DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/26/24 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 3/26/24. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NPL, “Gogoro and 7-Eleven Tie Up to Offer E-scooter Battery-swapping to Enhance Convenience” by Gogoro.
As to Claim 1:
Gogoro discloses a holding apparatus comprising: a holder holding a power storage device to be detachable; and a housing provided to house the holder, wherein Gogoro teaches a “GoStation battery-swapping station” system comprised of separate slot compartments (holders) that hold portable, user-swappable e-scooter battery packs (power storage devices) inside a main terminal unit (housing) (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
The holder is provided such that an attachment and detachment direction in which the power storage device is attached to or detached from the holder is inclined with respect to a direction orthogonal to a placement surface of the housing, wherein Gogoro shows a kiosk cabinet design that uses a distinct backward-swept, sloped front surface. This forward-leaning angled placement ensures that the physical insertion and removal path (attachment and detachment direction) along which the user slides each battery pack into or out of its corresponding slot holder is structurally inclined relative to the straight vertical axis (the direction orthogonal to the horizontal ground or bottom placement surface of the terminal housing) (Gogoro, Pg. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL, “Gogoro and 7-Eleven Tie Up to Offer E-scooter Battery-swapping to Enhance Convenience” by Gogoro in view of CN 114649619 A (CN’619).
As to Claim 2:
See the rejection of Claim 1 as applied to Gogoro, which teaches a holding apparatus featuring a slanted outer kiosk container (housing) with individual storage slots (holders) that detachably hold e-scooter battery packs (power storage devices) along an inclined directional vector (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
Gogoro discloses a power conversion device provided to be capable of transmitting an electric power to and from the power storage device held by the holder, wherein Gogoro implicitly teaches the use of internal battery-charging and power management electronics to execute DIY battery-pack swapping and energy distribution operations to transmit power to and from the seated battery packs (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose a defining portion defining a space, in which the holder and the power conversion device are disposed, in the housing.
CN’619 discloses a defining portion defining a space, in which a holder and a power conversion device are disposed, in a housing, wherein CN’619 teaches a battery chassis assembly comprising a flat interior partition plate (inner plate 30) that physically separates the inner space of the enclosure cabinet (frame 20) into an upper sub-space (S₁) and a lower sub-space (S₂) to receive different components (CN’619, Pg. 4-6).
Gogoro and CN’619 are analogous arts because both references belong to the same field of endeavor, namely structural enclosures for battery systems, and address the identical problem of organizing and housing electrical components, circuit elements, and rechargeable power units safely within a shared outer protective casing (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 1-2, 4-6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate an interior dividing panel or horizontal partition shelf like the inner plate 30 of CN’619 into the GoStation cabinet of Gogoro to define separate interior spaces for the battery holder slots and the power distribution electronics. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to introduce this structural partition to create specialized internal sub-compartments, thereby preventing localized thermal transfer, dust accumulation, or electronic noise from migrating between the user-accessible slot holders and the underlying power conversion circuitry (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 1-2, 4-6).
As to Claim 3:
See the rejection of Claim 2 as applied to the combination of Gogoro and CN’619, which discloses an electrical holding apparatus containing an intermediate shelf layout that partitions the inside of a case into adjacent storage spaces (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 4-6).
The power conversion device is disposed below the holder, and the defining portion is disposed below the holder and above the power conversion device, wherein Gogoro implicitly teaches the use of underlying energy distribution hardware to perform DIY battery pack charging and swapping inside a matrix cabinet layout (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose the specific geometric arrangement where the power conversion device is disposed below the holder, and the defining portion is disposed below the holder and above the power conversion device.
CN’619 discloses that the power conversion device is disposed below the holder, and the defining portion is disposed below the holder and above the power conversion device, wherein CN’619 teaches a multi-tiered vertical compartmentalization configuration within a chassis enclosure (frame 20) where a horizontal partition shelf (inner plate 30) divides the inner space such that a heavy battery pack 40 component assembly is mounted on the lower surface 31 and disposed inside the lower space (S₂) directly underneath a control substrate 80 component situated in the upper space (S₁) (CN’619, Pg. 4-6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to structure the internal partition arrangement of Gogoro’s GoStation cabinet such that the power conversion device is disposed below the holder, and the defining portion is disposed below the holder and above the power conversion device, as taught by the vertical stacking order of CN’619. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to place the battery-charging hardware and related power converter electronics in a lower sub-space beneath a protective horizontal plate to exploit a modular gravity register, which naturally prevents heat generated by underlying power management devices from directly elevating the temperature of the user-accessible cell holders above, and shields the bottom power conversion assembly from debris or particles dislodged during regular battery-swapping operation (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 1-2, 4-6).
As to Claim 4:
See the rejection of Claim 3 as applied to the combination of Gogoro and CN’619, which discloses an electrical holding apparatus with an inclined battery slot holder, a partitioned internal casing, and a power conversion device underneath an internal defining portion (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 4-6).
