Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. REPUBLIC OF KOREA 10-2023-0071582, filed on 06/02/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/11/2025, 03/26/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
This office action is in response to the application serial number 18/616,461 filed on 03/26/2024.
Claims 1-8, 9, 10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-4, 7-8, 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAVISHANKAR et al. ( US 20230075345, hereinafter, RAVISHANKAR’s 345 ) in view of RAVISHANKAR et al. ( US 20230269780, hereinafter, RAVISHANKAR’s 780 ) .
Regarding to the claim 1, US 20230075345 teaches a method of an electronic apparatus transmitting a signal, the method comprising:
a routing table information including information associated with a plurality of Internet Protocol (IP) addresses ( Once the entries of the routing table are determined, the RMF 1436 uploads updated routing table information to the relevant satellites, where each satellite may receive unique routing tables similar to the examples shown in FIGS. 18A and 18B. The RMF 1436 may upload only those entries that have changed from the previous upload to minimize management plane overhead. Each satellite may have a pre-defined IP address and the RMF 1436 may then populate an IP header carrying Flow Label or DiffSery Code Point (DSCP) to the individual satellites with appropriate priority levels to upload the routing tables. Updates that are a result of a link failure may be uploaded with Flow Label and DSCP which receives the highest priority communication treatment from the RMF 1436 to the satellite of interest.) ;
generating, based on the routing table information, identification information for a predetermined IP address associated with another electronic apparatus to which a data packet is to be transmitted; and transmitting a signal including the identification information and the data packet ) [see Paragraphs 0093 & 0094];
generating (update and maintain Satellite ID for a pre-defined IP address ) , based on the routing table information, identification information (satellite IDs ) for a predetermined IP address (pre-defined IP address) associated with another electronic apparatus to which a data packet is to be transmitted [see Paragraphs 0093 & 0094]
( [0094] FIG. 20 illustrates a method for a satellite system with software defined network orchestration as described herein. The system first receives inputs from the satellites and gateways in the system (step 2010). The inputs may include satellite and gateway link status from the satellites and gateways, satellite mapping status for direct UT-UT communication and request for gateway ID for special UT as described above. The system may then determine routing tables for the satellite (step 2012). The routing tables may be determined by the RAF described above which may be located in a ground based server. The satellite tables may include next hop information for delay sensitive and delay insensitive flow types. The determined routing tables are then uploaded to the satellites (step 2014). Only updated routing tables, those containing new information, may be uploaded. Each satellite then monitors data traffic flow to determine satellite IDs where the data is to be sent (step 2016). The UTs may then load satellite IDs in a data header to send data to a desired satellite as described above (2018). Then, send data to a next hop towards the desired destination satellite based on the satellite ID in the data header using the routing tables (step 2020). Data can be sent to a different next hop depending on the flow type of data as described above and shown in FIG. 19. ) [see Paragraphs 0093 & 0094 ]
Transmitting a signal including the identification information (Satellite ID) and the data packet (Transmitting a signal including the Satellite ID and the data packet ) [see Paragraph 0093 & 0094 ].
However, US 20230075345 does not explicitly teach acquiring the routing table.
US 20230269780, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches acquiring the routing table including information (IP, Cell ID, Satellite ID ) [see Figure 11, Paragraphs 0111 & 0202 & 0207 & 0220 & 0225 & 0243 & 0247 & 0129 & 0127 & 0097 & 0088 & 0086 ]
([0095] Referring to FIG. 4, the control plane protocol stack 400 may facilitate reliable delivery of information from a satellite such as SAT1 402 to an RSP 408 and a cell-specific control function 410 in the ground node through one or more satellites such as SAT2 404 and SAT3 406. It may be appreciated that any number of satellites may be present in the satellite network. In an example, a label may be appended to a data packet to be transferred from the SAT1 402 to the cell-specific control function 410. In such an example, the label may include, but not be limited to, an egress satellite identifier (ID) (for example, SAT3 406), a feeder link ID, a service access point ID indicating the cell-specific control function 410. In an example, the label may also include a cell ID to reach a specific instance in the GSNB in satellite to ground node direction.) [see Paragraph 0095 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230075345 in view of US 20230269780 because US 20230269780 suggests that there may be a need for systems and methods for 5G-based non-geostationary satellite systems with inter-satellite links
Regarding to the claim 2, US 20230075345 and US 20230269780 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
US 20230075345 teaches wherein the routing table information includes, as information in a form of a table: each IP address included in the plurality of IP addresses (wherein the routing table information includes, as information in a form of a table: each IP address included in the plurality of IP addresses) [see Paragraphs 0093 & 0094].
