DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment’s reply filed on 06/24/2026 has been entered. Claims 1–20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nagano et al. (US 2025/0119979 A1, hereinafter “Nagano”).
Regarding claim 1:
Nagano discloses a method by a terminal (e.g., Fig. 1, 10), the method comprising:
receiving, by the terminal from a base station (e.g., Fig. 1, 20), a first radio resource control (RRC) message, wherein the first RRC message comprises a set of parameters for Medium Access Control (MAC) Cell group configuration (e.g., [0134]-[0136], DRX parameters) and wherein the set of parameters for MAC Cell group configuration comprises: a first set of discontinuous reception (DRX) parameters for a primary DRX group; and a second set of DRX parameters for a secondary DRX group (e.g., [0134]-[0136], DRX parameters for each of the cell groups (DRX groups), e.g., a master cell group and a secondary cell group); determining, by the terminal, a first subframe (e.g., [0150], [0154]); and starting, by the terminal and based on the first subframe, a first timer of the primary DRX group (e.g., [0137]-[0138], on-duration timer for one of the cell groups, e.g., a master cell group),
wherein the terminal monitors physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the primary DRX group while the first timer of the primary DRX group is running (e.g., [0132], [0168]),
wherein the first subframe is determined, in case that a parameter indicating a non-integer DRX cycle is not present in a third set of DRX parameters (e.g., [0005], terminal does not receive information indicating DRX cycle is not an integer, [0176], condition H1 not met): based on a first counter (e.g., [0145], [0150], on duration based on SFN and a subframe number, “SFN” is a counter); and not based on a second counter (e.g., [0172], “n”), and
wherein the first subframe is determined, in case that the parameter indicating the non-integer DRX cycle is present in the third set of DRX parameters (e.g., [0005], terminal receives information indicating DRX cycle is not an integer, [0178], configuration indicating a non-integer DRX cycle): based on the first counter; and based on the second counter (e.g., [0157]-[0161], additional correction applied to SFN, [0172], “n” is a counter, [0187], “H-SFN” is also a counter that counts the cycle of the SFN).
Regarding claim 2:
Nagano further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first set of DRX parameters comprises: a parameter indicating a length of the first timer of the primary DRX group (e.g., [0137],-on-duration timer); a parameter indicating a length of a second timer of the primary DRX group (e.g., [0137], inactivity timer); and a parameter indicating an integer DRX cycle (e.g., [0137], DRX cycle (can be integer or non-integer as discussed above)).
Regarding claim 3:
Nagano further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second set of DRX parameters comprises: a parameter indicating a length of the first timer of the secondary DRX group (e.g., [0137],-on-duration timer); and a parameter indicating a length of a second timer of the secondary DRX group (e.g., [0137], inactivity timer).
Regarding claim 4:
Nagano further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the parameter indicating the non-integer DRX cycle is applied to the primary DRX group and the secondary DRX group (e.g., [0137], configuration for a DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 5:
Nagano further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the terminal starts a second timer of the primary DRX group in case that: PDCCH indicating new transmission is received on a serving cell of the primary DRX group; and the first timer of the primary DRX group is running (e.g., [0132], [0139], [0144], inactivity timer).
Regarding claim 6:
Nagano further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the terminal monitors PDCCH for the primary DRX group while a second timer of the primary DRX group is running (e.g., [0132], [0139], [0144], inactivity timer).
Regarding claim 7:
Nagano further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the terminal, a second subframe (e.g., [0150], [0154]); and starting, by the terminal and based on the second subframe, the first timer of the secondary DRX group (e.g., [0137]-[0138], on-duration timer for one of the cell groups, e.g., a secondary cell group).
Regarding claim 8:
Nagano further discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the second subframe is determined based on the first counter and the second counter in case that the parameter indicating the non-integer DRX cycle is present in the set of parameters for MAC Cell group configuration (e.g., [0005], terminal receives information indicating DRX cycle is not an integer, [0178], configuration indicating a non-integer DRX cycle, [0157]-[0161], additional correction applied to SFN, [0172] and [0187]).
Regarding claim 9:
Nagano further discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the second subframe is determined based on the first counter and not based on the second counter in case that the parameter indicating the non-integer DRX cycle is not present in the set of parameters for MAC Cell group configuration (e.g., [0005], terminal does not receive information indicating DRX cycle is not an integer, [0176], condition H1 not met, [0145], [0150], on duration based on SFN and a subframe number).
