DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 9-10 state “wherein wherein” should the limitation should be corrected to “wherein”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the Specification, ¶[0099] states “wherein the composite structure is, Air|(ABP)N1 CGM C(ABP)N2/Air wherein M, N1, and N2 each represent a quantity of spatial cycles, the dielectric layer A is made of a ZrO2 material, the dielectric layer B is made of a Si material, and the dielectric layer P is made of an anisotropic plasma material”. Is “Air|(ABP)N1 CGM C(ABP)N2/Air” a formula for the structure or an actual structure?
The superscript to (ABP)N1 shows “N1”, but the limitation definition shows “N1” (with “1” written as a subscript).
The superscript to (ABP)N1 shows “N2”, but the limitation definition shows “N2” (with “2” written as a subscript).
The limitation definition “ZrO2” is not defined.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without definitions of whether the limitation “wherein the composite structure is Air|(ABP)N1 CGM C(ABP)N2/Air” is a formula for a structure or a structure, alone, which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976).
Claims 2-7 depend from Claim 1 and inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 10-13 recites “wherein the composite structure is, Air|(ABP)N1 CGM C(ABP)N2/Air wherein M, N1, and N2 each represent a quantity of spatial cycles, the dielectric layer A is made of a ZrO2 material, the dielectric layer B is made of a Si material, and the dielectric layer P is made of an anisotropic plasma material”. Is “Air|(ABP)N1 CGM C(ABP)N2/Air” a formula for the structure or an actual structure?
For examination purposes, “wherein the composite structure is, Air|(ABP)N1 CGM C(ABP)N2/Air wherein M, N1, and N2 each represent a quantity of spatial cycles, the dielectric layer A is made of a ZrO2 material, the dielectric layer B is made of a Si material, and the dielectric layer P is made of an anisotropic plasma material” will be treated as “wherein the composite structure comprises wherein the dielectric layers are made of a ZrO2 material, a silicone material, and an anisotropic plasma material”.
The superscript to (ABP)N1 shows “N1”, but the limitation definition shows “N1” (with “1” written as a subscript). For examination purposes, “N1” will be taken as “N1”.
The superscript to (ABP)N1 shows “N2”, but the limitation definition shows “N2” (with “2” written as a subscript). For examination purposes, “N2” will be taken as “N2”.
Claim 1, line 11 states “ZrO₂”. Chemical compounds must be defined in the Specification and the Claim. For examination purposes, “ZrO₂” will be taken as “zirconium dioxide”.
Claim 1, line 12 states “made of Si material”. Si is not defined in the Specification and the Claim. For examination purposes, “Si” will be taken as “silicone”.
Claim 2, line 2 states “n0 = 1”. The limitation n0 is not defined in the Specification nor the Claim. For examination purposes, “n0 = 1” will be taken as “1”.
Claim 3, line 2, it is unclear what “[Symbol font/0x65]a = 4.21” means since this limitation “[Symbol font/0x65]a” has not been defined in the Specification or the Claim; and in Claim 3, line 3 it is unclear what “[Symbol font/0x65]b = 7.95” means since this limitation also has not been defined. For examination Because “[Symbol font/0x65]a = 4.21” and “[Symbol font/0x65]b = 7.95” have not been defined, the scope of the claims is so unclear that it will not be further treated on the merits or examined.
Claim 4, lines 3-4 state “wherein thicknesses of the layers in the composite structure are respectively as follows: da = 30um, db = 21.28um, dp = 60um, dc = 30um, and dg = 0.33nm and M = 1, N1 = 2, and N2 = 3”. The limitations, da, db, dp, dc, and dg are indefinite as these terms have not been defined in the Specification and the Claim. The limitations, da, db, dp, dc, and dg, are not shown in any formula, definition, etc., in the Specification or the Claim. In addition, what unit of measure is “um” since da, db, dp, dc claim this as a unit of measuring the thickness? For examination purposes, the scope of the claims is so unclear that it will not be further treated on the merits or examined,
Claims 2-7 inherit the indefiniteness of the claim(s) from which they depend.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ouderkirk et al. (hereafter Ouderkirk) (US 2022/0276483 A1), as best understood.
