DETAILED ACTION
Cross Reference to Related Applications
2. The present application is a continuation of International Application No. PCT/US2022/044712, filed September 26, 2022, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/249,146, filed September 28, 2021, all of which are incorporated by reference in their entireties.
Claims status
3. This office action is a response to an application filed on March 26, 2024 in which claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Drawings
4. The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on April 10, 2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The Examiner has considered the reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted on March 19, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LADDU et al. (US 2022/0322310 A1), hereinafter “Laddu” in view of TAKEDA et al. (US 2022/0232597 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosure of provisional application number 63/139,563 field on January 20, 2021), hereinafter “Takeda”.
Regarding claim 1, Laddu discloses a wireless device (Figs. 3, 4, inter-cell (or multi-cell), multi-DCI based multi-TRP transmission according to operation of a user device)) comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Figs. 3, 4, at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor), cause the wireless device to:
receive, via a first control resource set (coreset) (Figs. 3, 4, paragraphs [0041]-[0042], [0046], [0048]-[0049], [0051], multi-DCI based multi-TRP operation configuration coreset) associated with a first physical cell index (PCI) (Figs. 3, 4, paragraphs [0041]-[0042], [0046], [0048]-[0049], [0051], each cell identified by PCI), a first downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a first transport block (Figs. 3, 4, paragraphs [0041]-[0042], [0046], [0048]-[0049], [0051], DCI-1);
receive, via a second coreset associated with a second PCI (Figs. 3, 4, paragraphs [0041]-[0042], [0046], [0048]-[0049], [0051], each cell identified by PCI), a second DCI scheduling a second transport block (Figs. 3, 4, paragraphs [0036], [0048], [0051], DCI-2) starting earlier than the end of the first transport block (Figs. 3, 4, paragraphs [0036], [0048], [0051], scheduling of in order/out of order data for transmission, and other multi-TRP operation parameters or settings), wherein the receiving of the second DCI ends later than the receiving of the first DCI (Figs. 3, 4, paragraphs [0036], [0048], [0051], various aspects or parameters of multi-TRP operation may be defined or configured separately for each TRP).
While Laddu implicitly refers to “based on the first PCI and the second PCI being different, transmit or receive the second transport block” (Fig.4, operation 420, 430, 440, paragraphs [0043], [0077], Operation 420 includes receiving, by the user device from a network node, transmission configuration index (TCI) states for a plurality of control resource sets (CORESETS), wherein the TCI states for the plurality of CORESETs are associated with a plurality of cells having different physical cell identities (PCIs) or associated with a plurality of cell groups, wherein the TCI states indicate Quasi Co-Location (QCL) characteristics (e.g., beams) to be used by the user device for receiving physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) associated with the plurality of cells with different PCIs or associated with the plurality of cell groups, wherein the plurality of cells or the plurality of cell groups include at least a serving cell and at least one non-serving cell for the user device; And, operation 430 includes determining, by the user device, that at least one of the following conditions is present: 1) a multi-DCI based multi-TRP-related high layer parameter has been configured to the user device; 2) a default mode of multi-TRP operation has been configured to the user device; or 3) the user device has received control information indicating physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) TCI state activations corresponding to two different CORESETPoolIndex values; And, operation 440 includes performing, by the user device, inter-cell multi-DCI based multi-TRP operation with cells from the plurality of cells, or with cells from the plurality of cell groups, based on the determining to perform multi-DCI based inter-cell multi-TRP operation), Takeda from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses one or more processors cause the wireless device to: receive, via a second coreset associated with a second PCI, a second DCI scheduling a second transport block starting earlier than the end of the first transport block, wherein the receiving of the second DCI ends later than the receiving of the first DCI (Fig.1, paragraphs [0007], [0067], [0085], Out-of-order scheduling, for purposes of this disclosure, may refer to the case where for any two HARQ process IDs in