The defining portion is provided to extend in a direction orthogonal to the attachment and detachment direction of the power storage device, wherein Gogoro discloses an inclined attachment and detachment direction where portable battery packs slide into sloped slot compartments of a backward-swept cabinet housing (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose that the defining portion is provided to extend in a direction orthogonal to the attachment and detachment direction of the power storage device.
CN’619 discloses that the defining portion is provided to extend in a direction orthogonal to the attachment and detachment direction of the power storage device, wherein CN’619 teaches an interior space split by a flat panel partition (inner plate 30) that extends along a plane orthogonal to the vertical loading, insertion, and mounting paths of its primary internal power storage components (battery pack 40) and fastening structures (screw 60) (CN’619, Pg. 4-6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to structure the internal partition arrangement of Gogoro’s GoStation cabinet such that the defining portion is provided to extend in a direction orthogonal to the attachment and detachment direction of the power storage device, as taught by the orthogonal layout principles of CN’619. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to align the internal space-defining plate perpendicular or orthogonal to the inclined sliding vector of the battery holder to optimize the interior volume configuration. Extending the partition wall along a direction orthogonal to the attachment and detachment path creates a robust base plane that maximizes space efficiency beneath the sloped matrix of battery slots while simultaneously forming an optimal, consistent slant that easily collects and flushes away external moisture or rain traveling down the inclined attachment channels (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 1-2, 4-6).
As to Claim 5:
See the rejection of Claim 4 as applied to the combination of Gogoro and CN’619, which discloses an electrical holding apparatus with an inclined attachment and detachment direction, a partitioned inner case structure, and a horizontal internal defining portion extending in an orthogonal direction relative to the sliding vector of a detachable power storage device (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 4-6).
The defining portion is provided such that a lower end portion of the defining portion in an inclined direction orthogonal to the attachment and detachment direction of the power storage device is lower than a lower end portion of the holder in the inclined direction, wherein Gogoro discloses a backward-swept cabinet housing having angled slot holders where a user inserts or removes portable battery packs along an inclined directional vector (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose that the defining portion is provided such that a lower end portion of the defining portion in an inclined direction orthogonal to the attachment and detachment direction of the power storage device is lower than a lower end portion of the holder in the inclined direction.
CN’619 discloses that the defining portion is provided such that a lower end portion of the defining portion in an inclined direction orthogonal to the attachment and detachment direction of the power storage device is lower than a lower end portion of the holder in the inclined direction, wherein CN’619 teaches that the flat plate partition (inner plate 30) is configured to extend structurally along its layout plane beyond the perimeter boundaries of its primary internal power storage components (battery pack 40), thereby creating an overlapping physical catchment margin where the peripheral terminal and lower edge boundaries of the first defining portion project lower than and cover the bottommost terminal profiles of the adjacent holder components (CN’619, Pg. 4-6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to structure the internal partition arrangement of Gogoro’s GoStation cabinet such that the defining portion is provided such that a lower end portion of the defining portion in an inclined direction orthogonal to the attachment and detachment direction of the power storage device is lower than a lower end portion of the holder in the inclined direction, as taught by the peripheral overhanging layout rules of CN’619. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to extend the lower edge of the orthogonal dividing shelf past the lowermost front corner lip of the sloped matrix of battery slots to serve as a comprehensive protective shielding barrier. Extending the lower edge portion of the space-defining plate lower than the lower end portion of the sloped slot holders ensures that external water, condensation, or rain entering from the user-accessible inclined insertion ports is safely caught by the overhanging partition wall and completely isolated from drifting down into the underlying power conversion chargers situated in the lower zone of the shared kiosk casing (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 1-2, 4-6).
As to Claim 7:
See the rejection of Claim 3 as applied to the combination of Gogoro and CN’619, which discloses a holding apparatus where a defining portion is arranged below a holder and above a power conversion device inside a housing (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 4-6).
The defining portion includes a convex portion, which is provided to protrude upward from a surface on a side facing the holder, wherein Gogoro discloses a backward-swept cabinet housing featuring user-accessible battery slots positioned above internal power management electronics (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose that the defining portion includes a convex portion, which is provided to protrude upward from a surface on a side facing the holder.
CN’619 discloses that the defining portion includes a convex portion, which is provided to protrude upward from a surface on a side facing the holder, wherein CN’619 teaches that at least a portion of the internal horizontal space-defining partition wall (inner plate 30a) comprises an integrated upwardly-extending structure (reinforcing part 35) to reinforce the plate, which can include a first reinforcing structure formed by bending at least a portion of the peripheral edge upwards (bending part 35a) or a second reinforcing structure extending upwards from the upper surface 32 (cutting part 35b) (CN’619, Pg. 7).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the internal partition arrangement of Gogoro’s GoStation cabinet such that the defining portion includes a convex portion, which is provided to protrude upward from a surface on a side facing the holder, as taught by the upwardly protruding reinforcing structures of CN’619. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to introduce an upwardly protruding rib, ridge, or convex part directly onto the space-defining plate surface facing the holder slots to serve as an integrated stiffening backbone. Forming this upwardly protruding convex structure provides a predictable mechanical benefit by significantly increasing the bending rigidity and structural load-bearing capacity of the horizontal dividing shelf, thereby allowing it to reliably hold and resist sagging under the continuous static weight and dynamic impact of heavy power storage packs being inserted and extracted during regular battery-swapping operations (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 4-7).
