DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 are pending, and claims 1-3 are currently under review.
Claim 4 is withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-3, in the reply filed on 7/01/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 4 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/01/2026.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 7/01/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4 remain(s) pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1-3 recite the term “high intensity”, which is indefinite because it is unclear as to what particular structure or property this term refers to. This term is not defined by the claims or specification and further is not recognized in the art to pertain to a particular feature or property. The examiner interprets the aforementioned term to be met by any aluminum alloy having a similar composition.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1-3 recite the term “excellent in resistance to stress corrosion cracking”, which is indefinite because “excellent” is a relative term of degree that is not further defined or explained by the instant specification or claims. It is unclear whether this term requires some specific, quantitative value of corrosion resistance, or whether this term merely pertains to a broad category of corrosion resistance, or something else entirely. The examiner interprets the aforementioned term to be met by any degree of stress corrosion cracking resistance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (US 2019/0360083).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida et al. discloses a method of producing aluminum alloy extruded products having excellent stress corrosion cracking resistance and having a composition as seen in table 1 below [abstract, 0002, 0011-0012]. Yoshida et al. is silent regarding the requirement of non-recited elements, which is considered to meet the claimed limitation of “consisting of…” Yoshida et al. further teaches method steps of providing an aluminum alloy having the below composition with an average crystal grain size after casting of 300 micrometers or less [0019-0020], extruding such that a temperature immediately after extrusion is 500 to 585 degrees C [0034-0036], air cooling to a temperature of 200 degrees C or less at a speed of 70 to 500 degrees C per minute [0038-0039], followed by subsequent aging [0041]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition and processing parameters of Yoshida et al. is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Specifically, the examiner notes that the broad cooling speed of 70 to 500 degrees C per minute overlaps with the claimed cooling parameters and durations.
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Yoshida et al. (wt.%)
Zn
6 – 10
6 – 8
Mg
1.5 – 3.5
1 – 3.5
Cu
0.2 – 2.5
0.2 – 1.5
Zr
0.1 – 0.25
0.1 – 0.25
Ti
0.005 – 0.05
0.005 – 0.05
Mn
0 – 0.3
0 – 0.5
Cr
0 – 0.25
0
Mn+Cr+Zr
0.1 – 0.5
0.1 – 0.6
Al
Balance
Balance
Regarding claim 2, Yoshida et al. discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Yoshida et al. further teaches achieving a tensile strength of 400 MPa or higher and a 0.2% proof stress of 380 MPa or higher, which overlaps with the claimed ranges [0043]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshida et al. discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned disclosure of Yoshida et al. further overlaps with the claimed ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
The examiner notes that amending to recite cooling in still air (ie. furnace cooling) as the first cooling prior to forced cooling would appear to overcome the aforementioned 103 rejections over Yoshida et al.
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734