DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communications filed 3/26/2024, Claims 1-22 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-12, and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carlson et al, WO 2021/015998 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Carlson et al teaches, a magnetic connector for a galvanic charging connection of an electronic device or a hearing instrument (Title/Abstract), the magnetic connector comprising: a cylindrical first contact (See Page 12, “In other embodiments, the cathode contact 502 is a fixed electrical element (non-displaceable) and need not be proud relative to a contact surface of the anode contact 504. Although shown as having a generally circular shape, the cathode and anode contacts 502, 504 can have any curvilinear or polygonal shape.”) and a second contact disposed next to said first contact (See Page 10, “The power management circuitry 306 is coupled to a first charging interface 310 comprising a first cathode contact 312 and a first anode contact 314 spaced apart from the first cathode contact 312. In the embodiment shown in Figure 3, the power management circuitry 306 is coupled to the first cathode contact 312 via a first connection 307 and to the first anode contact 314 via a second connection 309.”); said first contact being formed of a magnetic or magnetizable material (See Page 18, “The retention arrangement 910 includes a magnet 911 or magnetizable structure which can interact with a corresponding magnet or magnetizable structure of the charging module. In some embodiments, the anode contact 908 partially or entirely comprises magnetic material, in which case the separate magnet 911 or magnetizable structure need not be included in the retention arrangement 910.”); and said second contact being at least one of: formed of a non-magnetic or non-magnetizable material or a material being less magnetizable than said material of said first contact (As described in the above quotation regarding the anode contact, other retention structures aren’t further needed, showing the cathode contact would not be further magnetized), or containing less material than said first contact (See Page 15, “The electrode elements 844a, 844b, 844c can be situated at substantially the same distance (e.g., ~2-6 mm, ~4-5 mm, ~3-5 mm) relative to the cathode contact 842. The cathode contact 842 can have a diameter of about 1.5 mm to about 3 mm, and the electrode elements 844a, 844b, 844c can have the same or smaller diameter (e.g., about 1 mm to about 2.5 mm). Although three electrode elements 844a, 844b, 844c are shown in Figure 8C, the anode contact 844 can comprise one, two, four, five or more electrode elements, for example, arranged in a substantially triangular shape.”, displays a variety of diameters possible for the cathode and anode contacts.).
Regarding Claim 3, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches, wherein said first contact has a larger diameter than said second contact (See Page 15, “The electrode elements 844a, 844b, 844c can be situated at substantially the same distance (e.g., ~2-6 mm, ~4-5 mm, ~3-5 mm) relative to the cathode contact 842. The cathode contact 842 can have a diameter of about 1.5 mm to about 3 mm, and the electrode elements 844a, 844b, 844c can have the same or smaller diameter (e.g., about 1 mm to about 2.5 mm). Although three electrode elements 844a, 844b, 844c are shown in Figure 8C, the anode contact 844 can comprise one, two, four, five or more electrode elements, for example, arranged in a substantially triangular shape.”, displays a variety of diameters possible for the cathode and anode contacts.).
Regarding Claim 4, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 3, and further teaches, wherein said diameter of said first contact is larger than said diameter of said second contact by a factor of between 1.5 and 4 (See above, as well as Pages 16 and 17, “The central contact 842 can have a diameter of about 2 mm to about 3 mm, and the peripheral contacts 844a, 844b, 844c can have the same or smaller diameter (e.g., about 1 mm to about 2.5 mm, -1.5-2 mm). The charging interface 840d can be representative of any of the charging interfaces discussed herein. For example, charging interface 840d can be configured and wired in the manner of charging interface 840a shown in Figure 8C. In this representative configuration, the charging interface 840d includes a central cathode contact 842, coupled to a negative charging connection, and three anode contacts 844a, 844b, 844c, each coupled to a positive charging connection.”, this central contact and peripheral contacts are provided a similar structure to the previously discussed cathode/anode connectors, and given further diameter ranges.).
