DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5 – 10 and 12 – 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. US20210212141A1 (listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D1 in EPO search report), hereinafter Chu in view of Park et al. US 10, 334, 523 B2 (listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D1 in PCT search report), hereinafter Park, and further in view of Jeong et al. US20050232200A1, hereinafter Jeong.
Regarding claim 1, Chu teaches an electronic device comprising: a communication circuit that transmits or receives data through a plurality of links established between an external electronic device and the electronic device; and a processor operably connected to the communication circuit, wherein the processor is configured to: (Chu: Summary, Fig. 2 and para. [0013 &0022 & 0040] STA MLD includes a processor configured to communicate with an access point (AP) MLD via a first link, link1, and a second link, link2, a receive a beacon on link2, acquire an updated critical operating parameter for link1 in response to the beacon received on link2, and operate link1 according to the acquired updated critical operating parameter)
receive a signal including information about a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) of a beacon to be received through at least one link among the plurality of links and a beacon from the external electronic device;
(Chu: para. [0054-0056 & 0045-0047] and FIGS. 2A-2C and Fig. 3 acquiring the updated critical operating parameter 324 (or operating parameters, which corresponds to claim limitation “information about a TBTT”) for link1 involves reading information carried in beacons 314 on link2 306-2, in which the beacons 314 are sent by AP2 304-2 of AP MLD 302 and received by STA2 310-2 of STA MLD 308, and link1 306-1 is then operated according to the acquired updated critical operating parameter 324. Examples of a critical operating parameter may include a BSS Color Change, EDCA parameter change, HT/VHT/HE/EHT operation parameter change, spatial reuse parameter change, etc. The information carried in beacons 314 (corresponds to claim limitation “beacon interval”) on link2 306-2 include a TBTT difference 316 between link2 306-2 and link1 306-1)
set target wake time (TWT) parameters based on the TBTT; and
(Chu: para. [0059-0060] STA MLD selects different listen intervals for the working links. For example, in the case in which there is a ListenInterval1 and BeaconInterval1 for a link (e.g., link1), as well as a ListenInterval2 and BeaconInterval2 for another link (e.g., link2), the associated AP MLD announces the buffered frame information of link1 on link2's beacon using an interval of either floor (ListenInterval1/Beacon_Interval2) or ceiling (ListenInterval1/BeaconInterval2). In such an example, the STA MLD wake up at TBTTs of link2 is either a timing synchronization function (TSF) time of TBTT divided by ListenInterval2 as an integer or is (i) immediately before n*ListenInterval1 or (ii) immediately after n*ListenInterval1. Para. [0045] critical update may include Target Wake Time (TWT) element For a multi-link STA MLD to correctly transmit/receive frames through the associated links, the STA MLD must continue to receive updated critical operating parameters for all of the associated links in time)
wherein the set TWT parameters enable the communication circuit to receive the beacon, via the link (link2 406-2), during TWT service period (BeaconInterval2 426-2) of the link in which data (buffered frame information (BFI) 434) transmission and/or reception is activated;
(Chu: para. [0060] beacons 414 transmitted by AP2 404-2 of AP MLD 402 to STA2 410-2 of STA MLD 408 at a particular rate of BeaconInterval2 426-2. In such an example, the AP MLD 402 sends buffered frame information (BFI) 434 (as indicated by the dashed boxes) related to link1 406-1 in beacon 414 on link2 406-2 to STA2 410-2 of STA MLD 408 from AP2 404-2)
control the communication circuit based on the TWT parameters.
(Chu: para. [0059-0060] STA MLD selects different listen intervals for the working links. For example, in the case in which there is a ListenInterval1 and BeaconInterval1 for a link (e.g., link1), as well as a ListenInterval2 and BeaconInterval2 for another link (e.g., link2), the associated AP MLD announces the buffered frame information of link1 on link2's beacon using an interval of either floor (ListenInterval1/Beacon_Interval2) or ceiling (ListenInterval1/BeaconInterval2). In such an example, the STA MLD wake up at TBTTs of link2 is either a timing synchronization function (TSF) time of TBTT divided by ListenInterval2 as an integer or is (i) immediately before n*ListenInterval1 or (ii) immediately after n*ListenInterval1. Para. [0045] critical update may include Target Wake Time (TWT) element For a multi-link STA MLD to correctly transmit/receive frames through the associated links, the STA MLD must continue to receive updated critical operating parameters for all of the associated links in time)
It is noted that Chu does not explicitly disclose: receive a signal including information a beacon interval.