a given scheduled cell, a UE 110 is scheduled to receive a first PDSCH starting in symbol j by a PDCCH ending in symbol i, and the UE 110 is also scheduled to receive a second PDSCH starting earlier than the end of the first PDSCH with a PDCCH that ends later than symbol i; a shared control resource set (e.g., CORESET) may be pooled and configured across two cells (e.g., Pcell/PScell and sScell); in an example, the control resource set may refer to a set of physical resources within a specific area of a DL resource grid used to carry PDCCHs (e.g., DCIs); The control resource set may use an index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex) to identify whether the PDCCHs are from the same or different TRPs; in these techniques, a network (e.g., base station 105) may configure up to two values of indexes for the control resource set on the Pcell/PScell and up to two values on the index for the control resource set on the scheduling Scell); and
based on the first PCI and the second PCI being different, transmit or receive the second transport block (Fig.1, paragraphs [0007], [0067], [0078]-[0081], [0096], Out-of-order scheduling for a first example and a third example:
CORESETPoolIndex are different between a CORESET on the Pcell/PScell and a CORESET on the scheduling SCell, this may imply the PDCCHs detected on the CORESETs are transmitted from different TRPs, and for this case, simultaneous PDSCHs and/or out-of-order PDSCHs/PUSCHs may be allowed ;
if the value of the CORESETPoolIndex is the same for a CORESET on the Pcell/PScell and for a CORESET on the scheduling Scell, if the scheduled cells are also different (e.g., the CORESET on the Pcell/PScell is for scheduling data on the Pcell/PScell and the CORESET on the scheduling Scell is for scheduling data on the scheduling Scell), simultaneous PDSCHs and out-of-order PDSCHs/PUSCHs on different scheduled cells may be allowed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “based on the first PCI and the second PCI being different, transmit or receive the second transport block” as taught by Takeda, in the system of Laddu, so that it would provide cross-carrier scheduling with multi-transmission and reception points (TRPs) and dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (Takeda, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 2, Laddu in view of Takeda disclose the wireless device according to claim 1.
Takeda further discloses the receiving of the first DCI ends in a first symbol; and the receiving of the second DCI ends later than the first symbol (paragraphs [0067], [0081], [0085], [0096], a first PDSCH starting in symbol j by a PDCCH ending in symbol i, and a second PDSCH starting earlier than the end of the first PDSCH with a PDCCH that ends later than symbol i).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the receiving of the first DCI ends in a first symbol; and the receiving of the second DCI ends later than the first symbol” as taught by Takeda, in the system of Laddu, so that it would provide cross-carrier scheduling with multi-transmission and reception points (TRPs) and dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (Takeda, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 3, Laddu in view of Takeda disclose the wireless device according to claim 1.
Takeda further discloses the instructions further cause the wireless device to receive one or more configuration parameters indicating: a first control resource set (coreset) pool index for the first coreset; and a second coreset pool index for the second coreset, wherein the first coreset pool index and the second coreset pool index are the same (Fig.1, paragraphs [0007], [0067], [0078]-[0081], [0096], Out-of-order scheduling for a third example: if the value of the CORESETPoolIndex is the same for a CORESET on the Pcell/PScell and for a CORESET on the scheduling Scell, if the scheduled cells are also different (e.g., the CORESET on the Pcell/PScell is for scheduling data on the Pcell/PScell and the CORESET on the scheduling Scell is for scheduling data on the scheduling Scell), simultaneous PDSCHs and out-of-order PDSCHs/PUSCHs on different scheduled cells may be allowed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the instructions further cause the wireless device to receive one or more configuration parameters indicating: a first control resource set (coreset) pool index for the first coreset; and a second coreset pool index for the second coreset, wherein the first coreset pool index and the second coreset pool index are the same” as taught by Takeda, in the system of Laddu, so that it would provide cross-carrier scheduling with multi-transmission and reception points (TRPs) and dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (Takeda, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 4, Laddu in view of Takeda disclose the wireless device according to claim 3.
