DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2023052913, filed on March 29th, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 26th, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“medium conveyance unit” in claim 1,
“maintenance unit” in claim 6,
“a moving unit” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the carriage" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the print head" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiura US 20210291532 A1 and Yamamoto US 20160279987 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Sugiura teaches:
a printing apparatus (Paragraph 0002, “The present disclosure relates to a liquid ejection device”),
a medium storage unit configured to store a print medium (Figure 3, Item 90),
a printing unit including an image forming unit configured to form an image on the print medium (Paragraph 0030, “As illustrated in FIGS. 2 and 4, the recording unit 24 includes a carriage 23, and a head 39 mounted on the carriage 22”),
a medium conveyance unit configured to convey the print medium stored in the medium storage unit toward the image forming unit (Paragraph 0048, “In the sheet passage 22, the recording unit 24 (including the carriage 23 and the head 39), the platen 25, and the heater 26 are positioned between the first pair of conveyer rollers 54 and the second pair of conveyer rollers 55”),
an image forming member storage unit configured to accommodate an image forming member to be applied to the print medium by the image forming unit when the image is formed (Paragraph 0054, “The ink to be ejected by the head 39 is supplied from each cartridge 70”),
a housing internally accommodating the medium storage unit, the printing unit, the medium conveyance unit, and the image forming member storage unit (Figure 4, Items 14, 24, 70, and 90),
and an operation unit including a display portion, provided integrally with or separately from the housing, and configured to instruct formation of the image on the print medium (Figure 1, Item 17),
the housing includes a first opening/closing portion opened/closed when the print medium is stored in the medium storage unit (Figure 1, Item 91),
a second opening/closing portion opened/closed when the image forming member is stored in the image forming member storage unit (Figure 1, Item 16),
a first handhold portion at which a hand is put when the first opening/closing portion is opened/closed (Figure 1, Item 86),
a second handhold portion at which a hand is put when the second opening/closing portion is opened/closed (Figure 1, Item 85),
and the operation unit are disposed at the same surface of the housing (Figure 1, Items 17, 85, and 86).
Sugiura does not disclose:
a third opening/closing portion opened/closed when the image forming unit is accessed from an outside of the housing,
a third handhold portion at which a hand is put when the third opening/closing portion is opened/closed.
However, Yamamoto teaches an upper casing, being an opening/closing portion, which can be opened and closed, allowing the image forming unit to be accessed (Figures 1 and 2, Items 1a and 10). Furthermore, note that a groove is provided on the front surface underneath the lip of the upper casing to provide a handhold portion, where a hand can be placed to open or close the upper casing (Figure 1).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugiura to include a third opening/closing portion having a third handhold portion which is opened/closed when the image forming unit is accessed from an outside of the housing to allow the user to easily carry out maintenance of the image forming unit, as taught by Yamamoto (Paragraph 0058, “Therefore, the user can easily carry out the maintenance of the heads 10”).
Regarding claim 2,
Sugiura does not disclose:
opening the third opening/closing portion enables access to the medium conveyance unit.
However, Yamamoto teaches that the third opening/closing portion enables access to the medium conveyance unit (Figures 1 and 2, Items 1e, 44, and 45). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugiura to have that the third opening/closing portion enables access to the medium conveyance unit to allow the user to manually clear a paper jam, as taught by Yamamoto (Paragraph 0021, “Using the working space, the user can manually carry out a jam operation (or an operation of removing a paper sheet P jammed on the conveying path)”).
Regarding claim 4, Sugiura teaches:
a waste material storage unit configured to store, of the image forming member, waste material that was not used for formation of the image (Paragraph 0069, “The ink discharged from the cap 73 is introduced into the waste liquid tank 71 through the tube 77”),
the image forming member storage unit and the waste material storage unit are disposed in a second area of the plurality of areas, the second area being different from the first area (Figure 4, Item 110),
opening the second opening/closing portion enables access to the waste material storage unit (Paragraph 0026, “Rearward of the cover 16 provided are a cartridge attachment portion 110, cartridges 70, and a waste liquid tank 71 (see FIG. 4)”).
