DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS’s) submitted on 17 April 2026, 26 May 2026, 01 June 2026, and 24 September 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statements have been considered by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 were provisionally rejected on the ground of Nonstatutory Double Patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, & 3-9 of copending Application No. 18/616,241.
Applicant submitted a timely filed terminal disclaimer along with the response to the prior Office Action and therefore the provisional Nonstatutory Double Patenting rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3, & 6 have been amended and examined as such.
Claim 9 has been added and examined as such.
Claim 8 has been canceled as requested by the Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kida et al. (US 11,072,195 B2) in view of Eto (US 11,241,881 B2) and further in view of YOSHIZAWA (US 2015/0321493 A1).
As related to independent claim 1, Kida et al. teaches a liquid ejecting apparatus (printing apparatus 1; Fig. 1) comprising: a print head (printing head 8; Fig. 1) that ejects liquid onto a medium (print medium on which the print head performs printing; col 17, II. 51-52); a liquid storage section that stores the liquid (sub-tank 151 in which a certain amount of ink is contained; col. 7, II. 8-9; A main tank 141 is a tank that contains ink which is to be supplied to the subtank 151; col. 7, II. 29-30; Fig. 6; col. 17, II. 40-42); a tube (a linkage tube 159 is provided for each of the supply flow path C2; col. 10, II. 54-55; Fig. 8) that supplies the liquid from the liquid storage section to the print head (The sub-tank 151 in which a cert a in a mount of ink is contained is connected to a supply flow path C2 for supplying ink to the print head 8; col. 7, II. 8-10; Fig. 6; col. 17, II. 43-44); a case arranged between the print head and the liquid storage section (Kida et al. – Figure 13, Reference #15, #8, & #14, shown below), a duct in which gas flows (an air passage is formed from the print head 8 to the air discharge fan 163 approximately in the horizontal direction; col. 13, II. 24-26; an air passage is formed from the air supply opening 43 to the print head 8 approximately in the horizontal direction; col. 13, II. 53-54; Fig. 13).
Continuing with claim 1, Kida et al. does not specifically teach a heat generator or a duct in which gas flows. However, Eto teaches a liquid ejection apparatus that includes a duct (The main body housing 54 includes a gutter-shaped member 541; col. 5, II. 3-4; Fig. 6), a fan that causes air flow in the duct (The fan 55 is arranged in the intake opening 543 of the main body housing 54; col. 5, II. 20-21; The fan 55 sucks in the air outside the main body housing 54 and feeds the air into the main body housing 54; col. 5, II. 23-25), and a heat generator that generates heat, the heat generator being arranged in the case (Furthermore, the fan 55 causes air to flow between the main body housing 54 and the head housing 514. As a result, the control board 513 of the liquid ejection head 51 may be cooled via the head housing 514; col. 5, II. 25-28; Figures 6 & 8, shown below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Kida et al. to further include a heat generator wherein the duct supplies air to the heat generator in order to directly cool the heat generator as taught by Eto. This would have been done to keep the tube's ink temperature controlled, as taught in Eto (col. 5, II. 44-53).
Kida et al. as modified by Eto does not specifically teach the duct with an inlet and outlet. However, YOSHIZAWA teaches a liquid ejecting apparatus (YOSHIZAWA – Figure 5, shown below) and specifically teaches a duct in which gas flows, the duct including an inlet, an outlet, and a wall portion with a hollow interior between the inlet and the outlet the outlet being disposed in the case wherein at least a portion of the tube being disposed in the duct and being in contact with an inner surface of the wall portion of the duct (YOSHIZAWA – Page 2, Paragraphs 18-20 and Figures 1, 2, & 4, Reference #9, #10, & #7, all shown below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the duct of the combination of Kida et al. and Eto with the duct of YOSHIZAWA to include a specific inlet and outlet to ensure proper flow of gas through the duct so the carriage is effectively cooled (YOSHIZAWA – Page 2, Paragraph 19).
As related to dependent claim 2, the combination of Kida et al., Eto, and YOSHIZAWA remains as applied above and continues to teach a housing having an air inlet (Kida et al. - A first housing cover 71 on the left side-face side of the printing apparatus 1 has first openings (herein after referred to as air supply openings 43); col, 12, II. 55-57; Fig. 12), wherein the fan draws outside air into the duct from the air inlet (Kida et al. - In the case where the air discharge fan 163 is driven, negative pressure is generated inside the main body of the printing apparatus 1, causing air to flow through the air supply openings 43 into the main body; col. 14, II. 13-16; Fig. 13; Eto – Figure 6, Reference #55, shown above; and YOSHIZAWA – Page 2, Paragraphs 18-20 and Figure 1, Reference #11 & #10, shown above).
