DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 20 is drawn to a computer program product comprising a computer readable medium. The full scope of the claimed computer readable medium may encompass a non-transitory medium which is statutory such as a "ROM", "hard drive", "optical drive", etc., as well as transitory medium which is non-statutory such as a signal or carrier wave, and thus the claim as a whole is non-statutory. The specification does not include an explicit exclusion of signals of the computer readable medium.
"A transitory, propagating signal is not a "process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter." Those four categories define the explicit scope and reach of subject matter patentable under 35 U.S.C. § 101; thus, such a signal cannot be patentable subject matter." (In re Nuijten, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007)).
The examiner suggests amending the claim to include non-transitory computer readable storage media. Any amendment to the claim should be commensurate with its corresponding disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20250374190 hereinafter He) in view of Bahl et al. (US20030198196 hereinafter Bahl).
Regarding claims 1 and 14. He teaches the method and apparatus for wireless communication, the apparatus being a user equipment (UE) (fig. 3 and par. 0057, teaches UE 350), comprising: a memory (fig. 3 and par. 0060, teaches UE 350 comprises memory 360); and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to (fig. 3 and par. 0060, teaches UE 350 comprises controller/processor 359 can be associated with a memory 360 that stores program codes and data):
receive, from a base station, a low-power radio layer (LPRL) synchronization signal on an LPRL (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604 and may measure the LP-RS using a low-power (LP) radio 601. Moreover, par. 0123, teaches the base station may transmit a LP-RS to a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of a UE for synchronization. Par. 0006, teaches low-power reference signal (LP-RS).) for synchronization and measurement (The examiner notes that the claims are not limited by “synchronization and measurement...” as this limitation is simply expressing the intended result of a positively recited limitation. See Minton v. Nat' IAss' n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614,1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003). The examiner suggests positively reciting these limitations to ensure the limitations are given patentable weight).
However, although He suggest wake-up information or paging information with the base station (par. 0068-0069), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, communicating, on the LPRL, wake-up information or paging information with the base station for subsequent communications on a high-performance radio layer (HPRL); and detecting, on the HPRL, a signal transmitted from the base station.
Bahl disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for wake-up information, so Bahl is analogous to He. Furthermore, Bahl teaches communicating, on the LPRL, wake-up information or paging information with the base station (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches the UE sending to the host transceiver 212 a wake up request over the low power control channel 222 in order to enable communication over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Whereas, the host transceiver 212 reads as a base station within the context of par. 0030, which teaches the host transceiver 212 can be integrated with the wireless access point 210 directly for communicating with the low power transceiver 100) for subsequent communications on a high-performance radio layer (HPRL) (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches host and client devices communicate over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. The examiner notes that the claims are not limited by “subsequent communications...” as this limitation is simply expressing the intended result of a positively recited limitation. See Minton v. Nat' IAss' n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614,1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003). The examiner suggests positively reciting these limitations to ensure the limitations are given patentable weight); and
detecting, on the HPRL, a signal transmitted from the base station (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches host and client devices communicate over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Thus, there has to be detected signals transmitted from the host, base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize communicating, on the LPRL, wake-up information or paging information with the base station for subsequent communications on a high-performance radio layer (HPRL); and detecting, on the HPRL, a signal transmitted from the base station, as disclosed by Bahl with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to avoid data transmission delay. (see Bahl par. 0039)
Regarding claim 8. He and Bahl teaches the method for claim 1. He further teaches the LPRL synchronization signal (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604 and may measure the LP-RS using a low-power (LP) radio 601. Moreover, par. 0123, teaches the base station may transmit a LP-RS to a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of a UE for synchronization) carries at least one of: no information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), partial cell ID information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), or full cell ID information (par. 0074, teaches the LP-RS may include the PCI for cell identification. Par. 0054, teaches physical cell identity (PCI)).
