DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claims filed on March 26, 2024 for the application filed March 26, 2024. Claims 1-22 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a feature extraction module configured to collect and process…” and “a model building and optimization module configured to build a machine learning model…” in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The corresponding structure of “a feature extraction module configured to collect and process” is determined to be the algorithms disclosed in paragraphs [0046] and [0054] and their equivalents. The corresponding structure of the “a model building and optimization module configured to build a machine learning model” is determined to be the algorithms disclosed in paragraphs [0044] and [0049] and their equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (Development and validation of an insulin resistance model for a population without diabetes mellitus and its clinical implication: a prospective cohort study) in view of Du (CN 113936803 A). Citations for Du are in reference to the EPO translation of CN 113936803 A.
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses
a database configured to provide a data set (Page 8, Discussion, a combined database of the NHANES and MJ databases. Also see page 23, Figure 1 and page 29, Figure 3.);
comprises age, gender, race, and body mass index of the subject (Page 4, Model building process, We randomly selected 55% of the patient population as the training group for model building, 15% as the in ternal validation group for hyperparameter optimization and independent 30% for the test group. We used the Synthetic Minority Over sampling Technique (SMOTE) preprocessing algorithm for sample-balance between the target and non-target populations in training group. The features used to predict IR (HOMA-IR >2.5) were easily accessible variables, such as BMI, FPG, HbA1c, total cholesterol, HDL, triglyceride, race, age, and gender. Page 9, Statistical analysis, For unweighted data in the NHANES, MJ, and TWB databases, continuous variables were reported as means ± standard deviation (SD) and categorical data as numbers (percentages). Also see page 6 Table 1, page 23 Figure 1 and page 29 Figure 3.); and
Page 4, Model building process, The features used to predict IR (HOMA-IR >2.5) were easily accessible variables, such as BMI, FPG, HbA1c, total cholesterol, HDL, triglyceride, race, age, and gender. First, a deep neural network (DNN) was used to estimate the first chosen method. Other traditional methods of machine learning algorithm, such as random forest (RF), eXtreme Gradient Boosting (XGboost), and logistic regression algorithms were also used. Their accuracies were then compared with the logistic regression model. After completing the model training, another group was applied for testing. In the training group, curves of ROC (receiver operating characteristic) from different algorithms were compared. Both the ROC curve and AUC (area under curve) were used to compare classification performances of different classifiers. The targeted value of AUC (>0.80) suggested that the model was adequate for predicting IR.).
Tsai does not appear to explicitly disclose predicting the pancreatic β-cell function of the subject or a system having modules for the feature extraction and model building and optimization.
Du teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical diagnosis at the time of the filing to provide a system with modules for feature extraction and model building and optimization to predict pancreatic β-cell function of a subject (Du, page 3, an acquisition module, configured to acquire a plurality of sample data, in which test indicators corresponding to insulin resistance are recorded; a building module for constructing an evaluation model, the evaluation model includes a first initial model and a second initial model, and there are multiple first initial models; a first training module, configured to train each of the first initial models by using the plurality of sample data, and select a plurality of first models from the plurality of first initial models according to the training results; a second training module, configured to train the second initial model according to the first model and the plurality of sample data to obtain a second model; A determination module, configured to determine the insulin resistance index of the target user through the first model. Page 9, Determine the etiology type of the user according to the insulin resistance index and user data, where the user data includes at least one of basic data, disease data, exercise data and diet data. The insulin resistance index and user data are input into a disease identification model or a decision tree model based on machine learning or a preset rule, and the user's disease type is output. Page 10 according to the user's test indicators, it is determined that the user is suffering from pancreatic islet function decline caused by long-term lipotoxicity and glucotoxicity. Also see Du, page 4, a computer-readable storage medium, where the storage medium stores a computer program, and the computer program is used to execute the determination method of the present invention.) to recommend an exercise plan or diet plan for the subject (Du, page 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical diagnosis at the time of the filing to modify the disclosure of Tsai to be performed by a system having modules and to predict the pancreatic β-cell function of the subject, as taught by Du, in order to facilitate recommending an exercise plan or diet plan for the subject.