However, Park from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: receive a signal including a beacon interval (Park: Fig. 15 step S1510-S1520 and col. 15 lines 4-23 S1510, the STA may transmit, to the AP, a target wake time (TWT) request frame for requesting first target beacon transmission time (TBTT) information, which indicates the reception time of a first beacon frame, and listen interval information, which indicates a reception interval for a subsequent beacon frame (corresponds to claim limitation “beacon interval”). In step S1520, the STA may receive, from the AP, a TWT response frame including the first TBTT information and the listen interval information (corresponds to claim limitation “beacon interval”) in response to the TWT request frame). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Park in the apparatus of Chu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for standby power consumption by a wireless terminal may be reduced, thus providing a wireless terminal with improved power efficiency (Park: col. 13 lines 19-22).
It is noted that Chu and Park do not explicitly disclose: during TWT service period of the link in which IP data transmission and/or reception is activated;
However, Park from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: during TWT service period of the link in which IP data transmission and/or reception is activated; (Jeong: para. [0043] all the access points in the WLAN are assigned the same common channel over which to broadcast the IP traffic and the beacon. Para. [0045] beacon window. Para. [0054] Each packet of information in the beacon is called an “element.”) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Jeong in the apparatus of Chu and Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for a wireless station to detect a beacon or other packet, it must be awakened from the power save mode (Jeong: para. [0045]), allow wireless stations to enter an operational mode (e.g., a reduced power consumption mode) in which communication with the wireless station does not occur for periods of time and paging is used for locating wireless stations and for notifying wireless stations of messages that were sent while the wireless stations were in that operational mode (Jeong: para. [0002 & 0006 & 0024-0025]).
Regarding claim 2, Chu, Park and Jeong teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the memory stores instructions which, when executed individually and/or collectively by the at least one processor, controls the electronic device to set the TWT parameters in a manner that a beacon can be received through at least one link among the plurality of links while the communication circuit is activated. (Chu: para. [0059-0060] STA MLD selects different listen intervals for the working links. For example, in the case in which there is a ListenInterval1 and BeaconInterval1 for a link (e.g., link1), as well as a ListenInterval2 and BeaconInterval2 for another link (e.g., link2), the associated AP MLD announces the buffered frame information of link1 on link2's beacon using an interval of either floor (ListenInterval1/Beacon_Interval2) or ceiling (ListenInterval1/BeaconInterval2). In such an example, the STA MLD wake up at TBTTs of link2 is either a timing synchronization function (TSF) time of TBTT divided by ListenInterval2 as an integer or is (i) immediately before n*ListenInterval1 or (ii) immediately after n*ListenInterval1. Para. [0045] critical update may include Target Wake Time (TWT) element For a multi-link STA MLD to correctly transmit/receive frames through the associated links, the STA MLD must continue to receive updated critical operating parameters for all of the associated links in time.)
Regarding claim 3, Chu and Park teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the memory stores instructions which, when executed individually and/or collectively by the at least one processor, controls the electronic device to set a TWT interval to one of divisors of a beacon reception periodicity.
(Chu: para. [0059] STA MLD selects different listen intervals for the working links. For example, in the case in which there is a ListenInterval1 and BeaconInterval1 for a link (e.g., link1), as well as a ListenInterval2 and BeaconInterval2 for another link (e.g., link2), the associated AP MLD announces the buffered frame information of link1 on link2's beacon using an interval of either floor (ListenInterval1/Beacon_Interval2) or ceiling (ListenInterval1/BeaconInterval2). In such an example, the STA MLD wake up at TBTTs of link2 is either a timing synchronization function (TSF) time of TBTT divided by ListenInterval2 as an integer (corresponds to claim limitation “one of divisors of a beacon reception periodicity”) or is (i) immediately before n*ListenInterval1 or (ii) immediately after n*ListenInterval1)
Regarding claim 5, Chu and Park teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the memory stores instructions which, when executed individually and/or collectively by the at least one processor, controls the electronic device to set a TWT start time based on the TBTT of a beacon.
(Chu: para. [0058 & 0015-0017 & 0046 & 0052] an STA MLD can also select a listen interval, such that the selected listen interval can be the same or different for the STA MLD's various links. The listen interval can be used by the STA MLD to indicate to an AP how often a STA is in power save mode (e.g., asleep) and when the STA MLD is awake (e.g., active) to listen to the beacons sent by an AP MLD and the AP MLD's APs or multiple AP MLDs. Para. [0017] STA MLD uses link1 as a working link and starts to receive beacons on link1 once the announcement is received on link2)
Regarding claim 6, Chu and Park teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein reception times of beacons received through the plurality of links are different for the individual links.
