DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-22, 33 are objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 1, end of 2nd paragraph, after “together” appropriate punction needs to be added,
claim 1, line 5 “central passage” should be – a central passage –.
Claim 1, 3rd line from the end, “follow” should be –follows–.
Claims 17, 18 before “single-piece” –the—should be inserted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-22, 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 2nd paragraph from end “wherein the cooling vanes protrude from a surface of the central passage” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 1, last paragraph, “wherein at least one of the cooling vanes follow a helical path which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof” is unclear whether the italicized test is intended to reference “the central passage” or to “the helical path.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 11, 14-19, 21, 22, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being obvious over Cukurel (2023/0272742) in view of itself and/or Garten et al (3099141) and optionally Williams et al (20100205971) and for claims 21, 22 further in view of Cukurel (2023/0143187). Cukurel ‘742 teaches (1) A micro gas turbine engine, comprising: a single-piece rotor [¶ 0011, 0056, 0066] comprising a compressor 11, a turbine 12, and a shaft 40 manufactured from an additive manufacturing process, wherein the compressor, turbine, and shaft are a single uniform piece and not separately joined together [¶ 0011] wherein the one-piece rotor comprises central passage 41 that extends through the turbine, compressor, and shaft [Figs. 4 or 5], wherein the cooling vanes 44 in Fig. 4 [or regions between helical groove 50, 54 form vanes in Fig. 5] protrude from a surface of the central passage, and wherein at least one of the cooling vanes 44 [or regions between helical groove 50, 54 forming vanes] follow a helical path1 which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof. Note that the cooling vanes 44 are for rotating the airflow within the central passage [¶ 0069] and are along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof. Similarly, the helical groove 50, 54 [Fig. 5] compressor has helical grooves that also rotate and move the airflow within the central passage [¶ 0070]. As for wherein at least one of the cooling vanes follow a helical path which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof, as the helical configuration is already suggested by the alternate embodiment of Fig. 5, it would have been obvious to make at least one of the cooling vanes follow a helical path which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof, as a helical vane is a conventional configuration used in the art to promote rotating flow. Alternately, Garten et al teach wherein the cooling vanes 30 protrude from a surface of the central passage, wherein the cooling vanes follow a helical path along the surface of the central passage [col. 2, lines 30-35] which facilitates the shaft being cooled internally and which strengthens the shaft [col. 3, lines 4-18]. Note that the helical vanes 30 of Garten are analogous to the helical grooves of Fig. 5 of Cukurel ‘742, as helical grooves are formed between the helical vanes 30 of Garten. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the cooling vanes of Cukurel ‘742, follow a helical path which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof, as taught by Garten et al, to which facilitates the shaft being cooled internally and/or strengthens the shaft. As for (33) wherein the helical path of the at least one of the cooling vanes extends along the surface of the central passage from a first location radially inward of blades of the turbine to a second location radially inward of blades of the compressor, Cukurel ‘742 already teach (33) wherein the helical path of the at least one of the cooling vanes 42 extends along the surface of the central passage from a first location [right side of 44] radially inward of blades of the turbine 12 to a second location [left side of 44] radially inward of blades of the compressor 11 -- note that the cooling vane 44 is broadly radially inward of the compressor blades 11, as the claim does not require there be any specific axial relationship between the compressor blades and cooling vanes, but only a radial relationship. Thus cooling vanes 42 of Cukurel ‘742 are already radially inward of both the turbine and compressor blades and meet the requirement that the helical path of the at least one of the cooling vanes extends along the surface of the central passage from a first location radially inward of blades of the turbine to a second location radially inward of blades of the compressor. Furthermore, note Garten et al teach the cooling vanes may extend the entire length of the shaft [col. 3, lines 4-18] as the cooling vanes also have a load-carrying function, strengthening the shaft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ at least one cooling vane along the entire length of the shaft, as taught by Garten, such that it extends radially inward of the both the compressor blades and turbine blades after modification as the cooling vanes also provide a structural support to the shaft.
