DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2024, 09/12/2024, 10/28/2024 and 05/29/2025 have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 or 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, 14-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as anticipated by Cao et al. (US 20200259600 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘CAO’), or alternatively unpatentable over CAO in view of Ye et al. (US 20200235759 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘YE’).
Regarding claim 1, CAO teaches a method (
Fig. 19, [0212] FIG. 19, for example, is a diagram … of a HARQ retransmission scheme between two network devices……. In the example shown in FIG. 19, the two network devices include a Device A and a Device B. For example, Device A may be a BS and Device B may be a UE. In this example, after Device A transmits a data block that includes a transport block TB1 to Device B ), comprising:
performing an initial transmission, including transmitting a transport block comprising two or more information code blocks (CBs) to a receiving node (
Fig. 11, [0138] One technique to solve the bursty puncturing/error recovery scheme adopts an outer erasure code (herein called an outer code) to do retransmission, which is shown in FIG. 11. In the example, code blocks (CBs) 3, 10, and 13 are not correctly decoded. After receiving a HARQ request, instead of retransmitting redundant versions for CB 1-14, the transmitter transmits the outer code parity check CBs (PCBs) P1-P10. If more than three PCBs can be correctly received, then from the CB {1-2, 4-8, 9, 11-12, 14}, and the correctly received PCBs, the receiver will be able to recover all the desired CBs 1-14.
Fig. 19 1st Tx,
[0212] In the example shown in FIG. 19, the two network devices include a Device A and a Device B. For example, Device A may be a BS and Device B may be a UE. In this example, after Device A transmits a data block that includes a transport block TB1 to Device B, Device A continues to send parity CBs to Device B that are based on an outer code using all CBs of TB1. In particular, as indicated at 1100, Device A initially transmits a data block that includes a transport block TB1 to Device B. As in the previous examples, TB1 contains 9 CBs, identified as CB1 to CB9 grouped into three CBGs, identified as CBG1, CBG2 and CBG3. In this example Device B successfully decoded all CBs in TB1 except CB1 and CB2 of CBG1 and CB6 of CBG2.);
performing a first retransmission to the receiving node, including transmitting at least one check block from a first set of one or more check blocks, the at least one check block generated from at least part of each of the two or more information CBs (
[0213] In response to the lack of an ACK from Device B within a time window following the initial transmission, Device A generates a parity CB, PCB1, for TB1 using an outer code based on all the original information CB s of TB1, and sends PCB1 to Device B in a second transmission, as indicated at 1102. For example, Device A may generate the parity CB PCB1 for TB1 by XORing the CBs of TB1 or cyclic shifts thereof, e.g., PCB1 may be equal to CB1⊕CB2⊕CB3⊕CB4⊕CB5⊕CB6⊕CB7⊕CB8⊕CB9.), the first set of one or more check blocks generated using a first subblock interleaver set associated with a first redundancy version (RV) index of the first retransmission (
Fig. 12B, [0155] illustrated in FIG. 12B.
[0156] More generally, the encoder of a first network device computes N parity CBs from m information CBs in a way that is known to the decoder of the second network device. Each parity CB P.sub.j, 1≤j≤N, is computed by performing an XOR of the m information CBs or cyclic shifts thereof.
Fig. 19, 2nd Tx 1002 PCB1 or 3rd Tx 1104 PCB2 transmissions,
[0213] …. For example, Device A may generate the parity CB PCB1 for TB1 by XORing the CBs of TB1 or cyclic shifts thereof, e.g., PCB1 may be equal to CB1⊕CB2⊕CB3⊕CB4⊕CB5⊕CB6⊕CB7⊕CB8⊕CB9.
[0214] In this example, because Device A does not receive an ACK from Device B within a time window after the second transmission, Device A sends a third transmission that includes a different parity CB, PCB2, for TB1 to Device B, as indicated at 1104. For example, Device A may use a cyclic shift based outer code similar to the one described above with reference to FIG. 12B. For example, PCB2 may be equal to CB1⊕CB2.sup.(1)⊕CB3.sup.(2)⊕CB4.sup.(3)⊕CB5.sup.(4)⊕CB6.sup.(5)⊕CB7.sup.(6)⊕CB8.sup.(7)⊕CB9.sup.(8).
