DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication: Continuation filed Mar. 25, 2024.
Claims 1-22 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 11 and 18 are independent claims.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim 1-22 are rejected are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,941,240.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in U.S. Patent No. 11,941,240 and is covered by U.S. Patent No. 11,941,240 since Patent U.S. Patent No. 11,941,240 and the instant application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
Instant Application No. 18/616,062
U.S. Patent No. 11,941,240
1. A method comprising:
receiving, at a client device, a plurality of video items comprising a first subset of video items and a second subset of video items;
presenting, at the client device, a graphical user interface (GUI) comprising a first scrollable area that displays the first subset of video items and a focus area that displays one of the plurality of video items; and
prior to receiving a scrolling request of a user of the client device to cause the second subset of video items to become visible in the first scrollable area,
providing a preview of video items of the second subset of video items in or adjacent to the focus area in the GUI of the client device, wherein the video items of the second subset of video items are presented in the preview as GUI elements each comprising an icon representing a corresponding video item.
1. A method comprising:
receiving, at a client device, a plurality of video items comprising a first subset of video items and a second subset of video items;
presenting, at the client device, a graphical user interface (GUI) comprising a first scrollable area to present the plurality of video items and a focus area to present one of the plurality of video items; and
presenting, in the GUI on the client device, video items of the second subset of video items in or adjacent to the focus area in a first size,
wherein the video items of the second subset of video items are presented in or adjacent to the focus area in the first size when the first subset of video items is visible in the first scrollable area in a second size and prior to a scrolling request of a user of the client device to cause the second subset of video items to become visible in the first scrollable area in the second size, and
wherein the first size of the video items from the second subset of video items presented in or adjacent to the focus area is smaller than the second size of video items of the first subset of video items presented in the first scrollable area.
Claims 11 and 18 are similar to claims 1, 9 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,941,240
Dependent Claims 2-10, 12-17 and 19-22 are similar to claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,941,240.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Piippo et al. (hereinafter Piippo) U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0007663.
With respect to independent claim 1, Piippo teaches a method comprising:
receiving, at a client device, a plurality of video items comprising a first subset of video items and a second subset of video items (see e.g., Fig. 3A-3E and Para [69] - “the user interface 200 can comprise a first display region 210 and a second display region 220, each of which is for displaying content and other information to a user. The content displayed in the first and second display regions 210, 220 can comprise items 300 of content such as, for example, videos or other types of content that can be played back such as audio clips, or images or documents, etc. The content items 300 can form a set of content items 300.”);
presenting, at the client device, a graphical user interface (GUI) comprising a first scrollable area that displays the first subset of video items and a focus area that displays one of the plurality of video items (see e.g., Fig. 3A-3E and Para [69]-[73][88] - “A user may change which ones of the set of content items 300 are displayed in the row 360 by scrolling through the content items 300. This can be done using the touch-sensitive screen 120, 160 (FIG. 1). “); and
prior to receiving a scrolling request of a user of the client device to cause the second subset of video items to become visible in the first scrollable area (see e.g., Fig. 3A-3E and Para [69]-[73]), providing a preview of video items of the second subset of video items in or adjacent to the focus area in the GUI of the client device (see e.g., Fig. 3A-3E and Para [73] [80]-[95] – “The first display region 210 can be for displaying the content items 300 in such a way as to convey additional, contextual information related to the content items 300 and/or to provide an improved user experience when browsing the content items 300. The second display region 220 can be for displaying the content items 300 in a more summary way than the first display region 210.”),
wherein the video items of the second subset of video items are presented in the preview as GUI elements each comprising an icon representing a corresponding video item (see e.g., Fig. 3A-3E Para [78][79]- “Content items 300 can also be replaced with icons if they are sufficiently distant. Each content item 300 can be displayed on a two-dimensional surface above the map 310 … Where a two-dimensional plan view is provided, content items 300 can be displayed at their map positions and can be sized, or replaced by icons, in dependence upon the scale of the map, e.g. the zoom level.”).
With respect to dependent claim 2, Piippo teaches the video items of the second subset of video items are presented in or adjacent to the focus area when the first subset of video items is visible in the first scrollable area and prior to the second subset of video items becoming visible in the first scrollable area (see e.g., Fig. 3A-3E and Para [73] [80]-[95] – “The first display region 210 can be for displaying the content items 300 in such a way as to convey additional, contextual information related to the content items 300 and/or to provide an improved user experience when browsing the content items 300. The second display region 220 can be for displaying the content items 300 in a more summary way than the first display region 210. ““When a user changes the map view, the content items 300 which are displayed in the first display region 210 can be changed accordingly. ““As will be described in more detail below, the first and second display regions 210, 220 can be used independently. However, some operations in relation to one of the first and second display regions 210, 220, e.g. selecting a content item 300, can affect which content items 300 are displayed in the other of the first and second display regions 210, 220.”).
With respect to dependent claim 3, Piippo teaches a size of the video items from the second subset of video items presented in or adjacent to the focus area is smaller than a size of video items of the first subset of video items presented in the first scrollable area (see e.g., Fig. 3A-3E Para [78][79]- “Content items 300 can also be replaced with icons if they are sufficiently distant. Each content item 300 can be displayed on a two-dimensional surface above the map 310 … Where a two-dimensional plan view is provided, content items 300 can be displayed at their map positions and can be sized, or replaced by icons, in dependence upon the scale of the map, e.g. the zoom level.”).