As related to dependent claim 3, the combination of Kida et al., Eto, and YOSHIZAWA remains as applied above and continues to teach the duct supplies the gas to the heat generator [i.e. the fan 55 causes air to flow between the main body housing 54 and the head housing 514. As a result, the control board 513 of the liquid ejection head 51 may be cooled via the head housing 514] (Eto – Column 5, II. 25-28 and Figures 6 & 8, shown above).
As related to dependent claim 5, the combination of Kida et al., Eto, and YOSHIZAWA remains as applied above and continues to teach the print head is a line head having a length equal to or longer than a width of the medium [i.e. The print head 8 of the present embodiment is a full line type color inkjet print head. In the print head 8, a plurality of ejection openings configured to eject ink based on print data are arrayed in the y-direction in FIG. 1 so as to correspond to the width of a print medium S] (Kida et al.- Column 3, Lines 30-34 and Eto – Column 2, Lines 49-60 and Figure 2, shown below).
As related to dependent claim 6, the combination of Kida et al., Eto, and YOSHIZAWA remains as applied above and continues to teach at least a portion of the tube is disposed along the flow of the gas in the duct (Eto – Figures 6 & 8, shown above and YOSHIZAWA – Page 2, Paragraphs 18-20 and Figures 1, 2, & 4, Reference #7, #9, & #10, all shown above).
As related to dependent claim 7, the combination of Kida et al., Eto, and YOSHIZAWA remains as applied above and continues to teach the liquid that is supplied to the print head through the tube is a water-based ink (Kida et al. – Column 1, Lines 13-14 and Column 12, Lines 45-50).
As related to dependent claim 9, the combination of Kida et al., Eto, and YOSHIZAWA remains as applied above and continues to teach the duct further includes a first through-hole penetrating through the wall portion of the duct, and a second through-hole penetrating through the wall portion of the duct, the tube enters the duct through the first through-hole and exits the duct through the second through-hole, and the at least the portion of the tube is disposed in contact with the inner surface of the wall portion between the first through-hole and the second through-hole, and a downstream portion of the tube, which is a portion positioned downstream relative to the second through-hole in a liquid flow direction, is partially in contact with an outer surface of the wall portion of the duct (YOSHIZAWA – Page 2, Paragraphs 18-20 and Figures 1, 2, & 4, Reference #7, #9, & #10, all shown above).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kida et al. (US 11,072,195 B2), Eto (US 11,241,881 B2), and YOSHIZAWA (US 2015/0321493 A1), and in further view of Brown et al. (US 2007/0188546 A1).
The combination of Kida et al., Eto, and YOSHIZAWA remains as applied above but does not specifically teach the duct is provided for collecting mist of the liquid. However, Brown et al. teaches an ink-mist control system for a printer for collecting mist of the ink (The ink-mist control system 70 entrains ink mist into an airflow that is pulled from adjacent the print zone 29 into the control system 70 and subsequently through the ink-mist control system 70; Brown et al. – Page 4, Paragraph 39), with a duct (ink-mist control system 70 comprises a generally T-shaped duct housing 72 formed of a first housing portion 71 and a second housing portion 73; Brown et al. – Page 4, Paragraph 40 and Figure 6, shown below), wherein the duct is used to collect mist (Low pressure at the air inlet 82 pulls air and ink particles downwardly from the print zone labeled as A1. The air and entrained ink mist A1 move through the air inlet 82 and the first duct leg 84 (Brown et al. – Page 5, Paragraph 45 and Figure 6, shown below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Kida to utilize the duct for collecting mist of the liquid ink, as taught by Brown et al. in an effort to inhibit ink smearing and control the ink mist which is created (Brown et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 5, 10, & 11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rosati et al. (US 2011/0025764 A1) teaches a liquid ejecting apparatus using water-based ink, having ink tubes, vacuum blowers (fans) and aerosol ducts. SHEFLIN et al. (US 2022/0305806 A1) teaches a liquid ejecting apparatus having air flow through ducts from a fan.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Ricardo Magallanes can be reached at (571) 272-5960. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/John P Zimmermann/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853