DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 02 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02 January 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10 April 2024, 23 September 2024, 07 November 2024, 23 April 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (US 2017/0348968 – hereinafter Anderson.)
Regarding claim 1,
Anderson discloses an integrated circuit for a fluid ejection device, the integrated circuit comprising:
a data interface [‘Serial Column Data’ in fig. 6; paragraphs 0066-0069];
an output interface [108 / 110 in figs. 1a and 1c; paragraphs 0032-0039 and 0041]; and
a shift register [107a-107n in figs. 1a and 6] to shift nozzle data into the integrated circuit through the data interface and shift the nozzle data out of the integrated circuit through the output interface [paragraphs 0032-0039 and 0066-0069.]
Regarding claim 2,
Anderson further discloses the integrated circuit further comprising:
a configuration register storing data to enable or disable the shifting of the nozzle data out of the integrated circuit through the output interface [paragraphs 0067-0068; necessary for enabling the test mode by the DBD circuit module 104.]
Regarding claim 3,
Anderson further discloses the integrated circuit further comprising:
a fire interface [600 in fig. 6]; and
a delay circuit [109a-109n in fig. 6] to receive a fire signal through the fire interface and output a delayed fire signal through the output interface [paragraphs 0066-0069.]
Regarding claim 4,
Anderson further discloses the integrated circuit further comprising:
a configuration register [115 in fig. 6] storing data to enable or disable the output of the delayed fire signal through the output interface [paragraphs 0032, 0041, 0066, and 0068.]
Regarding claim 5,
Anderson further discloses the integrated circuit further comprising:
an analog circuit [106 in fig. 1a] to output an analog signal to the output interface [paragraphs 0032-0033 and 0041]; and
control logic to activate the analog circuit or the shift register to shift the nozzle data out of the integrated circuit through the output interface [paragraphs 0032-0033 and 0041.]
Regarding claim 5,
Anderson further discloses wherein the data interface comprises a single contact pad, a single pin, a single bump, or a single wire [implicit from fig. 6 that each primitive will have its own single wiring.]
Regarding claim 7,
Anderson further discloses wherein the output interface comprises a single contact pad, a single pin, a single bump, or a single wire [well-known and implicit from figs. 1a and 1c that the test results will be output by a single wiring.]
Communication with the USPTO
/JANNELLE M LEBRON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853