Regarding claim 2, Tsai further discloses wherein the feature set further comprises fasting blood glucose, and/or glycohemoglobin of the subject (Page 4, Model building process, The features used to predict IR (HOMA-IR >2.5) were easily accessible variables, such as BMI, FPG, HbA1c, total cholesterol, HDL, triglyceride, race, age, and gender.).
Regarding claim 3, Tsai further discloses wherein the feature set further comprises total cholesterol and/or high-density lipoprotein cholesterol of the subject (Page 4, Model building process, The features used to predict IR (HOMA-IR >2.5) were easily accessible variables, such as BMI, FPG, HbA1c, total cholesterol, HDL, triglyceride, race, age, and gender.).
Regarding claim 4, Tsai further discloses wherein the feature set further comprises triglyceride of the subject (Page 4, Model building process, The features used to predict IR (HOMA-IR >2.5) were easily accessible variables, such as BMI, FPG, HbA1c, total cholesterol, HDL, triglyceride, race, age, and gender.).
Regarding claim 5, Tsai further discloses wherein the feature set further comprises total cholesterol and/or high-density lipoprotein cholesterol of the subject (Page 4, Model building process, The features used to predict IR (HOMA-IR >2.5) were easily accessible variables, such as BMI, FPG, HbA1c, total cholesterol, HDL, triglyceride, race, age, and gender.).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai further discloses wherein the feature set further comprises fasting blood glucose (Page 4, Model building process, The features used to predict IR (HOMA-IR >2.5) were easily accessible variables, such as BMI, FPG, HbA1c, total cholesterol, HDL, triglyceride, race, age, and gender.)
Tsai does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the feature set further comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of glutamic oxaloacetic transaminase, glutamic pyruvic transaminase, total bilirubin, and albumin of the subject.
Du teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical diagnosis at the time of the filing for the feature set to include at least one selected from the group consisting of glutamic oxaloacetic transaminase, glutamic pyruvic transaminase, total bilirubin, and albumin of the subject (Du, page 9, The test index corresponding to the disease type is the index data representing the disease, and the test index corresponding to different disease types is different. For example, for diabetes, the test indicators include fasting blood glucose, fasting insulin, blood glucose mean, insulin mean, random blood glucose, visceral fat level, triglyceride, transaminase, glomerular filtration rate, blood uric acid, blood pressure, insulin, C-peptide , Glycated hemoglobin and other indicators. For example, for liver disease, the test indicators include transaminase, alanine transaminase, aspartate transaminase, albumin, globulin, white ball ratio, bilirubin, bile acid and other index data.) to determine a subject’s etiology type and recommend an exercise plan or diet plan for the subject (Du, page 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical diagnosis at the time of the filing to modify the feature set of Tsai to include at least one selected from the group consisting of glutamic oxaloacetic transaminase, glutamic pyruvic transaminase, total bilirubin, and albumin of the subject, as taught by Du, in order to facilitate determining a subject’s etiology type and recommending an exercise plan or diet plan for the subject.
Regarding claim 7, Tsai does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Du teaches that it was old and well known in the art of medical diagnosis at the time of the filing wherein the feature set further comprises glutamic oxaloacetic transaminase, glutamic pyruvic transaminase, total bilirubin, and/or albumin of the subject (Du, page 9, The test index corresponding to the disease type is the index data representing the disease, and the test index corresponding to different disease types is different. For example, for diabetes, the test indicators include fasting blood glucose, fasting insulin, blood glucose mean, insulin mean, random blood glucose, visceral fat level, triglyceride, transaminase, glomerular filtration rate, blood uric acid, blood pressure, insulin, C-peptide , Glycated hemoglobin and other indicators. For example, for liver disease, the test indicators include transaminase, alanine transaminase, aspartate transaminase, albumin, globulin, white ball ratio, bilirubin, bile acid and other index data.) to determine a subject’s etiology type and recommend an exercise plan or diet plan for the subject (Du, page 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical diagnosis at the time of the filing to modify the feature set of Tsai to include at least one selected from the group consisting of glutamic oxaloacetic transaminase, glutamic pyruvic transaminase, total bilirubin, and albumin of the subject, as taught by Du, in order to facilitate determining a subject’s etiology type and recommending an exercise plan or diet plan for the subject.