(Construed that parity CB PCB1 or parity CB, PCB2, as illustrated by Fig. 12B, generation from m information CBs generated by XORing and cyclic shifting thereof based on original transmitted CGs in TB1 is equivalent to check blocks generated using a first subblock interleaver set associated with a first redundancy version (RV) index or RV1 of the first retransmission)); and
performing a second retransmission to the receiving node, including transmitting at least one check block from a second set of one or more check blocks generated using a second subblock interleaver set associated with a second RV index of the second retransmission (
Fig. 19, 3rd Tx 1104 PCB2 or 4th Tx 1106 PCB3 transmissions,
[0214] In this example, because Device A does not receive an ACK from Device B within a time window after the second transmission, Device A sends a third transmission that includes a different parity CB, PCB2, for TB1 to Device B, as indicated at 1104. For example, Device A may use a cyclic shift based outer code similar to the one described above with reference to FIG. 12B. For example, PCB2 may be equal to CB1⊕CB2.sup.(1)⊕CB3.sup.(2)⊕CB4.sup.(3)⊕CB5.sup.(4)⊕CB6.sup.(5)⊕CB7.sup.(6)⊕CB8.sup.(7)⊕CB9.sup.(8).
[0215] At 1106, because Device A does not receive an ACK from Device B within a time window after the third transmission, Device A sends a third parity CB, PCB3, for TB1 to Device B. PCB3 is different from both PCB1 and PCB2. For example, PCB3 may be equal to CB1⊕CB2.sup.(2)⊕CB3.sup.(4)⊕CB4.sup.(6)⊕CB5.sup.(8)⊕CB6.sup.(10)⊕CB7.sup.(12)⊕CB8.sup.(14)⊕CB9.sup.(16).
[0216] …. In this example, Device B provides simple HARQ feedback by only sending an ACK of the TB as indicated at 1008. In other embodiments, Device B may send a NACK after each transmission if it has not yet successfully decoded the TB….).
However, if the claim is so narrowly interpreted that CAO does not expressly disclose –
performing a first retransmission to the receiving node, including transmitting at least one check block from a first set of one or more check blocks, the at least one check block generated from at least part of each of the two or more information CBs, the first set of one or more check blocks generated using a first subblock interleaver set associated with a first redundancy version (RV) index of the first retransmission; and
performing a second retransmission to the receiving node, including transmitting at least one check block from a second set of one or more check blocks generated using a second subblock interleaver set associated with a second RV index of the second retransmission,
then in an analogous art, YE teaches performing a first retransmission to the receiving node, including transmitting at least one check block from a first set of one or more check blocks, the at least one check block generated from at least part of each of the two or more information CBs, the first set of one or more check blocks generated using a first subblock interleaver set associated with a first redundancy version (RV) index of the first retransmission (
Fig. 1A, [0041] The base stations 114a, 114b may communicate with one or more of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d over an air interface 116….
Fig. 7, [0129] FIG. 7 is a diagram 700 of an example of CB generation with equal partitioning of the TB including TB level CRC to fit in supported information block sizes. In the example illustrated in FIG. 7, the TB with the TB CRC 710 is partitioned into segments or CBs 720A, 720B and 720C.
[0181] In an embodiment, a double circular buffer may be used to obtain more reliable HARQ re-transmission with LDPC codes. When a double circular buffer is used, each transmission, including re-transmissions, may carry some information bits.
Fig. 12, [0182] FIG. 12 is a diagram 1200 of an example double circular buffer for rate matching and HARQ. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, after LDPC encoding during which information bits are encoded with the mother LDPC code or the LDPC code with the lowest data rate, a set of information bits {s.sub.1, s.sub.2, . . . , s.sub.K} 1210 and a set of parity check bits {p.sub.1, p.sub.2, . . . , p.sub.M} 1220 may be obtained. Here, K is the length of the information bits 1210 and M is the length of the parity bits 1220.
