DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bobel et al. (US 2023/0299404).
Regarding claim 1, Bobel discloses a battery cell pack comprising:
a battery cell stack including a plurality of the battery cells 10;
a pair of end plates 22; and
a plurality of deformable separators 50 (cushioning member) (Figs. 1-3).
The cushioning member includes barrier layers 40 (pair of first elastic members); each barrier layer 40 may include a planar sheet or envelope 42 with an outer layer 44 that is in contact with one of the battery cells 10 ;each planar sheet 42 may be fabricated from a non-porous material, of, polyurethane, and has an elasticity that permits flexure in response to expansive or compressive forces (para 0044) and a bi-wave wave spring 420 or tri-wave spring 430 (second elastic member) (Fig. 4A-4C). The first elastic members being disposed on both outer sides of the second elastic member in the stacking direction of the battery cell stack, the second elastic member includes corrugated leaf springs that are stacked in the stacking direction of the battery cell stack, wherein each of the corrugated leaf springs has recesses and protrusions that alternate and are continuous with each other and extend in a predetermined direction, and the recesses and the protrusions of adjacent ones of the corrugated leaf springs face and are in contact with each other (Fig. 4A-4C). Annotated Fig. 2 and Figs 3 and 4A-4C to Bobel are provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bobel et al. (US 2023/0299404).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Bobel does not expressly teach the recesses and protrusions facing each and in contact with each other are bonded to each other.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the wave spring would need to be bonded because when compressed, two wave springs could slide past one another. The point of a bi-wave wave spring or tri-wave spring is to have a cumulative effect which could be lost if not bonded at the recesses and protrusions facing each other.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bobel et al. (US 2023/0299404) in view of Nakayama et al. (US 2022/0320665).
Regarding claim 4, Bobel teaches the plurality of battery cells being planar flexible pouch battery cells (para 0019).
Bobel does not teach solid state battery cells.
Nakayama, directed to a power storage device, teaches a comparable design including corrugated plate 530 applied to a solid-state battery (para 0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that different battery-types may be used in a comparable system and could be substituted in each case.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of copending Application No. 19/064,738 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a battery module including a battery cell stack, a pair of end plates, and a cushioning material including a corrugated plate/leaf spring and outer elastic/soft resin.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Brusa (EP 2 495 786), directed to a stackable holder for a rechargeable battery, teaches two corrugated-metal-shaped portions 15 and 16 (Fig. 12). Kunze et al. (DE 10 2021 103 629), directed to a battery module, teaches an expansion compensation element 10 and that battery cells liquid or solid electrolytes (solid battery) are known (para 0003).
/CARLOS BARCENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723