DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112(f)
(A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as "configured to" or "so that"; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a thermal control system for …" in claim 1; "an output for …" in claim 5.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ho (US 2017/0336839).
Regarding claim 1, Ho teaches an information handling system comprising:
a plurality of temperature sensors, each temperature sensor configured to generate a respective temperature measurement (Abstract, [0027-0028, 0030], a device may have multiple temperature sensors, each of which measure temperature of a component);
an air mover configured to drive air to cool the information handling system (Abstract, [0028], the device can include a fan, which may cool a zone including multiple components); and
a thermal control system for controlling the air mover ([0025], a thermal management system, including a processor, control fan speed based on temperature readings; the thermal management system forms a closed feedback loop) and configured to:
receive the respective temperature measurements from the plurality of temperature sensors ([0032], the system receives measured temperatures from the sensors);
select a selected temperature measurement from the respective temperature measurements for temperature-based closed loop control of the thermal control system ([0032-0033], the system selects each temperature measurement and determines a difference between it and a predetermined temperature e.g., a maximum operating temperature for a corresponding component; this is done for temperature for each of the multiple sensors); and
generate a control signal for controlling a speed of the air mover based on the selected temperature measurement ([0034-0035, 0039, 0040], Table 1, the system compares the determined differences for all the sensors/components; the difference are ranked; a fan is operated based on the smallest difference; for example, Table 1 describes a zone with multiple sensors and a single fan; as noted in [0036, 0039, 0040], the speed of the fan is modified based on the sensor with the smallest difference).
Regarding claim 2, Ho teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Ho also teaches wherein the thermal control system is further configured to:
compare each of the respective temperature measurements to a respective maximum temperature to determine a respective temperature margin for each of the respective temperature measurements ([0032-0033], the system selects each temperature measurement and determines a difference between it and a predetermined temperature e.g., a maximum operating temperature for a corresponding component; this is done for temperature for each of the multiple sensors);
select a minimum temperature margin from all of the respective temperature margins; and
generate the control signal based on the minimum temperature margin ([0034-0035, 0039, 0040], Table 1, the system compares the determined differences for all the sensors/components; the difference are ranked; a fan is operated based on the smallest difference; for example, Table 1 describes a zone with multiple sensors and a single fan; as noted in [0036, 0039, 0040], the speed of the fan is modified based on the sensor with the smallest difference).
Regarding claim 3, the claim corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 4, Ho teaches the invention as claimed in claim 3. Claim 4 also corresponds to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5, the claim corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons. Ho also teaches
a thermal control system ([0025], a thermal management system, including a processor, control fan speed based on temperature readings; the thermal management system forms a closed feedback loop) comprising:
an output for communicating a control signal for regulating an air speed of an air mover; and logic ([0036, 0039, 0040], fan operation and speed is regulated; inherently there is an output that generates a control signal for that; inherently, the above thermal management system implements logic to perform the operations of the invention; see also [0018], which describes memory and a processor).
Regarding claim 6, Ho teaches the invention as claimed in claim 5. Claim 6 also corresponds to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 7, the claim corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons. Ho also teaches an article of manufacture comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable medium; and
computer-executable instructions carried on the computer-readable medium, the instructions readable by a processor, the instructions, when read and executed, for
causing the processor to perform operations ([0025], a thermal management system, including a processor, control fan speed based on temperature readings; the thermal management system forms a closed feedback loop; inherently, the above thermal management system uses instructions to perform the operations of the invention; see also [0018], which describes memory and a processor).
Regarding claim 8, Ho teaches the invention as claimed in claim 7. Claim 8 corresponds to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lovicott (US 2018/0164841) teaches determining the rate of an air mover based on operating temperature e.g., see Lovicott Abstract.
/ERIC J YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118