However, US 20230075345 does not explicitly teach a satellite identifier (ID) and a cell ID corresponding to each respective IP address of the plurality of IP addresses.
US 20230269780, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches a satellite identifier (ID) and a cell ID corresponding to each respective IP address of the plurality of IP addresses (a satellite identifier (ID) and a cell ID corresponding to each respective IP address of the plurality of IP addresses) [see Paragraph 0095].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230075345 in view of US 20230269780 because US 20230269780 suggests that there may be a need for systems and methods for 5G-based non-geostationary satellite systems with inter-satellite links
Regarding to the claim 3, US 20230075345 further teaches wherein the routing table information is set to correspond to a satellite group including a first satellite for a first cell corresponding to the electronic apparatus, and the routing table information is shared with a plurality of satellites included in the satellite group (wherein the routing table information is set to correspond to a satellite group including a first satellite for a first cell corresponding to the electronic apparatus, and the routing table information is shared with a plurality of satellites included in the satellite group) [see Paragraphs 0093 & 0094].
Regarding to the claim 4, US 20230075345 and US 20230269780 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20230075345 does not explicitly teach wherein the generating of the identification information comprises: identifying information on the predetermined IP address; identifying a cell ID of a second cell corresponding to the another electronic apparatus and the predetermined IP address and a satellite ID of a second satellite for the second cell based on the routing table information and the information on the predetermined IP address; and generating the identification information which includes the cell ID and the satellite ID.
US 20230269780, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the generating of the identification information comprises: identifying information on the predetermined IP address; identifying a cell ID of a second cell corresponding to the another electronic apparatus and the predetermined IP address and a satellite ID of a second satellite for the second cell based on the routing table information and the information on the predetermined IP address; and generating the identification information which includes the cell ID and the satellite ID ( wherein the generating of the identification information comprises: identifying information on the predetermined IP address; identifying a cell ID of a second cell corresponding to the another electronic apparatus and the predetermined IP address and a satellite ID of a second satellite for the second cell based on the routing table information and the information on the predetermined IP address; and generating the identification information which includes the cell ID and the satellite ID) [see Figure 11, Paragraphs 0111 & 0202 & 0207 & 0220 & 0225 & 0243 & 0247 & 0129 & 0127 & 0097 & 0088 & 0086 ]
([0095] Referring to FIG. 4, the control plane protocol stack 400 may facilitate reliable delivery of information from a satellite such as SAT1 402 to an RSP 408 and a cell-specific control function 410 in the ground node through one or more satellites such as SAT2 404 and SAT3 406. It may be appreciated that any number of satellites may be present in the satellite network. In an example, a label may be appended to a data packet to be transferred from the SAT1 402 to the cell-specific control function 410. In such an example, the label may include, but not be limited to, an egress satellite identifier (ID) (for example, SAT3 406), a feeder link ID, a service access point ID indicating the cell-specific control function 410. In an example, the label may also include a cell ID to reach a specific instance in the GSNB in satellite to ground node direction.) [see Paragraph 0095 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230075345 in view of US 20230269780 because US 20230269780 suggests that there may be a need for systems and methods for 5G-based non-geostationary satellite systems with inter-satellite links
Regarding to the claim 7, US 20230075345 further teaches wherein the transmitting of the signal comprises: identifying a first satellite for a first cell to which the electronic apparatus corresponds; and transmitting the signal to the first satellite ( wherein the transmitting of the signal comprises: identifying a first satellite for a first cell to which the electronic apparatus corresponds; and transmitting the signal to the first satellite ) [see Paragraphs 0093 & 0094].
Regarding to the claim 8, US 20230075345 and US 20230269780 teach the limitations of the claim 7 above.
However, US 20230075345 does not explicitly teach wherein, based on a satellite ID included in the identification information, the signal is transmitted from the first satellite to a second satellite corresponding to the satellite ID, and based on a cell ID included in the identification information, the signal is transmitted from the second satellite to a second cell corresponding to the cell ID.
