DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed February 2, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-8 and 10 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-8, filed February 6, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of JP2022142583 to Yamazaki.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,072,195 to Kida (hereinafter Kida) in view of JP 2022142583 to Yamazaki (hereinafter Yamazaki).
Regarding claim 1, Kida discloses a liquid ejecting apparatus (printing apparatus 1; col. 2, ll. 24-25; Fig. 1) comprising:
a print head (printing head 8; col. 2, ll. 29; Fig. 1) that ejects liquid onto a medium (a print medium on which the print head performs printing; col 17, ll. 51-52);
a liquid storage section that stores the liquid (sub-tank 151 in which a certain amount of ink is contained; col. 7, ll. 8-9; A main tank 141 is a tank that contains ink which is to be supplied to the sub-tank 151; col. 7, ll. 29-30; Fig. 6; col. 17, ll. 40-42);
a tube that is flexible (a linkage tube 159 is provided for each of the supply flow path C2; col. 10, ll. 54-55; Fig. 8; portion of Fig. 8 annotated above) and supplies the liquid from the liquid storage section to the print head (The sub-tank 151 in which a certain amount of ink is contained is connected to a supply flow path C2 for supplying ink to the print head 8; col. 7, ll. 8-10; Fig. 6; col. 17, ll. 43-44);
a duct in which gas flows (an air passage is formed from the print head 8 to the air discharge fan 163 approximately in the horizontal direction; col. 13, ll. 24-26; an air passage is formed from the air supply opening 43 to the print head 8 approximately in the horizontal direction; col. 13, ll. 53-54; Fig. 13), the duct including an inlet (air supply openings 43; col. 12, ll. 57; Fig. 13) and an outlet (air discharge opening 44; col. 13, ll. 1; Fig. 13),
and a fan that forms a flow of gas in the duct (driving of the air discharge fan 163 causes an air flow in which air (outside air) flows through the air supply openings 43 into the ink supply unit 15 and air inside the printing apparatus (inside air) is discharged through the air discharge opening 44; col. 13, ll. 54-59; Fig. 13).
However, Kida does not teach that the duct includes a hollow body between the inlet and outlet, and that at least a portion of the tube is fixed to an outer surface of the hollow body of the duct.
Yamazaki teaches a liquid ejecting apparatus (image forming apparatus 1; [0015]) with a liquid storage section (reservoir 31; [0030]), a flexible tube that supplies liquid from the storage section to the print head (outward path portion 35; [0049]; Fig. 3), and a duct with an inlet, and outlet, and a body between the inlet and outlet (duct 25 has intake port 25A and exhaust port 25B and is square tubular shaped; [0019]). Yamazaki further teaches a configuration in which a second tube (return path portion 36; [0046]; Fig. 5) contacts and is fixed to the outer surface of a hollow body of a duct by a mounting rail and holders (duct 26, mounting rains 41, and holder 42; [0046]; Fig. 5). Further, the same configuration may include wherein at least a portion of the tube (outward path portion 35; [0049]) is fixed to an outer surface of the hollow body of the duct as done to the return path portion ([0049]). Therefore, Yamazaki teaches a duct (duct 25, at para. 0027) including a hollow body (duct 25 is hollow) between the inlet (section near 25C) and an outlet (section near 25B). Yamazaki further discloses that at least a portion of the tube (section 35, at para. 0030) is fixed to an outer surface of the hollow body of the duct (section 35 is fixed to outer surface of 25).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Kida wherein the duct includes a hollow body and at least a portion of the tube is in contact with an outer surface of a hollow body of the duct, as taught by Yamazaki. This would have been done so that the liquid flowing through the tube is maintained at a steady temperature.
Regarding claim 3, Kida as modified by Yamazaki discloses the liquid ejecting apparatus according to claim 1, and Kida teaches the liquid ejecting apparatus further comprising a housing having an air inlet (A first housing cover 71 on the left side-face side of the printing apparatus 1 has first openings (herein after referred to as air supply openings 43); col, 12, ll. 55-57; Fig. 12),
wherein the fan draws outside air into the duct from the air inlet (In the case where the air discharge fan 163 is driven, negative pressure is generated inside the main body of the printing apparatus 1, causing air to flow through the air supply openings 43 into the main body; col. 14, ll. 13-16; Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 6, Kida as modified by Yamazaki discloses the liquid ejecting apparatus according to claim 1, and Kida further teaches the liquid ejecting apparatus wherein the print head is a line head having a length equal to or longer than a width of the medium (The print head 8 of the present embodiment is a full line type color inkjet print head. In the print head 8 , a plurality of ejection openings configured to eject ink based on print data are arrayed in the y-direction in FIG. 1 so as to correspond to the width of a print medium S; col. 3, ll. 30-34).
Regarding claim 7, Kida as modified by Yamazaki discloses the liquid ejecting apparatus according to claim 1. Kida fails to teach that at least the portion of the tube is disposed along the flow of the gas in the duct.
Yamazaki teaches wherein the at least the portion of the tube is disposed along the flow in the duct (Fig. 5 annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Kida as modified by Yamazaki so that the portion of the tube is disposed along the flow in the duct, as taught by Yamazaki. This would have been done so that the liquid flowing through the tube is maintained at a steady temperature.
