLANDER teaches the elongated channel and the elongated protrusion cooperate to form the elongate dovetail joint [0020; Figs. 1-5].), and the elongated protrusion is configured to be in the elongated channel to couple the second subassembly to the housing at the elongated dovetail joint (FRIEDLANDER teaches FRIEDLANDER teaches the elongated protrusion (56) is configured to be in the elongated channel (60) to couple the modules at the elongated dovetail joints [Figs. 1-5; 0020].).
Regarding claim 5, FRIEDLANDER teaches: wherein the housing defines a first elongated channel (FRIEDLANDER teaches the housing defines a first elongated channel [Figs. 1-5]. FRIEDLANDER teaches either male or female configurations are contemplated by simply exchanging male with female [0020; Figs. 1-5].), the elongated dovetail joint includes the first elongated channel (FRIEDLANDER teaches the dovetail joint includes the elongated channel [Figs. 1-5; 0020].), and the first contact is in communication with the first elongated channel (FRIEDLANDER teaches the first contact is in communication with the first elongated channel [Fig. 5; 0026].).
Regarding claim 6, FRIEDLANDER teaches: further comprising: a rod including (FRIEDLANDER teaches an elongated rod/module [22; Fig. 1]), a first elongated protrusion (FRIEDLANDER teaches a first elongated protrusion (modified the right end of 22 includes the male protrusion and 24 includes the female channel [0020]).), a third contact on the first elongated protrusion (FRIEDLANDER teaches a third contact on the male dovetail protrusion [Fig. 5; 0026].), a second elongated protrusion (FRIEDLANDER teaches an elongated protrusion (56) on the left end of 22 [Fig. 1].), and a fourth contact on the second elongated protrusion, the fourth contact being in electrical communication with the third contact (FRIEDLANDER teaches a fourth electronically conductive contact on the second elongate protrusion [Fig. 5; 0026].), wherein the second subassembly defines a second elongated channel, the second contact is in communication with the second elongated channel (FRIEDLANDER teaches a second device housing defining a second elongated channel (20 and 60) [Fig. 1].), the first elongated protrusion is configured to be at least partially in the first elongated channel such that the third contact is in electrical communication with the first contact, and the second elongated protrusion is configured to be at least partially in the second elongated channel such that the fourth contact is in electrical communication with the second contact (FRIEDLANDER teaches that the first contact is in electrically communication with the third contact [0026] and the second contact is in electrically communication with the fourth contact [0026]).
Regarding claim 7, FRIEDLANDER teaches: wherein the rod includes a plurality of third contacts including the third contact and a plurality of fourth contacts including the first contact, and each of the plurality of third contacts is electrically connected to a respective one of the plurality of fourth contacts (FRIEDLANDER teaches the elongated module/rod (22) includes a plurality of third contacts on either side and each contact is electrically connected to a respective one of the plurality of fourth contacts [Figs. 1-5].).
Regarding claim 8, FRIEDLANDER teaches: wherein the rod defines a bowtie-shaped cross section (FRIEDLANDER teaches the shape of a dove-tail but is silent as to a bowtie-shaped cross section. HAAS is silent as to the blank being in a dovetail-shaped cross section. HAAS discloses the claimed invention except for the blank being in a dovetail-shaped cross section. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the blank in the shape of the dovetail-shaped cross section, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination.).
Regarding claim 13, FRIEDLANDER teaches: wherein the second subassembly includes a scanner subassembly, a table subassembly, a power supply subassembly, a vacuum subassembly, or any combination thereof (FRIEDLANDER teaches the modules include power supply assemblies [0028-0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedlander et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2010/0172109), hereinafter FRIEDLANDER, in view of Haas et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2004/0100776), hereinafter HAAS.
Regarding claim 9, FRIEDLANDER teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: further comprising: an elongated blank having a dovetail-shaped cross section, the elongated blank configured to be at least partially in the first elongated channel. In the same field of endeavor, connectors, HAAS teaches elongated blanks (14) configured to be partially in the first elongated channel [Figs. 1-2, 5; 0017]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify FRIEDLANDER, by having a plurality of links, as suggested by HAAS, in order to hold the modules together [0017].
HAAS is silent as to the blank being in a dovetail-shaped cross section. HAAS discloses the claimed invention except for the blank being in a dovetail-shaped cross section. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the blank in the shape of the dovetail-shaped cross section, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. Further, one would have been motivated to select the shape of a dovetail for the purpose of having a sliding connection [FRIEDLANDER: 0014].
Regarding claim 10, HAAS further teaches: wherein an outer surface of the blank is configured to be flush with an outer surface of the housing (HAAS further shows that the blanks (14) are flush with an outer surface of the housing (2) [Figs. 1-2, 5].).
Regarding claim 11, FRIEDLANDER teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, including modules have an elongated channel [Figs. 1-4] and the tube joining device is configured to form a plurality of elongated dovetail joints (FRIEDLANDER teaches the device is configured to form a plurality of elongated dovetail joints [Figs. 1-4]), but is silent as to: a plurality of elongated channels. In the same field of endeavor, joining devices, HAAS teaches a second subassembly (8) defines a plurality of elongated channels [Figs. 1-2; 0017]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify FRIEDLANDER, by having a plurality of elongated channels, as suggested by HAAS, in order to hold the modules together [0017].
Regarding claim 12, FRIEDLANDER teaches: further comprising: a plurality of subassemblies including the second subassembly (FRIEDLANDER teaches a plurality of subassemblies including the second subassembly [Figs. 1-4; 0026].), each of the plurality of subassemblies configured to be coupled to the housing via at least one of the plurality of dovetail joints (FRIEDLANDER teaches a plurality of subassemblies [Figs. 1-4; 0020-0021].).
Regarding claim 14, FRIEDLANDER teaches all of the claimed limitation as stated above, but is silent as to: wherein the second subassembly includes the scanner subassembly, and the scanner subassembly includes a barcode scanner, a radiofrequency communication reader, a near-field communication reader, or any combination thereof. In the same field of endeavor, joining devices, HAAS teaches the modules can be bar code scanners [0006]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify FRIEDLANDER, by having the subassembly be a barcode scanner, as suggested by HAAS, in order to allow consumers to snap-up various appliances [0006].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedlander et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2010/0172109), hereinafter FRIEDLANDER, in view of VANSICKLER et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0319219), hereinafter VANSICKLER.
Regarding claim 15, FRIEDLANDER teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, including: wherein the scanner subassembly includes the barcode scanner, and the barcode scanner is configured to concurrently read a plurality of barcodes. In the same field of endeavor, scanners, VANSICKLER teaches scanners [0107]. VANSICKLER also teaches barcode scanners are configured to concurrently read a plurality of barcodes [0134]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify FRIEDLANDER, by substituting a subassembly with a barcode scanner read a plurality of barcodes concurrently, as suggested by VANSICKLER, in order to supply information in real time [0134].
Conclusion
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748