DETAILED ACTION
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/26/2024 & 10/17/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
FOREIGN PRIORITY
A claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C § 119 (a) - (d), which was contained in the Declaration and Power of Attorney filed on 03/26/2024 has been acknowledged. Acknowledgement of claimed foreign priority and receipt of priority documents is reflected in form PTO-326 Office Action Summary.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-14 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Tanaka (U.S. Publication 2009/0324105) in view of Suzuki et al. (JP 2007-253005)
As to claims 1 & 16, Tanaka discloses an image interface configured to acquire a character string image including a character string; ([0009, 0057] disclose reading an image on a paper sheet performing online OCR processing on sorting information on the paper sheet. Inputting the character information in the image on the paper sheet distributed by key entry. ) and a processor configured to: perform character recognition processing on the character string image; ([0009, 0091] discloses performing online OCR processing on sorting information on the paper sheet.) set an item, for which input is accepted, related to the character string based on a result of the character recognition processing; ([0057, 0092] discloses operator inputs character information by key entry. When sorting information cannot be recognized it transmits the VC information and distributed to the VCD.) and accept input of the item through the input/output interface ([0057] discloses operators can input the character information by key entry.).
Tanaka is silent to an input/output interface connected to an input/output device configured to display an image and accept input of an operation; display an input screen including the character string image and item information indicating the item on the input/output device through the input/output interface.
However, Suzuki discloses an input/output interface connected to an input/output device configured to display an image and accept input of an operation; ([Suzuki discloses the video coding desk 22 receives the postal image and displays the received postal image. The video coding desk 22 has a keyboard, and a display]) display an input screen including the character string image and item information indicating the item (Suzuki discloses when the video coding desk 22 detects an unknown fee stramp position the fee stamp designation cursor is displayed (ST202-ST203)) on the input/output device through the input/output interface (Suzuki discloses when the postal code and address information are input the video code desk 22 receives the input postal code and address information (ST211)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Tanaka’s disclosure to include the above limitations in order to guide the operator directly to the missing field/region, reduce operator burden, and improve throughput/accuracy of the manual correction step.
As to claim 2, Tanaka discloses an image interface configured to acquire, from an external device, a character string image for which first character recognition processing for a character string image including a character string has failed (S32-S33, Fig. 4 & [0092] discloses When the sorting information cannot be recognized it transmits image of the paper sheet to the distribution device 21 (step S33). Tanaka (2009)’s on-line OCR (in the sorting machine) performs first recognition; when it cannot be recognized, it transmits the image/VC information out to the distribution device (i.e. the downstream system receives the failed first recognition image.); an input interface configured to input an operation signal to the external device; (S15-S16, Fig. 3 and [0080] discloses supplies the sorting information to the sorting machine 1 (step S16)).
an input/output interface connected to an input/output device configured to display an image and accept input of an operation; ([0025] discloses each VCD is used for key entry the image is displayed on a display part and the sorting information is input.)
and a processor configured to: perform second character recognition processing on the character string image; ([0026] discloses the off-line OCR 3 is operated as the second recognition part and applies the recognition processing to the image. S35, [0094] & Fig. 4 discloses the off-line OCR3 applies recognition processing to the image on the paper sheet.)
display an input screen including the character string image on the input/output device through the input/output interface; ([0025] discloses VCD does “key entry” with the image displayed)
accept input of the item through the input/output interface; ([0025] discloses VCD does “key entry” with the image displayed) and transmit an input character string to the external device through the input interface (S16, [0080] & Fig. 3 discloses supplying the sorting information to the sorting machine 1).
Tanaka is silent to set an item, for which input is accepted, related to the character string based on a result of the second character recognition processing; item information indicating the item;
However, Suzuki discloses to set an item, for which input is accepted, related to the character string based on a result of the second character recognition processing; item information indicating the item. (Suzuki discloses based on recognition error the mail image and identification information are transmitted. The video coding desk displays the received image and supports the input of information related to the item corresponding to the recognition error and receives input. Examiner submits item, for which input is accepted based on recognition result; and the UI support is equivalent to item information indicating the item.) (Suzuki discloses zip code and address information from the read image. When the zip code and address information input area 22f is validated and the input of the zip code and address information is supported (ST207).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Tanaka’s disclosure to include the above limitations in order to reduce operator burden and improve coding throughput/accuracy when recognition fails.