With respect to dependent claim 4, Piippo teaches the GUI elements presented in the preview are floatable elements each comprising an icon representing a corresponding video item (see e.g., Fig. 3A-3E Para [78][79]).
With respect to dependent claim 5, Piippo teaches each floatable element transits along a path across a portion of the focus area from a starting position to an ending position (see e.g., Para [76][77] – “The map 310 can include graphical elements. These graphical elements can be representations of geographical features, e.g. roads … The first display region 210 can be for displaying content items 300 at or in the vicinity of the positions on the map 310 with which they are associated.”).
With respect to dependent claim 6, Piippo teaches the icon representing the corresponding video item is one of a video thumbnail, a creator avatar, or a channel icon, and wherein the floatable elements each transit at a variable speed (see e.g., Para [79]-[81] – When user interact with the display area, e.g., zoom in and out, the content element will transit at variable speed).
With respect to dependent claim 7, Piippo teaches the GUI elements presented in the preview are chip elements in a second scrollable area adjacent to the focus area, and wherein each chip element comprises an icon representing a corresponding video item (see e.g., Fig. 4c-4d and para [102]-[105] – “an element 400 can be displayed whenever the selected content item 300' is not displayed in the second display region 220. The element 400 will be referred to hereinafter as a floating shortcut.”).
With respect to dependent claim 8, Piippo teaches the plurality of video items are ordered using a first order, wherein the chip elements are presented in the second scrollable area in a second order, and wherein the second order corresponds to the first order (see e.g., Para [105]).
With respect to dependent claim 9, Piippo teaches receiving, at the client device, an updated plurality of video items; and initiating a notification animation associated with the chip elements (see e.g., Para [104]).
With respect to dependent claim 10, Piippo teaches receiving, at the client device, a user input indicating a selection of a video item of the second subset of video items presented in or adjacent to the focus area; causing the selected video item to become visible in the first scrollable area; and causing the selected video item to be presented in the focus area (see e.g., Para [102]-[110] – “an element 400 can be displayed whenever the selected content item 300' is not displayed in the second display region 220. ”” In response to the selection of the floating shortcut 400, the content items 300 can be automatically scrolled so that the selected content item 300' is displayed prominently in the second display region 220, e.g. substantially in the centre of the row … In response to the selection of the floating shortcut 400, the map view can be automatically changed so that the selected content item 300' is displayed prominently in the first display region 210.”).
Claim 11 is rejected for the similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 12 is rejected for the similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2. Claim 13 is rejected for the similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3. Claim 14 is rejected for the similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5. Claim 15 is rejected for the similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
With respect to dependent claim 16, Piippo teaches the GUI elements presented in the preview are chip elements in a second scrollable area adjacent to the focus area, wherein each chip element comprises an icon representing a corresponding video item (see e.g., Fig. 4c-4d and para [102]-[105] – “an element 400 can be displayed whenever the selected content item 300' is not displayed in the second display region 220. The element 400 will be referred to hereinafter as a floating shortcut.”), and wherein the plurality of video items are ordered using a first order, wherein the chip elements are presented in the second scrollable area in a second order, and wherein the second order corresponds to the first order (see e.g., Para [105]).
With respect to dependent claim 17, Piippo teaches receiving, at the client device, an updated plurality of video items; and initiating a notification animation associated with the chip elements (see e.g., Para [104]).
Claim 18 is rejected for the similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
With respect to dependent claim 19, Piippo teaches wherein a size of the video items from the second subset of video items presented in or adjacent to the focus area is smaller than a size of video items of the first subset of video items presented in the first scrollable area (see e.g., Fig. 3A-3E Para [78][79]- “Content items 300 can also be replaced with icons if they are sufficiently distant. Each content item 300 can be displayed on a two-dimensional surface above the map 310 … Where a two-dimensional plan view is provided, content items 300 can be displayed at their map positions and can be sized, or replaced by icons, in dependence upon the scale of the map, e.g. the zoom level.”).
With respect to dependent claim 20, Piippo teaches the GUI elements presented in the preview are floatable elements each comprising an icon representing a corresponding video item, and wherein each floatable element transits along a path across a portion of the focus area from a starting position to an ending position (see e.g., Para [76][77] – “The map 310 can include graphical elements. These graphical elements can be representations of geographical features, e.g. roads … The first display region 210 can be for displaying content items 300 at or in the vicinity of the positions on the map 310 with which they are associated.”).
With respect to dependent claim 21, Piippo teaches the icon representing the corresponding video item is one of a video thumbnail, a creator avatar, or a channel icon, and wherein the floatable elements each transit at a variable speed (see e.g., Para [79]-[81] – When user interact with the display area, e.g., zoom in and out, the content element will transit at variable speed).
With respect to dependent claim 22, Piippo teaches the GUI elements presented in the preview are chip elements in a second scrollable area adjacent to the focus area, wherein each chip element comprises an icon representing a corresponding video item (see e.g., Fig. 4c-4d and para [102]-[105] – “an element 400 can be displayed whenever the selected content item 300' is not displayed in the second display region 220. The element 400 will be referred to hereinafter as a floating shortcut.”), and wherein the plurality of video items are ordered using a first order, wherein the chip elements are presented in the second scrollable area in a second order, and wherein the second order corresponds to the first order (see e.g., Para [105]).
Conclusion
/PEI YONG WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2141