Regarding claim 5, Sugiura teaches:
the image forming member is ink (Paragraph 0053, “At the first position, the head 39 is configured to eject ink”),
the image forming unit is an inkjet head configured to eject the ink (Paragraph 0053, “At the first position, the head 39 is configured to eject ink”),
the waste material is waste ink that was not used for formation of the image (Paragraph 0067, “In a case where the nozzles 30 eject ink when the cap 73 is at the capping position, the cap 73 receives the ejected ink and the ink received in the cap 73 is discharged into the waste liquid tank 71 through the tube 77”),
the second area is positioned below the first area (Figure 4, Item 110).
Regarding claim 6, Sugiura teaches:
a maintenance unit configured to perform maintenance of the image forming unit (Paragraph 0053, “The cap 73 is configured to receive the ink discharged from the head 39),
the printing unit includes a moving unit configured to move the image forming unit between the medium conveyance unit and the maintenance unit (Figure 4, Items 24, 25, and 73),
the printing unit, the medium conveyance unit, and the maintenance unit are unitized and disposed in the first area (Figure 4, Items 24, 25, and 73).
Regarding claim 7, Sugiura teaches:
the first opening/closing portion and the second opening/closing portion are independently openable and closable (Figures 1 and 3, Items 16 and 90, note that the operation of the opening/closing portions of Sugiura are not in any way connected, and there is no means by which opening one requires opening the other).
Sugiura does not disclose:
the third opening/closing portion is independently openable and closable.
However, Yamamoto teaches a third distinct opening/closing portion (Figures 1 and 2, Item 1a). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugiura to include a third opening and closing portion which is independently openable and closable to allow access to the image forming unit, as taught by Yamamoto (Paragraph 0058, “Therefore, the user can easily carry out the maintenance of the heads 10”).
Regarding claim 8, Sugiura teaches:
the print medium is wound in a roll shape (Figure 2, Item 11).
Regarding claim 9, Sugiura teaches:
a paper ejection port through which the print medium is discharged is provided at a side surface of the housing (Figure 3, Item 13, wherein the side surface is the front side of the printer).
Regarding claim 11,
Sugiura does not disclose:
the housing includes a fourth opening/closing portion provided above the first opening/closing portion,
opening the fourth opening/closing portion exposes a conveyance path through which the print medium pulled out from a roll body is conveyed,
the fourth opening/closing portion is opened when the print medium is inserted into the medium conveyance unit.
However, Yamamoto teaches an upper casing, being an opening/closing portion, positioned above the first opening/closing portion of Sugiura exposing a medium conveyance path (Figures 1 and 2, Items 1e, 44, and 45). Furthermore, the opening/closing portion of Yamamoto does not interfere with the conveyance path exposed, so opening/closing portion can be opened when the print medium is inserted into the medium conveyance unit. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugiura to have a fourth opening/closing portion which exposes a medium conveyance path to allow the user to manually clear a paper jam, as taught by Yamamoto (Paragraph 0021, “Using the working space, the user can manually carry out a jam operation (or an operation of removing a paper sheet P jammed on the conveying path)”).
Regarding claim 12, Sugiura teaches:
wherein the maintenance unit is disposed in a depth direction with respect to the medium conveyance unit (Figure 4, Items 73 and 22, wherein the depth is from the side of the printer).
Regarding claim 13,
Sugiura does not disclose:
wherein the third opening/closing portion is opened after the carriage is moved to a printing position in which the print head overlaps the medium conveyance unit.
However, Yamamoto teaches that the third opening/closing portion enables access to the medium conveyance unit to allow to user to manually clear a paper jam (Paragraph 0021, “Using the working space, the user can manually carry out a jam operation (or an operation of removing a paper sheet P jammed on the conveying path)”). A paper jam occurs during a print operation, so opening the third opening/closing portion to clear a paper jam must occur after the carriage is moved to a printing position overlapping the medium conveyance unit. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugiura to have that the third opening/closing portion is opened after the carriage is moved to a printing position in which the print head overlaps the medium conveyance unit so that the user may clear a paper jam, as taught by Yamamoto.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiura US 20210291532 A1 and Yamamoto US 20160279987 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jauk et al. US 20170232769 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Sugiura teaches:
comprising a frame partitioning a space inside the housing into a plurality of areas (Figures 2 and 4, Items 29, 92, 94, and 112)
Sugiura does not disclose:
the image forming unit is replaceably included in the printing unit,
a plurality of members to be accessed when the image forming unit is replaced are disposed in a first area of the plurality of areas.
