DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendments received in the Office on 08/12/2026, the Office acknowledges the current status of the claims: claims 1-3, 5, 8-9, 13-16, and 18-20 have been amended, claims 4, 6-7, 10-11, and 17 remain the same, claim 12 has been canceled, and no new matter appears to be included.
In response to the amendments received in Office on 08/12/2026, the rejection of claims 1-11 and 13-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The remaining arguments regarding independent claims 14 and 20 and all dependent claims 2-11, 13, and 15-19 generally recite the same reasonings as for claim 1 and are moot.
However, the amendments have necessitated a new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20250374190 hereinafter He) in view of Garcia et al. (US20250008435 hereinafter Garcia).
Regarding claims 1 and 14. He teaches the method and apparatus for wireless communication, the apparatus being a user equipment (UE) (fig. 3 and par. 0057, teaches UE 350), comprising: a memory (fig. 3 and par. 0060, teaches UE 350 comprises memory 360); and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to (fig. 3 and par. 0060, teaches UE 350 comprises controller/processor 359 can be associated with a memory 360 that stores program codes and data):
receive, from a base station, a synchronization signal for synchronization and measurement (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604 and may measure the LP-RS using a low-power (LP) radio 601. Moreover, par. 0123, teaches the base station may transmit a LP-RS to a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of a UE for synchronization. Par. 0006, teaches low-power reference signal (LP-RS)).
However, although He teaches wake-up information (par. 0068, teaches the UE may be configured with resources to monitor for a wakeup signal (WUS)), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, communicating wake-up information or paging information with the base station for subsequent communications, wherein, to communicate the wake-up information or paging information, the at least one processor is configured to transmit a wake-up request to the base station; and receive an on-demand reference signal from the base station for fine synchronization and system information acquisition, wherein the on-demand reference signal is transmitted in response to the wake-up request; and detect a signal transmitted from the base station.
Garcia disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for wake-up information, so Garcia is analogous to He. Furthermore, Garcia teaches communicating wake-up information or paging information with the base station for subsequent communications (fig. 12 and par. 0093, teaches the WTRU may transmit a request of on-demand SIB(s) transmission to the ULP receiver using the main transceiver. Wherein, pars. 0274-0277, teaches the WTRU may send the wake-up signal to the main/traditional radio to transmit (e.g., via the main/traditional radio) a request for an on-demand ULP incremental SI update. Furthermore, pars. 0230-0231 teaches the WTRU may perform an on-demand request to (e.g., further) be able to receive the on-demand SIB. Wherein, par. 0160, teaches the network may transmit a set of configurations to a WTRU (e.g., a set of baseline configurations), for example to a WTRU with a ULP receiver. The transmission may be through a Uu SIB or RRC signaling. Furthermore, pars. 0035-0043, teaches the base stations may include any number of interconnected base stations and/or network elements. Thus, the WTRU detects the SIB from a base station. Par. 0003, teaches ultra-low power (ULP), and par. 0109 teaches System Information Blocks (SIBs). Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art), wherein, to communicate the wake-up information or paging information, the at least one processor is configured to transmit a wake-up request to the base station (fig. 1B and pars. 0047-0055, teaches the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118 coupled to the transceiver 120, which may be coupled to the transmit/receive element 122. Wherein, the transmit/receive element 122 may be configured to transmit signals to, or receive signals from, a base station (e.g., the base station 114a)); and
receive an on-demand reference signal from the base station for fine synchronization and system information acquisition (fig. 12 and par. 0230, teaches the WTRU may be configured to receive an on-demand SIB. In response to determining to receive the on-demand SIB, the WTRU may wake up, establish synchronization and prepare to transmit the SIB request),
wherein the on-demand reference signal is transmitted in response to the wake-up request (fig. 12 and par. 0091, teaches the WTRU's request of on-demand SI addressed to a ULP receiver. Moreover, par. 0231, teaches the WTRU may perform an on-demand request to (e.g., further) be able to receive the SIB. Wherein, figure 12 teaches the WTRU sending a SIB request and then receiving the on-demand SIB. Whereas pars. 0274-0277, teaches WTRU may send the wake-up signal to the main/traditional radio to transmit (e.g., via the main/traditional radio) a request for an on-demand ULP incremental SI update to complete the on-demand request transmission); and
