DETAILED ACTION
Claims 15-27 are pending, and claim 15 is currently under review.
Claims 1-14 are cancelled.
Claims 16-27 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claim 15, in the reply filed on 7/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/07/2026.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 7/07/2026 has been entered. Claims 15-27 remain(s) pending in the application.
Claim Interpretation
The term “ultra-high strength” is interpreted to merely refer to a tensile strength of at least 2000 MPa as further recited in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 15 recites “main” alloying elements, which is indefinite because it is unclear as to what further meaning/structure, if any, is required by the term “main”. It is unclear whether “main” requires some further consideration of structure or alloying, or whether “main” merely means that the alloying element is not an impurity, or something entirely different. The examiner interprets the aforementioned term to merely refer to the claimed alloying element ranges rather than requiring any particular further structure or considerations.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 15 recites “restricted” impurity elements, which is indefinite because it is unclear as to what further meaning/structure, if any, is required by the term “restricted”. It is unclear whether “restricted” requires some further consideration of structure or alloying, and accordingly it is further unclear whether non-impurity elements can therefore be unrestricted and what claim scope this entails. The examiner interprets the aforementioned term to merely refer to the claimed impurity element ranges rather than requiring any particular further structure or considerations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraishi et al. (JPH0790496, machine translation referred to herein) alone; or alternatively further in view of Kodym et al. (1985, Trace elements in steel – ways to influence melting operations), Mustafa et al. (2021, Effect of lead and zinc impurities in ironmaking and the corresponding removal methods: a review), and Tervo et al. (2017, Effect of impurity level and inclusions on the ductility and toughness of an ultra-high strength steel).
Regarding claim 15, Hiraishi et al. discloses a steel composition as seen in table 1 below [0015-0016]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the steel composition of Hiraishi et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). The examiner interprets the omission of specific elements in the disclosure of Hiraishi et al. to mean that these elements are not included or merely included in typical impurity amounts that would still overlap with the claimed ranges as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill.
Hiraishi et al. does not expressly teach that the steel is a spring steel. However, the examiner notes that this is merely an instance of intended use of the claimed steel, which is not considered to impart any further structure to the claims because the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. See MPEP 2111.02. Accordingly, the steel of Hiraishi et al. would be entirely capable of being utilized for springs as recognized by one of ordinary skill.
Hiraishi et al. does not expressly teach a tensile strength of at least 2000 MPa as claimed. However, one of ordinary skill would understand that steel properties such as tensile strength are directly influenced by steel composition and microstructure. Hiraishi et al. discloses an overlapping steel composition as shown below. Hiraishi et al. further teaches a similar microstructure of cemented carbides [0021-0022] which is substantially identical to the sorbite (ie. dispersed carbides) microstructure of the instant application [0036 instant specification]. Therefore, similar overlapping values of tensile strength would have naturally flowed from the disclosure of Hiraishi et al. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I). The examiner’s position is further bolstered by the overlapping hardness values obtained by Hiraishi et al. of at least 300 HV relative to those achieved by the instant specification (350 HB or less) [0034 instant specification].
Alternatively, Hiraishi et al. does not expressly teach limiting the claimed impurity element ranges as claimed. However, Kodym et al., Mustafa et al., and Tervo et al. teach controlling impurity amounts as shown in table 1 below to avoid damaging effects of impurities [p.1, fig.5.4 Kodym]; to avoid harmful amounts of Zn [p.2 Mustafa]; and to avoid detrimental effects on mechanical properties [abstract Tervo]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the steel of Hiraishi et al. to control impurity elements for the aforementioned benefits disclosed by the prior art. The examiner notes that the ranges of the prior art overlap with and fall within those as claimed. See MEPP 2144.05(I).
