DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the higher in-band gain from the virtual RF ground is exhibiting an inherently higher PAE of the differential output signal recited in claim 10, exhibiting a higher amplification stability of the push pull amplifier as measured by the increase of a K-factor stability metric recited in claim 11, stability is requiring less external stabilization of the differential output signal via additional circuitry recited in 12, the increase of the push pull amplification stability is resulting in easier impedance matching between the differential input signal and the differential output signal recited in claim 13, and the increase of the push pull amplification stability is exhibiting higher gain and power added efficiency recited in claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by [Garay et al (Fig. 4B); 11,469,726].
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Garay et al discloses an amplifier circuit comprising a first balun (414), a second balun (420), a first FET (M5) which is coupled to the first balun (414) and the second balun (420), a second FET (M6) which is coupled to the first balun (414) and the second balun (420) and wherein the first FET (M5) and the second FET (M6) are coupled, a first capacitor (the capacitor located between the gate terminal of the first transistor M5 and the drain terminal of the transistor M6) which is coupled to a gate node (gate terminal of M5) of the first FET (M5) and the drain node (drain terminal of M6) of the second FET (M6), and a second capacitor (the capacitor located between the gate terminal of the second transistor M6 and the drain terminal of the first transistor M5) which is coupled to a gate node (gate terminal of M6) of the second FET (M6) and the drain node (drain terminal of M5) of the first FET (M5).
(gate terminal of M5), a drain node (drain terminal of M5), a source node (source terminal of M5), and wherein the first FET (M5) and the second FET (M6) are interconnected (ground) via the source node (the source terminal of M5) of the first FET (M5) and the source node (source terminal of M6) of the second FET (M6).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the first FET (M5) and the second FET (M6) comprise a gate node (gate terminal of M5, gate terminal of M6), a drain node (drain terminal of M5, drain terminal of M6), and a source node (source terminal of M5, source terminal of M6) and wherein the first FET (M5) and the second FET (M6) are interconnected via the source node (source terminal of M5) of the first FET (M5) and the source node (source terminal of M6) of the second FET (M6).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the first capacitor (the capacitor located between the gate terminal of the first transistor M5 and the drain terminal of the transistor M6) is configured to cancel inherent signal feedback between the gate node (gate terminal of M5) and the drain node (drain terminal of M5) of the first FET (M5), and the second capacitor (second capacitor (the capacitor located between the gate terminal of the second transistor M6 and the drain terminal of the first transistor M5) is configured to cancel inherent signal feedback between the gate node (gate terminal of M6) and the drain node (drain terminal of M6) of the second FET (M6).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Garay et al further comprising a virtual ground (ground connecting to the source terminal of the transistor M5) disposed between the source node (source terminal of the transistor M5) of the first FET (M5) and the source node (source terminal of M6) of the second FET (M6).
Regarding claim 6, wherein an input signal (input signal of M5) of the first FET (M5) is inversely phase balanced an input signal (input signal of M6) of the second FET (M6).
Regarding claims 10-14, the limitations recited in the claims are intended use of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Garay et al (Fig. 4B); 11,469,726] in view of [Cai et al (Fig. 1); 12,603,615].
Regarding claim 5, Garay et al discloses all the limitations in claim 5 except for that the first input matching network that is coupled to the first balun and the gate node of the first FET and a second IMN that is coupled to the first balun and the gate node of the second FET. Cai et al discloses an amplifier circuit comprising a first input matching network (upper input matching circuit) that is coupled to the power divider and the gate node of the first FET (carrier power amplifier) and a second IMN (lower Input matching circuit) that is coupled to the power divider and the gate node of the second FET (Peak Power amplifier). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have found it obvious to have employed the first input matching network at between the input balun and first FET of Garay et al (Fig. 4B), and second IMN at between the input balun and second FET of Garay et al (Fig. 4B), such as taught by Cai et al (Fig. 1) in order to provide the advantageous benefit of improving the impedance matching for the amplifier circuit.
Regarding claim 7, Garay et al discloses all the limitations in claim 5 except for that the first output matching network that is coupled to the drain node of the first FET and the second balun, and a second OMN that is coupled to the drain node of the second FET and the second balun. Cai et al discloses an amplifier circuit comprising a first output matching network (upper output matching circuit) that is coupled to the drain node of the first FET (carrier power amplifier) and the power combiner, and a second OMN (lower output matching circuit) that is coupled to the drain node of the second FET (Peak Power amplifier) and the power combiner. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have found it obvious to have employed the first output matching network at between the drain node of the first FET and the second balun of Garay et al (Fig. 4B), and second IMN at between the drain node of the second FET and the second balun of Garay et al (Fig. 4B), such as taught by Cai et al (Fig. 1) in order to provide the advantageous benefit of improving the impedance matching for the amplifier circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
7,697,915 teaches a differential amplifier with the cross coupled capacitors.
10,686,474 teaches two transistors with the input balun and output balun.
/HENRY CHOE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843
#2972