DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. The drawings were received on 3/26/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zschocke et al (DE 102013108380) in view of Thiebault (FR 3062347).
As per claim 1, Zschocke et al discloses a vehicle duct (18) for cooling rear brakes comprising:
a body (18) defining a channel (18) passing through the body;
an inlet (24) is at one end of the duct;
an outlet (Fig. 2) is at another end of the duct, the outlet is generally positioned laterally with respect to the vehicle axis (18, Fig. 1, 2) and the outlet is angled upward for directing an air flow at a brake rotor (18; [0014]); and
wherein the body includes an upper surface (18) and an opposite lower surface (18), the upper surface including a plurality of supports (28) that extend from the upper surface of body to secure the duct with a knuckle (20; [0012]); and
wherein an angle at which the outlet is angled upward (18, Fig. 2). Zschocke et al does not disclose the orientation or upward bending angle of the air duct, frusto-conically-shaped supports or a door positioned immediately adjacent the inlet for prohibiting air flow into the inlet until a desired windspeed force is reached.
Although it is possible that the inlet extends axially in parallel with respect to an axis of the vehicle (24; [0012]), Zschocke et al does not explicitly disclose the orientation of the cooling ducts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling assembly of Zschocke et al by aligning the trailing duct inlet (24) with the main vehicle axis in order to maximize the air supply for better cooling.
Although it is possible that an angle at which the outlet is angled upward ranges between 35 degrees to 45 degrees (18, Fig. 2), Zschocke et al does not explicitly disclose this. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air guiding duct of Zschocke et al by angling the outlet upwards within a range of 35 degrees to 45 degrees in order to permit the inlet to be low enough to freely draw air. Selecting an angle from within the claimed range would have been a matter of routine optimization because an overly sharp angle would disrupt airflow, while an overly shallow angle would likely impede the air intake.
Although it is possible that the supports are frusto-conically-shaped (28, Fig. 2), Zschocke et al does not explicitly disclose this. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the supports of Zschocke by making them frusto-conically-shaped in order to improve aerodynamic properties and maximize the respective connecting areas on the arm (20) and duct (18).
Thiebault discloses a device for regulating an airflow comprising a door (23) positioned immediately adjacent the inlet for prohibiting air flow into the inlet (19) until a desired windspeed force is reached (Translation: [0032] | Original: Page 6, lines 23-28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trailing cooling duct (18) of Zschocke et al by providing a flow-control gate as taught by Thiebault in order to regulate brake cooling for improved vehicle aerodynamics.
As per claim 4, Zschocke et al and Thiebault disclose the vehicle duct of claim 1. Thiebault further discloses wherein the door opens automatically when the desired windspeed force contacts the door (23; Translation: [0032] | Original: Page 6, lines 23-28).
As per claim 5, Zschocke et al and Thiebault disclose the vehicle duct of claim 1. Thiebault discloses further comprising a biasing spring (Translation: [0034] | Original: Page 7, lines 1-6) enabling opening of the door at a desired air speed.
As per claim 8, Zschocke et al discloses a vehicle (Title) with a rear brake cooling device (12; Abstract, [0004]) comprising:
a rear knuckle (20; [0012]) including a brake rotor (10);
a body (18) defining a channel (18) passing through the body;
an inlet (24) at one end of the duct;
an outlet (Fig. 2) at another end of the channel, the outlet generally positioned laterally with respect to the vehicle axis (18, Fig. 1, 2) and the outlet angled upward for directing an air flow at the brake rotor (18; [0014]); and
wherein the body includes an upper surface (18) and an opposite lower surface (18), the upper surface including a plurality of supports (28) that extend from the upper surface of body to secure the duct with the rear knuckle; and
wherein an angle at which the outlet is angled upward (18, Fig. 2). Zschocke et al does not disclose the orientation or upward bending angle of the air duct, frusto-conically-shaped supports or a door positioned immediately adjacent the inlet for prohibiting air flow into the inlet until a desired windspeed force is reached.
Although it is possible that the inlet extends axially in parallel with respect to an axis of the vehicle (24; [0012]), Zschocke et al does not explicitly disclose the orientation of the cooling ducts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling assembly of Zschocke et al by aligning the trailing duct inlet (24) with the main vehicle axis in order to maximize the air supply for better cooling.
Although it is possible that an angle at which the outlet is angled upward ranges between 35 degrees to 45 degrees (18, Fig. 2), Zschocke et al does not explicitly disclose this. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air guiding duct of Zschocke et al by angling the outlet upwards within a range of 35 degrees to 45 degrees in order to permit the inlet to be low enough to freely draw air. Selecting an angle from within the claimed range would have been a matter of routine optimization because an overly sharp angle would disrupt airflow, while an overly shallow angle would likely impede the air intake.
