DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Xiao (Adv. Energy Mater. 2020, 10, 1903937)
Regarding Claim 1, Xiao et al. teaches a molecular crystal, comprising a sulfolane and a lithium salt represented by chemical formula 1 and a molar ratio of the sulfolane to the lithium salt of 2 to 1 [Lithium 1, 1, 2, 2, 3, 3-hexafluoropropane-1, 3-disulfonimide (LiHFDF), abstract].
Regarding Claim 2, Ma et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Ma et al. teaches all the structural limitations of the claim; therefore, it is the view of the examiner, based on the teaching of Ma. et al., has a reasonable basis to believe that the claimed properties are inherently possessed by the device of Ma et al. meeting the limitation of “having a hexagonal structure”
Since the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to applicants to show otherwise. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding Claim 3, Ma et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Ma et al. teaches wherein the molar ratio of the sulfolane to the lithium salt is 2.0 or more and less than 3.0 [Abstract]
Regarding Claim 4, Ma et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Ma et al. teaches electrochemical device, comprising: an ionic conductor, wherein the ionic conductor has a molecular crystal according to claim 1 [Conclusion, page 7 of 8].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao (Adv. Energy Mater. 2020, 10, 1903937) in view of Badding (US Pub No. 2024/0097114)
Regarding Claim 5, Xiao et al. teaches a molecular crystal, comprising a sulfolane and a lithium salt represented by chemical formula 1 and a molar ratio of the sulfolane to the lithium salt of 2 to 1 [Lithium 1, 1, 2, 2, 3, 3-hexafluoropropane-1, 3-disulfonimide (LiHFDF), abstract].
Ma et al. is silent on a method for producing a molecular crystal, the method comprising:
mixing sulfolane and a lithium salt represented by the following chemical formula (1)
to obtain a solution containing the sulfolane and the lithium salt and having a molar ratio of the
sulfolane to the lithium salt of 2.0 or more and 3.1 or less, and cooling the solution to obtain the molecular crystal.
Badding et al. teaches a lithium salt that was mixed with sulfolane with a 3:1 ratio of sulfolane to LiTFSI [Table 1, 0166-0167 and table 2, 0172-0173, see example 5 and example 9, 0172-0173], the solution was later cooled to room temperature [0171].
Since Xiao et al. teaches the use of LiHFDF and LiTFSI for a battery, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to replace the LiTFSI in the method of Badding et al. with the LiHFDF et al. of Ma et al. in order to provide improved electrochemical improvements for the battery [Ma: Conclusion, page 7 of 8].
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728