Cukurel ‘742 further teach (2) wherein the single piece rotor comprises a plurality of layers bonded together which form the compressor, turbine and shaft. (3) wherein the layers [3D printed] comprises a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer, wherein the first layer comprises at least a portion of the turbine, a second layer comprises at least a portion of the compressor, and a third portion comprises at least a portion of the shaft 40. (11) wherein the one-piece rotor comprises silicon nitride [¶ 0057]. (14) wherein the largest diameter of the single-piece rotor is in a range of 17 mm to 25 mm [overlaps up to 20 mm ¶ 0002]. (15) a combustor 13 liner positioned radially outward from the single-piece rotor, the combustor liner having a first end [top] and a second end; a cover [top] received by the first end of the combustor liner, where the single-piece rotor extends through a central hole of the cover and inside of the liner. (16) wherein the cover [top of 13] comprises at least one for a group comprising a plurality of fuel injectors [for 16], a plurality of stator blades, or a combination thereof. (17) wherein the cover comprises a plurality of fuel injectors [from 16], wherein the fuel injectors comprise a plurality of tubes extending from a surface of the cover into a space between single-piece rotor and the combustor liner. (18) wherein the tubes 16 [angled portion] extend along a direction that is not parallel with a centerline of single-piece rotor. (19) wherein the tubes are curved [e.g. at bend].The prior art do not teach (7) wherein the cooling vanes protrude from the surface of the central passage a distance in a range of 0.25 mm to 0.50 mm nor (8) wherein the cooling vanes have a width in a range of 0.10 mm to 0.25 mm. These ranges are regarded as an obvious matter of using the workable ranges in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the claimed ranges for the cooling vanes, protrusion depth and width, as an obvious matter of using the workable ranges in the art.
For claims 21, 22, Cukurel ‘742 do not teach (21) wherein the cover comprises a plurality of layers cured together as part of the additive manufacturing, wherein at least one of the layers comprise a portion of a first stator and a portion of a second stator blade; (22) wherein the second end of the combustor liner comprises a plurality of stator blades positioned radially outward from the turbine. Cukurel ‘187 teaches (21) wherein the cover [additive manufactured endcap, see ¶ 0057] comprises a plurality of layers cured together as part of the additive manufacturing, wherein at least one of the layers comprise a portion of a first stator blade and a portion of a second stator blade. (22) wherein the first end of the combustor liner comprises a plurality of stator blades [see Fig. 6 and note the stator blades are illustrated upstream of the turbine blades 605] positioned radially outward from the turbine 605. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the (21) wherein the cover comprises a plurality of layers cured together as part of the additive manufacturing, wherein at least one of the layers comprise a portion of a first stator and a portion of a second stator blade; (22) wherein the second end of the combustor liner comprises a plurality of stator blades positioned radially outward from the turbine, as taught by Cukurel ‘187, as the typical arrangement used in the art, as stator blades provide for flow guidance to the turbine and/or from the compressor.
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 11, 14-16, 21-22, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cukurel (2023/0143187) in view of Cukurel (2023/0272742) in view of itself and/or Garten et al (3099141) and optionally Williams et al (20100205971).