As to claims 9-10, Tanaka in view of Suzuki discloses everything as disclosed in claims 1-2. In addition, Suzuki discloses herein the item is an item related to a destination. (Suzuki discloses zip code and address information from the read image. When the zip code and address information input area 22f is validated and the input of the zip code and address information is supported (ST207).)
As to claims 11-12, Tanaka in view of Suzuki discloses everything as disclosed in claims 9-10. In addition, Suzuki discloses wherein the item includes any one of a postal code, a district, an apartment building name, or a person’s name. (Suzuki discloses zip code and address information from the read image. When the zip code and address information input area 22f is validated and the input of the zip code and address information is supported (ST207).)
As to claims 13-14, Tanaka in view of Suzuki discloses everything as disclosed in claims 1-2. In addition, Suzuki discloses the input/output device. (Suzuki discloses the video coding desk 22 has a keyboard 22a and a display 22b)
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (U.S. Publication 2009/0324105) in view of Suzuki et al. (JP 2007-253005) as applied in claims 1-2 above further in view of Lhomme (U.S. Publication 2003/0047494)
As to claims 3-4, Tanaka in view of Suzuki discloses everything as disclosed in claims 1-2 but is silent to wherein the item information is a frame surrounding the character string image.
However, Lhomme discloses wherein the item information is a frame surrounding the character string image. ([0006] discloses being capable of moving reticule of rectangular shape over the image to enable the operator to circumscribe the postal address within the reticule. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Tanaka in view of Suzuki’s disclosure to include the above limitations in order to more quickly direct the operator to the exact image region requiring confirmation/input and reduce coding time/errors.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (U.S. Publication 2009/0324105) in view of Suzuki et al. (JP 2007-253005) & Lhomme (U.S. Publication 2003/0047494) as applied in claims 1-2 above further in view of Ishizuka (JP 2004-046325)
As to claims 5-6, Tanaka in view of Suzuki & Lhomme discloses everything as disclosed in claims 3-4 but is silent to wherein the item information indicates the item by a color of a line constituting the frame.
However, Ishizuka discloses wherein the item information indicates the item by a color of a line constituting the frame. (Ishizuka discloses icons in different colors such as red yellow green and blue. Ishizuka also discloses each of the icons is displayed in different colors in accordance with the confidence value)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Tanaka in view of Suzuki and Lhomme’s disclosure to include the above limitations in order to provide an immediate visual cue of which item/status requires operator attention and thereby improve throughput and reduce errors.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (U.S. Publication 2009/0324105) in view of Suzuki et al. (JP 2007-253005) as applied in claims 1-2 above further in view of Suenaga (JP 2006-260080)
As to claims 7-8, Tanaka in view of Suzuki discloses everything as disclosed in claims 1-2 but is silent to wherein the input screen includes two of the character string images and the item information corresponding respectively to the character string images.
However, Suenaga discloses wherein the input screen includes two of the character string images and the item information corresponding respectively to the character string images. (Suenaga discloses the number of displayed page images is set to 2 and 2 pages are displayed at the same time.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Tanaka in view of Suzuki’s disclosure to include the above limitations in order to increase coding/verification throughput (e.g. allowing parallel preview/entry or reduced context switching between items)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (U.S. Publication 2009/0324105) in view of Suzuki et al. (JP 2007-253005) as applied in claim 2 above further in view of Skorpil et al. (U.S. Publication 2018/0246965)
As to claim 15, Tanaka in view of Suzuki discloses everything as disclosed in claim 2 but is silent to wherein the input interface is connected to an emulator configured to emulate an operation terminal.
However, Skorpil discloses wherein the input interface is connected to an emulator configured to emulate an operation terminal. ([0003, 0024] discloses users interact with a host application using a terminal emulator using a terminal emulator and it provides a user with an interface. The terminal emulator 130 performs terminal emulation to provide user with remote access.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Tanaka in view of Suzuki’s disclosure to include the above limitations in order to emulate an operation terminal expected by an external host/controller and thereby improve compatibility and reuse of terminal style operation signaling without redesigning the external device.
CONCLUSION
Stephen P. Coleman
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2675
/STEPHEN P COLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2675