Regarding claims 9 and 19. He and Bahl teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 14. He further teaches the at least one processor is further configured to (fig. 3 and par. 0060, teaches UE 350 comprises controller/processor 359 can be associated with a memory 360 that stores program codes and data) receive, on the LPRL, a broadcast message from the base station, the broadcast message (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604 and may measure the LP-RS using a low-power (LP) radio 601. Moreover, par. 0123, teaches the base station may transmit a LP-RS to a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of a UE for synchronization. Par. 0006, teaches low-power reference signal (LP-RS)) including at least one of:
partial or full cell ID information (fig. 6 and par. 0097, teaches at 606, the broadcast LP-RS may carry a PCI in a payload. Par. 0054, teaches physical cell identity (PCI)),
a sleeping cell indication, a system information update (fig. 6 and par. 0098, teaches at 606, the LP-RS may include SI change notification. Par. 0084, teaches system information (SI) change notification),
an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (ETWS) or Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) notification (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), wake-up signal relevant information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a frequency reference of at least one of an HPRL synchronization signal block (SSB) and a Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a time reference of the HPRL SSB (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a power offset between the LPRL synchronization signal and the HPRL SSB (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a subcarrier spacing of the HPRL SSB (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), and a system frame number (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Regarding claim 20. He teaches the apparatus for a computer-readable medium storing computer executable code for wireless communication of a user equipment (UE) (fig. 3 and pars. 0057-0060, teaches UE 350 includes memory 360 may be referred to as a computer-readable medium that stores program codes and data), comprising code to:
receive, from a base station, a low-power radio layer (LPRL) synchronization signal on an LPRL for synchronization and measurement (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604 and may measure the LP-RS using a low-power (LP) radio 601. Moreover, par. 0123, teaches the base station may transmit a LP-RS to a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of a UE for synchronization. Par. 0006, teaches low-power reference signal (LP-RS). The examiner notes that the claims are not limited by “synchronization and measurement...” as this limitation is simply expressing the intended result of a positively recited limitation. See Minton v. Nat' IAss' n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614,1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003). The examiner suggests positively reciting these limitations to ensure the limitations are given patentable weight).
However, although He suggest wake-up information or paging information with the base station (par. 0068-0069), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, communicating, on the LPRL, wake-up information or paging information with the base station for subsequent communications on a high-performance radio layer (HPRL); and detecting, on the HPRL, a signal transmitted from the base station.
Bahl disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for wake-up information, so Bahl is analogous to He. Furthermore, Bahl teaches communicating, on the LPRL, wake-up information or paging information with the base station (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches the UE sending to the host transceiver 212 a wake up request over the low power control channel 222 in order to enable communication over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Whereas, the host transceiver 212 reads as a base station within the context of par. 0030, which teaches the host transceiver 212 can be integrated with the wireless access point 210 directly for communicating with the low power transceiver 100) for subsequent communications on a high-performance radio layer (HPRL) (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches host and client devices communicate over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. The examiner notes that the claims are not limited by “subsequent communications...” as this limitation is simply expressing the intended result of a positively recited limitation. See Minton v. Nat' IAss' n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614,1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003). The examiner suggests positively reciting these limitations to ensure the limitations are given patentable weight); and
detecting, on the HPRL, a signal transmitted from the base station (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches host and client devices communicate over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Thus, there has to be detected signals transmitted from the host, base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize communicating, on the LPRL, wake-up information or paging information with the base station for subsequent communications on a high-performance radio layer (HPRL); and detecting, on the HPRL, a signal transmitted from the base station, as disclosed by Bahl with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to avoid data transmission delay. (see Bahl par. 0039)
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20250374190 hereinafter He) in view of Bahl et al. (US20030198196 hereinafter Bahl), in further view of Kim et al. (US20210368447 hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claims 2 and 15. He and Bahl teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 14. He further teaches the at least one processor is configured to (fig. 3 and par. 0060, teaches UE 350 comprises controller/processor 359) receive, on the LPRL, a wake-up indication from the base station (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604 and may measure the LP-RS using a low-power (LP) radio 601. Wherein, the language “LP-RS at a LP-WUR” reads as a wake-up indication within the additional context of par. 0069, which teaches the LP-WUR may be configured to receive a low-power wakeup signal (LP-WUS)) and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to (fig. 3 and par. 0060, teaches UE 350 comprises controller/processor 359): receiving the wake-up indication (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604).