Cukurel ‘187 teaches (1) A micro gas turbine engine [¶ 0004], comprising: a single-piece rotor comprising a compressor 602, a turbine 605, and a shaft manufactured from an additive manufacturing process, wherein the compressor, turbine, and shaft are a single uniform piece and not separately joined together [¶ 0008] wherein the one-piece rotor comprises central passage [hollow for cooling ¶ 0012] that extends through the turbine, compressor, and shaft, wherein the cooling vanes [internal blades, ¶ 0012] protrude from a surface of the central passage [inherent, no other rotating structure to anchor the vanes, see also applied 2023/0272742 to the same inventor]. Cukurel ‘187 does not teach wherein at least one of the cooling vanes follow a helical path which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof. Cukurel ‘742 teaches wherein the one-piece rotor comprises central passage 41 that extends through the turbine, compressor, and shaft [Figs. 4 or 5], wherein the cooling vanes 44 [or regions between helical groove 50, 54 form vanes] protrude from a surface of the central passage, and wherein at least one of the cooling vanes 44 [or regions between helical groove 50, 54 form vanes] follow a helical path2 which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof. Note that the cooling vanes 44 are for rotating the airflow within the central passage [¶ 0069] and are along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof. Similarly, the helical groove 50, 54 [Fig. 5] compressor has helical grooves that also rotate and move the airflow within the central passage [¶ 0070]. As for wherein at least one of the cooling vanes follow a helical path which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof, as the helical configuration is already suggested by the alternate embodiment of Fig. 5, it would have been obvious to make at least one of the cooling vanes follow a helical path which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof, as taught by Cukurel ‘742, as a helical vane is a conventional configuration used in the art to promote rotating flow. Alternately, Garten et al teach wherein the cooling vanes 30 protrude from a surface of the central passage, wherein the cooling vanes follow a helical path along the surface of the central passage [col. 2, lines 30-35] which facilitates the shaft being cooled internally and which strengthens the shaft [col. 3, lines 4-18]. Note that the helical vanes 30 of Garten are analogous to the helical grooves of Fig. 5 of Cukurel ‘742, as helical grooves are formed between the helical vanes 30 of Garten. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the cooling vanes of Cukurel ‘742, follow a helical path which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof, as taught by Garten et al, to which facilitates the shaft being cooled internally and/or strengthens the shaft. As for (33) wherein the helical path of the at least one of the cooling vanes extends along the surface of the central passage from a first location radially inward of blades of the turbine to a second location radially inward of blades of the compressor, Cukurel ‘742 already teach (33) wherein the helical path of the at least one of the cooling vanes 42 extends along the surface of the central passage from a first location [right side of 44] radially inward of blades of the turbine 12 to a second location [left side of 44] radially inward of blades of the compressor 11 -- note that the cooling vane 44 is broadly radially inward of the compressor blades 11, as the claim does not require there be any specific axial relationship between the compressor blades and cooling vanes, but only a radial relationship. Thus cooling vanes 42 of Cukurel ‘742 are already radially inward of both the turbine and compressor blades and meet the requirement that the helical path of the at least one of the cooling vanes extends along the surface of the central passage from a first location radially inward of blades of the turbine to a second location radially inward of blades of the compressor. Furthermore, note Garten et al teach the cooling vanes may extend the entire length of the shaft [col. 3, lines 4-18] as the cooling vanes also have a load-carrying function, strengthening the shaft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ at least one cooling vane along the entire length of the shaft, as taught by Garten, such that it extends radially inward of the both the compressor blades and turbine blades after modification, as the cooling vanes also provide a structural support to the shaft.
Cukurel ‘187 further teaches (2) wherein the single piece rotor comprises a plurality of layers [3D print] bonded together which form the compressor, turbine and shaft [¶ 0012]. (3) wherein the layers [3D print] comprises a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer, wherein the first layer comprises at least a portion of the turbine, a second layer comprises at least a portion of the compressor, and a third portion comprises at least a portion of the shaft. (11) wherein the one-piece rotor comprises silicon nitride [¶ 0017]. (15) a combustor 604 liner positioned radially outward from the single-piece rotor, the combustor liner having a first end [bottom] and a second end [top]; a cover received by the first end of the combustor liner, where the single-piece rotor extends through a central hole of the cover and inside of the liner [see Fig. 7 and note the cover 59 of Fig. 5]. (16) wherein the cover comprises at least one for a group comprising a plurality of fuel injectors, a plurality of stator blades [see Fig. 6 and note the stator blades are illustrated upstream of the turbine blades 605], or a combination thereof. (21) wherein the cover [additive manufactured endcap, see ¶ 0057] comprises a plurality of layers cured together as part of the additive manufacturing, wherein at least one of the layers comprise a portion of a first stator blade and a portion of a second stator blade. (22) wherein the first end of the combustor liner comprises a plurality of stator blades [see Fig. 6 and note the stator blades are illustrated upstream of the turbine blades 605] positioned radially outward from the turbine 605.
