DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5 – 10 and 12 – 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. US20210212141A1 (listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D1 in EPO search report), hereinafter Chu in view of Park et al. US 10, 334, 523 B2 (listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D1 in PCT search report), hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 1, Chu teaches an electronic device comprising: a communication circuit that transmits or receives data through a plurality of links established between an external electronic device and the electronic device; and a processor operably connected to the communication circuit, wherein the processor is configured to: (Chu: Summary, Fig. 2 and para. [0013 &0022 & 0040] STA MLD includes a processor configured to communicate with an access point (AP) MLD via a first link, link1, and a second link, link2, a receive a beacon on link2, acquire an updated critical operating parameter for link1 in response to the beacon received on link2, and operate link1 according to the acquired updated critical operating parameter)
receive a signal including information about a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) of a beacon to be received through at least one link among the plurality of links and a beacon from the external electronic device;
(Chu: para. [0054-0056 & 0045-0047] and FIGS. 2A-2C and Fig. 3 acquiring the updated critical operating parameter 324 (or operating parameters, which corresponds to claim limitation “information about a TBTT”) for link1 involves reading information carried in beacons 314 on link2 306-2, in which the beacons 314 are sent by AP2 304-2 of AP MLD 302 and received by STA2 310-2 of STA MLD 308, and link1 306-1 is then operated according to the acquired updated critical operating parameter 324. Examples of a critical operating parameter may include a BSS Color Change, EDCA parameter change, HT/VHT/HE/EHT operation parameter change, spatial reuse parameter change, etc. The information carried in beacons 314 (corresponds to claim limitation “beacon interval”) on link2 306-2 include a TBTT difference 316 between link2 306-2 and link1 306-1)
set target wake time (TWT) parameters based on the TBTT or the beacon interval; and control the communication circuit based on the TWT parameters.
(Chu: para. [0059-0060] STA MLD selects different listen intervals for the working links. For example, in the case in which there is a ListenInterval1 and BeaconInterval1 for a link (e.g., link1), as well as a ListenInterval2 and BeaconInterval2 for another link (e.g., link2), the associated AP MLD announces the buffered frame information of link1 on link2's beacon using an interval of either floor (ListenInterval1/Beacon_Interval2) or ceiling (ListenInterval1/BeaconInterval2). In such an example, the STA MLD wake up at TBTTs of link2 is either a timing synchronization function (TSF) time of TBTT divided by ListenInterval2 as an integer or is (i) immediately before n*ListenInterval1 or (ii) immediately after n*ListenInterval1. Para. [0045] critical update may include Target Wake Time (TWT) element For a multi-link STA MLD to correctly transmit/receive frames through the associated links, the STA MLD must continue to receive updated critical operating parameters for all of the associated links in time)
It is noted that Chu does not explicitly disclose: receive a signal including information a beacon interval.
However, Park from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: receive a signal including a beacon interval (Park: Fig. 15 step S1510-S1520 and col. 15 lines 4-23 S1510, the STA may transmit, to the AP, a target wake time (TWT) request frame for requesting first target beacon transmission time (TBTT) information, which indicates the reception time of a first beacon frame, and listen interval information, which indicates a reception interval for a subsequent beacon frame (corresponds to claim limitation “beacon interval”). In step S1520, the STA may receive, from the AP, a TWT response frame including the first TBTT information and the listen interval information (corresponds to claim limitation “beacon interval”) in response to the TWT request frame). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Park in the apparatus of Chu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for standby power consumption by a wireless terminal may be reduced, thus providing a wireless terminal with improved power efficiency (Park: col. 13 lines 19-22).