detect a signal transmitted from the base station (fig. 12 and par. 0230, teaches the WTRU via the ULP receiver may monitor and/or receive the SIB, e.g., over the configured search spaces. Wherein, par. 0160, teaches the network may transmit a set of configurations to a WTRU (e.g., a set of baseline configurations), for example to a WTRU with a ULP receiver. The transmission may be through a Uu SIB or RRC signaling. Furthermore, pars. 0035-0043, teaches the base stations may include any number of interconnected base stations and/or network elements. Thus, the WTRU detects the SIB from a base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize communicating wake-up information or paging information with the base station for subsequent communications, wherein, to communicate the wake-up information or paging information, the at least one processor is configured to transmit a wake-up request to the base station; and receive an on-demand reference signal from the base station for fine synchronization and system information acquisition, wherein the on-demand reference signal is transmitted in response to the wake-up request; and detect a signal transmitted from the base station, as disclosed by Garcia with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to improve the system. (see Garcia par. 0125)
Regarding claim 8. He and Garcia teaches the method for claim 1. He further teaches the synchronization signal (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604 and may measure the LP-RS using a low-power (LP) radio 601. Moreover, par. 0123, teaches the base station may transmit a LP-RS to a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of a UE for synchronization) carries at least one of: no information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), partial cell ID information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), or full cell ID information (par. 0074, teaches the LP-RS may include the PCI for cell identification. Par. 0054, teaches physical cell identity (PCI)).
Regarding claims 9 and 19. He and Garcia teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 14. He further teaches wherein the synchronization signal is a low-power radio layer (LPRL) synchronization signal received on an LPRL (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604 and may measure the LP-RS using a low-power (LP) radio 601. Moreover, par. 0123, teaches the base station may transmit a LP-RS to a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of a UE for synchronization. Par. 0006, teaches low-power reference signal (LP-RS)), and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to (fig. 3 and par. 0060, teaches UE 350 comprises controller/processor 359 can be associated with a memory 360 that stores program codes and data) receive, on the LPRL, a broadcast message from the base station, the broadcast message (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604 and may measure the LP-RS using a low-power (LP) radio 601. Moreover, par. 0123, teaches the base station may transmit a LP-RS to a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of a UE for synchronization. Par. 0006, teaches low-power reference signal (LP-RS)) including at least one of:
partial or full cell ID information (fig. 6 and par. 0097, teaches at 606, the broadcast LP-RS may carry a PCI in a payload. Par. 0054, teaches physical cell identity (PCI)),
a sleeping cell indication, a system information update (fig. 6 and par. 0098, teaches at 606, the LP-RS may include SI change notification. Par. 0084, teaches system information (SI) change notification),
an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (ETWS) or Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) notification (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), wake-up signal relevant information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a frequency reference of at least one of a high-performance radio layer (HPRL) synchronization signal block (SSB) and a Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a time reference of the HPRL SSB (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a power offset between the LPRL synchronization signal and the HPRL SSB (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a subcarrier spacing of the HPRL SSB (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), and a system frame number (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Regarding claim 20. He teaches the apparatus for a computer-readable medium storing computer executable code for wireless communication of a user equipment (UE) (fig. 3 and pars. 0057-0060, teaches UE 350 includes memory 360 may be referred to as a computer-readable medium that stores program codes and data), comprising code to:
receive, from a base station, a synchronization signal for synchronization and measurement (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604 and may measure the LP-RS using a low-power (LP) radio 601. Moreover, par. 0123, teaches the base station may transmit a LP-RS to a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of a UE for synchronization. Par. 0006, teaches low-power reference signal (LP-RS)).
However, although He teaches wake-up information (par. 0068, teaches the UE may be configured with resources to monitor for a wakeup signal (WUS)), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, communicating wake-up information or paging information with the base station for subsequent communications, wherein the code to communicate the wake-up information or paging information comprises code to transmit a wake- up request to the base station; receive an on-demand reference signal from the base station for fine synchronization and system information acquisition, wherein the on-demand reference signal is transmitted in response to the wake-up request; and detect a signal transmitted from the base station.