[0183] In embodiments, the encoded information bit set 1210 and the parity check bit set 1220 may optionally be passed to a sub-block interleaver (not shown). In an embodiment, the sub-block interleaver may depend on the RV value. For different RV values, or different re-transmissions, the interleaver may be different. A set of interleavers may be defined for a set of RV values. The interleaver used may be predetermined or predefined.
[0185] For RV=0 (the first transmission), K−nZ consecutive information bits may be extracted from the information circular buffer 1230. For example, bit {s.sub.NZ+1, . . . , S.sub.K} may be extracted. In this example, Z is the lifting size and nZ are the number of punctured bits from the information bit set 1210. A−(K−nZ) consecutive parity bits may be extracted from the parity circular buffer 1240. For example, bit {p.sub.1, . . . , P.sub.Z-K+nZ} may be extracted. For RV>0 (re-transmissions), a subset of information bits from the information circular buffer 1230 may be selected. The size of the subset may be predetermined or predefined. For example, a fixed ratio Rip may be predefined, predetermined or signaled. The ratio Rip may be a ratio of information bits to parity check bits carried in the re-transmission, and round(Rip *A) may be the size of information bits selected. …… The subset may start from a location that may be determined based on RV number, the size of the subset, Rip, and/or A. The transmission for different RVs may or may not have overlapped bits.
[0305] each RV corresponds to a circular shifted order with a certain shift value. For example, RV0 may always be in circular shifted order with shift value 0, RV1 may always be in circular shifted order with shift value 2, RV2 may always be in circular shifted order with shift value 4); and
performing a second retransmission to the receiving node, including transmitting at least one check block from a second set of one or more check blocks generated using a second subblock interleaver set associated with a second RV index of the second retransmission (
See [0183] the encoded information bit set 1210 and the parity check bit set 1220 may optionally be passed to a sub-block interleaver (not shown). In an embodiment, the sub-block interleaver may depend on the RV value. For different RV values, or different re-transmissions, the interleaver may be different. …..
[0185] …. The subset may start from a location that may be determined based on RV number, the size of the subset, Rip, and/or A. The transmission for different RVs may or may not have overlapped bits.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using different sub-block interleaver corresponding to respective different RV values retransmission for transmission error correction of YE to system of transmission error recovery of CAO in order to take the advantage of providing a method for obtaining more reliable HARQ re-transmission (YE: [0095, 0181]).
Regarding claim 6, CAO teaches an apparatus (
Fig. 3, base station 170,
Fig. 19, Device A,
[0212] FIG. 19, for example, is a diagram … of a HARQ retransmission scheme between two network devices……. In the example shown in FIG. 19, the two network devices include a Device A and a Device B. For example, Device A may be a BS and Device B may be a UE. In this example, after Device A transmits a data block that includes a transport block TB1 to Device B ) comprising a processing unit, the processing unit being configured to execute machine-readable instructions to cause the apparatus to carry out a method comprising (
Fig. 3, Base Station 170 with Processing Unit 250 and Memory 258,
[0082] As shown in FIG. 3, the base station 170 includes at least one processing unit 250, ….. at least one memory 258 ….
[0083] ….. The memory 258 stores instructions and data used, generated, or collected by the base station 170. For example, the memory 258 could store software instructions or modules configured to implement some or all of the functionality and/or embodiments described above and that are executed by the processing unit(s) 250.).
Further, claim 6 is interpreted is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, CAO teaches an apparatus (
Fig. 2, ED 110,
[0077] The ED 110 will hereafter be referred to as a user equipment (UE) 110.
Fig. 19, Device B,
[0212] FIG. 19, for example, is a diagram … of a HARQ retransmission scheme between two network devices……. In the example shown in FIG. 19, the two network devices include a Device A and a Device B. For example, Device A may be a BS and Device B may be a UE. In this example, after Device A transmits a data block that includes a transport block TB1 to Device B ) comprising a processing unit, the processing unit being configured to execute machine-readable instructions to cause the apparatus to carry out a method comprising (
Fig. 2, Electronic Device ED 110 with Processing Unit 200 and Memory 208,
[0078] As shown in FIG. 2, the UE 110 includes at least one processing unit 200.