Regarding claim 8, Kida as modified by Yamazaki discloses the liquid ejecting apparatus according to claim 1, and Kida further teaches the liquid ejecting apparatus wherein the liquid is a water-based ink (water contained in the ink evaporates; col. 1, ll. 13-14; col. 12, ll. 47-48).
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kida as modified by Yamazaki in view of Eto (US 11241881 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Kida as modified by Yamazaki discloses the liquid ejecting apparatus according to claim 1, however Kida as modified by Yamazaki does not explicitly teach a heat generator, wherein the duct is disposed between the heat generator and the tube.
Eto teaches a liquid ejection apparatus that includes a duct (The main body housing 54 includes a gutter-shaped member 541; col. 5, ll. 3-4; Fig. 6),
and a heat generator (heat generated in the circuit board, col. 1, ll. 29-30; heat of the control board 513 is transferred to the head housing 514; col. 6, ll. 29; Fig. 8),
wherein a portion of the tube enters the duct (The liquid supply path 52 and the cleaning liquid supply path 53 are inserted into the main body housing 54 from the outside of the main body housing 54 through the through holes 5421 and connected to the liquid ejection head 51; col. 5, ll. 36-39),
and the tube is separated from the heat generator by the duct (Fig. 8 as annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Kida as modified by Yamazaki to further include a heat generator wherein the duct is disposed between the heat generator and the tube as taught by Eto. This would have been done to directly cool the heat generator and keep the tube’s ink temperature controlled, as taught in Eto (col. 5, ll. 44-53).
Regarding claim 4, Kida as modified by Yamazaki discloses the liquid ejecting apparatus according to claim 1, however Kida as modified by Yamazaki does not explicitly teach a heat generator, wherein the duct supplies the gas to the heat generator.
Eto teaches a liquid ejection apparatus that includes a duct (The main body housing 54 includes a gutter-shaped member 541; col. 5, ll. 3-4; Fig. 6),
a fan that causes air flow in the duct (The fan 55 is arranged in the intake opening 543 of the main body housing 54; col. 5, ll. 20-21; The fan 55 sucks in the air outside the main body housing 54 and feeds the air into the main body housing 54; col. 5, ll. 23-25),
and a heat generator being cooled by the air flow (Furthermore, the fan 55 causes air to flow between the main body housing 54 and the head housing 514. As a result, the control board 513 of the liquid ejection head 51 may be cooled via the head housing 514; col. 5, ll. 25-28; Fig. 6; Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Kida as modified by Yamazaki to further include a heat generator wherein the duct supplies air to the heat generator in order to directly cool the heat generator as taught by Eto. This would have been done to keep the tube’s ink temperature controlled, as taught in Eto (col. 5, ll. 44-53).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kida as modified by Yamazaki in view of Brown et al. (US 20070188546 A1) hereinafter referred to as “Brown”.
Regarding claim 5, Kida as modified by Yamazaki discloses the liquid ejecting apparatus according to claim 1, however Kida as modified by Yamazaki does not teach the duct as provided for collecting mist of the liquid.
Brown teaches an ink-mist control system for a printer for collecting mist of the ink (The ink-mist control system 70 entrains ink mist into an airflow that is pulled from adjacent the print zone 29 into the control system 70 and subsequently through the ink-mist control system 70; [0039]),
with a duct (ink-mist control system 70 comprises a generally T-shaped duct housing 72 formed of a first housing portion 71 and a second housing portion 73; [0040]; Fig. 6),
wherein the duct is used to collect mist (Low pressure at the air inlet 82 pulls air and ink particles downwardly from the print zone labeled as A1. The air and entrained ink mist A1 move through the air inlet 82 and the first duct leg 84; [0045]; Fig, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Kida as modified by Yamazaki to utilize the duct for collecting mist of the liquid ink, as taught in Brown ([0005]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kida as modified by Yamazaki in view of Sekino et al. (JP 2009214521 A) hereinafter referred to as “Sekino”.
Regarding claim 10, Kida as modified by Yamazaki discloses the liquid ejecting apparatus according to claim 1, however Kida as modified by Yamazaki does not teach a heat generator and a case in which the heat generator is arranged, the outlet being disposed in the case.
Sekino teaches a liquid jet printing apparatus with a duct (first air conveyance path 39; [0029]; Fig. 1) further comprising a heat generator (drive circuit generates heat; [0028]) and
a case in which the heat generator is arranged (circuit case 31; [0028]; Fig. 1),
the outlet of the duct being disposed in the case (airport 34 is provided on lower portion of circuit case 31; [0029]; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Kida as modified by Yamazaki to include a heat generator with a case for the heat generator with the outlet of the duct being disposed in the case. This would have been done to provide a heat generator with a hermetically sealed case to prevent changes in the liquid ejecting head and cool the heat generator, as taught in Sekino ([0028] and [0029]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brogan on “Heat Exchangers” discusses methods of heat transfer conducted between fluids. Countercurrent and concurrent flow exchange heat through walls while fluids flow parallel to each other which may create uniform/steady temperatures (pp. 2). Recuperative heat exchangers include indirect contact heat exchangers that keep fluids separate, for example by tubes; the fluids exchange heat across a wall that separates them (pp. 4, 5).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
27 March 2026
/KYRA MELOR VAN KREUNINGEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853