Garcia disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for wake-up information, so Garcia is analogous to He. Furthermore, Garcia teaches communicating wake-up information or paging information with the base station for subsequent communications (fig. 12 and par. 0093, teaches the WTRU may transmit a request of on-demand SIB(s) transmission to the ULP receiver using the main transceiver. Wherein, pars. 0274-0277, teaches the WTRU may send the wake-up signal to the main/traditional radio to transmit (e.g., via the main/traditional radio) a request for an on-demand ULP incremental SI update. Furthermore, pars. 0230-0231 teaches the WTRU may perform an on-demand request to (e.g., further) be able to receive the on-demand SIB. Wherein, par. 0160, teaches the network may transmit a set of configurations to a WTRU (e.g., a set of baseline configurations), for example to a WTRU with a ULP receiver. The transmission may be through a Uu SIB or RRC signaling. Furthermore, pars. 0035-0043, teaches the base stations may include any number of interconnected base stations and/or network elements. Thus, the WTRU detects the SIB from a base station. Par. 0003, teaches ultra-low power (ULP), and par. 0109 teaches System Information Blocks (SIBs). Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art), wherein the code to communicate the wake-up information or paging information comprises code to transmit a wake-up request to the base station (fig. 1B and pars. 0047-0055, teaches the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, wherein processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132. Moreover, processor 118 is coupled to transceiver 120, which may be coupled to the transmit/receive element 122. Wherein, the transmit/receive element 122 may be configured to transmit signals to, or receive signals from, a base station (e.g., the base station 114a)); and
receive an on-demand reference signal from the base station for fine synchronization and system information acquisition (fig. 12 and par. 0230, teaches the WTRU may be configured to receive an on-demand SIB. In response to determining to receive the on-demand SIB, the WTRU may wake up, establish synchronization and prepare to transmit the SIB request),
wherein the on-demand reference signal is transmitted in response to the wake-up request (fig. 12 and par. 0091, teaches the WTRU's request of on-demand SI addressed to a ULP receiver. Moreover, par. 0231, teaches the WTRU may perform an on-demand request to (e.g., further) be able to receive the SIB. Wherein, figure 12 teaches the WTRU sending a SIB request and then receiving the on-demand SIB. Whereas pars. 0274-0277, teaches the WTRU may send the wake-up signal to the main/traditional radio to transmit (e.g., via the main/traditional radio) a request for an on-demand ULP incremental SI update to complete the on-demand request transmission); and
detect a signal transmitted from the base station (fig. 12 and par. 0230, teaches the WTRU via the ULP receiver may monitor and/or receive the SIB, e.g., over the configured search spaces. Wherein, par. 0160, teaches the network may transmit a set of configurations to a WTRU (e.g., a set of baseline configurations), for example to a WTRU with a ULP receiver. The transmission may be through a Uu SIB or RRC signaling. Furthermore, pars. 0035-0043, teaches the base stations may include any number of interconnected base stations and/or network elements. Thus, the WTRU detects the SIB from a base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize communicating wake-up information or paging information with the base station for subsequent communications, wherein the code to communicate the wake-up information or paging information comprises code to transmit a wake- up request to the base station; receive an on-demand reference signal from the base station for fine synchronization and system information acquisition, wherein the on-demand reference signal is transmitted in response to the wake-up request; and detect a signal transmitted from the base station, as disclosed by Garcia with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to improve the system. (see Garcia par. 0125)
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20250374190 hereinafter He), in view of Garcia et al. (US20250008435 hereinafter Garcia), in view of Bahl et al. (US20030198196 hereinafter Bahl), in further view of Kim et al. (US20210368447 hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claims 2 and 15. He and Garcia teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 14. He further teaches the at least one processor is further configured to (fig. 3 and par. 0060, teaches UE 350 comprises controller/processor 359) receive, on a low-power radio layer (LPRL), a wake-up indication from the base station (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604 and may measure the LP-RS using a low-power (LP) radio 601. Wherein, the language “LP-RS at a LP-WUR” reads as a wake-up indication within the additional context of par. 0069, which teaches the LP-WUR may be configured to receive a low-power wakeup signal (LP-WUS)) and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to (fig. 3 and par. 0060, teaches UE 350 comprises controller/processor 359): receiving the wake-up indication (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604).