US 20230269780, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein, based on a satellite ID included in the identification information, the signal is transmitted from the first satellite to a second satellite corresponding to the satellite ID, and based on a cell ID included in the identification information, the signal is transmitted from the second satellite to a second cell corresponding to the cell ID ( wherein, based on a satellite ID included in the identification information, the signal is transmitted from the first satellite to a second satellite corresponding to the satellite ID, and based on a cell ID included in the identification information, the signal is transmitted from the second satellite to a second cell corresponding to the cell ID ) [see Figure 11, Paragraphs 0111 & 0202 & 0207 & 0220 & 0225 & 0243 & 0247 & 0129 & 0127 & 0097 & 0088 & 0086 & 0095 ] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230075345 in view of US 20230269780 because US 20230269780 suggests that there may be a need for systems and methods for 5G-based non-geostationary satellite systems with inter-satellite links
Regarding to the claim 9, US 20230075345 teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising a computer program for executing a signal transmission method, wherein the signal transmission method comprises:
a routing table information including information associated with a plurality of Internet Protocol (IP) addresses ( Once the entries of the routing table are determined, the RMF 1436 uploads updated routing table information to the relevant satellites, where each satellite may receive unique routing tables similar to the examples shown in FIGS. 18A and 18B. The RMF 1436 may upload only those entries that have changed from the previous upload to minimize management plane overhead. Each satellite may have a pre-defined IP address and the RMF 1436 may then populate an IP header carrying Flow Label or DiffSery Code Point (DSCP) to the individual satellites with appropriate priority levels to upload the routing tables. Updates that are a result of a link failure may be uploaded with Flow Label and DSCP which receives the highest priority communication treatment from the RMF 1436 to the satellite of interest.) ;
generating, based on the routing table information, identification information for a predetermined IP address associated with another electronic apparatus to which a data packet is to be transmitted; and transmitting a signal including the identification information and the data packet ) [see Paragraphs 0093 & 0094];
generating (update and maintain Satellite ID for a pre-defined IP address ) , based on the routing table information, identification information (satellite IDs ) for a predetermined IP address (pre-defined IP address) associated with another electronic apparatus to which a data packet is to be transmitted [see Paragraphs 0093 & 0094]
( [0094] FIG. 20 illustrates a method for a satellite system with software defined network orchestration as described herein. The system first receives inputs from the satellites and gateways in the system (step 2010). The inputs may include satellite and gateway link status from the satellites and gateways, satellite mapping status for direct UT-UT communication and request for gateway ID for special UT as described above. The system may then determine routing tables for the satellite (step 2012). The routing tables may be determined by the RAF described above which may be located in a ground based server. The satellite tables may include next hop information for delay sensitive and delay insensitive flow types. The determined routing tables are then uploaded to the satellites (step 2014). Only updated routing tables, those containing new information, may be uploaded. Each satellite then monitors data traffic flow to determine satellite IDs where the data is to be sent (step 2016). The UTs may then load satellite IDs in a data header to send data to a desired satellite as described above (2018). Then, send data to a next hop towards the desired destination satellite based on the satellite ID in the data header using the routing tables (step 2020). Data can be sent to a different next hop depending on the flow type of data as described above and shown in FIG. 19. ) [see Paragraphs 0093 & 0094 ]
Transmitting a signal including the identification information (Satellite ID) and the data packet (Transmitting a signal including the Satellite ID and the data packet ) [see Paragraph 0093 & 0094 ].
However, US 20230075345 does not explicitly teach acquiring the routing table.
