DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention II (Claims 11-20) in the reply filed on 10/31/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/31/2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of Main Species A (Figures 1-20) and Connector Species S2 (Figure 29) in the reply filed on 10/31/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “Both species share the special technical feature of the invention and, thus, satisfy the unity of invention requirement. No showing has been made in the Office Action as to any alleged lack of unity of invention”. This is not found persuasive because the claims are restricted under US restriction practice and not 371 unity of invention as argued, thereby rendering the applicants’ arguments unpersuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant asserts claims 11, 12, and 14-20 read on the elected species. However, claim 14 depends from withdrawn claim 13. Accordingly, claim 14 will additionally be withdrawn from consideration as being dependent upon a withdrawn claim. Additionally, claim 19 recites “the connector is one of a connection protrusion and a connection recess that are insertable into and removable from each other; and a gap is provided between a tip end surface of the connection protrusion and an abutment surface of the connection recess”, which is drawn to non-elected Species S1. Therefore, claims 13, 14, 19, and 20 (since claim 20 depends from claim 19) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/31/2025.
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 10/31/2025 are as follows:
Claims 1-20 are pending;
Claims 1-10, 13, 14, and 19-20 are withdrawn from consideration;
Claims 11, 12, and 15-18 are being examined.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Heat Exchanger Comprising Interconnected Curved Heat Exchange Units”.
Claim Interpretation
Currently, no claim limitation invokes 112(f). The nonce term “unit” in claim 11 is sufficiently described by structure in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 12, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang (US2020/0200040A1).
Re Claim 11. Jiang teaches a heat exchanger (50) comprising (Figures 3-5):
a heat exchanger main body (50) configured by connecting a plurality of units (100, 104, 70) to each other (Figures 3-5; Paragraphs 18-27);
wherein each of the plurality of units (100, 104) integrally includes a connector (94) with another unit and a flow path portion (90, 92) (Figures 3-5; Paragraphs 18-27); and
the heat exchanger main body includes, by interconnecting the plurality of units, an internal flow path (interior of 90, 92) including a plurality of the flow path portions (90, 92), a fluid inlet (110) and a fluid outlet (112) both connected to the internal flow path, and a plurality of external fins (102, 116, 106, 126) formed on an outer surface of the heat exchanger main body (Figures 3-5; Paragraphs 18-27).
Re Claim 12. Jiang teaches each of the plurality of units has a curved shape; and the heat exchanger main body has a curved shape that is curved along a curved surface formed within an aircraft engine (Figures 2-5; Paragraphs 17).
Re Claim 15. Jiang teaches at least one of the plurality of units includes one or more ports operable to function as the fluid inlet or the fluid outlet (Figures 3-5; Paragraphs 18-27; Fluid passes through the passages and exits the passages of the units, thus the units include ports that function as fluid inlet and fluid outlet).
Re Claim 17. Jiang teaches at least one of the plurality of units includes a return portion (124) to turn back the flow path portion in an opposite direction (Figures 3-4; Paragraphs 18-27).
Re Claim 18. Jiang teaches the plurality of units include: a single-connection unit (70) including the connector on only one end surface; and a multi-connection unit (100, 104) including the connector on each of two or more end surfaces (Figure 3; Paragraphs 18-27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US2020/0200040A1) in view of Ueda (US2015/0000865).
Re Claim 16. Jiang teaches adding a valve to control flow to the plurality of units (Figure 3; Paragraph 23) but fails to specifically teach at least one of the plurality of units includes a plurality of the flow path portions and a bypass to connect one of the plurality of flow path portions to another one of the plurality of flow path portions via a valve.
However, Ueda teaches it is known to form at least one of the plurality of units includes a plurality of the flow path portions (41, 42, 63) and a bypass (6) to connect one of the plurality of flow path portions to another one of the plurality of flow path portions via a valve (6) (Figures 3 and 7; Paragraphs 43-46 and 58-61). Ueda teaches the benefit of the bypass valve is to allow for quickly increasing the temperature of the target fluid (Paragraph 25).
Therefore, in view of Ueda's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a bypass pathway and bypass valve to Jiang in order to allow for quickly increasing the temperature of the target fluid, thereby achieving optimal operating parameters efficiently (Ueda Paragraph 25).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763