However, the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, the communicating the wake-up information or paging information.
Garcia further teaches communicating the wake-up information (fig. 12 and par. 0093, teaches the WTRU may transmit a request of on-demand SIB(s) transmission to the ULP receiver using the main transceiver. Wherein, pars. 0274-0277, teaches the WTRU may send the wake-up signal to the main/traditional radio to transmit (e.g., via the main/traditional radio) a request for an on-demand ULP incremental SI update) or paging information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize communicating the wake-up information, as disclosed by Garcia with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to improve the system. (see Garcia par. 0125)
However, although He teaches receiving a wake-up indication (par. 0080 and 0069), the combination of He and Garcia explicitly fails to disclose, communicating the wake-up information or paging information, … receive, on the LPRL, a wake-up indication from the base station, wherein the signal detected on the HPRL…, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: subsequent to receiving the wake-up indication and prior to detecting the signal on the HPRL, activate the HPRL.
Bahl disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for wake-up information, so Bahl is analogous to He. Furthermore, Bahl teaches communicating the wake-up information or paging information (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches the UE sending to the host transceiver 212 a wake-up request over the low power control channel 222 in order to enable communication over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Whereas, the host transceiver 212 reads as a base station within the context of par. 0030, which teaches the host transceiver 212 can be integrated with the wireless access point 210 directly for communicating with the low power transceiver 100), … receive, on a low-power radio layer (LPRL), a wake-up indication from the base station (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches the host transceiver 212 generates and sends a corresponding wake up message over the low power control channel 222 to the UE),
wherein the signal detected on a high-performance radio layer (HPRL) (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches host and client devices communicate over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Thus, there has to be detected signals transmitted from the host, base station)…, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to (fig. 2 and par. 0021, teaches the computing device 20 typically includes at least one processing unit 42): subsequent to receiving the wake-up indication and prior to detecting the signal on the HPRL, activate the HPRL (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches receiving a corresponding wake up message over the low power control channel 222 to enable communication over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Thus, one of the ordinary skill in the art would understand the UE would need to activate the HPRL prior to detecting any signal on the HPRL).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize communicating the wake-up information or paging information, … receive, on the LPRL, a wake-up indication from the base station, wherein the signal detected on the HPRL…, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: subsequent to receiving the wake-up indication and prior to detecting the signal on the HPRL, activate the HPRL, as disclosed by Bahl with the combination of He and Garcia. The motivations for doing so would be to avoid data transmission delay. (see Bahl par. 0039)
However, although Bahl teaches the signal detected on the HPRL (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040), the combination of He, Garcia, and Bahl explicitly fails to disclose, the signal detected on the HPRL includes system information.
Kim disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a signal detected, so Kim is analogous to He. Furthermore, Kim teaches the signal detected on the HPRL includes system information (par. 0143-0145, teaches the UE being configured by the base station through higher layer signaling with a SIB. Whereas, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that there would be detection on a HPRL in order to receive the higher layer signaling SIB. Par. 0009, teaches system information block (SIB)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the signal detected on the HPRL includes system information, as disclosed by Kim with the combination of He, Garcia, and Bahl. The motivations for doing so would be to improve systems. (see Kim par. 0002)
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20250374190 hereinafter He), in view of Garcia et al. (US20250008435 hereinafter Garcia), in further view of Vannithamby et al. (US20160029344 hereinafter Vannithamby).
Regarding claims 3 and 16. He and Garcia teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 14. He further teaches the at least one processor is further configured to (fig. 3 and par. 0060, teaches UE 350 comprises controller/processor 359) receive, a low-power radio layer (LPRL), a … signal from the base station (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604).
However, although He teaches receiving a wake-up indication (par. 0080 and 0069), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, communicating the wake-up information or paging information.
