DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
US 2020/0257040 (“CHEN”) in view of US 2004/0228593 (“SUN”).
Regarding claims 1 and 6-8, CHEN teaches an optical fiber (6S) comprising: a core (10, 20); and a trench (30) disposed on an outer circumference of the core (FIG. 2B), wherein the core includes a first region (10) and a second region (20), the first region having a refractive index n1 (D1) decreasing in a direction from a center of the core toward an outer edge of the core (FIG. 3A), the second region being positioned on an outer circumference of the first region, the second region including the outer edge of the core (FIG. 2B), the second region having a refractive index n2 (D2) being constant, the refractive index n2 of the second region is equal to or lower than the refractive index n1 of the first region (FIG. 3A), a thickness of the second region is 3.5 μm or more and less than 4.4 μm (par. [0087]), and a refractive index n3 (D3) of the trench is lower than the refractive index n2 of the second region (FIG. 3A).
CHEN does not teach that the optical fiber is a plastic optical fiber. SUN teaches a similar optical fiber (See FIG. 8) that is a plastic optical fiber (pars. [0004], [0081]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the optical fiber of CHEN so as to be a plastic optical fiber, as taught by SUN. The motivation would have been to utilize a well-known material for use in making optical fibers (pars. [0004], [0081]).
Regarding claim 9, CHEN teaches a numerical aperture (NA) of the plastic optical fiber is 0.190 or more and 0.235 or less (par. [0073]).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, CHEN teaches an active optical cable comprising an optical cord and an optoelectronic hybrid module (FIGs. 4, 11; par. [0140]).
Regarding claims 2-5, CHEN in view of SUN renders obvious the limitations of the base claim 1. The additional limitations appear to involve mere optimization. It has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to optimize the optical fiber of CHEN in view of SUN as set forth in the instant claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2022/0066090 (“TANDON”) teaches a similar optical fiber (See Figs. 6, 10).
/JERRY M BLEVINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874