DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-19) in the reply filed on 8/18/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7, 10 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "said first honing zone" and “said second honing zone” in lines 1 and 2 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For examination purpose, Claim 6 is interpreted to depend on Claim 5. Since the limitation “said reaming section” in line 1 of Claim 6 is not recited either in Claim 1 or Claim 5, Claim 5 is interpreted to depend on Claim 2.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "said reaming section" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purpose, Claim 5 which Claim 10 depend is interpreted to depend on Claim 2 as noted above.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “said reaming section” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purpose, it is interpreted as “said reaming zone.”
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurrle et al. (DE202020102652) of which attached English translation is cited.
Regarding Claim 11, Kurrle teaches a tool (Fig. 1, 10) for performing reaming and honing operations, said tool comprising:
a shank (Fig. 1, 15);
a reaming zone (Fig. 3, 20) positioned at substantially proximity to a distal end (Fig. 3, 13) of said shank; and
a honing zone (Fig. 3, 25) positioned at substantially centre of said shank and in proximity to said reaming zone (Fig. 3, 20),
wherein said shank (Fig. 1, 15) connects to a machine via an adapter (Fig. 1, 12), wherein said shank axially advances into a workpiece (Fig. 2, 6) to be precision surfaced while rotating and reciprocating relative to said workpiece (Fig. 2, 6), wherein said shank axially advances such that said workpiece (Fig. 2, 6) comes in contact with said reaming zone (Fig. 3, 20) followed by said honing zone (Fig. 3, 25), and wherein said reaming zone (Fig. 3, 20) removes a stock of material from said workpiece and said honing zone (Fig. 3, 25) removes the stock of said material for precision surface in said workpiece (9th paragraph on page 2 starting with “When machining …”).
Examiner would like to note that the claim language such as “wherein said shank axially advances into …, wherein said centering section centers and aligns …, and wherein said reaming zone removes …” is a statement of intended use. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the structure of Kurrle's tool is clearly capable of performing the intended use. (see MPEP 2114)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 12, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurrle et al. (DE202020102652) of which attached English translation is cited in view of Hobohm (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/135413).
Regarding Claim 1, Kurrle teaches a tool (Fig. 1, 10) for performing reaming and honing operations, said tool comprising:
a shank (Fig. 1, 15);
a reaming zone (Fig. 3, 20) positioned at a distal end of said shank; and
a honing zone (Fig. 3, 25) positioned proximity to said reaming zone (Fig. 3, 20),
wherein said shank (Fig. 1, 15) connects to a machine via an adapter (Fig. 1, 12), wherein said shank axially advances into a workpiece (Fig. 2, 6) to be precision surfaced while rotating and reciprocating relative to said workpiece (Fig. 2, 6), wherein said workpiece (Fig. 2, 6) comes in contact with said reaming zone (Fig. 3, 20) followed by said honing zone (Fig. 3, 25), and wherein said reaming zone (Fig. 3, 20) removes a stock of material from said workpiece and said honing zone (Fig. 3, 25) removes the stock of said material for precision surface in said workpiece (9th paragraph on page 2 starting with “When machining …”).
Examiner would like to note that the claim language such as “wherein said shank axially advances into …, wherein said centering section centers and aligns …, and wherein said reaming zone removes …” is a statement of intended use. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the structure of Kurrle's tool is clearly capable of performing the intended use. (see MPEP 2114)
Kurrle does not explicitly teach a centering section positioned at a distal end of said shank, a reaming zone positioned proximity to said centering section and wherein said centering section centers and aligns said tool with said workpiece.
Hobohm teaches a centering section (Fig. 1, 10) positioned at a distal end of said shank (Fig. 1, 2), a reaming zone (Fig. 1, 3) positioned proximity to said centering section (Fig. 1, 10) and wherein said centering section centers and aligns said tool with said workpiece. ([0006]: The guide sleeve guides and centers the reamer in the drilled hole…)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a centering section at the distal end of the reaming zone of Kurrle as taught by Hobohm in order to guide and center the Kurrle’s tool in the drilled hole as suggested in Hobohm [0006].
Regarding Claim 8, Kurrle/Hobohm teach the tool of Claim 1, wherein said centering section (Hobohm Fig. 1, 10), said reaming zone (Kurrle Fig. 3, 20) and said honing zone (Kurrle Fig. 3, 25) are spaced apart at a distance from one another. (Hobohm Fig. 1 shows a gap between the centering section (10) and the said reaming zone (3).) (Kurrle Fig. 3 shows a gap between the reaming zone (20) and the honing zone (25).)
Regarding Claim 9, Kurrle/Hobohm teach the tool of Claim 1, wherein said reaming zone (Kurrle Fig. 3, 20) has a larger diameter than said centering section (Hobohm Fig. 1, 10) (Hobohm Fig. 1 shows the sleeve (10) having a diameter smaller than the diameter of the conical enlargement (12) of the reaming zone (3)), and wherein said honing zone (Kurrle Fig. 3, 25) has a larger diameter than said reaming zone (Kurrle Fig. 3, 20) (Kurrle page 2, second paragraph: the outside diameter of the honing section to be somewhat larger than the outside diameter of the friction section).