Garcia further teaches communicating the wake-up information (fig. 12 and par. 0093, teaches the WTRU may transmit a request of on-demand SIB(s) transmission to the ULP receiver using the main transceiver. Wherein, pars. 0274-0277, teaches the WTRU may send the wake-up signal to the main/traditional radio to transmit (e.g., via the main/traditional radio) a request for an on-demand ULP incremental SI update) or paging information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize communicating the wake-up information, as disclosed by Garcia with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to improve the system. (see Garcia par. 0125)
However, the combination of He and Garcia explicitly fails to disclose, receive, … a paging signal from the base station, wherein the paging signal includes at least one of: paging related information, an indication for system information update, or a notification for Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (ETWS) or Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS).
Vannithamby disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a paging signal, so Vannithamby is analogous to He. Furthermore, Vannithamby teaches receive, … a paging signal from the base station (fig. 1 and pars. 0027-0029, teaches access node 105 may broadcast a transmission 116 to a UE 150. Wherein, transmission 116 comprises one or more paging messages), wherein the paging signal includes at least one of: paging related information (fig. 1 and par. 0029, teaches the content of the one or more paging messages include the number of paging records. Wherein, the language “the number of paging records” reads as paging related information), an indication for system information update (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), or a notification for Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (ETWS) (fig. 1 and par. 0029, teaches the content of the one or more paging messages include an earthquake and tsunami warning system (“ETWS”) indication) or Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) ) (fig. 1 and par. 0029, teaches the content of the one or more paging messages include a commercial mobile alert system (“CMAS”) indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receive, … a paging signal from the base station, wherein the paging signal includes at least one of: paging related information, … or a notification for Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (ETWS) or Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS), as disclosed by Vannithamby with the combination of He and Garcia. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce the number frequency with which a UE wakes up to receive a paging message. (see Vannithamby par. 0023)
Claims 4-5 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20250374190 hereinafter He) in view of Garcia et al. (US20250008435 hereinafter Garcia), in view of Vannithamby et al. (US20160029344 hereinafter Vannithamby), in further view of Fei et al. (US20220346012 hereinafter Fei).
Regarding claims 4 and 17. He, Garcia, and Vannithamby teaches the method and apparatus for claims 3 and 16.
However, although Vannithamby teaches the paging related information (fig. 1 and par. 0029, teaches the content of the one or more paging messages include the number of paging records. Wherein, the language “the number of paging records” reads as paging related information), the combination of He, Garcia, and Vannithamby explicitly fails to disclose, the paging related information includes at least one of: a wake-up indication for the UE or a group of UEs, or a paging message containing a UE ID.
Fei disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a wake-up indication for the UE, so Fei is analogous to He. Furthermore, Fei teaches the paging related information includes at least one of: a wake-up indication for the UE (par. 0263, teaches receiving first wake-up signal to indicate a terminal device to receive a first data channel. Wherein the first data channel carries a paging message. Thus, the “first wake-up signal to indicate a terminal device to receive a first data channel” reads as paging related information includes at least one of: a wake-up indication for the UE)
or a group of UEs (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), or a paging message containing a UE ID (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the paging related information includes at least one of: a wake-up indication for the UE, as disclosed by Fei with the combination of He, Garcia, and Vannithamby. The motivations for doing so would be to improve signal quality. (see Fei par. 0018)
Regarding claims 5 and 18. He, Garcia, Vannithamby, and Fei teaches the method and apparatus for claims 4 and 17. He further teaches the at least one processor is further configured (fig. 3 and par. 0060, teaches UE 350 comprises controller/processor 359 can be associated with a memory 360 that stores program codes and data) to receive the …message transmitted on either the LPRL (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604 and may measure the LP-RS using a low-power (LP) radio 601) or the HPRL (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
However, the combination of He and Garcia explicitly fails to disclose, after … the wake-up indication,… receiving the paging message transmitted on either the LPRL or a high-performance radio layer (HPRL).
Vannithamby further teaches after … the wake-up indication (par. 0053, teaches a UE may “wake up” (e.g., transition from a low-power state to a high-power state) for a paging cycle so that the UE may receive a paging message from an access node),…receiving the paging message transmitted on either the LPRL (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) or a high-performance radio layer (HPRL) (par. 0052-0055, teaches the UE detecting the paging message in the high-power state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize after … the wake-up indication,… receiving the paging message transmitted on a high-performance radio layer (HPRL), as disclosed by Vannithamby with the combination of He and Garcia. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce the number frequency with which a UE wakes up to receive a paging message. (see Vannithamby par. 0023)
However, the combination of He, Garcia, and Vannithamby explicitly fails to disclose, the wake-up indication is for the UE or the group of UEs, and wherein after receiving the wake-up indication, … receive the paging message transmitted.