[0081] In addition, the UE 110 includes at least one memory 208. …. could store software instructions or modules configured to implement some or all of the functionality and/or embodiments described herein and that are executed by the processing unit(s) 200.).
Further, claim 16 is interpreted is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, CAO, or CAO in view of YE, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein feedback from the receiving node indicates whether the receiving node successfully decoded the two or more information CBs (
Fig. 19, [0212] … as indicated at 1100, Device A initially transmits a data block that includes a transport block TB1 to Device B. As in the previous examples, TB1 contains 9 CBs, identified as CB1 to CB9 grouped into three CBGs, identified as CBG1, CBG2 and CBG3. In this example Device B successfully decoded all CBs in TB1 except CB1 and CB2 of CBG1 and CB6 of CBG2.
[0213] In response to the lack of an ACK from Device B within a time window following the initial transmission, Device A generates a parity CB, PCB1, for TB1 using an outer code based on all the original information CB s of TB1, and sends PCB1 to Device B in a second transmission, as indicated at 1102. For example, Device A may generate the parity CB PCB1 for TB1 by XORing the CBs of TB1 or cyclic shifts thereof, e.g., PCB1 may be equal to CB1⊕CB2⊕CB3⊕CB4⊕CB5⊕CB6⊕CB7⊕CB8⊕CB9.
[0216] In this example, Device B provides simple HARQ feedback by only sending an ACK of the TB as indicated at 1008. In other embodiments, Device B may send a NACK after each transmission if it has not yet successfully decoded the TB, or Device B might not send any feedback at all.);
the method further comprising:
performing the first retransmission after determining, from received negative acknowledgement (NACK) feedback or absence of acknowledgement (ACK) feedback, that the receiving node failed to successfully decode the two or more information CBs after the initial transmission (
See [0213, 0216] cited above); and
performing the second retransmission after determining, from received NACK feedback or absence of ACK feedback, that the receiving node failed to successfully decode the two or more information CBs after the first retransmission (
[0214] In this example, because Device A does not receive an ACK from Device B within a time window after the second transmission, Device A sends a third transmission that includes a different parity CB, PCB2, for TB1 to Device B, as indicated at 1104. For example, Device A may use a cyclic shift based outer code similar to the one described above with reference to FIG. 12B. For example, PCB2 may be equal to CB1⊕CB2.sup.(1)⊕CB3.sup.(2)⊕CB4.sup.(3)⊕CB5.sup.(4)⊕CB6.sup.(5)⊕CB7.sup.(6)⊕CB8.sup.(7)⊕CB9.sup.(8).
See also [0215, 0216] cited above and for claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, CAO, or CAO in view of YE, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a predetermined number of retransmissions, including the first and second retransmissions, is performed without requiring any feedback from the receiving node (
[0091] the CUE may also stop SL transmission to the TUE responsive to some other criteria being met, e.g., if a retransmission timer has expired or a predefined number of retransmissions have been transmitted to the TUE.
[0102] There may be different types of HARQ feedback that a TUE may send to CUEs, the LUE and/or a BS.
[0103] In one scenario, a TUE does not send SL HARQ feedback. In such a scenario where there is no SL HARQ feedback, a CUE may choose to cooperate in the cooperation phase by sending a predefined number of retransmissions.
Fig. 19, [0213] In response to the lack of an ACK from Device B within a time window following the initial transmission, Device A generates a parity CB, PCB1, for TB1 using an outer code based on all the original information CB s of TB1, and sends PCB1 to Device B in a second transmission, as indicated at 1102.
[0216] In this example, Device B provides simple HARQ feedback by only sending an ACK of the TB as indicated at 1008. In other embodiments ….. Device B might not send any feedback at all.
(It is obvious that the CAO disclosing the concept of retransmission without receiver feedback by either employing retransmission until receiving a successful reception ACK as in [0216] or transmission of predetermined number of retransmission which may include a retransmission timer as in [0091, 0103])).
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 7-3, 12-13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (US 20200259600 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘CAO’) in view of Ye et al. (US 20200235759 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘YE’).
Regarding claim 2, CAO, or CAO in view of YE, teaches the method of claim 1.