As to Claim 13:
See the rejection of Claim 3 as applied to the combination of Gogoro and CN’619, which discloses a holding apparatus where a defining portion is disposed below a holder and above an underlying power conversion assembly in a housing (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 4-6).
Gogoro discloses an electric component part electrically connected to the power conversion device, wherein Gogoro implicitly teaches circuit elements, control modules, or system connections electrically tied to the internal charging hardware of the battery-swapping station (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose that the defining portion is a first defining portion, and further fails to disclose a second defining portion defining a space to dispose the holder and electric component part above the first defining portion in the housing.
CN’619 discloses that the defining portion is a first defining portion, and further discloses an electric component part electrically connected to the power conversion device; and a second defining portion defining a space to dispose the holder and electric component part above the first defining portion in the housing, wherein CN’619 teaches that a horizontal partition plate (inner plate 30) serves as a first defining portion. CN’619 further teaches an electronic control circuit device or control substrate 80 (electric component part) electrically connected to the power storage elements, and discloses internal chassis panels, upright walls, or perimeter structures (frame 20, serving as the second defining portion) that bound and define an upper space (S₁) to dispose the component holder (inner plate 30) and the electronic control substrate 80 safely above the first defining portion inside the cabinet housing (CN’619, Pg. 4-6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the internal partition arrangement of Gogoro’s GoStation cabinet such that the defining portion is a first defining portion, and further provide a second defining portion defining a space to dispose the holder and electric component part above the first defining portion in the housing, as taught by the multi-tier internal sub-compartment layout of CN’619. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to introduce a secondary space-defining panel, internal wall, or frame boundary above the primary dividing shelf to establish a specifically isolated clean zone. Segregating the interior such that both the battery holder slots and delicate control substrates or circuit devices are arranged in an upper compartment space safely isolated above the lower high-power conversion chargers provides a predictable engineering benefit by shielding the sensitive electronic component parts from heat, operational vibration, or environmental particulate contamination emanating from the underlying power conversion tier (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 1-2, 4-6).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL, “Gogoro and 7-Eleven Tie Up to Offer E-scooter Battery-swapping to Enhance Convenience” by Gogoro in view of CN 114649619 A (CN’619), as applied to Claim 5 above, and further in view of CN 115336091 A (CN’091).
As to Claim 6:
See the rejection of Claim 5 as applied to the combination of Gogoro and CN’619, which discloses an electrical holding apparatus with an inclined attachment and detachment direction, a partitioned inner case structure, a horizontal internal defining portion extending in an orthogonal direction relative to the sliding vector of a detachable power storage device, and an overhanging layout where the lower end portion of the defining portion is lower than the lower end portion of the holder (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 4-6).
In the housing, a communicating hole communicating an inside and an outside of the housing is provided at a position below the lower end portion of the defining portion, wherein Gogoro discloses an outdoor kiosk housing provided with an array of charging slots for battery pack swapping services (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose that in the housing, a communicating hole communicating an inside and an outside of the housing is provided at a position below the lower end portion of the defining portion.
CN’091 discloses that in the housing, a communicating hole communicating an inside and an outside of the housing is provided at a position below the lower end portion of the defining portion, wherein CN’091 teaches a battery module configuration featuring an internal shelf (second insulating plate 132) with at least a partially inclined surface (inclined surface 132c) where fluid or water flows down and is systematically collected, and further discloses a designated external drainage path (discharge port 135, serving as the communicating hole) formed through an opening (T) in a portion of the partition wall to discharge the fluid flowing along the surface to the outside of the casing structure (CN’091, Pg. 4, 10-11).
Gogoro, CN’619, and CN’091 are analogous arts because all three references belong to the same field of endeavor, namely physical structural housing cabinets and modular packaging enclosures for battery systems, and address the identical problem of partitioning spaces and providing protective drainage paths internally within an electronics compartment to safely isolate heavy power storage devices and circuit modules from environmental conditions (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 1-2, 4-6; CN’091, Pg. 1-4, 10-11).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to structure the internal partition and housing arrangement of Gogoro’s GoStation cabinet such that in the housing, a communicating hole communicating an inside and an outside of the housing is provided at a position below the lower end portion of the defining portion, as taught by the dedicated external fluid drainage port configuration of CN’091. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to introduce a base drain hole or discharge port through the kiosk frame directly beneath the lowermost runoff profile of the overhanging space-defining plate. Providing this communicating drainage opening below the lower end portion of the defining portion establishes a predictable engineering advantage by allowing rain, condensation, or outdoor moisture traveling down the inclined attachment slots and caught by the interior dividing shelf to be completely routed and expelled out of the chassis under gravity, thereby preventing liquid from accumulating inside the cabinet or flooding the underlying lower power conversion charging hardware (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 1-2, 4-6; CN’091, Pg. 4, 10-11).