However, although He teaches receiving a wake-up indication (par. 0080 and 0069), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, communicating the wake-up information or paging information, … receive, on the LPRL, a wake-up indication from the base station, wherein the signal detected on the HPRL…, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: subsequent to receiving the wake-up indication and prior to detecting the signal on the HPRL, activate the HPRL.
Bahl further teaches communicating the wake-up information or paging information (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches the UE sending to the host transceiver 212 a wake up request over the low power control channel 222 in order to enable communication over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Whereas, the host transceiver 212 reads as a base station within the context of par. 0030, which teaches the host transceiver 212 can be integrated with the wireless access point 210 directly for communicating with the low power transceiver 100), … receive, on the LPRL, a wake-up indication from the base station (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches the host transceiver 212 generates and sends a corresponding wake up message over the low power control channel 222 to the UE),
wherein the signal detected on the HPRL (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches host and client devices communicate over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Thus, there has to be detected signals transmitted from the host, base station)…, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to (fig. 2 and par. 0021, teaches the computing device 20 typically includes at least one processing unit 42): subsequent to receiving the wake-up indication and prior to detecting the signal on the HPRL, activate the HPRL (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches receiving a corresponding wake up message over the low power control channel 222 to enable communication over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Thus, one of the ordinary skill in the art would understand the UE would need to activate the HPRL prior to detecting any signal on the HPRL).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize communicating the wake-up information or paging information, … receive, on the LPRL, a wake-up indication from the base station, wherein the signal detected on the HPRL…, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: subsequent to receiving the wake-up indication and prior to detecting the signal on the HPRL, activate the HPRL, as disclosed by Bahl with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to avoid data transmission delay. (see Bahl par. 0039)
However, although Bahl teaches the signal detected on the HPRL (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040), the combination of He and Bahl explicitly fails to disclose, the signal detected on the HPRL includes system information.
Kim disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a signal detected, so Kim is analogous to He. Furthermore, Kim teaches the signal detected on the HPRL includes system information (par. 0143-0145, teaches the UE being configured by the base station through higher layer signaling with a SIB. Whereas, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that there would be detection on a HPRL in order to receive the higher layer signaling SIB. Par. 0009, teaches system information block (SIB)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the signal detected on the HPRL includes system information, as disclosed by Kim with the combination of He and Bahl. The motivations for doing so would be to improve systems. (see Kim par. 0002)
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20250374190 hereinafter He) in view of Bahl et al. (US20030198196 hereinafter Bahl), in further view of Vannithamby et al. (US20160029344 hereinafter Vannithamby).
Regarding claims 3 and 16. He and Bahl teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 14. He further teaches the at least one processor is configured to (fig. 3 and par. 0060, teaches UE 350 comprises controller/processor 359) receive, on the LPRL, a … signal from the base station (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604).
However, although He teaches receiving a wake-up indication (par. 0080 and 0069), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, communicating the wake-up information or paging information.
Bahl teaches communicating the wake-up information (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches the UE sending to the host transceiver 212 a wake up request over the low power control channel 222 in order to enable communication over the high data-rate, high-power network 202) or paging information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize communicating the wake-up information, as disclosed by Bahl with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to avoid data transmission delay. (see Bahl par. 0039)
However, the combination of He and Bahl explicitly fails to disclose, receive, … a paging signal from the base station, wherein the paging signal includes at least one of: paging related information, an indication for system information update, or a notification for Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (ETWS) or Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS).
Vannithamby disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a paging signal, so Vannithamby is analogous to He. Furthermore, Vannithamby teaches receive, … a paging signal from the base station (fig. 1 and pars. 0027-0029, teaches access node 105 may broadcast a transmission 116 to a UE 150. Wherein, transmission 116 comprises one or more paging messages), wherein the paging signal includes at least one of: paging related information (fig. 1 and par. 0029, teaches the content of the one or more paging messages include the number of paging records. Wherein, the language “the number of paging records” reads as paging related information), an indication for system information update (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), or a notification for Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (ETWS) (fig. 1 and par. 0029, teaches the content of the one or more paging messages include an earthquake and tsunami warning system (“ETWS”) indication) or Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) ) (fig. 1 and par. 0029, teaches the content of the one or more paging messages include a commercial mobile alert system (“CMAS”) indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receive, … a paging signal from the base station, wherein the paging signal includes at least one of: paging related information, … or a notification for Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (ETWS) or Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS), as disclosed by Vannithamby with the combination of He and Bahl. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce the number frequency with which a UE wakes up to receive a paging message. (see Vannithamby par. 0023)
Claims 4-5 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20250374190 hereinafter He) in view of Bahl et al. (US20030198196 hereinafter Bahl), in view of Vannithamby et al. (US20160029344 hereinafter Vannithamby), in further view of Fei et al. (US20220346012 hereinafter Fei).
