DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2023-051150, filed on March 29th, 2023.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 25th, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"a moving mechanism configured to" in claim 1.
"a control unit configured to" in claim 1.
"a support unit configured to" in claim 4.
"a transport unit configured to" in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada et al., US 6201559 B1; Iwase, US 20120050449 A1; and Murakami, US 20140210905 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Wada et al. teaches:
A recording device (US 6201559 B1, Column 1, Lines 9 through 14, “The present invention relates to… an image forming apparatus which forms an image (electrostatic latent image) on a recording medium...").
A light reception element configured to receive the laser light from the laser element (US 6201559 B1, Columns 3 through 4, Lines 63 through 5, “"An image forming apparatus according to the present invention comprises:... a photosensor which receives the light emergent from the optical write head…").
A moving mechanism configured to change a relative position of the laser element and a recording target object and a relative position of the laser element and the light reception element (US 6201559 B1, Columns 3 through 4, Lines 63 through 5, "An image forming apparatus according to the present invention comprises:... transporting means which transports a recording medium in a subscanning direction on a focal position of light emergent from the optical write head; a photosensor which receives the light emergent from the optical write head; and moving means which moves the photosensor in the main scanning direction"; Column 12, Lines 1 through 7, "As shown in FIG. 11, the measuring unit 71 is located opposite the optical write head 20 and is capable of reciprocate in the main scanning direction X with forward/backward rotation of the driving guide shaft 76a. The measuring unit 71 is controlled by a control section 91 and a sequencer 92. The guide shaft 76a is driven by a reversible motor 93").
a first process of controlling the laser element and the moving mechanism to irradiate the light reception element with laser light in a state where the laser element and the light reception element face each other (US 6201559 B1, Column 12, Lines 26 through 31, “…but as mentioned, the measuring unit 71 retreats from the print sheet transport path at all times other than the time of the light-quantity measurement. During the light-quantity measurement, light emergent from the optical write head 20 is incident to the sensor 72…”; Figs. 2, 11, 12a, and 12b).
a second process of controlling the laser element and the moving mechanism to irradiate the recording target object with laser light based on a detection value of the light reception element in a state where the laser element and the recording target object face each other (US 6201559 B1, Column 19, Lines 1 through 3, "The print sheet 204 is exposed to lights emergent from the optical write heads 220, and thus, a latent image is formed thereon"; Column 2, Lines 26 through 31, "Furthermore, another object of the present invention is to provide an image forming apparatus which can measure the quantity of light outputted from each of a plurality of optical write heads employed therein with a simple mechanism and produce light-quantity correction data at real time so as to form quality images at all times").
Wada et al. does not disclose:
A laser element configured to emit laser light
However, Iwase discloses an optical device and an electrophotographic apparatus which uses a surface emitting laser as an exposure light source (US 20120050449 A1, Paragraph 0002, "The present invention relates to an optical device, to a surface-emitting laser having such an optical device and also to an electrophotographic apparatus having such a surface-emitting laser as an exposure light source").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the patent application to modify Wada et al. to include a laser element, particularly a surface emitting laser, as a surface emitting laser improves the resolution of the exposure by having a generally smaller focused spot of the laser beam, as taught by Iwase (US 20120050449 A1, Paragraph 0007, "When surface-emitting semiconductor lasers are used as exposure light sources for electrophotographic apparatus or optical memory devices, the laser beam emitted from the lasers is focused onto the surface of a photosensitive member through a condensing lens. Therefore, generally smaller focused spot of the laser beam improves the resolution of exposure").
Wada et al. further does not disclose:
A control unit configured to control the laser element and moving mechanism
However, Murakami discloses a controller including a CPU, ROM, RAM, and I/O, connected to all components of the printer, particularly the print head, the pickup motor, and the conveyance motor (US 20140210905 A1, Fig. 8, Items 100, 101, 102, 103, and 106; Paragraph 0036, "The controller 100 manages the overall operation of the printer 1 by controlling the operation of each part of the printer 1”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the patent application to modify Wada et al. to include the control unit as described by Murakami so as to allow command input to be transmitted electronically from an external apparatus, such as a PC, as well as to allow the device to coordinate the recording process based on sensor readings, as taught by Murakami (US 20140210905 A1, Paragraph 0036, "The controller 100 controls a recording operation based on a recording command input from an external apparatus (e.g., a PC connected to the printer 1)... The timing to eject the ink from the ejection openings is determined based on a detection signal sent from a sheet sensor 7").
Regarding claim 3, Wada et al. teaches the moving mechanism moving the recording target object and the light reception element to change the relative position of the laser element and the recording target object and the relative position of the laser element and the light reception element (US 6201559 B1, Column 7, Lines 15 through 19, "The light-quantity measuring device 70 and the optical 15 write head 20 are controlled by a sequencer so that the reciprocal movement of the measuring unit 71 can be timed to measurement of the quantity of light outputted from each light shutter element"; Column 11, Lines 33 through 35, “The print sheet 4 is guided into the image forming station 2 through the transport rollers 5 with its photosensitive side facing down”).