Regarding Claim 5, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 3, and further teaches, wherein said diameter of said first contact is larger than said diameter of said second contact by a factor of between 2 and 3 (See above, as well as Pages 16 and 17, “The central contact 842 can have a diameter of about 2 mm to about 3 mm, and the peripheral contacts 844a, 844b, 844c can have the same or smaller diameter (e.g., about 1 mm to about 2.5 mm, -1.5-2 mm). The charging interface 840d can be representative of any of the charging interfaces discussed herein. For example, charging interface 840d can be configured and wired in the manner of charging interface 840a shown in Figure 8C. In this representative configuration, the charging interface 840d includes a central cathode contact 842, coupled to a negative charging connection, and three anode contacts 844a, 844b, 844c, each coupled to a positive charging connection.”, this central contact and peripheral contacts are provided a similar structure to the previously discussed cathode/anode connectors, and given further diameter ranges.).
Regarding Claim 6, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 3, and further teaches, wherein said diameter of said first contact is larger than said diameter of said second contact by a factor of 2.5 (See above, as well as Pages 16 and 17, “The central contact 842 can have a diameter of about 2 mm to about 3 mm, and the peripheral contacts 844a, 844b, 844c can have the same or smaller diameter (e.g., about 1 mm to about 2.5 mm, -1.5-2 mm). The charging interface 840d can be representative of any of the charging interfaces discussed herein. For example, charging interface 840d can be configured and wired in the manner of charging interface 840a shown in Figure 8C. In this representative configuration, the charging interface 840d includes a central cathode contact 842, coupled to a negative charging connection, and three anode contacts 844a, 844b, 844c, each coupled to a positive charging connection.” this central contact and peripheral contacts are provided a similar structure to the previously discussed cathode/anode connectors, and given further diameter ranges.).
Regarding Claim 7, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches, wherein said first contact and said second contact have respective axes aligned parallel to each other (See Page 15, “When implemented on a hearing device, and in accordance with some embodiments, a region of the cathode contact 842 (e.g., central region) can be recessed relative to a contact surface of the anode contact 844 (see, e.g., Figures 9 and 12). Alternatively, the cathode contact 842 and the anode contact 844 can be substantially coplanar.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 7, and further teaches, wherein said first contact and said second contact each have a respective contact surface for forming a galvanic connection with a magnetic mating connector of a charger or charging cable (See Page 18, “The retention arrangement 910 includes a magnet 911 or magnetizable structure which can interact with a corresponding magnet or magnetizable structure of the charging module. In some embodiments, the anode contact 908 partially or entirely comprises magnetic material, in which case the separate magnet 911 or magnetizable structure need not be included in the retention arrangement 910.”), and said contact surface of said second contact projects beyond said contact surface of said first contact (See Page 18, “The charging interface 902 includes a cathode contact 906 partially or entirely surrounded by an anode contact 908. The anode contact 908 can be a single electrical contact or comprise a multiplicity of electrical contacts (see, e.g., Figures 3-8). For example, the anode contact 908 can comprise a single annular electrical contact or two or more arcuate electrical contacts (e.g., a concentric tri-trace anode configuration). The cathode contact 906 is shown extending slightly beyond the exterior surface of the housing 904 relative to the anode contact 908, which is shown as substantially coplanar with the exterior surface of the housing 904. In some implementations, the cathode contact 906 can be substantially coplanar with exterior surface of the housing 904. The cathode contact 906 can include a recessed region 907, which is typically situated within a central region of the cathode contact 906. The recessed region 907 serves to guide a corresponding cathode contact of a charging module into proper contact with the cathode contact 906.”).
Regarding Claim 10, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches, a carrier (See Page 16, “the shell 864 can be constructed from semi-soft material (e.g., polymeric material) which can conform to the shape of the wearer’s ear canal when the shell 864 is inserted therein. The faceplate 862 includes a charging interface 840d and other components/structures of the hearing device 860, such as one or two microphones 866”) in which said first contact and said second contact are fixed relative to each other (See Page 16, “The charging interface 840d disposed on the faceplate 862 comprises a central contact 842 surrounded by three peripheral contacts 844a, 844b, 844c arranged in a substantially triangular pattern.”).
Regarding Claim 11, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 10, and further teaches, wherein said carrier, is made of plastic (See Page 16, “The shell 864 is typically shaped to conform to a particular wearer’s ear canal using a mold taken from the wearer’s ear. In some configurations, the shell 864 can be constructed from semi-soft material (e.g., polymeric material) which can conform to the shape of the wearer’s ear canal when the shell 864 is inserted therein.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 10, and further teaches, wherein: said carrier has a rear side (FIG. 3 and FIG. 4); said first contact and said second contact each have a connecting surface disposed opposite said contact surface of said respective contact (Above figures display the contact surfaces being disposed in a manner as described.); and said first contact and said second contact are fixed in said carrier with said connecting surfaces aligned flush with said rear side of said carrier (Above figures display the ability for the surfaces being aligned flush.).