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL, “Gogoro and 7-Eleven Tie Up to Offer E-scooter Battery-swapping to Enhance Convenience” by Gogoro in view of CN 114649619 A (CN’619), as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of WO 2015076249 A1 (WO’249).
As to Claim 8:
See the rejection of Claim 7 as applied to the combination of Gogoro and CN’619, which discloses an electrical holding apparatus featuring an intermediate defining portion situated between a holder and a lower power conversion space, wherein the defining portion contains an upwardly protruding convex portion (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 4-7).
The convex portion includes an inclined surface provided to be inclined with respect to a horizontal direction, and is disposed at a position corresponding to a communication hole communicating an inside and an outside of the holder, wherein Gogoro discloses a battery-swapping station housing featuring sloped, user-accessible battery insertion slots (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose that the convex portion includes an inclined surface provided to be inclined with respect to a horizontal direction, and is disposed at a position corresponding to a communication hole communicating an inside and an outside of the holder.
WO’249 discloses that the convex portion includes an inclined surface provided to be inclined with respect to a horizontal direction, and is disposed at a position corresponding to a communication hole communicating an inside and an outside of the holder, wherein WO’249 teaches a modular chassis unit mounting structure where a lower interior support surface is provided with a protruding alignment member (fastener 5, serving as the convex portion) featuring a curved or sloped distal end configuration (fitting portion 5b, providing the inclined surface). WO’249 further teaches that this sloped fitting portion is arranged at a position corresponding directly to a module cutout interface (notch 8, serving as the communication hole) that penetrates through the bottom casing wall (communicating the inside and outside of the holder) to receive, catch, and guide the slider unit during insertion (WO’249, Pg. 3-6).
Gogoro, CN’619, and WO’249 are analogous arts because all three references belong to the same field of endeavor, namely physical structural housing layouts and modular component packaging for electrical and battery systems, and address the identical problem of stabilizing internal components and guiding heavy modular parts safely into predefined alignment positions within a shared structural shell (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 1-2, 4-7; WO’249, Pg. 1-6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the internal partition arrangement of Gogoro’s GoStation cabinet such that the convex portion includes an inclined surface provided to be inclined with respect to a horizontal direction, and is disposed at a position corresponding to a communication hole communicating an inside and an outside of the holder, as taught by the sloped guide pin and corresponding module slot interface of WO’249. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to configure the upwardly protruding reinforcing rib or convex part of the partition shelf with an inclined or sloped surface aligned directly with a cutout opening or communication hole in the floor of the sloped battery insertion slot. Introducing this sloped mating geometry provides a predictable mechanical benefit by forming an integrated lead-in ramp that exploits user insertion momentum, forcing the heavy portable battery pack to naturally center itself and automatically slide into a proper, unmisaligned docking position within its slanted holding channel (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 1-2, 4-7; WO’249, Pg. 3-6).
As to Claim 9:
See the rejection of Claim 8 as applied to the combination of Gogoro, CN’619, and WO’249, which discloses an electrical holding apparatus containing a defining portion with an upwardly protruding convex portion, wherein the convex portion features an inclined surface that corresponds to a communication hole of a holder (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 4-7; WO’249, Pg. 3-6).
The inclined surface is inclined in a downward gradient from an end portion to another end portion, and a terminal portion is disposed, between the end portion of the inclined surface and an inner surface of the housing, to be electrically connected with the power storage device, wherein Gogoro discloses a battery-swapping station housing providing slots to house and charge battery packs via built-in electrical terminals to connect with the battery packs (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose that the inclined surface is inclined in a downward gradient from an end portion to another end portion, and a terminal portion is disposed, between the end portion of the inclined surface and an inner surface of the housing, to be electrically connected with the power storage device.