Regarding claim 4, Wada et al. teaches:
A support unit configured to support the recording target object (US 6201559 B1, Figure 10, Item 7; Column 12, Lines 19 through 22, "The pairs of transport rollers 6 and 7 are controlled by a pulse motor to rotate at a constant velocity, and thereby, the sub scanning speed is kept constant", wherein the support unit analogous to the present application would be the second pair of transport rollers, 7).
A transport unit configured to transport the recording target object to the support unit (US 6201559 B1, Figure 10, Item 6; Column 12, Lines 19 through 22, "The pairs of transport rollers 6 and 7 are controlled by a pulse motor to rotate at a constant velocity, and thereby, the sub scanning speed is kept constant", wherein the transport unit analogous to the present application would be the first pair of transport rollers, 6).
Regarding claim 5, Wada et al. teaches moving the light reception element in a second direction intersecting the first direction (US 6201559 B1, Columns 3 through 4, Lines 63 through 5, "An image forming apparatus according to the present invention comprises: ...moving means which moves the photosensor in the main scanning direction", wherein the main scanning direction intersects the conveyance direction).
Wada et al. does not disclose the moving mechanism moving the support unit in a first direction.
However, Murakami teaches moving an upstream support member in an upstream direction and downstream support member in a downstream direction (US 20140210905 A1, Paragraph 0047, "Specifically, as shown in FIG. 7, when the platen 51 moves from the opposing position to the retracting position, the upstream support member 61 moves toward the upstream direction whereas the downstream support member 71 moves toward the downstream direction"). Murakami does this so that an opposing member may be moved into the area between the upstream support member and downstream support member (US 20140210905 A1, Paragraph 0049, "...the opposing ends of the upstream support member 61 and the downstream support member 71 are spaced apart from each other, which allows the opposing member 10 to be positioned between the upstream support member 61 and the downstream support member 71 (see FIGS. 7 and 9) …").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify Wada et al. so as to include a means to move the support unit so as to make room for other printer components to move through the area, as taught above by Murakami.
Regarding claim 6, Wada et al. does not disclose controlling the moving mechanism to position the light reception element between the support unit and transport unit.
However, Murakami does teach positioning an "opposing member" (in this case a maintenance component for cleaning the print head) in between the support units in the path of conveyance (US 20140210905 A1, Paragraph 0049, "...the opposing ends of the upstream support member 61 and the downstream support member 71 are spaced apart from each other, which allows the opposing member 10 to be positioned between the upstream support member 61 and the downstream support member 71 (see FIGS. 7 and 9) ..."). Murakami does this so that the opposing member will directly face the print head (US 20140210905 A1, Paragraph 0049, "In this state, the ejection surface 2a does not oppose the platen 51 but directly opposes the opposing member 10 over the space").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify Wada et al. so as to control the moving mechanism to position the light reception element between the support unit and transport unit so that the light reception element may be positioned to directly oppose the laser element, as taught above by Murakami.
Regarding claim 7, Wada et al. does not teach that the first direction is a horizontal direction and that the second direction is a vertical direction.
However, Murakami does teach that the first direction is a horizontal direction and the second direction is a vertical direction (US 20140210905 A1, Paragraph 0047, "Specifically, as shown in FIG. 7, when the platen 51 moves from the opposing position to the retracting position, the upstream support member 61 moves toward the upstream direction whereas the downstream support member 71 moves toward the downstream direction"; Paragraph 0033, “The opposing member elevation mechanism 11 is configured to vertically move the opposing member 10”). Murakami does this so that the opposing member will be allowed to directly face the print head (US 20140210905 A1, Paragraph 0049 "...the opposing ends of the upstream support member 61 and the downstream support member 71 are spaced apart from each other, which allows the opposing member 10 to be positioned between the upstream support member 61 and the downstream support member 71 (see FIGS. 7 and 9) ... In this state, the ejection surface 2a does not oppose the platen 51 but directly opposes the opposing member 10 over the space. The opposing member 10 is vertically movable").
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify Wada et al. to move the support unit in a horizontal direction and the light reception element in a vertical direction so as to allow the support unit to move from the path of the light reception element, allowing the light reception element to oppose the laser element, as taught above by Murakami.
Regarding claim 8, Wada et al. does not disclose that the laser element is a surface emitting laser.