Cukurel ‘187 does not teach (14) wherein the largest diameter of the single-piece rotor is in a range of 17 mm to 25 mm. Cukurel ‘742 further teach (14) wherein the largest diameter of the single-piece rotor is in a range of 17 mm to 25 mm [overlaps up to 20 mm ¶ 0002]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the claimed range of the largest diameter of the single-piece rotor is in a range of 17 mm to 25 mm, as taught by Cukurel ‘742, as a typical range of operation used in a micro turbine. The prior art do not teach (7) wherein the cooling vanes protrude from the surface of the central passage a distance in a range of 0.25 mm to 0.50 mm nor (8) wherein the cooling vanes have a width in a range of 0.10 mm to 0.25 mm. These ranges are regarded as an obvious matter of using the workable ranges in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the claimed ranges for the cooling vanes, protrusion depth and width, as an obvious matter of using the workable ranges in the art.
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 11, 14-16, 21-22, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fabian et al (2004/0016239) in view of Cukurel (2023/0272742) in view of itself and/or Garten et al (3099141) and optionally Williams et al (20100205971). Fabian et al teaches (1) A micro gas turbine engine, comprising: a single-piece rotor comprising a compressor 102/202, a turbine 101/201, and a shaft 103/203 manufactured from an additive manufacturing process, wherein the compressor, turbine, and shaft are a single uniform piece and not separately joined together [¶ 0021-0022]. (2) wherein the single piece rotor comprises a plurality of layers (3D printed) bonded together which form the compressor, turbine and shaft. (3) wherein the layers (3D printed) comprises a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer, wherein the first layer comprises at least a portion of the turbine, a second layer comprises at least a portion of the compressor, and a third portion comprises at least a portion of the shaft. (11) wherein the one-piece rotor comprises silicon nitride [abstract]. (14) wherein the largest diameter of the single-piece rotor is in a range of 17 mm to 25 mm [¶ 0009]. (15) a combustor 360 liner positioned radially outward from the single-piece rotor, the combustor liner having a first end [right] and a second end [left, inherent]; a cover [right side] received by the first end of the combustor liner, where the single-piece rotor extends through a central hole of the cover and inside of the liner [Fig. 3]. (16) wherein the cover comprises at least one for a group comprising a plurality of fuel injectors, a plurality of stator blades [turbine nozzle 365 has stator blades radially outside of 301], or a combination thereof. (21) wherein the cover comprises a plurality of layers cured together as part of the additive manufacturing, wherein at least one of the layers comprise a portion of a first stator blade and a portion of a second stator blade [turbine nozzle 365 has stator blades radially outside of 301]. (22) wherein the first end of the combustor liner comprises a plurality of stator blades positioned radially outward from the turbine. Fabian et al do not teach wherein the one-piece rotor comprises central passage that extends through the turbine, compressor, and shaft, wherein the cooling vanes protrude from a surface of the central passage, and wherein at least one of the cooling vanes follow a helical path which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof. Cukurel ‘742 teaches wherein the one-piece rotor comprises central passage 41 that extends through the turbine, compressor, and shaft [Figs. 4 or 5], wherein the cooling vanes 44 [or regions between helical groove 50, 54 form vanes] protrude from a surface of the central passage, and wherein at least one of the cooling vanes 44 [or regions between helical groove 50, 54 form vanes] follow a helical path3 which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof. Note that the cooling vanes 44 are for rotating the airflow within the central passage [¶ 0069] and are along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof. Similarly, the helical groove 50, 54 [Fig. 5] compressor has helical grooves that also rotate and move the airflow within the central passage [¶ 0070]. As for wherein at least one of the cooling vanes follow a helical path which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof, as the helical configuration is already suggested by the alternate embodiment of Fig. 5, it would have been obvious to make at least one of the cooling vanes follow a helical path which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof, as taught by Cukurel ‘742, as a helical vane is a conventional configuration used in the art to promote rotating flow. Alternately, Garten et al teach wherein the cooling vanes 30 protrude from a surface of the central passage, wherein the cooling vanes follow a helical path along the surface of the central passage [col. 2, lines 30-35] which facilitates the shaft being cooled internally and which strengthens the shaft [col. 3, lines 4-18]. Note that the helical vanes 30 of Garten are analogous to the helical grooves of Fig. 5 of Cukurel ‘742, as helical grooves are formed between the helical vanes 30 of Garten. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the cooling vanes of Cukurel ‘742, follow a helical path which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof, as taught by Garten et al, to which facilitates the shaft being cooled internally and/or strengthens the shaft. As for (33) wherein the helical path of the at least one of the cooling vanes extends along the surface of the central passage from a first location radially inward of blades of the turbine to a second location radially inward of blades of the compressor, Cukurel ‘742 already teach (33) wherein the helical path of the at least one of the cooling vanes 42 extends along the surface of the central passage from a first location [right side of 44] radially inward of blades of the turbine 12 to a second location [left side of 44] radially inward of blades of the compressor 11 -- note that the cooling vane 44 is broadly radially inward of the compressor blades 11, as the claim does not require there be any specific axial relationship between the compressor blades and cooling vanes, but only a radial relationship. Thus cooling vanes 42 of Cukurel ‘742 are already radially inward of both the turbine and compressor blades and meet the requirement that the helical path of the at least one of the cooling vanes extends along the surface of the central passage from a first location radially inward of blades of the turbine to a second location radially inward of blades of the compressor. Furthermore, note Garten et al teach the cooling vanes may extend the entire length of the shaft [col. 3, lines 4-18] as the cooling vanes also have a load-carrying function, strengthening the shaft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ at least one cooling vane along the entire length of the shaft, as taught by Garten, such that it extends radially inward of the both the compressor blades and turbine blades after modification, as the cooling vanes also provide a structural support to the shaft.
The prior art do not teach (7) wherein the cooling vanes protrude from the surface of the central passage a distance in a range of 0.25 mm to 0.50 mm nor (8) wherein the cooling vanes have a width in a range of 0.10 mm to 0.25 mm. These ranges are regarded as an obvious matter of using the workable ranges in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the claimed ranges for the cooling vanes, protrusion depth and width, as an obvious matter of using the workable ranges in the art.
Claim(s) 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of the prior art, as applied above, and further in view of Fabian et al (2004/0016239). The prior art do not teach (12) wherein the length of the one-piece rotor is in a range of 75 mm and 50 mm nor (13) wherein a distance between the turbine and compressor of the one-piece rotor is in a range of 35 mm and 24 mm. Fabian et al teach wherein the length of the one-piece rotor is in a range of less than 100 mm [see abstract]. The specific range of length of 75 mm and 50 mm and (13) wherein a distance between the turbine and compressor of the one-piece rotor is in a range of 35 mm and 24 mm, is regarded as an obvious matter of using the workable ranges in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the claimed ranges of between 75 mm and 50 mm and (13) wherein a distance between the turbine and compressor of the one-piece rotor is in a range of 35 mm and 24 mm, as an obvious matter of using the workable ranges in the art.
Claim(s) 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over any of the prior art applied to claim 15, as applied above, and further in view of Smith et al (2022/0389872). The prior art do not necessarily teach (20) wherein the cover comprises a plurality of layers cured together as part of the additive manufacturing, wherein at least one of the layers comprise a portion of a first fuel injector and a portion of a second fuel injector; nor (21) wherein the cover comprises a plurality of layers cured together as part of the additive manufacturing, wherein at least one of the layers comprise a portion of a first stator and a portion of a second stator blade. Smith et al teach the combustor portions, including a cover 106, may be a plurality of layers cured together as part of the additive manufacturing, wherein at least one of the layers comprise a portion of a first fuel injector 108 and a portion of a second fuel injector 108; (21) wherein the cover comprises a plurality of layers cured together as part of the additive manufacturing, wherein at least one of the layers comprise a portion of a first stator 105 or 114 and a portion of a second stator blade 105 or 114 [see e.g. abstract, para 0046-0047] and making these elements integral by additive manufacturing which facilitates a simple or compact component. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the cover comprise a plurality of layers cured together as part of the additive manufacturing, wherein at least one of the layers comprise a portion of a first fuel injector and a portion of a second fuel injector; (21) wherein the cover comprises a plurality of layers cured together as part of the additive manufacturing, wherein at least one of the layers comprise a portion of a first stator and a portion of a second stator blade, as taught by Smith et al (2022/0389872), as an obvious step of making integral by additive manufacturing which facilitates a simple or compact component.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of the prior art, as applied above to claim 1, and further in view of Epstein et al (6392313). The prior art do not teach (10) wherein the engine is configured to combust hydrogen fuel but places no limitation on what fuel is used. Epstein et al teach (10) wherein the engine is configured to combust hydrogen fuel [col. 9, line 35] as a typical fuel used in microturbines. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ hydrogen as the fuel, as a typical fuel utilized in the microturbine art for its high energy density, availability and clean burning (only water emissions).