WO’249 discloses that the inclined surface is inclined in a downward gradient from an end portion to another end portion, and a terminal portion is disposed, between the end portion of the inclined surface and an inner surface of the housing, to be electrically connected with the power storage device, wherein WO’249 teaches that both side portions 5c of the distal end portion of the fitting portion 5b are formed in a shape having a curvature so that the distal end portion is tapered and narrowed (inclined in a downward gradient from an end portion to another end portion). WO’249 further teaches that a connector 6 (terminal portion) is provided on an inner peripheral portion of the housing to face the back surface of the unit, positioned deeply between the inner peripheral back wall surface of the housing and the inner terminal boundary of the alignment fastener 5 to perform electrical connection with a unit-side connection bar 7 when the unit is fully inserted (WO’249, Pg. 3-6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the internal partition and alignment arrangement of Gogoro’s GoStation cabinet such that the inclined surface is inclined in a downward gradient from an end portion to another end portion, and a terminal portion is disposed, between the end portion of the inclined surface and an inner surface of the housing, to be electrically connected with the power storage device, as taught by the tapered guide fastener 5 and rear-positioned housing connector 6 of WO’249. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to orient the sloped lead-in surface of the convex guide structure down a continuous gradient that tapers toward the rear depth of the cabinet, and position the electrical connection terminal deep within the housing directly behind the end portion of that gradient. Implementing this configuration provides a predictable engineering advantage by utilizing the entry force of the heavy portable battery pack to slide smoothly along the downward gradient, thereby allowing the battery case to naturally self-center and complete a highly precise, protected electrical engagement with the deep-set terminal portion while keeping the delicate current-carrying interface safely shielded by the forward partition structure (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 1-2, 4-7; WO’249, Pg. 3-6).
As to Claim 10:
See the rejection of Claim 8 as applied to the combination of Gogoro, CN’619, and WO’249, which discloses an electrical holding apparatus containing a defining portion with an upwardly protruding convex portion, wherein the convex portion features an inclined surface that corresponds to a communication hole of a holder (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 4-7; WO’249, Pg. 3-6).
The holder includes a side wall provided on a downward side in a direction in which the inclined surface is inclined and a bottom wall facing to the inclined surface, and the communication hole is provided in a corner portion where the side wall and the bottom wall intersect with each other, wherein Gogoro discloses a battery-swapping station housing providing slots to house and retain portable battery packs (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose that the holder includes a side wall provided on a downward side in a direction in which the inclined surface is inclined and a bottom wall facing to the inclined surface, and the communication hole is provided in a corner portion where the side wall and the bottom wall intersect with each other.
WO’249 discloses that the holder includes a side wall provided on a downward side in a direction in which the inclined surface is inclined and a bottom wall facing to the inclined surface, and the communication hole is provided in a corner portion where the side wall and the bottom wall intersect with each other, wherein WO’249 teaches a unit 3 that has a back surface (side wall) provided on a downward side in an insertion direction in which a guide fitting portion 5b is inclined, a bottom surface (bottom wall) facing the lower side of the chassis, and an insertion alignment cutout (notch 8, serving as the communication hole) formed directly in the back surface of the unit 3 at a location corresponding to a fastener 5. WO’249 further shows that this notch 8 opening is provided at the lower intersection boundary (the corner portion) where the vertical back side wall and the horizontal bottom wall of the unit housing meet, enabling a matching structural alignment part to fit directly into the corner portion (WO’249, Pg. 3-6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the internal partition and holder arrangement of Gogoro’s GoStation cabinet such that the holder includes a side wall provided on a downward side in a direction in which the inclined surface is inclined and a bottom wall facing to the inclined surface, and the communication hole is provided in a corner portion where the side wall and the bottom wall intersect with each other, as taught by the matching corner cutout notch 8 and vertical-to-horizontal wall intersection of WO’249. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to position the communication hole or alignment notch directly at the intersecting corner junction where the bottom floor wall and the leading insertion wall of the sloped holder slot meet. Implementing this structural wall configuration provides a predictable engineering advantage by utilizing the natural gravity-assisted downward slide of the heavy portable battery pack to direct the intersecting corner of the battery case right onto the tapered, inclined surface of the underlying convex guide. This precise mechanical registration ensures optimal dual-axis structural constraint in both the vertical and horizontal directions, thereby maximizing alignment stability during high-impact public swapping usage without expanding the required interior depth of the station housing (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 1-2, 4-7; WO’249, Pg. 3-6).
As to Claim 11:
See the rejection of Claim 8 as applied to the combination of Gogoro, CN’619, and WO’249, which discloses an electrical holding apparatus containing a defining portion with an upwardly protruding convex portion featuring an inclined surface (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 4-7; WO’249, Pg. 3-6).
The holder includes a leg portion provided to protrude downward from a surface on a side facing the defining portion, and the leg portion is disposed at a position adjacent to the convex portion, wherein Gogoro discloses a battery-swapping station housing providing slots to house and support portable battery packs (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose that the holder includes a leg portion provided to protrude downward from a surface on a side facing the defining portion, and the leg portion is disposed at a position adjacent to the convex portion.
