DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 16 June 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lan (US 2021/0088287) in view of Jang (US 20140116541).
Regarding Claim 1, Lan discloses a fluid machine (water-cooling pump structure of Figure 1A and ¶ 1). The machine comprising:
a flow path (shown by arrows in Figure 3C) including an outflow port (see Annotated Figure A) of a fluid (water as disclosed in ¶ 28),
a first portion (see Annotated Figure A) through which the fluid flows from another side to one side in a first direction (see Annotated Figure A), and
a second portion (see Annotated Figure A) through which the fluid flows (to the one side of the first direction as seen in Annotated Figure A), the second portion being located between one end of the first portion in the first direction and the outflow port (see Annotated Figure A); and
a check valve portion (2144) movable along the first direction in the first portion (see Annotated Figure A), the check valve portion (2144) being located at a first position at which the one end is closed (Figure 3D where the one end is closed from flow in the first direction by the seat of 2144),
a second position (Figure 3C) that is located on the one side in the first direction with respect to the first position and through which the fluid circulates between the first portion and the second portion (Figure 3C),
the check valve portion (2144) is structured to move to the second position (Figure 3C) in response to a force exerted by the fluid flowing from the another side in the first direction (Figure 3C);
the check valve portion is structured to move in response to an increase in internal pressure of the second portion (to the right as seen in Figure 3D); and
but fails to expressly disclose a third position at which the one end is closed and that is located on the another side in the first direction with respect to the first position; the check valve portion is structured to move to the third position in response to an increase in internal pressure of the second portion; and wherein an entirety of the check valve portion is located within the first portion when the check valve portion is in the third position.
Jang teaches a check valve (Figure 4) with a check valve portion (see Annotated Figure B) movable along the first direction (to the left as seen in the orientation of Annotated Figure B) in the first portion (see Annotated Figure B), the check valve portion (see Annotated Figure B) being located at a first position at which the one end is closed (see Annotated Figure B),
a second position (see Annotated Figure B) that is located on the one side in the first direction with respect to the first position and through which the fluid circulates between the first portion and the second portion (see Annotated Figure B), and
a third position (where slanted portion 24 contacts the inclined portion 13 as taught at ¶ 31) at which the one end is closed (¶ 31) and that is located on the another side in the first direction with respect to the first position (to the right as seen in the orientation of Annotated Figure B); the check valve portion is structured to move to the third position (where slanted portion 24 contacts the inclined portion 13 as taught at ¶ 31) in response to an increase in internal pressure of the second portion (to the right as seen in Figure 3D of Lan, where when modified by Jang to provide a third position would further move the check valve portion beyond the first position to the third position); and wherein an entirety of the check valve portion (the head of the valve as seen in Annotated Figure B) is located within the first portion when the check valve portion is in the third position (where slanted portion 24 contacts the inclined portion 13 as taught at ¶ 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the check valve portion of Lan with the check valve portion as taught by Jang for the advantage of providing a third position so that the valve can provide a smaller surface area to initially increase the pressure needed to offset the spring bias, and subsequently provide the first position which increases the surface area of the valve portion to quickly open the valve, as taught by Jang (¶ 37).
Annotated Figure A – Lan
Annotated Figure B - Jang
Regarding Claim 2, Lan discloses a socket (24 attached via pipes 26 and 28) wherein the internal pressure of the second portion increases in response to connection of a plug (either 26 and 28) of the socket (24) to the socket (Figure 1B), and the check valve portion moves to the third position (taught by Parker to close the valve in the presence of back pressure as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Lan discloses a cooling device (Figure 1A). The device comprising: a pipe (at least pipe 26) through which a refrigerant flows (water as disclosed in ¶ 3) and a fluid machine according to claim 1 (as discussed above).
Claim(s) 3-6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lan (US 2021/0088287) in view of Jang (US 20140116541) in further view of Ramirez et al (US 11,680,621).
Regarding Claim 3, Lan discloses a second biasing portion (215) that biases the check valve portion (together 214 and 2144 shown in Figure 2C) from one side (see Annotated Figure A) to another side (see Annotated Figure A) in the first direction (see Annotated Figure A),
But fails to expressly disclose a first biasing portion that biases the check valve portion from another side to one side in the first direction.