Regarding claims 4 and 17. He, Bahl, and Vannithamby teaches the method and apparatus for claims 3 and 16.
However, although Vannithamby teaches the paging related information (fig. 1 and par. 0029, teaches the content of the one or more paging messages include the number of paging records. Wherein, the language “the number of paging records” reads as paging related information), the combination of He, Bahl, and Vannithamby explicitly fails to disclose, the paging related information includes at least one of: a wake-up indication for the UE or a group of UEs, or a paging message containing a UE ID.
Fei disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a wake-up indication for the UE, so Fei is analogous to He. Furthermore, Fei teaches the paging related information includes at least one of: a wake-up indication for the UE (par. 0263, teaches receiving first wake-up signal to indicate a terminal device to receive a first data channel. Wherein the first data channel carries a paging message. Thus, the “first wake-up signal to indicate a terminal device to receive a first data channel” reads as paging related information includes at least one of: a wake-up indication for the UE)
or a group of UEs (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), or a paging message containing a UE ID (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the paging related information includes at least one of: a wake-up indication for the UE, as disclosed by Fei with the combination of He, Bahl, and Vannithamby. The motivations for doing so would be to improve signal quality. (see Fei par. 0018)
Regarding claims 5 and 18. He, Bahl, Vannithamby, and Fei teaches the method and apparatus for claims 4 and 17. He further teaches the at least one processor is further configured (fig. 3 and par. 0060, teaches UE 350 comprises controller/processor 359 can be associated with a memory 360 that stores program codes and data) to receive the …message transmitted on either the LPRL (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR from the base station 604 and may measure the LP-RS using a low-power (LP) radio 601) or the HPRL (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
However, the combination of He and Bahl explicitly fails to disclose, after … the wake-up indication,… receiving the paging message transmitted on either the LPRL or the HPRL.
Vannithamby further teaches after … the wake-up indication (par. 0053, teaches a UE may “wake up” (e.g., transition from a low-power state to a high-power state) for a paging cycle so that the UE may receive a paging message from an access node),…receiving the paging message transmitted on either the LPRL (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) or the HPRL (par. 0052-0055, teaches the UE detecting the paging message in the high-power state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize after … the wake-up indication,… receiving the paging message transmitted on either the HPRL, as disclosed by Vannithamby with the combination of He and Bahl. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce the number frequency with which a UE wakes up to receive a paging message. (see Vannithamby par. 0023)
However, the combination of He, Bahl, and Vannithamby explicitly fails to disclose, the wake-up indication is for the UE or the group of UEs, and wherein after receiving the wake-up indication, … receive the paging message transmitted.
Fei further teaches the wake-up indication is for the UE (par. 0263, teaches receiving first wake-up signal to indicate a terminal device to receive a first data channel. Wherein the first data channel carries a paging message. Thus, the “first wake-up signal to indicate a terminal device to receive a first data channel” reads as paging related information includes at least one of: a wake-up indication for the UE) or the group of UEs (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), and wherein after receiving the wake-up indication, … receive the paging message transmitted (pars. 0147-0148, teaches receiving the paging message after receiving the WUS message, transmitted by the base station. Par. 0004, wake-up signal (WUS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the wake-up indication is for the UE, and wherein after receiving the wake-up indication, … receive the paging message transmitted, as disclosed by Fei with the combination of He, Bahl, and Vannithamby. The motivations for doing so would be to improve signal quality. (see Fei par. 0018)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20250374190 hereinafter He) in view of Bahl et al. (US20030198196 hereinafter Bahl), in view of Vannithamby et al. (US20160029344 hereinafter Vannithamby), in view of Fei et al. (US20220346012 hereinafter Fei), in further view of Martin et al. (US20190261309 hereinafter Martin).