Fei further teaches the wake-up indication is for the UE (par. 0263, teaches receiving first wake-up signal to indicate a terminal device to receive a first data channel. Wherein the first data channel carries a paging message. Thus, the “first wake-up signal to indicate a terminal device to receive a first data channel” reads as paging related information includes at least one of: a wake-up indication for the UE) or the group of UEs (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), and wherein after receiving the wake-up indication, … receive the paging message transmitted (pars. 0147-0148, teaches receiving the paging message after receiving the WUS message, transmitted by the base station. Par. 0004, wake-up signal (WUS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the wake-up indication is for the UE, and wherein after receiving the wake-up indication, … receive the paging message transmitted, as disclosed by Fei with the combination of He, Garcia, and Vannithamby. The motivations for doing so would be to improve signal quality. (see Fei par. 0018)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20250374190 hereinafter He), in view of Garcia et al. (US20250008435 hereinafter Garcia), in view of Vannithamby et al. (US20160029344 hereinafter Vannithamby), in view of Fei et al. (US20220346012 hereinafter Fei), in further view of Martin et al. (US20190261309 hereinafter Martin).
Regarding claim 6. He, Garcia, Vannithamby, and Fei teaches the method for claim 4.
However, the combination of He, Garcia, Vannithamby, and Fei explicitly fails to disclose, the paging message includes the UE ID, and wherein after receiving and detecting or decoding the paging message, the UE further performs a random access channel (RACH) procedure for entering a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode.
Martin disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a random access channel (RACH) procedure, so Martin is analogous to He. Furthermore, Martin teaches the paging message includes the UE ID (par. 0041, teaches the terminal is assigned an identifier for the relay to be able to monitor paging massages for the terminal. Whereas, the identifier can be included in the paging messages for the terminal), and wherein after receiving and detecting or decoding the paging message, the UE further performs a random access channel (RACH) procedure for entering a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode (fig. 4 and par. 0039, teaches after receipt of the paging signaling by the UE, the UE needs to establish a RRC connected state by performing the Random Access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the paging message includes the UE ID, and wherein after receiving and detecting or decoding the paging message, the UE further performs a random access channel (RACH) procedure for entering a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode, as disclosed by Martin with the combination of He, Garcia, Vannithamby, and Fei. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency. (see Martin par. 0007)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20250374190 hereinafter He), in view of Garcia et al. (US20250008435 hereinafter Garcia), in view of Vannithamby et al. (US20160029344 hereinafter Vannithamby), in view of Fei et al. (US20220346012 hereinafter Fei), in view of Martin et al. (US20190261309 hereinafter Martin), in further view of He (US 20210258916 hereinafter He-2).
Regarding claim 7. He, Garcia, Vannithamby, Fei, and Martin teaches the method for claim 6.
However, the combination of He, Garcia, Vannithamby, Fei, and Martin explicitly fails to disclose, the paging message for the UE or the group of UEs is distributed in multiple signals or channels transmitted on different time or frequency resources, and wherein the UE receives and detects or decodes the multiple signals or channels to determine whether the UE is paged.
