Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: all sentences after a bullet point should be lowercase. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 3, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stamires et al. (WO 2006067154 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stamires et al. discloses the process for the preparation of a catalyst (page 1, lines 3-4). The process comprises the steps of:
Preparing a slurry comprising clay, zeolite, a sodium-free silica source, quasi-crystalline boehmite, and micro-crystalline boehmite
Adding a monovalent acid to the slurry
Adjusting the pH of the slurry to a value above 3, and
Shaping the slurry to form particles (page 3, lines 10-16).
Stamires et al. discloses step a) which is equated to bullet points a., c., d., and f. of claim one. The slurry of step a) is prepared by suspending clay, zeolite, sodium-free silica source (the first silica), non-peptised quasi-crystalline boehmite, and micro-crystalline boehmite in water (page 7, lines 5-8). The zeolite added to the slurry can be USY, HY, dealuminated Y, RE-Y, and RE-USY – zeolite beta (page 6, lines 18-21). The present invention’s claim language does not preclude adding zeolite to the slurry before digestion of the slurry with acid, so the addition of zeolite in the initial slurry satisfies bullet c.
Other components may be added to the slurry like a lanthanide (page 7, lines 18) satisfying bullet d. Also, calcium-silicates or magnesium silicates may be added to the slurry (page 7, line 10-11) satisfying bullet f.
Stamires et al. discloses step b) which is equated to bullet points b. and e. In this step, a monovalent acid is added to the suspension causing digestion (page 8, lines 14-15). The amount of acid added is sufficient to obtain a pH lower than 7, most preferably between 3 and 4 (page 8, lines 20-21). It is unclear how digesting the slurry to a pH less than 4 and adjusting the slurry pH to below 4 are distinguishable from each other in the claim language, nevertheless, step b) achieves both by lowering the pH between 3 and 4 so both bullet points b. and e. are met.
Stamires et al. discloses step c) which is equated to bullet point g. In this step, the pH of the slurry is adjusted to a value above 3, most preferably about 4.5 or higher (page 8, lines 25-28).
Stamires et al. discloses step d) which is equated to bullet point h. In this step, the produced catalyst is shaped with methods like spray-drying, pulse drying, pelletizing, extrusion, and beading (page 9, lines 10-12).
Regarding claim 3, Stamires et al. discloses sodium-free silica sources used in the slurry are polysilicic acid (page 3, lines 24-25).
Regarding claims 6-8, Stamires et al. is silent pores of the produced catalyst, but the process Stamires et al. discloses is the same as presently claimed. Therefore, it is the position of the examiner that the catalyst produced in Stamires et al. inherently has the pore characteristics of the catalyst in claims 6-8. When the examiner has reason to believe that the functional language asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in a claimed subject matter may in fact be an inherent characteristic of the prior art, the burden of proof is shifted to Applicants to prove that the subject matter shown in the prior art does not possess the characteristics relied upon. In re Fitzgerald et al. 205USPQ 594.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stamires et al. as applied to claims 1, 3, and 6-8 above, and further in view of Kuvettu et al. (US 20030166453 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Stamires et al. discloses the process of claim 1 but does not disclose the first silica comprises sodium stabilized colloidal silica.
Kuvettu et al. discloses a stabilized dual zeolite low coke forming single particle catalyst bonded with silica alumina binder (paragraph 0041). Colloidal silica is used in the binder and is aqueous colloidal dispersions of silica particles, stabilized using small quantities of soda which includes sodium (paragraph 0108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the sodium-free silica source of Stamires et al. with the sodium stabilized colloidal silica in Kuvettu et al. because of the catalyst binding properties of sodium-stabilized colloidal silica (paragraph 0108). This component strengthens a catalyst by holding active catalyst powders together, improving attrition resistance.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stamires et al. as applied to claims 1, 3, and 6-8 above, and further in view of Long et al. (US 9656255 B2).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Stamires et al. discloses adding a lanthanide (rare earth element) to the slurry, but does not disclose the type of salt or a lanthanum nitrate.
Long et al. discloses a process for preparing a rare earth-containing Y zeolite (col 2, lines 35-37). A catalyst can then be synthesized that has the rare earth-containing Y zeolite (col 2, lines 41-43). The rare earth starting material can be lanthanum nitrate (col 12, lines 6-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a RE-Y zeolite that is synthesized with lanthanum nitrate as the rare earth component in the slurry of Stamires et al. because the rare earth utilization in the Y zeolite is an extremely high 98% (col 8, lines 22-24). The rare earth resource is used efficiently, and the production cost is decreased (col 12, lines 39-40).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dinda et al.
CN 103703105 A
Grothe et al.
US 20180280932 A1
Ludvig et al.
WO 2017015597 A1
Van Der Zon et al.
WO 2008058875 A1
/DAVID ANDREW CALDERON/Examiner, Art Unit 1742
/BENJAMIN A SCHIFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742