DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communication(s) filed on 3/2/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to the argument of the prior art not teaching the newly amended subject matter, see rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jaradi et al. (US 11,180,110 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Jaradi discloses a vehicle seat assembly (fig. 2, 3, 8) comprising: a seat bottom (30); a seat back (28) pivotably coupled (fig. 2, 3, 8) to the seat bottom (30); and a buckle assembly (18) coupled to the seat bottom (30) at an anchorage point (fig. 2, 3, 8); wherein the anchorage point is adapted to be translated forwards and downwards relative to the seat bottom upon detection of an impact event or impending impact event (fig. 2, 3, 8), thereby pre-tensioning a lap belt coupled to the buckle assembly (fig. 2, 3, 8), wherein the anchorage point is adapted to be translated from a first anchorage point relative to the seat bottom to a second anchorage point relative to the seat bottom by a biasing force provided by a pre-tensioner and directed from the first anchorage point to the second anchorage point such that the lap belt is snugged against a pelvis of a vehicle occupant during or just before the impact event (column 3 lines 40-51, it is noted that at some point during the impact that the seat belt would be snugged against the pelvis of the vehicle occupant since the job of the seatbelt is to hold the occupant in place. The occupant will eventually catch up to the seatbelt after the second anchorage point is reached (stopper 44 of Jaradi) during the impact event even if assuming that the seatbelt is not snugged against the occupant’s pelvis the entire time, thus meeting the language of the claim).
Regarding claim 2, Jaradi discloses wherein the pre-tensioner is operably coupled between the buckle assembly and the seat bottom, and is configured to translate the anchorage point forward and downwards relative to the seat bottom upon detection of the impact even or impending impact event (fig. 2, 3, 8).
Regarding claim 3, Jaradi further discloses wherein the pre-tensioner comprises at least one of an explosive pre-tensioner, a mechanical pre-tensioner, or an electronic pre-tensioner (column 2 lines 25-50, figs. 2, 3, 8).
Regarding claim 4, Jaradi further discloses wherein the pre-tensioner is configured to provide a variable biasing force to translate the anchorage point such that the degree of pre-tensioning is determined by amount of biasing force provided by the pre-tensioner (column 2 lines 25-50, fig. 2, 3, 8).
Regarding claim 5, Jaradi further discloses wherein the anchorage point of the seat bottom comprises at least one of a track structure, a slot defined in the seat bottom, or a lever (fig. 2-8).
Regarding claim 6, Jaradi further discloses further comprising: an anchorage assembly coupled to the seat bottom opposite the buckle assembly at an additional anchorage point; wherein the additional anchorage point is also adapted to be translated forwards and downwards relative to the seat bottom upon detection of the impact event or impending impact event, thereby further pre-tensioning the lap belt coupled to the anchorage assembly (fig. 2-8).
Regarding claim 7, Jaradi further discloses further comprising: an additional pre-tensioner operably coupled between the anchorage assembly and the seat bottom, the additional pre-tensioner configured to translate the additional anchorage point forward and downwards relative to the seat bottom upon detection of the impact even or impending impact event (fig. 2-8).
Regarding claim 8, Jaradi discloses a vehicle (fig. 1) comprising: a plurality of seat assemblies (column 1, lines 5-15), at least one seat assembly (fig. 2, 3, 8) of the plurality of seat assemblies configured as a tensioning seat assembly (fig. 2, 3, 8) comprising: a seat bottom (30); a seat back (28) pivotably coupled (fig. 2, 3, 8) to the seat bottom (30); and a buckle assembly (18) coupled to the seat bottom (30) at an anchorage point (fig. 2, 3, 8); wherein the anchorage point is adapted to be translated forwards and downwards relative to the seat bottom upon detection of an impact event or impending impact event (fig. 2, 3, 8), thereby pre-tensioning a lap belt coupled to the buckle assembly (fig. 2, 3, 8), wherein the anchorage point is adapted to be translated from a first anchorage point relative to the seat bottom to a second anchorage point relative to the seat bottom by a biasing force provided by a pre-tensioner and directed from the first anchorage point to the second anchorage point such that the lap belt is snugged against a pelvis of a vehicle occupant during or just before the impact event (column 3 lines 40-51, it is noted that at some point during the impact that the seat belt would be snugged against the pelvis of the vehicle occupant since the job of the seatbelt is to hold the occupant in place. The occupant will eventually catch up to the seatbelt after the second anchorage point is reached (stopper 44 of Jaradi) during the impact event even if assuming that the seatbelt is not snugged against the occupant’s pelvis the entire time, thus meeting the language of the claim).
Regarding claim 11, Jaradi further discloses wherein the pre-tensioner is operably coupled between the buckle assembly and the seat bottom, and is configured to translate the anchorage point forward and downwards relative to the seat bottom upon detection of the impact even or impending impact event (fig. 2-8).
Regarding claim 12, Jaradi further discloses the tensioning seat assembly further comprising: an anchorage assembly coupled to the seat bottom opposite the buckle assembly at an additional anchorage point; wherein the additional anchorage point is also adapted to be translated forwards and downwards relative to the seat bottom upon detection of the impact event or impending impact event, thereby further pre-tensioning the lap belt coupled to the anchorage assembly (fig. 2-8).
Regarding claim 13, Jaradi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions stored in at least one memory that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to carry out steps comprising (column 5, lines 26-61): determining an impact event or impending impact event of a vehicle comprising the at least one memory and the one or more processors (62, 64, 66); communicating, in response to the determination of the impact event or impending impact event of the vehicle, a signal to a pre-tensioner of a vehicle seat assembly of the vehicle, the vehicle seat assembly further comprising a seat bottom (30), a seat back (28) pivotably coupled to the seat bottom (30), and a buckle assembly (18) coupled to the seat bottom (30) at an anchorage point (fig. 2, 3, 8); and translating, in response to the communication, the anchorage point forwards and downwards relative to the seat bottom utilizing the pre-tensioner such that a lap belt coupled to the buckle assembly is pre-tensioned (fig. 2, 3, 8), wherein the anchorage point is adapted to be translated from a first anchorage point relative to the seat bottom to a second anchorage point relative to the seat bottom by a biasing force provided by a pre-tensioner and directed from the first anchorage point to the second anchorage point such that the lap belt is snugged against a pelvis of a vehicle occupant during or just before the impact event (column 3 lines 40-51, it is noted that at some point during the impact that the seat belt would be snugged against the pelvis of the vehicle occupant since the job of the seatbelt is to hold the occupant in place. The occupant will eventually catch up to the seatbelt after the second anchorage point is reached (stopper 44 of Jaradi) during the impact event even if assuming that the seatbelt is not snugged against the occupant’s pelvis the entire time, thus meeting the language of the claim).
Regarding claim 16, Jaradi further discloses wherein the steps further comprise: determining a severity of the impact event or impending impact event, wherein the signal is only communicated to the pre-tensioner when the determined severity is over a threshold severity (column 5, lines 10-61).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaradi et al. (US 11,180,110 B2).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Jaradi disloses the invention above and further discloses wherein a controller communicatively coupled to the seat assembly, the controller configured to cause the anchorage point of at least one selected tensioning seat assembly to translate forwards and downwards relative to the seat bottom upon detection of an impact event or impending impact event (fig. 2-8). Jaradi, however, appears silent as to having multiple assemblies all with the tensioning seat assembly. It would have been an obvious design choice to have all the seats in the vehicle be tension seat assemblies in order to avoid discomfort for all passengers in the vehicle in the event of an impact even or impending impact event.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAO EN MO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747