Regarding claim 8, Tsai further discloses wherein the feature set further comprises fasting blood glucose and at least one selected from the group consisting of total cholesterol and high-density lipoprotein cholesterol of the subject (Page 4, Model building process, The features used to predict IR (HOMA-IR >2.5) were easily accessible variables, such as BMI, FPG, HbA1c, total cholesterol, HDL, triglyceride, race, age, and gender.).
Regarding claim 9, Tsai further discloses wherein the machine learning model is trained by the features labeled with outcome related to the insulin resistance and/or a decline of β-cell function of the subject (Page 4, Definition of insulin resistance (IR), In this study, HOMA-IR values were calculated for participants in the combined the NHANES and MJ databases. We then separated participants into non-IR and IR groups according to their HOMA-IR values (≤ or >2.5). Page 4, Model building process, The features used to predict IR (HOMA-IR >2.5) were easily accessible variables, such as BMI, FPG, HbA1c, total cholesterol, HDL, triglyceride, race, age, and gender. First, a deep neural network (DNN) was used to estimate the first chosen method. Other traditional methods of machine learning algorithm, such as random forest (RF) ,eXtreme Gradient Boosting (XGboost), and logistic regression algorithms were also used. Their accuracies were then compared with the logistic regression model. After completing the model training, another group was applied for testing. In the training group, curves of ROC (receiver operating characteristic) from different algorithms were compared. Both the ROC curve and AUC (area under curve) were used to compare classification performances of different classifiers. The targeted value of AUC (>0.80) suggested that the model was adequate for predicting IR. Also see page 4, Clinical implications of IR: CV mortality and call cause mortality.).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai further discloses wherein the database comprises: a first database derived from a first population of the subject; and a second database derived from a second population of the subject, wherein the race of the first population is different from the race of the second population (Page 8, Discussion, a combined database of the NHANES and MJ databases. Page 9, Discussion, Our predictive models were also trained from populations of two different ethnicities (Caucasians in the NHANES and Asians in the MJ database). Also see page 23, Figure 1 and page 29, Figure 3.).
Regarding claims 11-18 and 20-22: all limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claims 1-10. Claims 11-18 and 20-22 pertain to a method, corresponding to the system of claims 1-10. Claims 11-18 and 20-22 do not teach or define any new limitations beyond claims 1-10 (see page 4 of Du regarding the computer readable medium of claim 22 as cited with respect to claim 1); therefore claims 1-18 and 20-22 are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, Tsai further discloses wherein the model building and optimization module builds the machine learning model based on the feature set to predict the insulin resistance and/or the pancreatic β-cell function of the subject by classifying the subject into an insulin resistance group, a non-insulin resistance group, β-cell deficiency group, and a non-β-cell deficiency group, and generating a corresponding predictive value and a classification performance value thereof, wherein the classification performance value is an area under curve of a receiver operating characteristic curve of the machine learning model (Page 4, Definition of insulin resistance (IR), In this study, HOMA-IR values were calculated for participants in the combined the NHANES and MJ databases. We then separated participants into non-IR and IR groups according to their HOMA-IR values (≤ or >2.5). Page 4, Model building process, The features used to predict IR (HOMA-IR >2.5) were easily accessible variables, such as BMI, FPG, HbA1c, total cholesterol, HDL, triglyceride, race, age, and gender. First, a deep neural network (DNN) was used to estimate the first chosen method. Other traditional methods of machine learning algorithm, such as random forest (RF), eXtreme Gradient Boosting (XGboost), and logistic regression algorithms were also used. Their accuracies were then compared with the logistic regression model. After completing the model training, another group was applied for testing. In the training group, curves of ROC (receiver operating characteristic) from different algorithms were compared. Both the ROC curve and AUC (area under curve) were used to compare classification performances of different classifiers. The targeted value of AUC (>0.80) suggested that the model was adequate for predicting IR.).
Conclusion
/DEVIN C HEIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3686