Regarding claim 6. He, Bahl, Vannithamby, and Fei teaches the method for claim 4.
However, the combination of He, Bahl, Vannithamby, and Fei explicitly fails to disclose, the paging message includes the UE ID, and wherein after receiving and detecting or decoding the paging message, the UE further performs a random access channel (RACH) procedure for entering a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode.
Martin disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a random access channel (RACH) procedure, so Martin is analogous to He. Furthermore, Martin teaches the paging message includes the UE ID (par. 0041, teaches the terminal is assigned an identifier for the relay to be able to monitor paging massages for the terminal. Whereas, the identifier can be included in the paging messages for the terminal), and wherein after receiving and detecting or decoding the paging message, the UE further performs a random access channel (RACH) procedure for entering a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode (fig. 4 and par. 0039, teaches after receipt of the paging signaling by the UE, the UE needs to establish a RRC connected state by performing the Random Access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the paging message includes the UE ID, and wherein after receiving and detecting or decoding the paging message, the UE further performs a random access channel (RACH) procedure for entering a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode, as disclosed by Martin with the combination of He, Bahl, Vannithamby, and Fei. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency. (see Martin par. 0007)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20250374190 hereinafter He) in view of Bahl et al. (US20030198196 hereinafter Bahl), in view of Vannithamby et al. (US20160029344 hereinafter Vannithamby), in view of Fei et al. (US20220346012 hereinafter Fei), in view of Martin et al. (US20190261309 hereinafter Martin), in further view of He (US 20210258916 hereinafter He-2).
Regarding claim 7. He, Bahl, Vannithamby, Fei, and Martin teaches the method for claim 6.
However, the combination of He, Bahl, Vannithamby, Fei, and Martin explicitly fails to disclose, the paging message for the UE or the group of UEs is distributed in multiple signals or channels transmitted on different time or frequency resources, and wherein the UE receives and detects or decodes the multiple signals or channels to determine whether the UE is paged.
He-2 disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for paging messages, so He-2 is analogous to He. Furthermore, He-2 teaches the paging message for the UE or the group of UEs is distributed in multiple signals or channels transmitted on different time or frequency resources (fig. 5 and par. 0106, teaches the UE receiving multiple paging messages (520 and 522) during different time slots and at different frequency ranges. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art), and wherein the UE receives and detects or decodes the multiple signals or channels to determine whether the UE is paged (fig. 5 and par. 0112, teaches the UE may be further configured to determine whether the paging message is addressed to the UE based on encoding of the paging DCI message (e.g., whether the UE is able to decode the paging DCI message using a P-RNTI. Furthermore, par. 0083,teaches if a paging DCI message cannot be decoded using the selected P-RNTI, the UE may determine that the paging message is not addressed to the UE. Moreover, P-RNTI are used for decoding paging DCI messages. Thus, the UE decoding the paging DCI messages that are sent during different time slots and at different frequency ranges (par. 0106) and determines whether the paging message is addressed to the UE reads as the UE receives and detects or decodes the multiple signals or channels to determine whether the UE is paged. Par. 0011, downlink control information (DCI) par. 0053 paging radio network temporary identifiers (P-RNTIs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the paging message for the UE or the group of UEs is distributed in multiple signals or channels transmitted on different time or frequency resources, and wherein the UE receives and detects or decodes the multiple signals or channels to determine whether the UE is paged, as disclosed by He-2 with the combination of He, Bahl, Vannithamby, Fei, and Martin. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce false paging reception at user equipments. (see He-2 par. 0053)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20250374190 hereinafter He) in view of Bahl et al. (US20030198196 hereinafter Bahl), in further view of Ryoo et al. (US20190289534 hereinafter Ryoo).
Regarding claim 12. He and Bahl teaches the method for claim 1.
However, although He suggest wake-up information or paging information with the base station (par. 0068-0069), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, the communicating the wake-up information or paging information includes transmitting, on the LPRL, a wake-up request to the base station, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, on the HPRL.