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over any of combinations applying Fabian et al (2004/0016239), Cukurel (2023/0143187) and Cukurel (2023/0272742), as applied above, and further in view of Mcclearn et al (12180887) and Shekleton (4,930,306) and Shekleton (5177956). The applied prior art were interpreted to teach the features of 15, 16 and/or 17 above and dependents of claim 15. For an alternate treatment of these limitations, Mcclearn et al teach (15) a combustor liner 170 positioned radially outward from the single-piece rotor 120, the combustor liner having a first end [bottom] and a second end [top]; a cover 150 or 140 received by the first end of the combustor liner, where the single-piece rotor 120 extends through a central hole of the cover and inside of the liner [Fig. 3B, 5B, 6B]. (16) wherein the cover 150 or 140 comprises at least one for a group comprising a plurality of fuel injectors 164 or 162, a plurality of stator blades, or a combination thereof. (17) wherein the cover comprises a plurality of fuel injectors 164 or 162, wherein the fuel injectors comprise a plurality of tubes 164 extending from a surface of the cover 140 into a space 164 or 160 between single-piece rotor and the combustor liner 170. Mcclearn et al teach the use of a separate cover with integral fuel injection tubes facilitates injection of fuel into the combustor and allows for a simplified construction and/or compact assembly about a turbine rotor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (15) a combustor liner positioned radially outward from the single-piece rotor, the combustor liner having a first end and a second end; a cover received by the first end of the combustor liner, where the single-piece rotor extends through a central hole of the cover and inside of the liner; (16) wherein the cover comprises at least one for a group comprising a plurality of fuel injectors, a plurality of stator blades, or a combination thereof; (17) wherein the cover comprises a plurality of fuel injectors, wherein the fuel injectors comprise a plurality of tubes extending from a surface of the cover into a space between single-piece rotor and the combustor liner, as taught by Mcclearn et al, in order to facilitate injection of fuel into the combustor and allow for a simplified construction and/or compact assembly about a turbine rotor. Fabian et al, Cukurel ‘187 and Cukurel ‘742 do not necessarily teach (17) wherein the cover comprises a plurality of fuel injectors, wherein the fuel injectors comprise a plurality of tubes extending from a surface of the cover into a space between single-piece rotor and the combustor liner; nor (18) wherein the tubes extend along a direction that is not parallel with a centerline of single-piece rotor. Shekleton ‘306 teaches using (17) wherein the cover comprises a plurality of fuel injectors, wherein the fuel injectors comprise a plurality of tubes 48 extending from a surface of the cover into a space 38 between single-piece rotor and the combustor liner; (18) wherein the tubes 48 extend along a direction that is not parallel with a centerline of single-piece rotor. Furthermore, the Shekleton ‘956 reference may also be applied which teaches it is well known in the art to utilize multiple fuel injectors that are spaced from each other 28, 30 and that using multiple fuel injector tubes 28, 30 facilitates injection of fuel under adverse conditions and with enhanced atomization by allowing more locations within the combustion chamber for fuel distribution [col. 5, line 59-col. 6, line 8]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make (17) the cover comprises a plurality of [additional] fuel injectors, wherein the fuel injectors comprise a plurality of tubes 48 extending from a surface of the cover into a space between single-piece rotor and the combustor liner, where the tubes which extend along a direction that is not parallel with a centerline of single-piece rotor, in any of Fabian et al, Cukurel ‘187 and Cukurel ‘742, as taught by Shekleton ‘306, as a typical geometry utilized in the art and which facilitates fuel injection into the combustor and where Shekleton ‘956 reference is applied as a teaching reference which teaches that additional fuel injectors of Shekleton ‘306, (rather than only the ones disclosed by Fabian et al, Cukurel ‘187 and Cukurel ‘742) would facilitate injection of fuel under adverse conditions and/or enhanced atomization by allowing more locations within the combustion chamber for fuel distribution.