DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references
Response to Arguments
The objections to the drawings and the rejections made under 35 USC 112(b) have been overcome and are accordingly withdrawn. A new grounds of rejection under 35 USC 112(a) is made in light of the amendment to claim 2.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/14/26 regarding the 35 USC 102 rejections have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on application 10-2023-0125349 filed in Korea on 9/20/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. The USPTO received a document on 2/20/2025 informing us of a failure to electronically retrieve the application from the priority document exchange program.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, as amended it requires the first light source to include first and second splitters. FIG. 27 is indicated as supporting the splitter limitations. While distributor 324c in FIG. 27 appears to provide support for performing a splitting operation, distributor 324e (likely to be supporting the second splitter limitation) instead joins the split signals back together, making the use of the splitter term in this context illogical and lacking any direct support from the specification. Examiner suggests using distributor instead of splitter to address this rejection.
Regarding Claims 3-6, they are rejected from depending from rejected base claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PG PUB 20210055390 (hereinafter LaChapelle) in view of Zhang (“Laser Chirp Linearization and Phase Noise Compensation for Frequency-modulated Continuous wave LiDAR” by Zhang) and further in view of Liquid Instruments (“Laser Frequency Offset Locking” by Liquid Instruments).
Regarding Claim 1, LaChapelle teaches a Doppler LiDAR apparatus (LIDAR system 100 is described in [0074] as being an FMCW lidar system) comprising:
a first light source (450a, see FIG. 12) configured to output light having a uniform frequency ([0149] describes 450a and 450b as being frequency locked) for detecting a speed of a target;
a second light source (450b) configured to output light for detecting a directivity of a moving target, the second light source outputting the light having a preset frequency difference from a frequency of the light output by the first light source ([0148] describes a frequency offset between the light output by 450a and 450b of 1 kHz or 1 MHz);
an optical system configured to adjust a path or state of the light output by the first light source (scanner 120, see FIG. 6 and [0095] describing 120’s use of scanning mirrors to move the path of the outgoing laser to cover a field of regard) to be incident on the target (target 130) and adjust a path or state of light to be output to an outside or reflected light that is reflected by the target;
an interferometer configured to make the light that is output by the second light source and the reflected light that has passed through the optical system interfere with each other (combiner 420, see FIG. 6 and [0096] 420 is operable as an interferometer by causing reflected beam 135 and local oscillator beam 430 to spatially overlap and propagate coaxially to detector 340); and
a detection unit (receiver 140) configured to detect information on a distance and speed of the target by receiving the light ([0097] combined light is received and converted to an electrical signal at detector 340 & [0076] describes how the combined light includes linearly chirped light source that generate a beat signal when received at detector 340 that is known to include position, speed and directionality information) that has been subjected to interference in the interferometer (combiner 420). LaChapelle fails to teach the remainder of claim 1.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the first light source comprises:
a second interferometer configured to detect phase noise included in the light output by the first light source and comprising:
a first splitter configured to split light input the first splitter at a ratio of 50:50;
a phase delayer configured to delay,
a second splitter configured to allow the phase-delayed light and light which is not phased-delayed to interfere with each other (Zhang teaches the use of an interferometer in an FMCW LiDAR device configured to receive the light output by a light source and detect phase noise included in the light output by the light source. In particular, figure 2.1 on page 7 of Zhang shows the use of a monitoring interferometer (labeled MZI) to detect phase noise in a laser source by producing a beat frequency that is then extracted with a Hilbert Transform to extract a chirp signal. The extracted chirp signal is subtracted from a desired chirp signal to identify phase noise), and
Zhang and LaChapelle both describe LIDAR configurations. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to modify the first light source configuration taught by LaChapelle with the phase noise compensation techniques taught by Zhang. While Zhang is silent as to the particular time delay, the use of a 90 degree phase offset would be obvious as illustrated by US8155914, which at Col 4 lines 61-64 recommends the use of a 90 degree phase shift, commonly referred to as a quadrature setting, where it states using such a configuration allows for the phase noise to be represented by the DC voltage in the beat signal.
While the combination of LaChapelle and Zhang does teach frequency locking the output beams in [0149] of LaChapelle, it lacks a description of how this is performed. However, Liquid Instruments describes with particularity how the frequency locking described at a high level in LaChapelle can be performed and also teach wherein the second light source comprises:
a third interferometer configured to compare frequencies of two input signals and configured to receive part of the light output by the first light source and part of the light output by the second light source and detect whether a frequency difference between the part of the light output by the first light source and the part of the light output by the second light source is constant (FIG. 1 of Liquid Instruments shows a configuration for frequency locking two lasers by causing the two laser output signals to interfere with another and when the signals indicate a departure from a desired constant frequency offset, the feedback signal shown in FIG. 1 is used to achieve the desired constant frequency offset).
Liquid Instruments and the combination of LaChapelle and Zhang are both directed to laser configurations in which the laser output is regulated. Given the silence of the combination of LaChapelle and Zhang on achieving the frequency locked laser configuration described in [0149] of LaChapelle, a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to modify the second light source taught by the combination of LaChapelle and Zhang to include the interferometer allowing for frequency locking taught by Liquid Instruments.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of LaChapelle, Zhang and Liquid Instruments teaches the Doppler LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, wherein the preset frequency difference is a frequency within a preset error range on the basis of 50 MHz ([0148] of LaChapelle describes a frequency offset between the light output by 450a and 450b of 1 kHz or 1 MHz, which is within / less than 50 MHz).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of LaChapelle, Zhang and Liquid Instruments teaches the Doppler LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, wherein when the target becomes close to the Doppler LiDAR apparatus, a Doppler frequency greater than a frequency of output light is introduced. ([0076] of LaChapelle describes the use of frequency modulated signals that when reflected off the target would see in increased frequency due to doppler shift caused by the target moving closer to the sensor).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of LaChapelle, Zhang and Liquid Instruments teaches the Doppler LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, wherein when the target becomes distant from the Doppler LiDAR apparatus, a Doppler frequency smaller than a frequency of output light is introduced. ([0076] of LaChapelle describes the use of frequency modulated signals that when reflected off the target would see a reduced frequency due to doppler shift caused by the target moving farther away from the sensor).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of LaChapelle, Zhang and Liquid Instruments teaches the Doppler LiDAR apparatus of claim 1, wherein the optical system comprises:
a transmission-optical system (scanner 120) configured to adjust a path of the light that is output by the first light source so that the light proceeds to the target; and
a reception-optical system (mirror 115 as shown in FIG. 6) configured to adjust a path of the reflected light that is reflected by the target and that is incident from an outside so that the reflected light proceeds to the interferometer (combiner 420).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN DAVID WIGGER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645