DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant previously elected without traverse Invention II (Claims 11-20) in the reply filed on 10/31/2025.
Applicant previously elected with traverse Main Species A (Figures 1-20) and Connector Species S2 (Figure 29) in the reply filed on 10/31/2025.
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 4/29/2026 are as follows:
Claims 1-20 are pending;
Claims 1-10, 13, 14, and 19-20 are withdrawn from consideration;
Claims 11, 12, and 15-18 are being examined.
Specification
The amended title of the invention was received on 4/29/2026 and is accepted.
Claim Interpretation
Currently, no claim limitation invokes 112(f). The nonce term “unit” in claim 11 is sufficiently described by structure in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 12, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang (US2020/0200040A1, as previously cited).
Re Claim 11. Jiang teaches a heat exchanger (50) comprising (Figures 3-5):
a heat exchanger main body (50) configured by connecting a plurality of adjacent units (100, 104, 70) to each other (Figures 3-5; Paragraphs 18-27);
wherein each of the plurality of units (100, 104) integrally includes a connector (94) with another unit and a flow path portion (90, 92) (Figures 3-5; Paragraphs 18-27); and
the heat exchanger main body includes, by interconnecting the plurality of units, an internal flow path (interior of 90, 92) including a plurality of the flow path portions (90, 92), a fluid inlet (110) and a fluid outlet (112) both connected to the internal flow path, and a plurality of external fins (102, 116, 106, 126) formed on an outer surface of the heat exchanger main body (Figures 3-5; Paragraphs 18-27).
Re Claim 12. Jiang teaches each of the plurality of units has a curved shape; and the heat exchanger main body has a curved shape that is curved along a curved surface formed within an aircraft engine (Figures 2-5; Paragraphs 17).
Re Claim 15. Jiang teaches at least one of the plurality of units includes one or more ports operable to function as the fluid inlet or the fluid outlet (Figures 3-5; Paragraphs 18-27; Fluid passes through the passages and exits the passages of the units, thus the units include ports that function as fluid inlet and fluid outlet).
Re Claim 17. Jiang teaches at least one of the plurality of units includes a return portion (124) to turn back the flow path portion in an opposite direction (Figures 3-4; Paragraphs 18-27).
Re Claim 18. Jiang teaches the plurality of units include: a single-connection unit (70) including the connector on only one end surface; and a multi-connection unit (100, 104) including the connector on each of two or more end surfaces (Figure 3; Paragraphs 18-27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US2020/0200040A1, as previously cited) in view of Ueda (US2015/0000865, as previously cited).
Re Claim 16. Jiang teaches adding a valve to control flow to the plurality of units (Figure 3; Paragraph 23) but fails to specifically teach at least one of the plurality of units includes a plurality of the flow path portions and a bypass to connect one of the plurality of flow path portions to another one of the plurality of flow path portions via a valve.
However, Ueda teaches it is known to form at least one of the plurality of units includes a plurality of the flow path portions (41, 42, 63) and a bypass (6) to connect one of the plurality of flow path portions to another one of the plurality of flow path portions via a valve (6) (Figures 3 and 7; Paragraphs 43-46 and 58-61). Ueda teaches the benefit of the bypass valve is to allow for quickly increasing the temperature of the target fluid (Paragraph 25).
Therefore, in view of Ueda's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a bypass pathway and bypass valve to Jiang in order to allow for quickly increasing the temperature of the target fluid, thereby achieving optimal operating parameters efficiently (Ueda Paragraph 25).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 8-10 and 19 of the reply that Jiang fails to teach a plurality of adjacent units. Figure 3 of Jiang clearly illustrates units 100, 104, and 70 that are adjacent to one another. Therefore, the applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues at the top of page 11 of the reply that Jiangs “body 100 and body 104 are not directly adjacent units connected to each other”. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “directly adjacent units connected to each other”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues on page 11 of the reply that “Applicants respectfully further submit that the Office Action's mapping is internally inconsistent even on its own terms. The Office Action identifies 100, 104, and 70 as the alleged "plurality of units." See Office Action at page 6. However, Jiang does not present those components as a set of common modular units arranged and interconnected to form a single heat exchanger main body”. The mapping in the office action is not internally inconsistent as alleged by the applicant. The applicant recites in the claims the broad term “unit” rather than reciting the specific structure they seek to claim. Thus, the use of the broad term “unit” can encompass numerous structural features that aid in connecting to other units. Therefore, the applicants’ argument is not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., specific details of the “unit”, and “common modular units”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 12 of the reply that “Reference numeral 94 in Jiang is not a connector with another unit”. Jiang 94 is in-between unit 100 and unit 104, and thus is a connector between the two units. Therefore, the applicants’ argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 12 of the reply that “Likewise, reference numerals 90 and 92 in Jiang are not "flow path portions"”. Jiang teaches that 90 and 92 are cooling passages, and thus clearly flow path portions. Therefore, the applicants’ argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 12 of the reply that “amended claim 11 requires that each of the plurality of adjacent units integrally includes both a connector with another unit and a flow path portion”. Jiang teaches the units 100 and 104 are connected via a connector 94 and each includes flow paths 90 and 92, thus reading on all the limitations. With regards to the integrally manufactured aspect, the presence of process limitations on product claims, which product does not otherwise patentably distinguish over prior art, cannot impart patentability to the product. See MPEP 2113. Therefore, the applicants’ argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 14 that Jiang fails to teach a plurality of flow path portions. Jiang teaches flow path portions 90 and 92, thereby satisfying the claim limitation. Therefore, the applicants’ argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 15 of the reply that Jiang fails to teach “a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet both connected to the internal flow path”. Jiang teaches fluid inlet 110 and fluid outlet 112. Therefore, the applicants’ argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 15-16 of the reply that Jiang fails to teach a plurality of fins. Jiang clearly teaches a plurality of fins (102, 116, 106, 126). Therefore, the applicants’ argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 16-18 of the reply that the applicant’s invention is manufactured in a different way. However, the claims are directed towards an apparatus and not a method of manufacturing. The presence of process limitations (i.e. manufacturing) on product claims, which product does not otherwise patentably distinguish over prior art, cannot impart patentability to the product. See MPEP 2113. Therefore, the applicants’ argument is not persuasive.
Applicant reiterates arguments already addressed on pages 19-20 of the reply. Thus, the applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 20 of the reply with regard to claim 15 that Jiang fails to teach fluid inlet and fluid outlet ports. Jiang teaches fluid passes through the passages and exits the passages of the units, thus the units include ports that function as fluid inlet and fluid outlet. Therefore, the applicants’ argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763