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over any of the prior art, as applied above to claim 18, and further in view of Schumacher (2007/0245710). The prior art do not teach (19) wherein the tubes are curved. Schumacher teaches the use of bent / curved, rather than straight, fuel injector tubes [¶ 0005] is well known for gas turbine engines and generally regarded as equivalent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to been obvious to employ a bent / curved injector tube rather than a straight tube, as an equivalent configuration utilized in the art and/or to facilitate injection in the desired direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues
“Cukurel '187 is silent regarding a cooling vane which follows a helical path which extends along the surface of the central passage radially outward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination there of.
Cukurel '742 fails to make up for the deficiencies in Cukurel 187. The office action asserts that "The vanes of '742 [Fig. 4] meet (9) wherein the cooling vanes follow a helical path along the surface of the central passage." The applicant respectfully disagrees and notes that Cukerel fail to describe any cooling vanes. Applicant believes the office action may be referring to the cooling blades 44 shown in Cukurel '742 FIG. 4. However, the cooling blade 44 in Cukurel '742 is not described as a following a helical path.
Garten fails to make up for the deficiencies of Cukurel 187 and Cukurel '742. Garten describes fins 30 located in a shaft which may be a helix. However, the fins (if equivalency is to be asserted) are not described following a helical path which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof.
In rebuttal, Cukurel '742 teach the turning vanes 42, which appear to be helical. As evidence / obviousness, Williams teaches such a shape is considered helical or that it would be obvious to make helical. Alternately, Garten’s fins 30 are cooling vanes and shaped as a helical path. As for “which extends along the surface of the central passage radially inward of the turbine, compressor, or a combination thereof.” – this is already taught by Cukurel '742 and as noted above is indefinitely claimed. Furthermore, Garten et al teach the cooling vanes may extend the entire length of the shaft [col. 3, lines 4-18] as the cooling vanes also have a load-carrying function. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ at least one cooling vane along the entire length of the shaft, as taught by Garten, such that it extends radially inward of the both the compressor blades and turbine blades after modification, as the cooling vanes also provide a structural support to the shaft.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
February 12, 2026
1 Williams et al show that in the gas turbine art, “helical” turning vanes 50 may be slanted [see Figs. 3-4, ¶ 0017- 0018]. Accordingly, cooling vanes 44 of Cukurel ‘742 are also helical based on this kind of usage in the gas turbine art. Alternately, it would have been obvious to make at least one of the cooling vanes 44 of Cukurel ‘742, helical, as taught by Williams, as the conventional shape used in the art for rotating the airflow / coolant.
2 Williams et al show that in the gas turbine art, helical turning vanes 50 may be slanted [see Figs. 3-4, ¶ 0017- 0018]. Accordingly, cooling vanes 44 of Cukurel ‘742 are also helical based on this kind of usage. Alternately, it would have been obvious to make the cooling vanes 44 of Cukurel ‘742, helical, as taught by Williams, as the conventional shape used in the art for rotating the airflow / coolant.
3 Williams et al show that in the gas turbine art, helical turning vanes 50 may be slanted [see Figs. 3-4, ¶ 0017- 0018]. Accordingly, cooling vanes 44 of Cukurel ‘742 are also helical based on this kind of usage. Alternately, it would have been obvious to make the cooling vanes 44 of Cukurel ‘742, helical, as taught by Williams, as the conventional shape used in the art for rotating the airflow / coolant.