US 20230269780, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches acquiring the routing table including information (IP, Cell ID, Satellite ID ) [see Figure 11, Paragraphs 0111 & 0202 & 0207 & 0220 & 0225 & 0243 & 0247 & 0129 & 0127 & 0097 & 0088 & 0086 ]
([0095] Referring to FIG. 4, the control plane protocol stack 400 may facilitate reliable delivery of information from a satellite such as SAT1 402 to an RSP 408 and a cell-specific control function 410 in the ground node through one or more satellites such as SAT2 404 and SAT3 406. It may be appreciated that any number of satellites may be present in the satellite network. In an example, a label may be appended to a data packet to be transferred from the SAT1 402 to the cell-specific control function 410. In such an example, the label may include, but not be limited to, an egress satellite identifier (ID) (for example, SAT3 406), a feeder link ID, a service access point ID indicating the cell-specific control function 410. In an example, the label may also include a cell ID to reach a specific instance in the GSNB in satellite to ground node direction.) [see Paragraph 0095 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230075345 in view of US 20230269780 because US 20230269780 suggests that there may be a need for systems and methods for 5G-based non-geostationary satellite systems with inter-satellite links
Regarding to the claim 10, US 20230075345 teaches an electronic apparatus for transmitting a signal, the electronic apparatus comprising: a processor; and one or more memories in which one or more instructions are stored, wherein when executed, the one or more instructions control the processor to perform:
a routing table information including information associated with a plurality of Internet Protocol (IP) addresses ( Once the entries of the routing table are determined, the RMF 1436 uploads updated routing table information to the relevant satellites, where each satellite may receive unique routing tables similar to the examples shown in FIGS. 18A and 18B. The RMF 1436 may upload only those entries that have changed from the previous upload to minimize management plane overhead. Each satellite may have a pre-defined IP address and the RMF 1436 may then populate an IP header carrying Flow Label or DiffSery Code Point (DSCP) to the individual satellites with appropriate priority levels to upload the routing tables. Updates that are a result of a link failure may be uploaded with Flow Label and DSCP which receives the highest priority communication treatment from the RMF 1436 to the satellite of interest.) ;
generating, based on the routing table information, identification information for a predetermined IP address associated with another electronic apparatus to which a data packet is to be transmitted; and transmitting a signal including the identification information and the data packet ) [see Paragraphs 0093 & 0094];
generating (update and maintain Satellite ID for a pre-defined IP address ) , based on the routing table information, identification information (satellite IDs ) for a predetermined IP address (pre-defined IP address) associated with another electronic apparatus to which a data packet is to be transmitted [see Paragraphs 0093 & 0094]
( [0094] FIG. 20 illustrates a method for a satellite system with software defined network orchestration as described herein. The system first receives inputs from the satellites and gateways in the system (step 2010). The inputs may include satellite and gateway link status from the satellites and gateways, satellite mapping status for direct UT-UT communication and request for gateway ID for special UT as described above. The system may then determine routing tables for the satellite (step 2012). The routing tables may be determined by the RAF described above which may be located in a ground based server. The satellite tables may include next hop information for delay sensitive and delay insensitive flow types. The determined routing tables are then uploaded to the satellites (step 2014). Only updated routing tables, those containing new information, may be uploaded. Each satellite then monitors data traffic flow to determine satellite IDs where the data is to be sent (step 2016). The UTs may then load satellite IDs in a data header to send data to a desired satellite as described above (2018). Then, send data to a next hop towards the desired destination satellite based on the satellite ID in the data header using the routing tables (step 2020). Data can be sent to a different next hop depending on the flow type of data as described above and shown in FIG. 19. ) [see Paragraphs 0093 & 0094 ]
Transmitting a signal including the identification information (Satellite ID) and the data packet (Transmitting a signal including the Satellite ID and the data packet ) [see Paragraph 0093 & 0094 ].
However, US 20230075345 does not explicitly teach acquiring the routing table.
US 20230269780, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches acquiring the routing table including information (IP, Cell ID, Satellite ID ) [see Figure 11, Paragraphs 0111 & 0202 & 0207 & 0220 & 0225 & 0243 & 0247 & 0129 & 0127 & 0097 & 0088 & 0086 ]
([0095] Referring to FIG. 4, the control plane protocol stack 400 may facilitate reliable delivery of information from a satellite such as SAT1 402 to an RSP 408 and a cell-specific control function 410 in the ground node through one or more satellites such as SAT2 404 and SAT3 406. It may be appreciated that any number of satellites may be present in the satellite network. In an example, a label may be appended to a data packet to be transferred from the SAT1 402 to the cell-specific control function 410. In such an example, the label may include, but not be limited to, an egress satellite identifier (ID) (for example, SAT3 406), a feeder link ID, a service access point ID indicating the cell-specific control function 410. In an example, the label may also include a cell ID to reach a specific instance in the GSNB in satellite to ground node direction.) [see Paragraph 0095 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230075345 in view of US 20230269780 because US 20230269780 suggests that there may be a need for systems and methods for 5G-based non-geostationary satellite systems with inter-satellite links
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the identification information is set based on a plurality of bits, and the plurality of bits includes one or more bits for the satellite ID, one or more bits for the cell ID, one or more bits for indicating communication quality, and one or more reserve bits.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412