He-2 disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for paging messages, so He-2 is analogous to He. Furthermore, He-2 teaches the paging message for the UE or the group of UEs is distributed in multiple signals or channels transmitted on different time or frequency resources (fig. 5 and par. 0106, teaches the UE receiving multiple paging messages (520 and 522) during different time slots and at different frequency ranges. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art), and wherein the UE receives and detects or decodes the multiple signals or channels to determine whether the UE is paged (fig. 5 and par. 0112, teaches the UE may be further configured to determine whether the paging message is addressed to the UE based on encoding of the paging DCI message (e.g., whether the UE is able to decode the paging DCI message using a P-RNTI. Furthermore, par. 0083, teaches if a paging DCI message cannot be decoded using the selected P-RNTI, the UE may determine that the paging message is not addressed to the UE. Moreover, P-RNTI are used for decoding paging DCI messages. Thus, the UE decodes the paging DCI messages that are sent during different time slots and at different frequency ranges (par. 0106) and determines whether the paging message is addressed to the UE reads as the UE receives and detects or decodes the multiple signals or channels to determine whether the UE is paged. Par. 0011, downlink control information (DCI) par. 0053 paging radio network temporary identifiers (P-RNTIs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the paging message for the UE or the group of UEs is distributed in multiple signals or channels transmitted on different time or frequency resources, and wherein the UE receives and detects or decodes the multiple signals or channels to determine whether the UE is paged, as disclosed by He-2 with the combination of He, Garcia, Vannithamby, Fei, and Martin. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce false paging reception at user equipments. (see He-2 par. 0053)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20250374190 hereinafter He), in view of Garcia et al. (US20250008435 hereinafter Garcia), in view of Bahl et al. (US20030198196 hereinafter Bahl), in further view of Li et al. (US20250220582 hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 13. He and Garcia teaches the method for claim 1.
However, the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, the communicating the wake-up information or paging information.
Garcia further teaches communicating the wake-up information (fig. 12 and par. 0093, teaches the WTRU may transmit a request of on-demand SIB(s) transmission to the ULP receiver using the main transceiver. Wherein, pars. 0274-0277, teaches the WTRU may send the wake-up signal to the main/traditional radio to transmit (e.g., via the main/traditional radio) a request for an on-demand ULP incremental SI update) or paging information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize communicating the wake-up information, as disclosed by Garcia with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to improve the system. (see Garcia par. 0125)
However, the combination of He and Garcia explicitly fails to disclose, the communicating the wake-up information or paging information further includes receiving, on a low-power radio layer (LPRL), a wake-up indication from the base station …; and wherein detecting, the signal transmitted from the base station includes monitoring, on a high-performance radio layer (HPRL), a downlink control channel or receiving downlink data from the base station.
Bahl further teaches communicating the wake-up information or paging information (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches the UE sending to the host transceiver 212 a wake up request over the low power control channel 222 in order to enable communication over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Whereas, the host transceiver 212 reads as a base station within the context of par. 0030, which teaches the host transceiver 212 can be integrated with the wireless access point 210 directly for communicating with the low power transceiver 100) further includes receiving, on a low-power radio layer (LPRL), a wake-up indication from the base station … (pars. 0039-0040, teaches receiving the wake up message via the low power transceiver 100 over the low power control channel 222 from the host transceiver 212); and
wherein detecting, the signal transmitted from the base station includes monitoring, on a high-performance radio layer (HPRL) (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches host and client devices communicate over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Thus, there has to be detected high-power network signals on a high-power network channel transmitted from the host base station, that the client device is monitoring), a downlink control channel (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) or receiving downlink data from the base station (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches host and client devices communicate over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Thus, there has to be a received high-power network signal on a high-power network channel transmitted from the host base station, that the client device is monitoring).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the communicating the wake-up information or paging information further includes receiving, on a low-power radio layer (LPRL), a wake-up indication from the base station …; and wherein detecting, the signal transmitted from the base station includes monitoring, on a high-performance radio layer (HPRL), receiving downlink data from the base station, as disclosed by Bahl with the combination of He and Garcia. The motivations for doing so would be to avoid data transmission delay. (see Bahl par. 0039)
However, although Bahl teaches receiving, on the LPRL, a wake-up indication from the base station (pars. 0039-0040), the combination of He, Garcia, and Bahl explicitly fails to disclose, receiving, on the LPRL, a wake-up indication from the base station during a connected mode.
Li disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a connected mode, so Li is analogous to He. Furthermore, Li teaches receiving, on a low-power radio layer (LPRL), a wake-up indication from the base station during a connected mode (par. 0343, teaches the wake-up receiver is to monitor for a low power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) when the main receiver is in a radio resource control (RRC) CONNECTED state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving, on a low-power radio layer (LPRL), a wake-up indication from the base station during a connected mode, as disclosed by Li with the combination of He, Garcia, and Bahl. The motivations for doing so would be to improve energy efficiency. (see Li par. 0033)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474