Regarding claim 10:
Nagano further discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the terminal starts a second timer of the secondary DRX group in case that: PDCCH indicating new transmission is received on a serving cell of the secondary DRX group; and the first timer of the secondary DRX group is running (e.g., [0132], [0139], [0144], inactivity timer).
Regarding claim 11:
Nagano further discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the terminal monitors PDCCH of the secondary DRX group while the second timer of secondary DRX group is running. (e.g., [0132], [0139], [0144]).
Regarding claim 12:
Nagano further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first counter increments by one every radio frame (e.g., [0098], “SFN”)
Regarding claim 13:
Nagano further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second counter increments by one every 1024 radio frames (e.g., [0099], “H-SFN”, [0172], “n”).
Regarding claim 14:
Nagano further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first counter is initialized based on a system frame number (SFN) indicated in system information (e.g., [0098]).
Regarding claim 15:
Nagano further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second counter is initialized based on a specific integer that is determined based on a parameter comprised in the first RRC message (e.g., [0099], [0100], [0190]).
Regarding claim 20:
Nagano discloses a terminal (e.g., Fig. 4, 10) comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 4, 104), a memory (Fig. 4, 102), and a controller (Fig. 4, 101) coupled to the transceiver and the memory, wherein the controller is configured to cause the terminal to: receive, from a base station, a first radio resource control (RRC) message, wherein the first RRC message comprises a set of parameters for Medium Access Control (MAC) Cell group configuration, and wherein the set of parameters for MAC Cell group configuration comprises: a first set of discontinuous reception (DRX) parameters for a primary DRX group; and a second set of DRX parameters for a secondary DRX group; determine a first subframe; and start, based on the first subframe, a first timer of the primary DRX group, wherein the terminal monitors physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the primary DRX group while the first timer of the primary DRX group is running, wherein the first subframe is determined, in case that a parameter indicating a non-integer DRX cycle is not present in a third set of DRX parameters: based on a first counter; and not based on a second counter, and wherein the first subframe is determined, in case that the parameter indicating the non-integer DRX cycle is present in the third set of DRX parameters: based on the first counter; and based on the second counter (see rejection of claim 1.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano in view of Tsai et al. (US 2025/0203707 A1, hereinafter “Tsai”).
Regarding claim 16:
Nagano further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, by the terminal to the base station, an RRC message for capability reporting (e.g., [0120]).
Nagano is silent regarding the RRC message for capability reporting comprises a parameter indicating that the terminal supports determining the subframe to start the first timer based on the non-integer DRX cycle.
Tsai teaches a terminal transmits capability information indicating that the terminal supports determining a subframe to start first timer based on a non-integer DRX cycle (e.g., [0098]-[0100]).
It would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Nagano based on the teaching from Tsai to include the feature the RRC message for capability reporting comprises a parameter indicating that the terminal supports determining the subframe to start the first timer based on the non-integer DRX cycle, in order to enable UE specific DRX preference for network service optimization.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano in view of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki et al. (US 2025/0176067 A1, hereinafter “Khoshkholgh”).
Regarding claim 17:
Nagano discloses determining, by the terminal, the first subframe (e.g., [0150], [0154]); and starting, by the terminal and based on the first subframe, the first timer of the primary DRX group (e.g., [0137], [0138], see rejection of claim 1).
Nagano is silent regarding receiving, by the terminal from the base station, a second RRC message, wherein the second RRC message instructs handover from a first cell to a second cell; and receiving, by the terminal from the base station, system information in the second cell.
Khoshkholgh teaches receiving, by a terminal from a base station, a RRC message, wherein the RRC message instructs handover from a first cell to a second cell (e.g., [0107], [0174]); and receiving, by the terminal from the base station, system information in the second cell (e.g., [0083], [0147], [0174], [0187], [0283], [0284], [0288]).
It would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Nagano based on the teaching from Khoshkholgh to include the features receiving, by the terminal from the base station, a second RRC message, wherein the second RRC message instructs handover from a first cell to a second cell, and receiving, by the terminal from the base station, system information in the second cell, in order to improve UE performance when a UE experiences poor signal quality with a serving cell.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano in view of Khoshkholgh, and further in view of He et al. (US 2021/0360731 A1, hereinafter “He”).