Regarding Claim 15, Carlson et al teaches, a magnetic mating connector of an electrical charger or charging cable, the magnetic mating connector comprising: a first mating contact having a mating contact surface for forming a galvanic connection with a first contact of a magnetic connector of a charging connection of an electronic device (See Page 12, “In other embodiments, the cathode contact 502 is a fixed electrical element (non-displaceable) and need not be proud relative to a contact surface of the anode contact 504. Although shown as having a generally circular shape, the cathode and anode contacts 502, 504 can have any curvilinear or polygonal shape.”); a second mating contact having a mating contact surface for forming a galvanic connection with a second contact of the connector of the charging connection of the electronic device (See Page 10, “The power management circuitry 306 is coupled to a first charging interface 310 comprising a first cathode contact 312 and a first anode contact 314 spaced apart from the first cathode contact 312. In the embodiment shown in Figure 3, the power management circuitry 306 is coupled to the first cathode contact 312 via a first connection 307 and to the first anode contact 314 via a second connection 309.”); and a magnet or a permanent magnet aligned flush with said first mating contact (See Page 18, “The retention arrangement 910 includes a magnet 911 or magnetizable structure which can interact with a corresponding magnet or magnetizable structure of the charging module. In some embodiments, the anode contact 908 partially or entirely comprises magnetic material, in which case the separate magnet 911 or magnetizable structure need not be included in the retention arrangement 910.”); said mating contact surface of said second mating contact being ring- shaped or ring-segment-shaped and surrounding said first mating contact (See Page 18, “The charging interface 902 includes a cathode contact 906 partially or entirely surrounded by an anode contact 908. The anode contact 908 can be a single electrical contact or comprise a multiplicity of electrical contacts (see, e.g., Figures 3-8). For example, the anode contact 908 can comprise a single annular electrical contact or two or more arcuate electrical contacts (e.g., a concentric tri-trace anode configuration).”).
Regarding Claim 16, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 15, and further teaches, wherein said mating contact surface of said second mating contact has a radial width, and said mating contact surface of said first mating contact has a diameter being larger than said radial width of said mating contact surface of said second mating contact (See Page 15, “The electrode elements 844a, 844b, 844c can be situated at substantially the same distance (e.g., ~2-6 mm, ~4-5 mm, ~3-5 mm) relative to the cathode contact 842. The cathode contact 842 can have a diameter of about 1.5 mm to about 3 mm, and the electrode elements 844a, 844b, 844c can have the same or smaller diameter (e.g., about 1 mm to about 2.5 mm). Although three electrode elements 844a, 844b, 844c are shown in Figure 8C, the anode contact 844 can comprise one, two, four, five or more electrode elements, for example, arranged in a substantially triangular shape.”, displays a variety of diameters possible for the cathode and anode contacts. , See Pages 16 and 17, “The central contact 842 can have a diameter of about 2 mm to about 3 mm, and the peripheral contacts 844a, 844b, 844c can have the same or smaller diameter (e.g., about 1 mm to about 2.5 mm, -1.5-2 mm). The charging interface 840d can be representative of any of the charging interfaces discussed herein. For example, charging interface 840d can be configured and wired in the manner of charging interface 840a shown in Figure 8C. In this representative configuration, the charging interface 840d includes a central cathode contact 842, coupled to a negative charging connection, and three anode contacts 844a, 844b, 844c, each coupled to a positive charging connection.”).
Regarding Claim 17, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 16, and further teaches, wherein said diameter of said mating contact surface of said first mating contact is larger than said radial width of said mating contact surface of said second mating contact by a factor of between 1. 5 and 4 (See above, as well as See Pages 16 and 17, “The central contact 842 can have a diameter of about 2 mm to about 3 mm, and the peripheral contacts 844a, 844b, 844c can have the same or smaller diameter (e.g., about 1 mm to about 2.5 mm, -1.5-2 mm). The charging interface 840d can be representative of any of the charging interfaces discussed herein. For example, charging interface 840d can be configured and wired in the manner of charging interface 840a shown in Figure 8C. In this representative configuration, the charging interface 840d includes a central cathode contact 842, coupled to a negative charging connection, and three anode contacts 844a, 844b, 844c, each coupled to a positive charging connection.”, this central contact and peripheral contacts are provided a similar structure to the previously discussed cathode/anode connectors, and given further diameter ranges.).