WO’249 discloses that the holder includes a leg portion provided to protrude downward from a surface on a side facing the defining portion, and the leg portion is disposed at a position adjacent to the convex portion, wherein WO’249 teaches that a lower end portion of a unit (holder) is provided with a structural projection or plate extension (sliding member 14, serving as the leg portion) that protrudes downward from its side surface toward a lower support member (support portion 12a of the defining portion). WO’249 further teaches that when the unit is fully inserted into the insertion portion, this downwardly protruding sliding member 14 passes right underneath a holding portion 13a and is caught by a guide portion 13b of a fastener 13 (convex portion), fitting and locking securely into a position directly contiguous and adjacent to the convex portion structure (the holding portion 13a of the fastener 13 is fitted into the notch portion 14a of the sliding member) (WO’249, Pg. 3-6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the internal partition and holder arrangement of Gogoro’s GoStation cabinet such that the holder includes a leg portion provided to protrude downward from a surface on a side facing the defining portion, and the leg portion is disposed at a position adjacent to the convex portion, as taught by the downwardly protruding sliding member 14 and adjacent mating fastener 13 of WO’249. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a downward-extending structural guide tab, leg, or rail protrusion directly on the bottom wall surface of the sloped holder slot facing the horizontal dividing plate. Configuring this downwardly protruding leg portion to slide directly adjacent to and interlock with the upwardly protruding convex reinforcing rib of the partition shelf provides a predictable engineering advantage by establishing a robust, nested lateral guide track that centers the heavy portable battery pack during insertion, thereby minimizing side-to-side rattling, twisting, or mechanical play within the slanted loading channel during repetitive public battery-swapping usage (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 1-2, 4-7; WO’249, Pg. 3-6).
As to Claim 12:
See the rejection of Claim 11 as applied to the combination of Gogoro, CN’619, and WO’249, which discloses an electrical holding apparatus with a holder containing a downwardly protruding leg portion positioned adjacent to a convex portion of an internal defining portion; the leg portion includes two leg portions; and the two leg portions are disposed on both sides of the convex portion (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 4-7; WO’249, Pg. 3-6).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose that the leg portion includes two leg portions, and the two leg portions are disposed on both sides of the convex portion.
WO’249 discloses that a unit mounting structure can feature multiple structural components such as mounting plates 11a provided at both side end portions, and symmetrically configured left and right interior structural surfaces. WO’249 further teaches that mechanical tracking constraints can be arranged symmetrically on opposite sides of an alignment path to correct alignment shifts and absorb play in the left-right direction across parallel tracking interfaces. Symmetrically duplicating protruding structural tabs or legs to position them as a pair flanking both sides of an alignment member or convex portion is a standard, self-centering mechanical layout taught by the dual-sided alignment features of WO’249 (WO’249, Pg. 4-6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the internal partition and holder arrangement of Gogoro’s GoStation cabinet such that the leg portion includes two leg portions, and the two leg portions are disposed on both sides of the convex portion, as taught by the dual-sided symmetrical tracking constraints of WO’249. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to duplicate the downward-protruding leg portion to form a symmetrical pair flanking both the left and right sides of the upwardly protruding convex portion on the dividing partition plate. Implementing this flanking dual-leg configuration provides a predictable engineering advantage by establishing a balanced, self-centering straddle track that locks tightly around the convex alignment pin during insertion, thereby effectively eliminating lateral twisting, rocking, or unbalanced mechanical play when heavy portable battery packs are dynamically pushed into the slanted loading channels (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; CN’619, Pg. 1-2, 4-7; WO’249, Pg. 4-6).
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL, “Gogoro and 7-Eleven Tie Up to Offer E-scooter Battery-swapping to Enhance Convenience” by Gogoro, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of CN 115336091 A (CN’091).
As to Claim 14:
See the rejection of Claim 1 as applied to Gogoro, which teaches a holding apparatus featuring a slanted outer kiosk container (housing) with individual storage slots (holders) that detachably hold e-scooter battery packs (power storage devices) along an inclined directional vector (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
The housing includes a case housing the holder, wherein Gogoro discloses that the main kiosk structure consists of a protective terminal cabinet box (case) that encloses and houses the internal matching slot assemblies (holder) (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose a lid portion provided to be openable and closable with respect to the case and covering an insertion and removal port for inserting and removing the power storage device of the holder, and the lid portion includes, on a surface on a side facing the case in a closed state, a recessed portion recessed to avoid the power storage device held by the holder.
EP’036 discloses a lid portion provided to be openable and closable with respect to the case and covering an insertion and removal port for inserting and removing the power storage device of the holder, and the lid portion includes, on a surface on a side facing the case in a closed state, a recessed portion recessed to avoid the power storage device held by the holder, wherein EP’036 teaches a battery assembly structure where an open frame access window interface (exposure hole P, serving as the insertion and removal port) is covered by a selectively openable/closable modular protective door cap (terminal cover 150, serving as the lid portion). EP’036 further teaches that this terminal cover 150 features an inner main side body (body portion 151) and structural perimeter edge extensions (locking portion 152) that are stepped or recessed upwardly on the side facing the case in a closed state to form a distinct clearance volume (accommodating space S, serving as the recessed portion) configured to structurally fit over, clear, and safely avoid protruding elements or terminal components of a mounted electrical unit underneath (EP’036, Pg. 6-9).