Regarding claim 18:
Nagano discloses wherein the first subframe is determined based on the first counter and the second counter in case that: the first RRC message comprises the first set of DRX parameters; and the parameter indicating the non-integer DRX cycle (e.g., [0005], [0134]-[0136], [0157]-[0161], [0172], [0187], see rejection of claim 1 for similar features).
Nagano is silent regarding the second RRC message comprises the parameter indicating the non-integer DRX cycle. Khoshkholgh discloses a second RRC message but is also silent regarding the second RRC message comprises the parameter indicating the non-integer DRX cycle.
He teaches a second RRC message that comprises a parameter indicating non-integer DRX cycle (e.g., [0073], [0076]-[0078], Fig. 7, 716).
It would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Nagano and Khoshkholgh based on the teaching from He to include the feature that the second RRC message comprises the parameter indicating the non-integer DRX cycle, in order to enable DRX for a terminal after a handover to a new serving cell.
Regarding claim 19:
Nagano discloses wherein the first subframe is determined based on the first counter and not based on the second counter in case that: the first RRC message comprises the first set of DRX parameters, and the DRX parameters do not comprise the parameter indicating the non-integer DRX cycle (e.g., [0005], [0145], [0150], [0172], [0176], see rejection of claim 1 for similar features),
Nagano is silent regarding the second RRC message does not comprise the parameter indicating the non-integer DRX cycle. Khoshkholgh discloses a second RRC message but is also silent regarding the second RRC message does not comprise the parameter indicating the non-integer DRX cycle.
He teaches a second RRC message does not comprise a parameter indicating non-integer DRX cycle (e.g., [0073], [0076]-[0078], Fig. 7, 716).
It would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Nagano and Khoshkholgh based on the teaching from He to include the feature that the second RRC message does not comprise the parameter indicating the non-integer DRX cycle, in order to enable DRX for a terminal after a handover to a new serving cell.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Nagano
First, Applicant argues Nagano does not disclose the primary/second DRX group structure of claim 1. (See Remarks, pages 1-2.) Applicant argues Nagano’s DRX parameters configured for a cell group which may include a master cell group and/or a secondary cell group is not “the configuration of two distinct DRX groups (primary and secondary) within a single MAC-CellGroupConfig, as required by Claim 1.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s arguments are moot because Applicant appears to rely on features that are not recited in the rejected claim. Claim 1 merely recites “the set of parameters for MAC Cell group configuration comprises: a first set of discontinuous reception (DRX) parameters for a primary DRX group; and a second set of DRX parameters for a secondary DRX group.” [0134] of Nagano describes “the base station apparatus 20 may configure the cell group including one or a plurality of serving cells, and configure the part or all of the DRX parameters for the configured cell group … the cell group may be a cell group for configuring MAC parameters. The cell group may be referred to as a master cell group and/or a secondary cell group.” Accordingly, Nagano teaches the configuration for the primary/secondary DRX group as claimed.
Second, Applicant argues Nagano does not disclose the “third set of DRX parameters” limitation of claim 1. (See Remarks, page 2.) Applicant argues “The "information" referred to in Nagano is a standalone indication parameter - not a parameter within a defined "third set of DRX parameters" for a primary DRX group, as required by Claim 1. The structural relationship between the non-integer DRX cycle parameter and the primary DRX group parameter set is absent from Nagano.” Again, Applicant appears to rely on features not recited in the rejected claim. Claim 1 does not specifically recite any relationship between the third set of DRX parameter and the primary DRX group.
Third, Applicant argues Nagano does not disclose the counter-based subframe determination of claim 1. (See Remarks, pages 2-3.) Applicant states “First, the second counter of Claim 1 is an independently maintained UE variable that is explicitly initialized based on a parameter comprised in the first RRC message (see, e.g., the BigFrameNumber field described in the specification at paragraphs [0136]-[0138])”, “Second, and more fundamentally, Claim 1 requires that the second counter be used as a direct operand in determining the first subframe-specifically, the subframe at which drx- onDurationTimer is started”, “Third, Claim 1's second counter is defined by its behavior per Claims 12-15 as a structurally independent counter with its own increment rate (once every 1024 radio frames, per Claim 13) and its own initialization mechanism (based on a parameter in the first RRC message, per Claim 15).” Again, Applicant’s arguments are moot because Applicant is relying on features that are not recited the rejected claim.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Nagano in view of Tsai, Khoshkholgh, and/or He
The same arguments discussed above apply.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BO HUI A ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465