Regarding Claim 18, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 16, and further teaches, wherein said diameter of said mating contact surface of said first mating contact is larger than said radial width of said mating contact surface of said second mating contact by a factor of between 2 and 3 (See above, as well as Pages 16 and 17, “The central contact 842 can have a diameter of about 2 mm to about 3 mm, and the peripheral contacts 844a, 844b, 844c can have the same or smaller diameter (e.g., about 1 mm to about 2.5 mm, -1.5-2 mm). The charging interface 840d can be representative of any of the charging interfaces discussed herein. For example, charging interface 840d can be configured and wired in the manner of charging interface 840a shown in Figure 8C. In this representative configuration, the charging interface 840d includes a central cathode contact 842, coupled to a negative charging connection, and three anode contacts 844a, 844b, 844c, each coupled to a positive charging connection.”, this central contact and peripheral contacts are provided a similar structure to the previously discussed cathode/anode connectors, and given further diameter ranges.).
Regarding Claim 19, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 16, and further teaches, wherein said diameter of said mating contact surface of said first mating contact is larger than said radial width of said mating contact surface of said second mating contact by a factor of 2.5 (See above, as well as Pages 16 and 17, “The central contact 842 can have a diameter of about 2 mm to about 3 mm, and the peripheral contacts 844a, 844b, 844c can have the same or smaller diameter (e.g., about 1 mm to about 2.5 mm, -1.5-2 mm). The charging interface 840d can be representative of any of the charging interfaces discussed herein. For example, charging interface 840d can be configured and wired in the manner of charging interface 840a shown in Figure 8C. In this representative configuration, the charging interface 840d includes a central cathode contact 842, coupled to a negative charging connection, and three anode contacts 844a, 844b, 844c, each coupled to a positive charging connection.” this central contact and peripheral contacts are provided a similar structure to the previously discussed cathode/anode connectors, and given further diameter ranges.).
Regarding Claim 20, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches, a magnetic mating connector of an electrical charger or charging cable, said magnetic mating connector cooperating with the magnetic connector to establish an at least two-pole galvanic connection (FIG. 4, Anode contacts 434, 436, and Cathode Contact 432); said magnetic mating connector including: a first mating contact having a mating contact surface for forming a galvanic connection with said first contact of the magnetic connector (FIG. 4, Cathode Contact 432); a second mating contact having a mating contact surface for forming a galvanic connection with said second contact of the connector (FIG. 4, Anode Contacts 434, 436); and a magnet or a permanent magnet aligned flush with said first mating contact (See pages 19, “The charging module 1000 also includes a retention arrangement 1020 configured to maintain engagement between the charging interface 1002 and a corresponding charging interface of a hearing device during charging of a rechargeable power source of the hearing device. The retention arrangement 1020 includes a magnet 1022 or magnetizable structure which can interact with a corresponding magnet or magnetizable structure of the hearing device. In some embodiments, the anode contact 1008 partially or entirely comprises magnetic material, in which case the separate magnet 1022 or magnetizable structure need not be included in the retention arrangement 1020. In some embodiments, the anode contact 1008 can be implemented as a ring magnet plated with electrically conductive material. The ring magnet provides attraction to a different magnet or magnetizable structure in the hearing device in order to align the electrical contacts. The plating provides corrosion resistance.”); said mating contact surface of said second mating contact being ring-shaped or ring-segment-shaped and surrounding said first mating contact (See Page 19, “In some embodiments, the anode contact 1008 can be implemented as a ring magnet plated with electrically conductive material. The ring magnet provides attraction to a different magnet or magnetizable structure in the hearing device in order to align the electrical contacts. The plating provides corrosion resistance.”).
Regarding Claim 21, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches, An electronic device or hearing instrument, comprising: a rechargeable battery (FIG. 4, Rechargeable Power Source 404 ); and a galvanic charging connection for supplying an electric current for charging the battery (See Page 12, “For example, charging of the rechargeable power supply 404 can be accomplished via first and second cathode contacts 412, 432 and anode contacts 414, 434.”); said galvanic charging connection having the magnetic connector according to claim 1 for producing a galvanic contact, held by magnetic force, with a magnetic mating connector of a charger or charging cable (FIG. 4, anode and cathode connectors as described above.).
