DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “each one of the at least one engaging recess radially embedded in the rod” as set forth in claim 1, and the “at least one engaging recess, radially embedded in the rod for engaging the tube and the rod” as set forth in claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: All descriptions of the at least one engaging recess being radially embedded in the rod in both the specification and the Abstract should be corrected inasmuch as such descriptions are not supported by the drawings which clearly show recesses 21 of the tubes being radially spaced from the rod 10 (note Figs. 2-4).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, there is insufficient support for the limitation “each one of the at least one engaging recess radially embedded in the rod”. The specification fails to adequately explain how the recesses 21 positioned on the radially outer surface of the respective tubes 20A, 20B are to be arranged to be embedded in the rod 10 that is positioned within the radially inner surface of the respective tubes. Further, the drawings fail to show such a construction.
Regarding claim 8, there is insufficient support for the limitation “at least one engaging recess, radially embedded in the rod for engaging the tube and the rod”. The specification fails to adequately explain how the recesses 21 positioned on the radially outer surface of the respective tubes 20A, 20B are to be arranged to be embedded in the rod 10 that is positioned within the radially inner surface of the respective tubes. Further, the drawings fail to show such a construction.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “each one of the at least one engaging recess radially embedded in the rod” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the recesses 21 positioned on the radially outer surface of the respective tubes 20A, 20B can be considered to be embedded in the rod 10 when the rod is positioned within the radially inner surface of the respective tubes. As such, the metes and bounds of this limitation is unascertainable.
Regarding claims 5-7 and 9, the term “thin” in each of these claims is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “term” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As such, the metes and bounds of the limitation “a thin cross-section” is unascertainable.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “at least one engaging recess, radially embedded in the rod for engaging the tube and the rod” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the recesses 21 positioned on the radially outer surface of the respective tubes 20A, 20B can be considered to be embedded in the rod 10 when the rod is positioned within the radially inner surface of the respective tubes. As such, the metes and bounds of this limitation is unascertainable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 7, as best understood in light of the Section 112 rejections noted above, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schlanger (US 2011/0101768 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Schlanger discloses a spoke comprising: a rod 2 made of a composite material containing thermoplastic resin and fibers (paragraph [0099]); and at least one tube 76, each one of the at least one tube having at least one engaging recess (helical grooves of internal threads 84 as shown in Fig. 6a and described in paragraph [0098]), and each one of the at least one engaging recess radially embedded in the rod (evident from Fig. 6b and paragraph [0100] where the crimp force 86 deforms the end 6 of the rod so that it conforms to the contour of internal threads 84).
Regarding claim 3, Schlanger further discloses the at least one engaging recess of each one of the at least one tube includes multiple engaging recesses (helical grooves of internal threads 84 as shown in Fig. 6a and described in paragraph [0098]) surrounding a circumference of the rod.
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Schlanger further discloses the rod has a wind-resistant section disposed at a middle portion of the rod (implicit from at least Fig. 4a) and formed by heating and shaping (note the manner in which the wind-resistant section is formed is not afforded full patentable weight in a product claim as noted in MPEP 2113); and the wind-resistant section has a thin cross-section (note the entire cross-section of the spoke is considered to be “thin”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlanger.
Regarding claim 2, although Schlanger further discloses each one of the at least one engaging recess of each one of the at least one tube has a width defined along an extending direction of the rod, and a depth defined along a radial direction of the rod (implicit from at least Fig. 6a that each helical groove of internal threads 84 would have both a width and a depth) so as to provide a connection between the rod and tube for resisting spoke tension forces (paragraph [0100]), Schlanger fails to expressly disclose the width being 9 mm and the depth being greater than or equal to 0.3 mm and less than or equal to 0.9 mm.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, as a matter of routine optimization, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spoke of Schlanger so that each one of the at least one engaging recess has the claimed width and depth dimensions with a reasonable expectation of success in ensuring that the tube remains adequately connected to the rod during the intended use of the wheel upon which the spoke is assembled. It is further noted that Applicant has not provided any evidence of the criticality for these claimed dimensions.
Regarding claim 4, Schlanger further discloses the at least one engaging recess of each one of the at least one tube includes multiple engaging recesses (helical grooves of internal threads 84 as shown in Fig. 6a and described in paragraph [0098]) surrounding a circumference of the rod.
Regarding claim 6, Schlanger further discloses the rod has a wind-resistant section disposed at a middle portion of the rod (implicit from at least Fig. 4a) and formed by heating and shaping (note the manner in which the wind-resistant section is formed is not afforded full patentable weight in a product claim as noted in MPEP 2113); and the wind-resistant section has a thin cross-section (note the entire cross-section of the spoke is considered to be “thin”).
Conclusion
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615