CAO does not explicitly disclose prior to performing the initial transmission, providing to the receiving node an RV index of the initial transmission; and
providing the first RV index of the first retransmission and the second RV index of the second retransmission to the receiving node prior to performing the first retransmission and prior to performing the second retransmission, respectively.
YE teaches prior to performing the initial transmission, providing to the receiving node an RV index of the initial transmission (
[0183] In an embodiment, the sub-block interleaver may depend on the RV value. For different RV values, or different re-transmissions, the interleaver may be different. A set of interleavers may be defined for a set of RV values. The interleaver used may be predetermined or predefined.); and
providing the first RV index of the first retransmission and the second RV index of the second retransmission to the receiving node prior to performing the first retransmission and prior to performing the second retransmission, respectively (
[0183] A set of interleavers may be defined for a set of RV values. The interleaver used may be predetermined or predefined.
(It is obvious that respective RV values or indexes and corresponding sub-block interleavers are provided to receiving node, e.g. WTRU 102 of Fig. 1, prior to transmission)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using different sub-block interleaver corresponding to respective different RV values retransmission for transmission error correction of YE to system of transmission error recovery of CAO in order to take the advantage of providing a method for obtaining more reliable HARQ re-transmission (YE: [0095, 0181]).
Regarding claim 7, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, CAO in view of YE, teaches the method of claim 2.
CAO does not explicitly disclose wherein the RV index of the initial transmission, the first RV index of the first retransmission and the second RV index of the second retransmission are provided together in a control signal or configuration signal to the receiving node prior to performing the initial transmission.
YE teaches wherein the RV index of the initial transmission, the first RV index of the first retransmission and the second RV index of the second retransmission are provided together in a control signal or configuration signal to the receiving node prior to performing the initial transmission (
[0183] A set of interleavers may be defined for a set of RV values. The interleaver used may be predetermined or predefined.
[0185] For RV>0 (re-transmissions), a subset of information bits from the information circular buffer 1230 may be selected. The size of the subset may be predetermined or predefined. For example, a fixed ratio Rip may be predefined, predetermined or signaled.
See also [0306] the RRC connection establishment or RRC connection reconfiguration message may be used for the configuration. For example, the following items may be added to the RRCConectionReconfiguration message:
TABLE-US-00017 RRCConnectionReconfiguration ::= SEQUENCE { RV0 modulation mapping order INTEGER{0,1,2,3} RV1 modulation mapping order INTEGER{0,1,2,3} RV2 modulation mapping order INTEGER{0,1,2,3} RV3 modulation mapping order INTEGER{0,1,2,3} ...... }
where the value “0” indicates a circular shifted order with shift value 0, the value “1” indicates a circular shifted order with shift value 2, the value “2” indicates a circular shifted order with shift value 4, the value “3” indicates a circular shifted order with shift value 6.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using different sub-block interleaver corresponding to respective different RV values retransmission for transmission error correction of YE to system of transmission error recovery of CAO in order to take the advantage of providing a method for obtaining more reliable HARQ re-transmission (YE: [0095, 0181]).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Blankenship et al. (US 20200274645 A1), describing Reordering Of Code Blocks For HARQ Retransmission In New Radio
Kim et al. (US 20200244285 A1), describing RATE MATCHING PERFORMING METHOD FOR LDPC CODE AND COMMUNICATION DEVICE THEREFOR
Park et al. (US 20200145141 A1), describing METHOD AND DEVICE FOR TRANSMITTING CONTROL INFORMATION IN WIRELESS CELLULAR COMMUNICATION SYSTEM
Onggosanusi et al. (US 20180159707 A1), describing METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR MULTISTREAM TRANSMISSION
Kim et al. (US 20170373809 A1), describing METHOD OF PROCESSING DATA BLOCK IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM AND APPARATUS THEREFOR
Kim et al. (US 20120026963 A1), describing METHOD AND DEVICE FOR EFFECTING UPLINK HARQ ON A WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS SYSTEM
Zhao et al. (CN 101540654 A), describing An Interleaving Rate Matching Method And A De-interleaving Rate Matching Method
Pi et al. (US 20090028129 A1), describing Rate Matching For Hybrid ARQ Operations
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413