Regarding Claim 22, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 15, and further teaches, A charger or charging cable for supplying an electronic device or hearing instrument with electric current for charging a rechargeable battery of the electronic device, the charger or charging cable comprising the magnetic mating connector according to claim 15 (See Page 20, “The charging module 1320 includes a power source V, which is represented as a battery in Figure 13. The power source V can include a rechargeable battery, a conventional battery, and/or an AC/DC converter configured to receive power from a standard wall outlet. In some embodiments, the power source V can be configured to receive wireless power from an external power source (e.g., Qi, inductive, radiofrequency, optical).”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al, WO 2021/015998 A1, in view of Solum et al, US Publication No. 2019/0268706 A1.
Regarding Claim 2, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not further teach wherein said material of said first contact is a ferrous steel, and said material of said second contact is a titanium alloy or an austenitic chromium-nickel-molybdenum steel
However, Solum et al, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein said material of said first contact is a ferrous steel, and said material of said second contact is a titanium alloy or an austenitic chromium-nickel-molybdenum steel (Paragraph 123, “In some examples, contacts 552 and 554 are formed from non-oxidizing, low-resistance material (e.g., copper-nickel-gold metal, stainless steel, German silver or copper-zinc-gold, palladium alloys, as well as other suitable materials) that provides mechanical fixation as well electrical conduction.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the contacts being made of ferrous steel, and titanium alloy or an austenitic chromium-nickel-molybdenum steel respectively, as taught by Solum et al, with the system as taught by Carlson et al. The motivation being that a variety of metallic materials are known in the art for the purposes of electrical contacts, a variety of steels being suitable for the features presented in the claimed invention.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al, WO 2021/015998 A1, in view of Kim, WO 2017126925 A1.
Regarding Claim 9, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not further teach wherein said first contact and said second contact are aligned at an angle relative to each other.
However, Kim in a similar invention of the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein said first contact and said second contact are aligned at an angle relative to each other (See Page 6, “However, the present invention may freely couple and decouple the second magnetic connector module 20 based on the first magnetic connector module 10 at any angle, and may be configured to rotate 360 degrees after the coupling.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the first and second contacts being aligned at an angle relative to each other, as taught by Kim, with the system as taught by Carlson et al. The motivation being that the contacts can be moved dependent upon the needs of the current embodiment, and would not necessarily change the underlying function of the contact, it is primarily necessitated based upon the structural needs of the invention.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al, WO 2021/015998 A1, in view of Lalvani, US Publication No. 2020/0304900 A1.
Regarding Claim 13, Carlson et al teaches all the limitations of claim 10, but does not further teach, wherein said carrier has a front side with an elastic sealing layer forming a part of a housing outer side of the electronic device when the connector is in a mounted state
However, Lalvani, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein said carrier has a front side with an elastic sealing layer forming a part of a housing outer side of the electronic device when the connector is in a mounted state (Paragraph 106, “Alternatively, the bore 160 may be partially lined with a friction material, such as a rubber or rubber like material to assist in retaining the fifth electrical connector element 128 in the bore.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the carrier including an elastic sealing layer forming a part of a housing outer side of the electronic device, when the connector is in a mounted state, as taught by Lalvani, with the system as taught by Carlson et al. The motivation being that, while in a different embodiment, utilizing an elastic seal around connecting segments is shown to be known in the art, which allows for a better structural connection between different components and reinforces the stability of said connection.
Regarding Claim 14, Carlson et al in view of Lalvani teaches all the limitations of claim 13, and Lalvani further teaches, wherein said elastic sealing layer is made of a fluorosilicone (Paragraph 106, “Referring to FIG. 17, the storage case 510 is provided with fifth recessing 558 configured to receive the fifth electrical connector 128. The fifth recessing 558 comprises a bore 560 extending into the interior of the case body 512 and an entry cut-out 562 disposed at the upstream end of the bore 560… Alternatively, the bore 160 may be partially lined with a friction material, such as a rubber or rubber like material to assist in retaining the fifth electrical connector element 128 in the bore.”, while a different embodiment, teaches a connection element including a rubber/rubber-like material to form a part of the outer area, fluorosilicone being a known rubber material.).
Conclusion
/DYLAN MAGUIRE NEECE/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692