Takeda further discloses the receiving the second transport block is further based on the first coreset pool index and the second coreset pool index being the same (Fig.1, paragraphs [0007], [0067], [0078]-[0081], [0096], Out-of-order scheduling for a third example: if the value of the CORESETPoolIndex is the same for a CORESET on the Pcell/PScell and for a CORESET on the scheduling Scell, if the scheduled cells are also different (e.g., the CORESET on the Pcell/PScell is for scheduling data on the Pcell/PScell and the CORESET on the scheduling Scell is for scheduling data on the scheduling Scell), simultaneous PDSCHs and out-of-order PDSCHs/PUSCHs on different scheduled cells may be allowed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the receiving the second transport block is further based on the first coreset pool index and the second coreset pool index being the same” as taught by Takeda, in the system of Laddu, so that it would provide cross-carrier scheduling with multi-transmission and reception points (TRPs) and dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (Takeda, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 5, Laddu in view of Takeda disclose the wireless device according to claim 1.
Takeda further discloses the first transport block starts from a first starting symbol; and a starting symbol of the second transport block is before or after the first starting symbol (paragraph [0067], UE 110 is scheduled to receive a first PDSCH starting in symbol j by a PDCCH ending in symbol i, and the UE 110 is also scheduled to receive a second PDSCH starting earlier than the end of the first PDSCH with a PDCCH that ends later than symbol i).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the first transport block starts from a first starting symbol; and a starting symbol of the second transport block is before or after the first starting symbol” as taught by Takeda, in the system of Laddu, so that it would provide cross-carrier scheduling with multi-transmission and reception points (TRPs) and dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (Takeda, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 6, Laddu in view of Takeda disclose the wireless device according to claim 1.
Takeda further discloses the instructions further cause the wireless device to transmit or receive the first transport block (Fig.1, paragraphs [0007], [0067], [0078]-[0081], [0096], transmit or receive according to data scheduling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the instructions further cause the wireless device to transmit or receive the first transport block” as taught by Takeda, in the system of Laddu, so that it would provide cross-carrier scheduling with multi-transmission and reception points (TRPs) and dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (Takeda, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1 (from the perspective of the base station).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2 (from the perspective of the base station).
Regarding claim 10, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3 (from the perspective of the base station).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4 (from the perspective of the base station).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5 (from the perspective of the base station).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6 (from the perspective of the base station).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5.
8. Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LADDU et al. (US 2022/0322310 A1), hereinafter “Laddu” in view of TAKEDA et al. (US 2022/0232597 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosure of provisional application number 63/139,563 field on January 20, 2021), hereinafter “Takeda” in view of KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 2020/0336892 A1), hereinafter “Khoshnevisan”.
Regarding claim 7, Laddu in view of Takeda disclose the wireless device according to claim 1.
Neither Laddu nor Takeda explicitly discloses “the transmitting or the receiving the second transport block is further based on transmitting a user-equipment (UE) capability message indicating a maximum number of out-of-order processes that the wireless device supports”.
However, Khoshnevisan from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the transmitting or the receiving the second transport block is further based on transmitting a user-equipment (UE) capability message indicating a maximum number of out-of-order processes that the wireless device supports (Fig.4, paragraphs [0050], [0067], [0071], maximum number of component carriers designated for communicating with multiple TRPs and supporting component carriers for out-of-order mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the transmitting or the receiving the second transport block is further based on transmitting a user-equipment (UE) capability message indicating a maximum number of out-of-order processes that the wireless device supports” as taught by Khoshnevisan, in the combined system of Laddu and Takeda, so that it would provide signaling processing capabilities on multiple component carriers, determining a carrier aggregation configuration based on the capability signaling, and determining when to drop certain traffic on a component carrier from a processing pipeline (Khoshnevisan, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7 (from the perspective of the base station).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7.
Conclusion
/SITHU KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414