Regarding claim 2, Chu and Park teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to set the TWT parameters in a manner that a beacon can be received through at least one link among the plurality of links while the communication circuit is activated. (Chu: para. [0059-0060] STA MLD selects different listen intervals for the working links. For example, in the case in which there is a ListenInterval1 and BeaconInterval1 for a link (e.g., link1), as well as a ListenInterval2 and BeaconInterval2 for another link (e.g., link2), the associated AP MLD announces the buffered frame information of link1 on link2's beacon using an interval of either floor (ListenInterval1/Beacon_Interval2) or ceiling (ListenInterval1/BeaconInterval2). In such an example, the STA MLD wake up at TBTTs of link2 is either a timing synchronization function (TSF) time of TBTT divided by ListenInterval2 as an integer or is (i) immediately before n*ListenInterval1 or (ii) immediately after n*ListenInterval1. Para. [0045] critical update may include Target Wake Time (TWT) element For a multi-link STA MLD to correctly transmit/receive frames through the associated links, the STA MLD must continue to receive updated critical operating parameters for all of the associated links in time.)
Regarding claim 3, Chu and Park teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein to set the TWT parameters, the processor is configured to set a TWT interval to one of divisors of a beacon reception periodicity.
(Chu: para. [0059] STA MLD selects different listen intervals for the working links. For example, in the case in which there is a ListenInterval1 and BeaconInterval1 for a link (e.g., link1), as well as a ListenInterval2 and BeaconInterval2 for another link (e.g., link2), the associated AP MLD announces the buffered frame information of link1 on link2's beacon using an interval of either floor (ListenInterval1/Beacon_Interval2) or ceiling (ListenInterval1/BeaconInterval2). In such an example, the STA MLD wake up at TBTTs of link2 is either a timing synchronization function (TSF) time of TBTT divided by ListenInterval2 as an integer (corresponds to claim limitation “one of divisors of a beacon reception periodicity”) or is (i) immediately before n*ListenInterval1 or (ii) immediately after n*ListenInterval1)
Regarding claim 5, Chu and Park teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein to set the TWT parameters, the processor is configured to set a TWT start time based on the TBTT of a beacon.
(Chu: para. [0058 & 0015-0017 & 0046 & 0052] an STA MLD can also select a listen interval, such that the selected listen interval can be the same or different for the STA MLD's various links. The listen interval can be used by the STA MLD to indicate to an AP how often a STA is in power save mode (e.g., asleep) and when the STA MLD is awake (e.g., active) to listen to the beacons sent by an AP MLD and the AP MLD's APs or multiple AP MLDs. Para. [0017] STA MLD uses link1 as a working link and starts to receive beacons on link1 once the announcement is received on link2)
Regarding claim 6, Chu and Park teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein reception times of beacons received through the plurality of links are different for the individual links.
(Chu: para. [0060] FIG. 4 illustrates a technique that involves an STA MLD using listen intervals at different rates to indicate to the AP MLD how often the STA MLD is in power save mode and wakes to listen to beacons. A listen interval can be used to decide the lifetime of a frame, such that if a frame's lifetime passes and the frame is not transmitted correctly, the frame may be discarded. FIG. 4 further illustrates an AP MLD transmitting beacons at different rates to indicate the AP MLDs presence to the STA MLD. In particular, as shown in FIG. 4, STA1 410-1 of STA MLD 408 uses listen intervals 430-1 at a particular rate of ListenInterval1 428-1 to AP1 404-1 of AP MLD 402 while STA2 410-2 of STA MLD 408 uses listen intervals 430-2 at a particular rate of ListenInterval2 428-2 to AP2 404-2 of AP MLD 402. FIG. 4 further illustrates beacons 412 transmitted by AP1 404-1 of AP MLD 402 to STA1 410-1 of STA MLD 408 at a particular rate of BeaconInterval1 426-1, and beacons 414 transmitted by AP2 404-2 of AP MLD 402 to STA2 410-2 of STA MLD 408 at a particular rate of BeaconInterval2 426-2. In such an example, the AP MLD 402 sends buffered frame information (BFI) 434 (as indicated by the dashed boxes) related to link1 406-1 in beacon 414 on link2 406-2 to STA2 410-2 of STA MLD 408 from AP2 404-2. In some embodiments, the information carried in beacons 414 on link2 406-2 include a TBTT difference 416 between link2 406-2 and link1 406-1)
Regarding claim 7, Chu and Park teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to execute settings of the plurality of links based on the TWT parameters.