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 15 (wt.%)
Hiraishi et al. (wt.%)
C
0.45 – 0.6
0.1 – 1.2
Si
0.15 – 0.35
0 – 1
Mn
6 – 12
10 – 25
Al
1 – 3
0 – 1
Cr
0.3 – 0.5
0 – 15
Mo
0.1 – 0.25
0 – 3
V
0.1 – 0.5
0.1 – 4
Nb
0.025 – 0.04
0 – 3
N
0.005 – 0.015
0 – 0.3
Pb
0 – 0.03
n/a
up to 0.002 (Kodym)
Sn
0 – 0.03
n/a
up to 0.008 (Kodym)
Zn
0 – 0.03
n/a
0.00015 (Mustafa)
Sb
0 – 0.03
n/a
up to 0.002 (Kodym)
Bi
0 – 0.03
n/a
up to 0.0005 (Kodym)
O
0 – 0.0015
n/a
0.0008 (Tervo)
H
0 – 0.0015
n/a
up to 0.0003 (Kodym)
S
0 – 0.02
0 – 0.005
P
0 – 0.02
0 – 0.01
Cu
0 – 0.02
n/a
up to 0.08 (Kodym)
Ni
0 – 0.35
0 – 5
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehrhardt et al. (US 2016/0017469) alone; or alternatively further in view of Kodym et al. (1985, Trace elements in steel – ways to influence melting operations), Mustafa et al. (2021, Effect of lead and zinc impurities in ironmaking and the corresponding removal methods: a review), and Tervo et al. (2017, Effect of impurity level and inclusions on the ductility and toughness of an ultra-high strength steel).
Regarding claim 15, Ehrhardt et al. discloses a steel composition as seen in table 2 below [0008-0010]. Ehrhardt et al. further discloses a tensile strength of 1400 to 2400 MPa [0009]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the steel composition and tensile strength of Ehrhardt et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). The examiner interprets the omission of specific elements in the disclosure of Ehrhardt et al. to mean that these elements are not included or merely included in typical impurity amounts that would still overlap with the claimed ranges as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill.
Ehrhardt et al. does not expressly teach that the steel is a spring steel. However, the examiner notes that this is merely an instance of intended use of the claimed steel, which is not considered to impart any further structure to the claims because the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. See MPEP 2111.02. Accordingly, the steel of Ehrhardt et al. would be entirely capable of being utilized for springs as recognized by one of ordinary skill.
Alternatively, Ehrhardt et al. does not expressly teach limiting the claimed impurity element ranges as claimed. However, Kodym et al., Mustafa et al., and Tervo et al. teach controlling impurity amounts as shown in table 1 below to avoid damaging effects of impurities [p.1, fig.5.4 Kodym]; to avoid harmful amounts of Zn [p.2 Mustafa]; and to avoid detrimental effects on mechanical properties [abstract Tervo]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the steel of Ehrhardt et al. to control impurity elements for the aforementioned benefits disclosed by the prior art. The examiner notes that the ranges of the prior art overlap with and fall within those as claimed. See MEPP 2144.05(I).
Table 2.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 15 (wt.%)
Ehrhardt et al. (wt.%)
C
0.45 – 0.6
0.3 – 0.85
Si
0.15 – 0.35
Si+Al: 1 – 4
Mn
6 – 12
1 – 6
Al
1 – 3
Si+Al: 1 – 4
Cr
0.3 – 0.5
0 – 1
Mo
0.1 – 0.25
0 – 0.5
V
0.1 – 0.5
0 – 0.2
Nb
0.025 – 0.04
0 – 0.1
N
0.005 – 0.015
0 – 0.015
Pb
0 – 0.03
n/a
up to 0.002 (Kodym)
Sn
0 – 0.03
n/a
up to 0.008 (Kodym)
Zn
0 – 0.03
n/a
0.00015 (Mustafa)
Sb
0 – 0.03
n/a
up to 0.002 (Kodym)
Bi
0 – 0.03
n/a
up to 0.0005 (Kodym)
O
0 – 0.0015
n/a
0.0008 (Tervo)
H
0 – 0.0015
n/a
up to 0.0003 (Kodym)
S
0 – 0.02
n/a
up to 0.015 (Kodym)
P
0 – 0.02
n/a
up to 0.015 (Kodym)
Cu
0 – 0.02
0 – 1
Ni
0 – 0.35
0 – 2
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734