Ramirez et al teaches a valve portion (310 in Figure 3) with a first biasing portion (324/326) that biases the valve portion (310) from another side (118) to one side (116) in the first direction (along 122); and a second biasing portion (320/322) that biases the valve portion (310) from one side (116) to another side (118) in the first direction (along 122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the check valve portion of Lan, as modified by Jang, with the biasing portions as taught by Ramirez et al for the advantage of providing slower movement between the open and closed positions to allow for a smoother, more controlled valve movement, as taught by Ramirez et al (Col 8, lines 58-63).
Regarding Claim 4, Lan discloses where the check valve portion (together 214 and 2144 shown in Figure 2C) includes:
a valve body (214 in Figure 2C) biased by the second biasing portion (215);
a sealing portion (2144) provided on the valve body (Figure 2C); and
an abutting portion (the portion of 2141 that rests against 2144) that abuts on the sealing portion (Figure 2C about the center cutout) from another side (see Annotated Figure A) in the first direction (see Annotated Figure A) and is biased by the first biasing portion (taught by Ramirez et al at 324).
Regarding Claim 5, Lan discloses a fluid machine (water-cooling pump structure of Figure 1A and ¶ 1). The machine comprising:
a flow path (shown by arrows in Figure 3C) including an outflow port (see Annotated Figure A) of a fluid (water as disclosed in ¶ 28),
a first portion (see Annotated Figure A) through which the fluid flows from another side to one side in a first direction (see Annotated Figure A), and
a second portion (see Annotated Figure A) through which the fluid flows (to the one side of the first direction as seen in Annotated Figure A), the second portion being located between one end of the first portion in the first direction and the outflow port (see Annotated Figure A); and
a check valve portion (2144) movable along the first direction in the first portion (see Annotated Figure A), the check valve portion (2144) being located at a first position at which the one end is closed (Figure 3D where the one end is closed from flow in the first direction by the seat of 2144),
a second position (Figure 3C) that is located on the one side in the first direction with respect to the first position and through which the fluid circulates between the first portion and the second portion (Figure 3C),
a second biasing portion (215) that biases the check valve portion (together 214 and 2144 shown in Figure 2C) from one side (see Annotated Figure A) to another side (see Annotated Figure A) in the first direction (see Annotated Figure A),
the check valve portion (together 214 and 2144 shown in Figure 2C) includes:
a valve body (214 in Figure 2C) biased by the second biasing portion (215);
a sealing portion (2144) provided on the valve body (Figure 2C); and
an abutting portion (the portion of 2141 that rests against 2144) that abuts on the sealing portion (Figure 2C about the center cutout) from another side (see Annotated Figure A) in the first direction (see Annotated Figure A) and is biased by the first biasing portion (taught by Ramirez et al at 324),
where the first biasing portion (324) includes a first spring (Figure 3);
the second biasing portion (320) includes a second spring (Figure 3); and
a spring constant of the second spring (320 in Figure 3) is smaller than a spring constant of the first spring (324 in Figure 3; Col 9, line 65-Col 10, line 5).
but fails to expressly disclose a third position at which the one end is closed and that is located on the another side in the first direction with respect to the first position,
a first biasing portion that biases the check valve portion from another side to one side in the first direction,
wherein an entirety of the check valve portion is located within the first portion when the check valve portion is in the third position.
Jang teaches a check valve (Figure 4) with a check valve portion (see Annotated Figure B) movable along the first direction (to the left as seen in the orientation of Annotated Figure B) in the first portion (see Annotated Figure B), the check valve portion (see Annotated Figure B) being located at a first position at which the one end is closed (see Annotated Figure B),
a second position (see Annotated Figure B) that is located on the one side in the first direction with respect to the first position and through which the fluid circulates between the first portion and the second portion (see Annotated Figure B), and
a third position (where slanted portion 24 contacts the inclined portion 13 as taught at ¶ 31) at which the one end is closed (¶ 31) and that is located on the another side in the first direction with respect to the first position (to the right as seen in the orientation of Annotated Figure B); the check valve portion is structured to move to the third position (where slanted portion 24 contacts the inclined portion 13 as taught at ¶ 31) in response to an increase in internal pressure of the second portion (to the right as seen in Figure 3D of Lan, where when modified by Jang to provide a third position would further move the check valve portion beyond the first position to the third position); and wherein an entirety of the check valve portion (the head of the valve as seen in Annotated Figure B) is located within the first portion when the check valve portion is in the third position (where slanted portion 24 contacts the inclined portion 13 as taught at ¶ 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the check valve portion of Lan with the check valve portion as taught by Jang for the advantage of providing a third position so that the valve can provide a smaller surface area to initially increase the pressure needed to offset the spring bias, and subsequently provide the first position which increases the surface area of the valve portion to quickly open the valve, as taught by Jang (¶ 37).