(Chu: para. [0060] FIG. 4 illustrates a technique that involves an STA MLD using listen intervals at different rates to indicate to the AP MLD how often the STA MLD is in power save mode and wakes to listen to beacons. A listen interval can be used to decide the lifetime of a frame, such that if a frame's lifetime passes and the frame is not transmitted correctly, the frame may be discarded. FIG. 4 further illustrates an AP MLD transmitting beacons at different rates to indicate the AP MLDs presence to the STA MLD. In particular, as shown in FIG. 4, STA1 410-1 of STA MLD 408 uses listen intervals 430-1 at a particular rate of ListenInterval1 428-1 to AP1 404-1 of AP MLD 402 while STA2 410-2 of STA MLD 408 uses listen intervals 430-2 at a particular rate of ListenInterval2 428-2 to AP2 404-2 of AP MLD 402. FIG. 4 further illustrates beacons 412 transmitted by AP1 404-1 of AP MLD 402 to STA1 410-1 of STA MLD 408 at a particular rate of BeaconInterval1 426-1, and beacons 414 transmitted by AP2 404-2 of AP MLD 402 to STA2 410-2 of STA MLD 408 at a particular rate of BeaconInterval2 426-2. In such an example, the AP MLD 402 sends buffered frame information (BFI) 434 (as indicated by the dashed boxes) related to link1 406-1 in beacon 414 on link2 406-2 to STA2 410-2 of STA MLD 408 from AP2 404-2. In some embodiments, the information carried in beacons 414 on link2 406-2 include a TBTT difference 416 between link2 406-2 and link1 406-1)
Regarding claim 7, Chu and Park teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the memory stores instructions which, when executed individually and/or collectively by the at least one processor, controls the electronic device to execute settings of the plurality of links based on the TWT parameters.
(Chu: para. [0044-0045] STA MLD 108 depicted in FIG. 1 may select one of three links, link1 106-1, link2 106-2, or link3 106-3, as the link on which beacons will be monitored. The selected link can be the link for the STA MLD's multi-link association (e.g., association link, master link, anchor link) or any other link. A technique by which a link is selected to be the working link for an STA MLD's multi-link association is described herein. The STA MLD changes the selected on which beacons will be monitored without notifying an AP MLD. After an association link (e.g., link1 106-1) becomes inactive via a link switch or a link turning on/off, the STA MLD (e.g., STA MLD 108) indicates whether the STA MLD wants to monitor beacons on one link (e.g., link2 106-2) or more than one link (e.g., link2 106-2 and link3 106-3), and the link (e.g., link2 106-2) where it wants to monitor beacons and receive group-addressed frames. The STA MLD makes a negotiation-based decision such that either (i) the STA MLD (e.g., STA MLD 108 depicted in FIG. 1) makes a request for a certain link (e.g., link1 106-1) to be selected as a working link, and the AP MLD (e.g., AP MLD 102) decides whether the requested link (e.g., link1 106-1) is accepted, or (ii) the AP MLD makes a request for a certain link to be selected as a working link, and the STA MLD decides whether the requested link is accepted. The STA MLD makes an indication-based decision such that either (i) the STA MLD (e.g., STA MLD 108 depicted in FIG. 1) makes the decision to select a certain link (e.g., link1 106-1) as a working link and notifies the decision to the associated AP MLD (e.g., AP MLD 102), or (ii) the AP MLD makes the decision to select a certain link as a working link and notifies the decision to the associated STA MLD. Then, subsequent to the accepted negotiation-based or indication-based accepted request/decision, the selected link becomes a working link and the STA-MLD begins to monitor and decode beacons for the STA MLD's multi-link association. Para. [0045] critical update may include Target Wake Time (TWT) element For a multi-link STA MLD to correctly transmit/receive frames through the associated links, the STA MLD must continue to receive updated critical operating parameters for all of the associated links in time)
Regarding claims 8-10 and 12-13, Chu teaches an operation method of an electronic device, the method comprising: (Chu: Summary, Fig. 2 and para. [0013 &0022 & 0040] STA MLD includes a processor configured to communicate with an access point (AP) MLD via a first link, link1, and a second link, link2, a receive a beacon on link2, acquire an updated critical operating parameter for link1 in response to the beacon received on link2, and operate link1 according to the acquired updated critical operating parameter) and Chu, Park and Jeong teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-3 and 5-6, and therefore method claims 8-10 and 12-13 are rejected using the same rationales.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Kim US 20240244675 A1 in para. 0097 teaches the beacon frame including the rTWT SP information may be transmitted according to a specific periodicity. The beacon frame including the rTWT SP information may include information on the SP which is a period in which the rTWT operates. The information on the SP may indicate information on a time (e.g., start time, end time, and/or duration) of the SP located after the currently transmitted beacon frame. The beacon frame may include information on one or more SPs.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418