However, Jauk et al. teaches a replaceable print head (Paragraph 0001, "The present invention relates to a printing module having a printing head that can be replaced on the front side in an inkjet printer") disposed in such a way that the plurality of members to be accessed when the print head is replaced are placed in the same area as the printhead itself (Paragraph 0048, "removal of the means for the mounting of the printing head"; Figure 1, Items 113, 113' 115, 115', 111, 111'). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify Sugiura to include a replaceable image forming unit in which the plurality of members to be accessed when the image forming unit is replaced are disposed in the same area as the image forming unit to make the printer repairable, as taught by Jauk et al. (Specification, Paragraph 0011, "Thus it is the purpose of the present invention to indicate a printing module and a method ensuring at any time, despite the limited accessibility from the top, a quick replacement in case of repair").
Claim(s) 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiura US 20210291532 A1 and Yamamoto US 20160279987 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuda US 20190283475 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Sugiura teaches:
a first direction is a direction in which the first handhold portion and the second handhold portion are pulled to open the first opening/closing portion and the second opening/closing portion (Figures 1 and 3, Items 8, 16 and 91, both the first and second opening/closing portions of Sugiura are pulled to the front),
a second direction is a direction in a horizontal direction intersecting the first direction (Figure 1, Item 9),
a third direction is a direction opposite to the first direction (Figure 1, Item 8, Rear),
the second opening/closing portion is opened by pulling the second handhold portion in the first direction and then moving the second handhold portion downward (Figures 1 and 3, Items 16 and 16A).
Sugiura does not disclose:
the third opening/closing portion is opened by lifting the third handhold portion upward and then moving the third handhold portion in the third direction.
However, Yamamoto teaches a third opening/closing portion which pivots up and to the rear when moved to the open position (Figures 1 and 2, Items 1a and 10). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugiura to have that the third opening/closing portion is opened by lifting the third handhold portion upward and then moving the third handhold portion in the third direction to provide access to the print head and conveyance unit, as taught by Yamamoto (Figure 2, Items 10, 44, and 45).
Sugiura does not disclose:
the first opening/closing portion is opened by pulling the first handhold portion in the first direction and then moving the first handhold portion in the second direction.
However, Kudo teaches a door, being an opening/closing portion, which pivots out and to the side when moved to the open position (Paragraph 0051, “The exterior member includes a front door 22 that is rotatable (openable) between an open position at which an opening is uncovered and a closed position at which the opening is covered”; Figure 17, Item 22). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugiura to have that the first opening/closing portion is opened by pulling the first handhold portion in the first direction and then moving the first handhold portion in the second direction to provide a hinging door operable by the user, as taught by Kudo (Paragraph 0051, “The exterior member includes a front door 22 that is rotatable (openable) between an open position at which an opening is uncovered and a closed position at which the opening is covered”; Figure 17, Item 22).
Regarding claim 14,
Sugiura does not disclose:
wherein the display portion is configured to display information indicating an occurrence of an error.
However, Kudo teaches a display portion displaying an error notification based on an occurrence of an error in at least part of the printing platform (Claim 1, “a display unit configured to display, on a display portion, a predetermined screen based on an occurrence of an error in at least part of the printing portion”). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sugiura to have that the display portion is configured to display information indicating the occurrence of an error to notify the user of the error, as taught by Kudo (Paragraph 0058, “FIG. 6A illustrates an example of a screen for notifying the user of the occurrence of an out-of-ink error that is an error due to running out of ink in the printing apparatus 1”).
Conclusion
/R.A.A./
/RAMI A ALSHOROOGI/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853