Ramirez et al teaches a valve portion (310 in Figure 3) with a first biasing portion (324/326) that biases the valve portion (310) from another side (118) to one side (116) in the first direction (along 122); and a second biasing portion (320/322) that biases the valve portion (310) from one side (116) to another side (118) in the first direction (along 122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the check valve portion of Lan, as modified by Jang, with the biasing portions as taught by Ramirez et al for the advantage of providing slower movement between the open and closed positions to allow for a smoother, more controlled valve movement, as taught by Ramirez et al (Col 8, lines 58-63).
Regarding Claim 6, Lan discloses where the check valve portion (together 214 and 2144 shown in Figure 2C) further includes a protruding portion (2141) that protrudes from another end portion in the first direction of the valve body (see Annotated Figure A) to another side in the first direction (see Annotated Figure A), and has a smaller dimension (Figure 2C) in a second direction (up and down in the orientation as seen in the Annotated Figure A) intersecting the first direction than the valve body (Annotated Figure A), and
the protruding portion (2141) includes an outer peripheral surface having a smaller dimension in the second direction toward another side in the first direction (see Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 9, Ramirez et al teach where the first biasing portion (324) includes a first spring (Figure 3);
the second biasing portion (320) includes a second spring (Figure 3); and
a spring constant of the second spring (320 in Figure 3) is smaller than a spring constant of the first spring (324 in Figure 3; Col 9, line 65-Col 10, line 5).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious over Lan (US 2021/0088287) in view of Jang (US 20140116541).
Regarding Claim 7, Lan, as modified by Jang, teach all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where the outflow port is separated from the first portion in the second direction; and the second portion extends in the second direction between the one end and the outflow port.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the arrangement of the outflow port to be separated from the first portion in the second direction; and the second portion extends in the second direction between the one end and the outflow port since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an optimal arrangement of the outflow port and the second portion based on user defined criteria.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amends Claim 1 to recite the limitations “the check valve portion is structured to move to the second position in response to a force exerted by the fluid flowing from the another side in the first direction; the check valve portion is structured to move to the third position in response to an increase in internal pressure of the second portion”. As discussed above, Lan discloses the check valve portion (2144) is structured to move to the second position (Figure 3C) in response to a force exerted by the fluid flowing from the another side in the first direction (Figure 3C); the check valve portion is structured to move in response to an increase in internal pressure of the second portion (to the right as seen in Figure 3D); and Jang teaches the check valve portion is structured to move to the third position (where slanted portion 24 contacts the inclined portion 13 as taught at ¶ 31) in response to an increase in internal pressure of the second portion (to the right as seen in Figure 3D of Lan, where when modified by Jang to provide a third position would further move the check valve portion beyond the first position to the third position). Therefore, this argument is unpersuasive.
Next, Applicant amends Claim 5 to incorporate the limitations of Claims 1, 3 and 4. Applicant argues that Ramirez et al fails to teach the first biasing portion includes a first spring; the second biasing portion includes a second spring; and a spring constant of the second spring is smaller than a spring constant of the first spring since Rameriz et al actually teaches the opposite. However, this argument is unpersuasive.
The Claims require: the first biasing portion includes a first spring; the second biasing portion includes a second spring; and a spring constant of the second spring is smaller than a spring constant of the first spring
Ramirez et al teach: the first biasing portion includes a first spring (326); the second biasing portion includes a second spring (322); and a spring constant of the second spring (322) is smaller than a spring constant of the first spring (326; at Col 9, line 65-Col 10, line 5 “spring 326 can define a spring force that can be greater than a spring force of the … spring 322”). Therefore, spring 322 (the second spring) is weaker/smaller spring constant than the spring 326.
Therefore, these arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753