Bahl further teaches the communicating the wake-up information or paging information includes transmitting, on the LPRL, a wake-up request to the base station (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches the UE sending to the host transceiver 212 a wake up request over the low power control channel 222 in order to enable communication over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Whereas, the host transceiver 212 reads as a base station within the context of par. 0030, which teaches the host transceiver 212 can be integrated with the wireless access point 210 directly for communicating with the low power transceiver 100), wherein the method further comprises: receiving, on the HPRL (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches host and client devices communicate over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Thus, there has to be detected signals transmitted from the host, base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the communicating the wake-up information or paging information includes transmitting, on the LPRL, a wake-up request to the base station, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, on the HPRL, as disclosed by Bahl with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to avoid data transmission delay. (see Bahl par. 0039)
However, the combination of He and Bahl explicitly fails to disclose, receiving… an on-demand reference signal from the base station for fine synchronization and system information acquisition.
Ryoo disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for system information acquisition, so Ryoo is analogous to He. Furthermore, Ryoo teaches receiving… an on-demand reference signal from the base station for fine synchronization and system information acquisition (par. 0053, teaches a UE receiving an on-demand broadcast signal for cell search/synchronization and SI acquisition. Whereas, it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art that a base station sends broadcast signals. Par. 0211, teaches system information (SI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving… an on-demand reference signal from the base station for fine synchronization and system information acquisition, as disclosed by Ryoo with the combination of He and Bahl. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency. (see Ryoo par. 0054)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20250374190 hereinafter He) in view of Bahl et al. (US20030198196 hereinafter Bahl), in further view of Li et al. (US20250220582 hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 13. He and Bahl teaches the method for claim 1.
However, the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, the communicating the wake-up information or paging information includes receiving, on the LPRL, a wake-up indication from the base station …; and wherein detecting, on the HPRL, the signal transmitted from the base station includes monitoring, on the HPRL, a downlink control channel or receiving downlink data from the base station.
Bahl further teaches the communicating the wake-up information or paging information (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches the UE sending to the host transceiver 212 a wake up request over the low power control channel 222 in order to enable communication over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Whereas, the host transceiver 212 reads as a base station within the context of par. 0030, which teaches the host transceiver 212 can be integrated with the wireless access point 210 directly for communicating with the low power transceiver 100) includes receiving, on the LPRL, a wake-up indication from the base station … (pars. 0039-0040, teaches receiving the wake up message via the low power transceiver 100 over the low power control channel 222 from the host transceiver 212); and
wherein detecting, on the HPRL, the signal transmitted from the base station includes monitoring, on the HPRL (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches host and client devices communicate over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Thus, there has to be detected high-power network signals on a high-power network channel transmitted from the host base station, that the client device is monitoring), a downlink control channel (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) or receiving downlink data from the base station (fig. 4b and pars. 0039-0040, teaches host and client devices communicate over the high data-rate, high-power network 202. Thus, there has to be a received high-power network signal on a high-power network channel transmitted from the host base station, that the client device is monitoring).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the communicating the wake-up information or paging information includes receiving, on the LPRL, a wake-up indication from the base station …; and wherein detecting, on the HPRL, the signal transmitted from the base station includes monitoring, on the HPRL, receiving downlink data from the base station, as disclosed by Bahl with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to avoid data transmission delay. (see Bahl par. 0039)
However, although Bahl teaches receiving, on the LPRL, a wake-up indication from the base station (pars. 0039-0040), the combination of He and Bahl explicitly fails to disclose, receiving, on the LPRL, a wake-up indication from the base station during a connected mode.
Li disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a connected mode, so Li is analogous to He. Furthermore, Li teaches receiving, on the LPRL, a wake-up indication from the base station during a connected mode (par. 0343, teaches the wake-up receiver is to monitor for a low power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) when the main receiver is in a radio resource control (RRC) CONNECTED state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving, on the LPRL, a wake-up indication from the base station during a connected mode, as disclosed by Li with the combination of He and Bahl. The motivations for doing so would be to improve energy efficiency. (see Li par. 0033)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474