DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Morton (US 2014/0292856.)
Regarding claim 1,
Morton discloses an integrated circuit [251 in figs. 2 and 5] for a fluid ejection device [250 in fig. 2; paragraph 0025], the integrated circuit comprising:
a data interface [‘Data’ in figs. 5-6];
an output interface [274 / 276 in fig. 6]; and
a shift register [272 in figs. 5-6] to shift nozzle data into the integrated circuit through the data interface and shift the nozzle data out of the integrated circuit through the output interface [paragraph 0032.]
Regarding claim 2,
Morton further discloses the integrated circuit further comprising:
a configuration register [‘Clock’ in figs. 5-6] storing data to enable or disable the shifting of the nozzle data out of the integrated circuit through the output interface [paragraph 0032.]
Regarding claim 6,
Morton further discloses wherein the data interface comprises a single contact pad, a single pin, a single bump, or a single wire [as seen in figs. 5-6.]
Regarding claim 7,
Morton further discloses wherein the output interface comprises a single contact pad, a single pin, a single bump, or a single wire [as seen in figs. 5-6.]
Regarding claim 21,
Morton further discloses wherein the nozzle data shifted out of the integrated circuit through the output interface is the same nozzle data shifted into the integrated circuit through the data interface [paragraph 0032.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morton in view of Anderson et al. (US 2017/0348968.)
Regarding claim 3,
Morton discloses the claimed limitations as set forth above and further discloses the integrated circuit further comprising: a fire interface [‘Fire’ / 285 in figs. 5-6], but fails to expressly teach a delay circuit to receive a fire signal through the fire interface and output a delayed fire signal through the output interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Anderson discloses an integrated circuit for a fluid ejection device, the integrated circuit comprising:
a data interface ['Serial Column Data' in fig. 6; paragraphs 0066-0069];
an output interface [108 / 110 in figs. 1a and 1c; paragraphs 0032-0041];
a shift register [107a-107n in figs. 1a and 6; paragraphs 0032-0039, 0066-0069];
a fire interface [600 in fig. 6]; and
a delay circuit [109a-109n in fig. 6] to receive a fire signal through the fire interface and output a delayed fire signal through the output interface [paragraphs 0066-0069.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Morton invention to include means for receiving a fire signal through a fire interface and output a delayed fire signal through an output interface as taught by Anderson for the purpose of achieving precise droplet placement and volume at high speeds during the printing operation.
Regarding claim 4,
In the obvious combination, Anderson discloses the integrated circuit further comprising:
a configuration register [115 in fig. 6] storing data to enable or disable the output of the delayed fire signal through the output interface [paragraphs 0021, 0041, 0066, and 0068.]
Regarding claim 5,
In the obvious combination, Anderson discloses the integrated circuit further comprising:
an analog circuit [106 in fig. 1a] to output an analog signal to the output interface [paragraphs 0032-0033 and 0041]; and
control logic to activate the analog circuit or the shift register to shift the nozzle data out of the integrated circuit through the output interface [para 0032-0033, and 0041.]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Akune (US 2016/0009080) discloses an integrated circuit comprising: a data interface [terminal for regDATA in fig. 5]; an output interface [terminal for regOUT in fig. 5]; a shift register [41 in fig. 5; paragraph 0160.]
Communication with the USPTO
/JANNELLE M LEBRON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853