Regarding Claim 12, Kurrle teaches the tool of Claim 11, but does not explicitly teach further comprises a centering section, wherein said centering section positioned between said distal end and said reaming zone.
Hobohm teaches a centering section (Fig. 1, 10), wherein said centering section positioned between said distal end (Fig. 1, upper end of the tool where a circlip (11) is located) and said reaming zone (Fig. 1, 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a centering section at the distal end of the reaming zone of Kurrle as taught by Hobohm in order to guide and center the tool in the drilled hole as suggested in Hobohm [0006].
Regarding Claim 13, Kurrle/Hobohm teach the tool of Claim 12, wherein said centering section (Hobohm Fig. 1, 10) centers and aligns said tool with respect to said workpiece (Hobohm [0006]).
Regarding Claim 19, Kurrle/Hobohm teach the tool of Claim 12, wherein said reaming zone (Kurrle Fig. 3, 20) has a larger diameter than said centering section (Hobohm Fig. 1, 10) (Hobohm Fig. 1 shows the sleeve (10) having a diameter smaller than the diameter of the conical enlargement (12) of the reaming zone (3)), and wherein said honing zone (Kurrle Fig. 3, 25) has a larger diameter than said reaming zone (Kurrle Fig. 3, 20) (Kurrle page 2, second paragraph: the outside diameter of the honing section to be somewhat larger than the outside diameter of the friction section).
Claim(s) 2-4 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurrle et al. (DE202020102652) of which attached English translation is cited in view of Hobohm (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011135413), as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Liu (CN201889549) of which attached English translation is cited.
Regarding Claim 2, Kurrle/Hobohm teach the tool of Claim 1, but do not teach wherein said reaming zone has an end mill section and a reaming section.
Liu teaches said reaming zone (Fig. 3, 2) has an end mill section (Fig. 5, 2b) and a reaming section (Fig. 5, 2d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reaming zone (20) of Kurrle to have two reaming sections as taught by of Liu in order to improve production efficiency of the reaming process as suggested in Liu [0006].
Regarding Claim 3, Kurrle/Hohobm/Liu teach the tool of Claim 2, wherein said end mill section (Liu Fig. 5, 2b) positions adjacent to said centering section (Hobohm Fig. 1, 10), and wherein said reaming section (Liu Fig. 5, 2d) positions adjacent to said end mill section (Liu Fig. 5, 2b).
Regarding Claim 4, although Kurrle/Hobohm/Liu do not explicitly teach the amount of stock material removed from the hole in the workpiece by the said end mill section and said reaming section, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove a predetermined range of material amount including 0.25 millimeter of the stock material from the hole by the said end mill section and said reaming section depending on a size of the pre-drilled hole, a material type, the tool type and surface finish requirement in order to avoid excessive cutting force while maintaining tight tolerances.
Regarding Claim 14, Kurrle/Hobohm teach the tool of Claim 11, but do not explicitly teach wherein said reaming zone has an end mill section and a reaming section, wherein said end mill section positions adjacent to said centering section, and wherein said reaming section positions adjacent to said end mill section.
Liu teaches said reaming zone (Fig. 3, 2) has an end mill section (Fig. 5, 2b) and a reaming section (Fig. 5, 2d), wherein said reaming section (Fig. 5, 2d) positions adjacent to said end mill section (Liu Fig. 5, 2b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reaming zone of Kurrle to have two reaming sections as taught by Liu in order to improve production efficiency of the reaming process as suggested in Liu [0006].
As a result of the modification of Kurrle/Hobohm by Liu, said end mill section (Liu Fig. 5, 2b) would be positioned adjacent to said centering section (Hobohm Fig. 1, 10).
Regarding Claim 15, although Kurrle/Hobohm/Liu do not explicitly teach the amount of stock material removed from the hole in the workpiece by the said end mill section and said reaming section, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove an optimal amount of material including 0.25 millimeter of the stock material from the hole by the said end mill section and said reaming section depending on a size of the pre-drilled hole, a material type, the tool type and surface finish requirement in order to avoid excessive cutting force while maintaining tight tolerances.
Claim(s) 5-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurrle et al. (DE202020102652) of which attached English translation is cited in view of Hobohm (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/135413) and Liu (CN201889549) of which attached English translation is cited, as applied to Claim 2, and further in view of Higashikawa (EP0610498).
Regarding Claim 5, Kurrle/Hobohm/Liu teach the tool of Claim 2, but do not teach wherein said honing zone comprises a first honing zone and a second honing zone, and wherein said second honing zone has a fine grit grindstone than said first honing zone.
Higashikawa teaches said honing zone comprises a first honing zone (Fig. 4, 7) and a second honing zone (Fig. 4, 10), and wherein said second honing zone (Fig. 4, 10) has a fine grit diamond than said first honing zone (Fig. 4, 7). (Col. 4, lines 3-11: In the rough grinding section 7, grains with rough grading are electrodeposited …)(Col. 4, lines 15-18: In the final grading section 10, grains with fine grading …)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the single honing zone of Kurrle to two honing zones as taught by Higashikawa in order to carry out the honing process with a high precision and an improved efficiency as suggested in Higashikawa Col. 8, lines 29-34.
Examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known in the art to use diamond as a grindstone in a honing tool. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the grindstone of Kurrle modified by Higashikawa with diamond as diamond exhibits extremely high hardness which enables removing strong material at a fast speed.
Regarding Claim 6, Kurrle/Hobohm/Liu/Higashikawa teach the tool of Claim 5, wherein said first honing zone (Higashikawa Fig. 4, 7) positions adjacent to said reaming section (Liu Fig. 5, 2d) and comes in contact with said workpiece followed by said second honing zone (Higashikawa Fig. 4, 10) when said shank axially advances towards said workpiece.
Regarding Claim 7, Kurrle/Hobohm/Liui/Higashikawa teach the tool of Claim 6, wherein said first honing zone has a medium grit diamond (Higashikawa Col. 4, lines 3-11: In the rough grinding section 7, grains with rough grading are electrodeposited …) and wherein said second honing zone has a fine grit diamond (Higashikawa Col. 4, lines 15-18: In the final grading section 10, grains with fine grading …).
Although Kurrle/Hobohm/Liu/Higashikawa do not explicitly teach said first honing zone removes the stock of material of about 0.02 millimetre from said workpiece, and wherein said second honing zone removes the stock of material of about 0.008 millimetre from said workpiece for precision surface on said workpiece, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove an a predetermined range of material amount including 0.02 millimeter of the stock material from the hole by said first honing zone and 0.008 millimeter of the stock material from the hole by said second honing zone depending on the size and the condition of the hole prior to each of the honing processes and a desired smoothness of the hole after each of the honing processes.
Regarding Claim 10, Kurrle/Hobohm/Liu/Higashikawa teach the tool of Claim 5, wherein each of said reaming section (Liu Fig. 5, 2d) and said first honing zone (Higashikawa Fig. 4, 7) comprises a tapered section (Liu Fig. 5, 2c) (Higashikawa Fig. 5 shows a notch made of two tapered sections between the first honing zone (7) and the pilot section (5)), and wherein each of said tapered sections facilitates aligning an axis of said tool with said workpiece.
Examiner would like to note that the claim language such as “wherein each of said tapered sections facilitates aligning an axis of said tool with said workpiece” is a statement of intended use. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the tapered sections of Liu and Higashikawa are clearly capable of performing the intended use. (see MPEP 2114)
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurrle et al. (DE202020102652) of which attached English translation is cited in view of Higashikawa (EP0610498).
Regarding Claim 16, Kurrle teaches the tool of Claim 11, but does not teach wherein said honing zone comprises a first honing zone and a second honing zone, and wherein said second honing zone has a fine grit grindstone than said first honing zone.
Higashikawa teaches said honing zone comprises a first honing zone (Fig. 4, 7) and a second honing zone (Fig. 4, 10), and wherein said second honing zone (Fig. 4, 10) has a fine grit diamond than said first honing zone (Fig. 4, 7). (Col. 4, lines 3-11: In the rough grinding section 7, grains with rough grading are electrodeposited …)(Col. 4, lines 15-18: In the final grading section 10, grains with fine grading …)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the single honing zone of Kurrle to two honing zones as taught by Higashikawa in order to carry out the honing process with a high precision and an improved efficiency as suggested in Higashikawa Col. 8, lines 29-34.
Examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known in the art to use diamond as a grindstone in a honing tool. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the grindstone of Kurrle modified by Higashikawa with diamond as diamond exhibits extremely high hardness which enables removing strong material at a fast speed.
Regarding Claim 17, Kurrle/Higashikawa teach the tool of Claim 16, wherein said first honing zone (Higashikawa Fig. 4, 7) positions adjacent to said reaming zone (Kurrle Fig. 3, 20) and comes in contact with said workpiece followed by said second honing zone (Higashikawa Fig. 4, 10) when said shank axially advances towards said workpiece.
Regarding Claim 18, Kurrle/ Higashikawa teach the tool of Claim 17, wherein said first honing zone has a medium grit diamond (Col. 4, lines 3-11: In the rough grinding section 7, grains with rough grading are electrodeposited …) and wherein said second honing zone has a fine grit diamond (Col. 4, lines 15-18: In the final grading section 10, grains with fine grading …).
Although Kurrle/Higashikawa do not explicitly teach said first honing zone removes the stock of material of about 0.02 millimeter from said workpiece, and wherein said second honing zone removes the stock of material of about 0.008 millimeter from said workpiece for precision surface on said workpiece, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove a predetermined range of material amount including 0.02 millimeter of the stock material from the hole by said first honing zone and 0.008 millimeter of the stock material from the hole by said second honing zone depending on the size and the condition of the hole prior to each of the honing processes and a desired smoothness of the hole after each of the honing processes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Scott (WO8403461) teaches a reaming zone (24) and a honing zone (26). However, it also has a drilling zone 18 at the distal end of the tool and does not teach two reaming zones and honing zones.
/JUN S YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725 10/17/2026