Gogoro and EP’036 are analogous arts because both references belong to the same field of endeavor, namely physical structural housing cabinets and modular packaging enclosures for battery systems, and address the identical problem of protecting internal cell mounting ports and electrical connection boundaries from external environments while maintaining a compact external casing footprint (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; EP’036, Pg. 1-3, 6-9).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the housing configuration of Gogoro’s GoStation kiosk such that the housing includes a lid portion provided to be openable and closable with respect to the case and covering an insertion and removal port for inserting and removing the power storage device of the holder, and the lid portion includes, on a surface on a side facing the case in a closed state, a recessed portion recessed to avoid the power storage device held by the holder, as taught by the openable terminal cover 150 and recessed accommodating space S of EP’036. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to introduce a dynamic openable door lid over the open entry slots of the kiosk, and to form an internal clearance recess directly into the case-facing surface of that lid. Implementing this cover design provides a predictable engineering advantage by cleanly sealing off empty or occupied battery ports from rain, debris, and vandalism during outdoor use, while the internal recessed portion ensures that the door completely closes and latches flush against the outer cabinet without mechanically crimping or colliding with protruding handle contours of the docked battery packs inside (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; EP’036, Pg. 1-3, 6-9).
As to Claim 15:
See the rejection of Claim 14 as applied to the combination of Gogoro and EP’036, which discloses a holding apparatus with an openable/closable lid portion having a case-facing recessed portion to avoid a power storage device (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; EP’036, Pg. 6-9).
The lid portion includes, on a surface on an opposite side to the case in the closed state, a curved surface portion, wherein Gogoro discloses a battery-swapping kiosk station having an outer cabinet enclosure (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose that the lid portion includes, on a surface on an opposite side to the case in the closed state, a curved surface portion.
EP’036 discloses that the lid portion includes, on a surface on an opposite side to the case in the closed state, a curved surface portion, wherein EP’036 teaches that the movable protective terminal cover 150 (lid portion) includes structural edges, body contours, or mounting rib extensions (first fixing rib 153, second fixing rib 154) that feature curved or rounded non-abrupt surface transitions on the outward side opposite to the internal frame casing in the closed state (EP’036, Pg. 7-8).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the housing configuration of Gogoro’s GoStation kiosk such that the lid portion includes, on a surface on an opposite side to the case in the closed state, a curved surface portion, as taught by the outer rounded or contoured surfaces of the terminal cover 150 of EP’036. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to configure the outward-facing surface of the openable slot door with a smooth, curved surface portion. Implementing this curved external geometry provides a predictable engineering advantage by softening the exterior styling of the terminal cabinet to improve public ergonomics during manual battery-swapping, while simultaneously preventing rain or environmental moisture from pooling on the outer face of the closed lid portion by utilizing the curved profile to continuously shed water away from the entry ports (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; EP’036, Pg. 1-3, 6-9).
As to Claim 16:
See the rejection of Claim 15 as applied to the combination of Gogoro and EP’036, which discloses a holding apparatus with an openable/closable lid portion having a case-facing recessed portion and a curved surface portion on an opposite side to the case in the closed state (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; EP’036, Pg. 6-9).
The curved surface portion is provided to be inclined with respect to a horizontal direction, wherein Gogoro discloses a main terminal kiosk with a distinct backward-swept, sloped front surface layout (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose that the curved surface portion is provided to be inclined with respect to a horizontal direction.
EP’036 discloses that the curved surface portion is provided to be inclined with respect to a horizontal direction, wherein EP’036 teaches that the movable protective terminal cover 150 (lid portion) features contoured boundaries, body surfaces, and dynamic tracking paths that continuously slope, sweep, or extend at an inclination relative to a flat horizontal plane (EP’036, Pg. 7-9).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the housing configuration of Gogoro’s GoStation kiosk such that the curved surface portion is provided to be inclined with respect to a horizontal direction, as taught by the sloped and contoured profiles of the terminal cover 150 of EP’036. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to orient the outer curved surface of the openable slot door at an angle that tracks flush with the primary backward-swept, sloped front surface layout of the kiosk cabinet. Structuring the external curved profile to be inclined with respect to a horizontal direction provides a predictable engineering advantage by ensuring the closed doors maintain a streamlined, cohesive exterior profile that matches the station’s slant, while utilizing the combined curved and inclined orientation to form an optimized structural runoff gradient that continuously sheds rain or external condensation away from the underlying port boundaries under gravity (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; EP’036, Pg. 1-3, 6-9).
As to Claim 17:
See the rejection of Claim 14 as applied to the combination of Gogoro and EP’036, which discloses a holding apparatus with an openable/closable lid portion having a case-facing recessed portion to avoid a power storage device (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; EP’036, Pg. 6-9).