However, Iwase does teach the use of a surface emitting laser (US 20120050449 A1, Paragraph 0002, "The present invention relates to an optical device, to a surface-emitting laser having such an optical device and also to an electrophotographic apparatus having such a surface-emitting laser as an exposure light source"). Iwase does this as a surface emitting laser has a lower divergence angle and is able to more easily achieve single mode operations and form two-dimensional laser arrays (US 20120050449 A1, Paragraph 0005, "A surface-emitting laser can achieve single mode operations with ease and the divergence-angle of the laser beam emitted from such a laser is narrow compared with an edge-emitting laser. Also, a two-dimensional laser array can be formed with ease by using surface-emitting lasers").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify Wada et al. to use a surface emitting laser, as taught above by Iwase.
Regarding claim 9, Wada et al. does not teach that the laser element is a photonic crystal surface emitting laser.
However, Iwase does teach the use of a photonic crystal emitting laser (US 20120050449 A1, Paragraph 0134, "The surface-emitting laser of this example is configured as a photonic crystal surface-emitting laser device..."). Iwase does this as photonic crystal surface emitting laser can reduce the diameter of the focused spot (US 20120050449 A1, Paragraph 0008, "Japanese Patent Application Laid-Open No. 2007- 258260 describes a photonic crystal surface-emitting laser that can emit a laser beam having an annular cross section and polarization in a radial direction so as to reduce the diameter of the focused spot").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify Wada et al. to use a photonic crystal surface emitting laser aa taught above by Iwase.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada et al., US 6201559 B1; Iwase, US 20120050449 A1; and Murakami, US 20140210905 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cook et al., US 6154238 A.
Regarding claim 2, modified Wada et al. does not disclose moving the laser element to change the relative position of the laser element and the recording target object and the relative position of the laser element and the light reception element.
However, Cook et al. teaches a scanning print head which physically moves along a guide rail in the scanning direction over the medium (US 6154238 A, Fig. 14; Column 14, Lines 45 through 49, “Alternatively, as illustrated in FIG. 14, one or more chips may be coupled to a scanning device, such as a swathing print carriage similar to those known in the art, to form a print head 36S that scans across the print medium 152 to create the desired image”). Cook et al. does this as a scanning print head is more cost effective. A scanning print head uses fewer voltage drivers, making it cheaper to produce. Furthermore, the print head may be made disposable as the driver circuitry could be contained elsewhere on the printer (US 6154238 A, Column 14, Lines 53 through 64, "...the scanning print head 36S has many fewer channels and, thus, uses many fewer high voltage drivers, the scanning print head 36S is much less expensive than a comparable page wide print head 36P. Second, instead of "splicing" several chips, which are 1 to 5 centimeters in width, together to form a page wide print head 36P, a single chip may be used to form the scanning print head 36S. Third, because the relatively expensive driver circuitry may be contained elsewhere in the printer, the scanning print head 36S may be disposable, although it may be configured to be refillable in order to minimize the printing cost per page").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify Wada et al. to include a scanning laser print head, which relatively changes the position of the laser element and the light reception element, as taught above by Cook.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of co-pending Application No. 18/239,385 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because though the claim of the reference application includes a stage which is not present in the claim of the current application, a stage is described in the specification of the current application for the purpose of placing and moving a recording target object made of a potentially rigid material such as metal or resin (Paragraphs 0081 and 0082, “The recording target object 2 is provided on the stage 60. For example, the material of the recording target object 2 is metal or a resin… As illustrated in FIG. 17 and FIG. 18, in the recording device 300, the moving mechanism 30 may move the stage 60...”).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Current Application 18/616,088
Co-pending Application 18/239,385
1. A recording device comprising:
a laser element configured to emit laser light;
a light reception element configured to receive the laser light from the laser element;
a moving mechanism configured to change a relative position of the laser element and a recording target object and a relative position of the laser element and the light reception element; and
a control unit configured to control the laser element and the moving mechanism, wherein
the control unit is configured to perform:
a first process of controlling the laser element and the moving mechanism to irradiate the light reception element with laser light in a state where the laser element and the light reception element face each other; and
a second process of controlling the laser element and the moving mechanism to irradiate the recording target object with laser light based on a detection value of the light reception element in a state where the laser element and the recording target object face each other.
1. A laser processing apparatus comprising:
a stage on which a workpiece is placed;
a laser element configured to emit laser light;
a light receiving element configured to receive the laser light from the laser element;
a moving mechanism configured to change a relative position of the laser element and the stage and a relative position of the laser element and the light receiving element; and
a control unit configured to control the laser element and the moving mechanism, wherein
the control unit performs
a first process of controlling the laser element and the moving mechanism to irradiate the light receiving element with laser light in a state where the laser element and the light receiving element face each other, and
a second process of controlling the laser element and the moving mechanism to irradiate the workpiece with laser light based on a detection value of the light receiving element in a state where the laser element and the workpiece face each other.
/RAMI A ALSHOROOGI//R.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853