(Chu: para. [0044-0045] STA MLD 108 depicted in FIG. 1 may select one of three links, link1 106-1, link2 106-2, or link3 106-3, as the link on which beacons will be monitored. The selected link can be the link for the STA MLD's multi-link association (e.g., association link, master link, anchor link) or any other link. A technique by which a link is selected to be the working link for an STA MLD's multi-link association is described herein. The STA MLD changes the selected on which beacons will be monitored without notifying an AP MLD. After an association link (e.g., link1 106-1) becomes inactive via a link switch or a link turning on/off, the STA MLD (e.g., STA MLD 108) indicates whether the STA MLD wants to monitor beacons on one link (e.g., link2 106-2) or more than one link (e.g., link2 106-2 and link3 106-3), and the link (e.g., link2 106-2) where it wants to monitor beacons and receive group-addressed frames. The STA MLD makes a negotiation-based decision such that either (i) the STA MLD (e.g., STA MLD 108 depicted in FIG. 1) makes a request for a certain link (e.g., link1 106-1) to be selected as a working link, and the AP MLD (e.g., AP MLD 102) decides whether the requested link (e.g., link1 106-1) is accepted, or (ii) the AP MLD makes a request for a certain link to be selected as a working link, and the STA MLD decides whether the requested link is accepted. The STA MLD makes an indication-based decision such that either (i) the STA MLD (e.g., STA MLD 108 depicted in FIG. 1) makes the decision to select a certain link (e.g., link1 106-1) as a working link and notifies the decision to the associated AP MLD (e.g., AP MLD 102), or (ii) the AP MLD makes the decision to select a certain link as a working link and notifies the decision to the associated STA MLD. Then, subsequent to the accepted negotiation-based or indication-based accepted request/decision, the selected link becomes a working link and the STA-MLD begins to monitor and decode beacons for the STA MLD's multi-link association. Para. [0045] critical update may include Target Wake Time (TWT) element For a multi-link STA MLD to correctly transmit/receive frames through the associated links, the STA MLD must continue to receive updated critical operating parameters for all of the associated links in time)
Regarding claims 8-10 and 12-13, Chu teaches an operation method of an electronic device, the method comprising: (Chu: Summary, Fig. 2 and para. [0013 &0022 & 0040] STA MLD includes a processor configured to communicate with an access point (AP) MLD via a first link, link1, and a second link, link2, a receive a beacon on link2, acquire an updated critical operating parameter for link1 in response to the beacon received on link2, and operate link1 according to the acquired updated critical operating parameter) and Chu and Park teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-3 and 5-6, and therefore apparatus claims 10-16 are rejected using the same rationales.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Patil et al. US20190158413A1 in para. [0095] teaches At time t3, the STA wakes up at its scheduled TWT. In some implementations, the AP may be aware of the STA' s TWT schedule and may thus transmit a CPL trigger message to the STA, at time t4, once the STA wakes up from its power save state. The CPL trigger message may include PL information specifying the current primary link (Link2). In some implementations, the CPL trigger message may be provided in a probe response or action frame (or other management or control frame) transmitted at the start of the TWT service period to notify the STA of the current primary link. In some aspects, the CPL trigger message may be signaled on each of the communication links (Link1 and Link2) to ensure that the STA receives the PL information regardless of its current primary link.
Kim US 20240244675 A1 in para. 0097 teaches the beacon frame including the rTWT SP information may be transmitted according to a specific periodicity. The beacon frame including the rTWT SP information may include information on the SP which is a period in which the rTWT operates. The information on the SP may indicate information on a time (e.g., start time, end time, and/or duration) of the SP located after the currently transmitted beacon frame. The beacon frame may include information on one or more SPs.
/WUTCHUNG CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418