Although it is possible that the supports are frusto-conically-shaped (28, Fig. 2), Zschocke et al does not explicitly disclose this. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the supports of Zschocke by making them frusto-conically-shaped in order to improve aerodynamic properties and maximize the respective connecting areas on the arm (20) and duct (18).
Thiebault discloses a device for regulating an airflow comprising a door (23) positioned immediately adjacent the inlet for prohibiting air flow into the inlet (19) until a desired windspeed force is reached (Translation: [0032] | Original: Page 6, lines 23-28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trailing cooling duct (18) of Zschocke et al by providing a flow-control gate as taught by Thiebault in order to regulate brake cooling for improved vehicle aerodynamics.
As per claim 11, Zschocke et al and Thiebault disclose the vehicle with a rear brake cooling device of claim 8. Thiebault further discloses wherein the door opens automatically when the desired windspeed force contacts the door (23; Translation: [0032] | Original: Page 6, lines 23-28).
As per claim 12, Zschocke et al and Thiebault disclose the vehicle with a rear brake cooling device of claim 8. Thiebault discloses further comprising a biasing spring (Translation: [0034] | Original: Page 7, lines 1-6) enabling opening of the door at a desired air speed.
6. Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zschocke et al (DE 102013108380) in view of Thiebault (FR 3062347) and further in view of Shi et al (US 2017/0299006).
As per claim 6, Zschocke et al and Thiebault disclose the vehicle duct of claim 4, but do not disclose wherein the air speed is at least 50 mph.
Shi et al discloses an active airflow deflector for brake cooling wherein the air speed is at least 50 mph ([0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gated duct of Zschocke et al and Thiebault by using gate springs strong enough to hold the gates closed at vehicle speeds below 50mph as taught by Shi et al in order to ensure adequate cooling under the more-demanding conditions of highway travel. Such a modification could be made with changes to spring size and/or shape. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A-B).
As per claim 7, Zschocke et al, Thiebault and Shi et al disclose the vehicle duct of claim 6. Thiebault further discloses wherein the spring-biased duct gate remains closed below a minimum speed (Translation: [0033] | Original: Page 6, lines 30-35). Shi et al discloses wherein the door remains closed when the air speed is below 50 mph ([0046]).
As per claim 13, Zschocke et al and Thiebault disclose the vehicle with a rear brake cooling device of claim 11, but do not disclose wherein the air speed is at least 50 mph.
Shi et al discloses an active airflow deflector for brake cooling wherein the air speed is at least 50 mph ([0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gated duct of Zschocke et al and Thiebault by using gate springs strong enough to hold the gates closed at vehicle speeds below 50mph as taught by Shi et al in order to ensure adequate cooling under the more-demanding conditions of highway travel. Such a modification could be made with changes to spring size and/or shape. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A-B).
As per claim 14, Zschocke et al, Thiebault and Shi et al disclose the vehicle with a rear brake cooling device of claim 13. Thiebault further discloses wherein the spring-biased duct gate remains closed below a minimum speed (Translation: [0033] | Original: Page 6, lines 30-35). Shi et al discloses wherein the door remains closed when the air speed is below 50 mph ([0046]).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 8/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 8 under Zschocke et al and Salinity have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zschocke et al and Thiebault.
Regarding the rejection under Zschocke et al, the Examiner now interprets arm (20) as corresponding to the claimed knuckle instead of wheel carrier (4). Although the applicant is permitted to act as his own lexicographer (See MPEP 2173.05(a)), the Examiner notes that the inventive knuckle (14) appears to be a control arm, rather than a steering knuckle.
Regarding the prior art rejection of claims 1 and 8 under Zschocke et al, the applicant argues that:
“Secondly, the alleged "supports" of Zschocke are not provided on an upper surface of the body of the duct, but rather on a side surface” (Page 7, ¶2).
The Examiner has taken the interpretation that the claimed upper surface corresponds to combination of the top surface and one side surface of Zschocke et al as shown in annotated Figure 2 above. The claimed lower surface corresponds to the bottom surface and the other side surface of Zschocke et al.
The applicant argues that:
“Lastly, there is no teaching or suggestion in Zschocke of an angle at which the outlet can extend in a direction toward the brake” (Page 7, ¶3).
Zschocke et al shows the air guiding duct extending upward at an unknown angle. It would be obvious to selecting an angle from within the claimed ranged in order to provide smooth airflow as a result of routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Spring-loaded vehicle air duct gates
Lee Jong Du et al (KR 2011-0032018).
Mies (DE 102019211938).
Temple (US 2018/0354355).
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEPHEN M. BOWES IV
Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/STEPHEN M BOWES/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616