An opening is provided at an end portion on a side facing the lid portion in the case, and in the holding apparatus, a communication hole is provided at a position corresponding to the insertion and removal port, and the holding apparatus further comprising a closing portion closing the opening, wherein Gogoro discloses a battery-swapping station housing featuring battery slot ports (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose an opening provided at an end portion on a side facing the lid portion in the case, a communication hole provided at a position corresponding to the insertion and removal port, and a closing portion closing the opening.
EP’036 discloses an opening provided at an end portion on a side facing the lid portion in the case, and in the holding apparatus, a communication hole is provided at a position corresponding to the insertion and removal port, and the holding apparatus further comprising a closing portion closing the opening, wherein EP’036 teaches a frame enclosure comprising a structural access window (exposure hole P) that defines the insertion and removal port path, and further utilizes a primary chassis plate (cover plate 130, serving as the closing portion) to blank off, seal, and close the remaining open portions of the end-portion case boundary not covered by the dynamic lid (EP’036, Pg. 6-9).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the housing configuration of Gogoro’s GoStation kiosk such that an opening is provided at an end portion on a side facing the lid portion in the case, a communication hole is provided at a position corresponding to the insertion and removal port, and the holding apparatus further comprises a closing portion closing the opening, as taught by the window-frame enclosure and cover plate assembly of EP’036. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to refine the kiosk battery port entry by defining an explicit access window in the chassis frame and providing a surrounding protective plate that closes off the remainder of the port aperture. Implementing this structural frame and closing portion provides a predictable engineering advantage by ensuring the station entry port is precisely sized for the battery geometry while providing a rigid, weather-resistant boundary that prevents external contaminants from entering the station through gaps around the port (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; EP’036, Pg. 1-3, 6-9).
As to Claim 18:
See the rejection of Claim 17 as applied to the combination of Gogoro and EP’036, which discloses a holding apparatus with an openable lid portion covering a battery port frame opening, and a closing portion closing the frame opening (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; EP’036, Pg. 6-9).
A coupling portion coupling the lid portion with the case so as to be openable and closable, wherein one side of the coupling portion is fixed to a surface of the lid portion on a side facing the case, and another side of the coupling portion is fixed to a surface of the case on a side facing the lid portion, and the closing portion includes a recessed portion provided to avoid the coupling portion, wherein Gogoro discloses a battery-swapping terminal enclosure (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2).
However, Gogoro does not explicitly disclose a coupling portion coupling the lid portion with the case where one side is fixed to a case-facing surface of the lid portion and another side is fixed to a lid-facing surface of the case, and does not disclose that the closing portion includes a recessed portion provided to avoid the coupling portion.
EP’036 discloses a coupling portion coupling the lid portion with the case so as to be openable and closable, wherein one side of the coupling portion is fixed to a surface of the lid portion on a side facing the case, and another side of the coupling portion is fixed to a surface of the case on a side facing the lid portion, and the closing portion includes a recessed portion provided to avoid the coupling portion, wherein EP’036 teaches that a protective terminal cover 150 (lid portion) couples to the internal frame components (case) via moving attachment rails, guide tracks, and snap protrusions (first fixing rib 153, second fixing rib 154, and hook K, serving as the coupling portion). EP’036 teaches that one side of these structural ribs is integrally fixed to the inner, case-facing surface of the body portion 151 of the lid, while the opposing side is caught by and fixed against the corresponding lid-facing surfaces of the frame case. Furthermore, EP’036 teaches that the adjacent structural plate (cover plate 130, serving as the closing portion) is configured with side cutouts or indented structural profile boundaries (recessed portion) built into its perimeter edge to deliberately provide clearance, fit around, and avoid mechanical interference with these coupling rib parts (EP’036, Pg. 6-9).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the housing configuration of Gogoro’s GoStation kiosk such that the holding apparatus further comprises a coupling portion coupling the lid portion with the case so as to be openable and closable, wherein one side of the coupling portion is fixed to a surface of the lid portion on a side facing the case, and another side of the coupling portion is fixed to a surface of the case on a side facing the lid portion, and the closing portion includes a recessed portion provided to avoid the coupling portion, as taught by the case-facing mounting ribs 153, 154 and the matching component clearances of the cover plate 130 of EP’036. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to fix the moving hinge, rail, or coupling tabs directly onto the hidden, mutually facing internal surfaces of the slot door and the frame case, and to form a corresponding clearance notch or recessed portion directly into the perimeter of the port closing plate. Implementing this hidden coupling configuration and notched clearance profile provides a predictable engineering advantage by keeping the moving mechanical mountings entirely shielded from rain and public tampering inside the closed structure, while the recessed portion of the closing plate ensures that the openable door lid can pivot or slide completely flat against the cabinet frame without jamming or physically colliding with the stationary internal plates (Gogoro, Pg. 1-2; EP’036, Pg. 1-3, 6-9).
ConclusionAny inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIMMY K VO whose telephone number is (571)272-3242. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8 am to 6 pm EST.
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723