DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “a battery pack a retention plate.” The Examiner will presume this was intended to be “a battery pack retention plate.” Appropriate correction is required.1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong, et al. (US 2018/0184777, herein Hong).2 Regarding claims 1, 9, and 14, Hong teaches a portable modular charging system in a suitcase assembly, comprising: a case having a front face (paragraph 0026: tray compartment 130 serves as the front face) and a cutout within the front face (paragraph 0027: battery compartment 140); a housing retained in the cutout of the front face, the housing having a movable latch and latch release (paragraph 0027: battery retention latch 142); and a battery pack retained within housing and removably retained by the latch (paragraph 0027: battery bank cartridge 150). Regarding claim 2, Hong teaches the battery pack includes at least one electrical output for charging an electrical device (paragraph 0028). Regarding claim 4, Hong teaches the housing further comprises: a recess for receiving; a battery pack retention plate (paragraph 0027: the rear of tray compartment 130);3 and a movable latch mechanism (paragraph 0027: battery retention latch 142). Regarding claims 5 and 11, Hong teaches a lifter assembly for raising the battery pack from the recess housing when the latch is released (paragraph 0042). Regarding claim 6, Hong teaches the housing is retained within the case, and an external plate is attached to the case to secure the housing to the case (paragraph 0027). Regarding claim 7, Hong teaches at least one seal between the external plate, the case and the housing (Fig. 3C: border around battery 150). Regarding claims 8 and 13, Hong teaches an extensible handle with parallel rails for the handle and the housing is configured to fit between the rails without interfering with the extensibility thereof (paragraph 0031). Regarding claims 12 and 16, Hong teaches the housing is retained within the case, and an external plate is attached to the case to secure the housing to the case (paragraph 0027).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Jakubowski (US 2019/0363590).4 Regarding claims 3, 10, and 15, Hong teaches the portable charging system of claims 1, 9, and 14, as discussed above. Hong does not explicitly teach the electrical outputs for charging an electrical device are wireless Qi chargers Jakubowski teaches the electrical outputs for charging an electrical device are wireless Qi chargers (paragraph 0067). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of Hong and Jakubowski, because such a combination increases the convenience for the user.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW MIKELS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
1 It is unclear whether this was intended to be “a battery pack retention plate” or “a battery pack” and “a retention plate.” Since claim 1 already recites a battery pack, the Examiner presumes this is one limitation.
2 In addition to the cited paragraphs, please see also the associated figures.
3 See objection to claim 4 above.
4 In addition to the cited paragraphs, please see also the associated figures.
5 The Examiner can also be reached at matthew.mikels@uspto.gov.