With respect to Claim 1, Ouderkirk discloses a graphene-based optical bistable device with a ternary photonic crystal structure, the graphene-based optical bistable device comprising: a composite structure suitable for a terahertz band (Figure 7), wherein the composite structure is formed by a ternary photonic crystal structure (¶[0046] and ¶[0066]), a defect layer C (¶[0066]), and a graphene layer G (¶[0066]) through permutation and combination (¶[0066]); wherein the ternary photonic crystal structure (¶[0057]) is a periodic photonic crystal structure (¶[0057]) formed by three alternately-arranged dielectric layers A, B, and P (Figure 7) with different dielectric constants (¶[0119]), two defect layers C (¶[0066]) are embedded in the ternary photonic crystal structure, and the graphene layer G is embedded between the two defect layers C (¶[0066]); wherein the composite structure (Figure 7) comprises wherein the dielectric layers (Figure 7) are made of a zirconium dioxide material (¶[0058]), a silicone material (¶[0049]), and an anisotropic plasma material (¶[0060]).
With respect to Claim 2, Ouderkirk further discloses wherein the defect layer C (¶[0066]) is filled with air and has a refractive index of n0=1 (Table 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Ouderkirk (US 2022/0276483 A1) in further in view of Kawakami et al., (hereafter Kawakami) (US 2007/0172697 A1), as best understood.
With respect to Claim 5, Ouderkirk teaches the graphene-based optical bistable device with a ternary photonic crystal structure according to claim 1, and the graphene layer G.
Ouderkirk fails to teach wherein thresholds and a threshold difference of the bistable device are controlled by a Fermi level, relaxation time, and a layer quantity of the graphene layer G.
Ouderkirk teaches a deformable lens and Kawakami teaches a switching element which can be used with the lens.
Kawakami teaches wherein thresholds and a threshold difference (Table 1 and ¶[0074]) of the bistable device (Figure 1) are controlled by a Fermi level (¶[0074]), relaxation time (¶[0074]), and a layer quantity of the graphene layer G (Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Ouderkirk having the graphene-based optical bistable device with a ternary photonic crystal structure with the teachings of Kawakami having the thresholds and a threshold difference of the bistable device are controlled by a Fermi level, relaxation time, and a layer quantity of the graphene layer G for the purpose of energy shifts.
With respect to Claim 6, Ouderkirk teaches the graphene-based optical bistable device with a ternary photonic crystal structure according to claim 1.
Ouderkirk fails to teach wherein thresholds and a threshold difference of the bistable device are controlled by a plasma electron density of the dielectric layer P.
Ouderkirk teaches a deformable lens and Kawakami teaches a switching element which can be used with the lens.
Kawakami teaches wherein thresholds and a threshold difference (Table 1 and ¶[0074]) of the bistable device (Figure 1) are controlled by a plasma electron density (¶[0074]) of the dielectric layer P (Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Ouderkirk having the graphene-based optical bistable device with a ternary photonic crystal structure with the teachings of Kawakami having thresholds and a threshold difference of the bistable device are controlled by a plasma electron density of the dielectric layer P for the purpose of energy shifts.
With respect to Claim 7, Ouderkirk teaches the graphene-based optical bistable device with a ternary photonic crystal structure according to claim 1.
Ouderkirk fails to teach wherein thresholds and a threshold difference of the bistable device are controlled by an incident angle of an electromagnetic wave.
Ouderkirk teaches a deformable lens and Kawakami teaches a switching element which can be used with the lens.
Kawakami teaches wherein thresholds and a threshold difference (Table 1 and ¶[0074]) of the bistable device (Figure 1) are controlled by an incident angle of an electromagnetic wave (¶[0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Ouderkirk having the graphene-based optical bistable device with a ternary photonic crystal structure with the teachings of Kawakami having thresholds and a threshold difference of the bistable device are controlled by an incident angle of an electromagnetic wave for the purpose of energy shifts.
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872